DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0276576) in view of Jain et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0029618).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses a mobile device (fig. 1 [120]), comprising: a radio modem (fig. 1 [113]); a subscriber identification module (fig. 1 [120, IMSI]); a processing system including a processor (fig. 1 [inherent in 120]); and a memory (fig. 1 [inherent in 120]) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting that an operating mode value of the subscriber identification module is private (see at least paragraph 31 UE receives system information indicating ; further see paragraph 21 discloses communication system may be non-3GPP network system); checking whether a setting of the mobile device is data-centric responsive to the operating mode value being private (see at least paragraph 37 checking whether setting data-centric or voice-centric); changing the setting to data-centric (see at least paragraph 50).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose changing the setting to data-centric and restarting the radio modem responsive to the setting not being data-centric; and attaching to a private network responsive to the setting being data-centric. However, Jain et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches changing the setting to data-centric and restarting the radio modem responsive to the setting not being data-centric; and attaching to a private network responsive to the setting being data-centric (see at least paragraphs 68 and 70 changing UE’s usage setting from voice-centric to data-centric when UE radio capability updated; paragraph 55-56 discloses detach and reattach to network [which is considered as restarting] whenever the usage setting is changed to data-centric). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang et al with Jain et al as they both supports enhance coverage; and operates with a voice-centric and data-centric usage setting.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise providing the setting in a message to the private network when attaching (see at least paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise: detecting that the operating mode value is public; checking whether the setting of the mobile device is voice-centric responsive to the operating mode value being public (see at least paragraph 21 and 31).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose changing the setting to voice-centric and restarting the radio modem responsive to the setting not being voice-centric; and attaching to a public network responsive to the setting being voice-centric. However, Jain et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches changing the setting to voice-centric and restarting the radio modem responsive to the setting not being voice-centric; and attaching to a public network responsive to the setting being voice-centric (see at least paragraphs 68 and 70 changing UE’s usage setting from voice-centric to data-centric when UE radio capability updated or vice versa; paragraph 55-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang et al with Jain et al as they both supports enhance coverage; and operates with a voice-centric and data-centric usage setting.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise providing the setting in a message to the public network when attaching (see at least paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise detecting whether the subscriber identity module includes multiple profiles (see at least paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise: detecting whether an active profile is a public profile or a private profile and detecting whether a serving network is the public network or the private network responsive to detecting that the subscriber identity module includes the multiple profiles; and switching the active profile to the public profile responsive to detecting that the active profile is the private profile and the serving network is the public network (see at least paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al discloses the operations further comprise: switching the active profile to the private profile responsive to detecting that the active profile is the public profile and the serving network is the private network (see at least paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al discloses the processing system comprises a plurality of processors operating in a distributed computing environment (see at least paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: checking whether a setting of a mobile device is data-centric responsive to determining that an operating mode value of a subscriber identification module is private (see at least paragraph 31 UE receives system information indicating ; further see paragraph 21 discloses communication system may be non-3GPP network system); changing the setting to data-centric (see at least paragraph 50).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose changing the setting to data-centric and restarting a radio modem responsive to the setting not being data-centric; and attaching to a private network responsive to the setting being data-centric. However, Jain et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches changing the setting to data-centric and restarting a radio modem responsive to the setting not being data-centric; and attaching to a private network responsive to the setting being data-centric (see at least paragraphs 68 and 70 changing UE’s usage setting from voice-centric to data-centric when UE radio capability updated; paragraph 55-56 discloses detach and reattach to network [which is considered as restarting] whenever the usage setting is changed to data-centric). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang et al with Jain et al as they both supports enhance coverage; and operates with a voice-centric and data-centric usage setting.
Regarding claims 10-16, see above rejection of claims 2-8.
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al discloses a method, comprising: changing, by a processing system including a processor, a setting of a mobile device to data-centric responsive to determining that an operating mode value of a subscriber identification module is private (see at least paragraph 31 UE receives system information indicating ; further see paragraph 21 discloses communication system may be non-3GPP network system); and changing the setting to data-centric (see at least paragraph 50).
Wang et al specifically does not disclose restarting, by the processing system, a radio modem of the mobile device after changing the setting. However, Jain et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches restarting, by the processing system, a radio modem of the mobile device after changing the setting (see at least paragraphs 68 and 70 changing UE’s usage setting from voice-centric to data-centric when UE radio capability updated; paragraph 55-56 discloses detach and reattach to network [which is considered as restarting] whenever the usage setting is changed to data-centric). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang et al with Jain et al as they both supports enhance coverage; and operates with a voice-centric and data-centric usage setting.
Regarding claim 18, Jain et al discloses attaching, by the processing system, the mobile device to a private fifth-generation network after restarting the radio modem (paragraph 55-56). Same motivation as claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al discloses changing, by the processing system, the setting of the mobile device to voice-centric responsive to determining that the operating mode value of the subscriber identification module is public; and restarting, by the processing system, the radio modem of the mobile device after changing the setting (see at least paragraph 21 and 31).
Regarding claim 20, Jain et al discloses attaching, by the processing system, the mobile device to a public fifth-generation network after restarting the radio modem (paragraph 55-56). Same motivation as claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Ko (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0007935) directed toward using the cellular network is restricted when the electric device is configured as a data-centric device.
Jun et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0153408) directed toward usage setting change.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642