Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2-24-26 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (2022/0137703) in view of Bohn (US 2021/0376661).
Regarding claim 1, Miller (Fig. 1, 11, and 15) discloses a head mountable display (HMD) (31), comprising:
a display (43, 44);
a facial interface (67) configured to engage a face of the user (“a portion of the frame that contacts the skin of the user, for example on the inner surface 67” discussed in [0036]);
a biometric sensor (72, providing “biometric contextual data” as discussed in [0035]) attached to the facial interface (“sensors 72 can each be mounted on or provided within the inner surface 67” discussed in [0035]), wherein the biometric sensor comprises at least one of a temperature sensor (this limitation is not being examined due to the alternative language “at least one of”), a respiration sensor (“biometric sensors (1605) can sense a wide variety of elements of the user's state of mind and body, including… breathing rate” as discussed in [0134]), or a stress response sensor (this limitation is not being examined due to the alternative language “at least one of”);
a communication interface (the “data ports” discussed in [0123]) connected to the sensor (similar to the “data from a plurality of digital sensor systems to be transmitted across a computer network” as discussed in [0104]); and
a power interface connector (298, corresponding to 1502 which houses the “data ports” discussed in [0123]) attached to the sensor (the data ports include “connections that permit bidirectional transmission of data between the glasses front piece and the glasses arm” and so is attached to the sensor in the glasses front piece as seen in Fig. 11), the power interface comprising an inductive charging coil (“battery containing a wireless charging system” discussed in [0108], with “inductive coupling” more specifically discussed in [0204]).
However, Miller fails to teach or suggest specific details about the location of the inductive charging coil, and so fails to teach or suggest “the inductive charging coil disposed within a perimeter of the facial interface and positioned adjacent to the biometric sensor.”
Bohn (Fig. 5 and 8) discloses a head mountable display (HMD), comprising:
a display (504);
a facial interface (514);
a sensor (834) attached to the facial interface (“sensors… attached to the bezel 514” discussed in [0034]);
a power interface (502) comprising an inductive charging coil (called a “wireless charging coil” in [0033], with “inductively charge” discussed in [0046]) disposed within the perimeter (“wireless charging coil 502 may, for example, be embedded within a bezel 514 around the eyepiece 504” as discussed in [0033]) and positioned adjacent to the sensor (as discussed above, the power interface 502 is “within” 514 while sensor 834 is “attached” to 514, and so the examiner interprets the two elements as being positioned “adjacent” to each other as required by the claims).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller so the inductive charging coil is disposed within a perimeter of the facial interface and positioned adjacent to the biometric sensor as taught by Bohn because this allows for a larger charging coil, and “larger diameter coils provide more efficient charging” (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses the HMD comprising a sensor controller (61), the sensor controller comprising:
a processor (“61 can include a central processing unit such as one or more micro processors” discussed in [0034]); and
a memory device (“61 can include a… memory” discussed in [0034]) storing computer-executable instructions (“software” discussed in [0037]) that, when executed by the processor, cause the sensor controller to:
receive sensor data from the sensor via the communication interface (“sensors, including sensors 78, 71 and 72, can be used to capture data from the wearer of the apparatus or glasses 31 such that this data can be sent to the computer 61” discussed in [0037]); and
transmit a signal based on the sensor data (“software that allows the data from a plurality of digital sensor systems to be transmitted across a computer network” discussed in [0104]).
Regarding claim 4, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the communication interface comprises a wireless communication interface (“transceiver for wireless electronic communication” discussed in [0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the power interface comprises an electromechanical interface with electrically conductive contacts (“the arm connects to the front piece and electrical contact is made between components in the arm and components in the front piece” discussed in [0123].
Regarding claim 8, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the communication interface and the power interface comprise a shared interface (see also “headwear device receives and sends power over the data ports” discussed in [0202]).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Aimone et al. (US 2018/0348863).
Regarding claim 9, Miller (Fig. 1, 11, and 15) discloses an apparatus comprising:
a display (43, 44);
a facial interface (67) configured to engage a face of the user (“a portion of the frame that contacts the skin of the user, for example on the inner surface 67” discussed in [0036]);
a biometric sensor (72, providing “biometric contextual data” as discussed in [0035]) attached to the facial interface (“sensors 72 can each be mounted on or provided within the inner surface 67” discussed in [0035]);
a power source (62);
a processor (as part of 61, see “61 can include a central processing unit such as one or more micro processors” discussed in [0034]); and
a biased removable electromechanical connection (298, corresponding to 1502 which “enables rapid connection and disconnection” and includes “data ports” as discussed in [0123], which is biased using a spring, see a “spring pushes pins” discussed in [0123]) between the sensor and each of the power source and the processor (as seen in Fig. 1, the sensor is located in the “front piece” of the glasses, while the power source 62 is in the arm on the right side, and the processor in 61 is in the arm on the left side, while Fig. 11 more explicitly shows computer 301 in the arm 51 being disconnected from the front piece 32, which includes the sensor), the removable electromechanical connection positioned adjacent to a temple region of a head (as seen in Fig. 11, the connection is located on the outside periphery of the lens of the glasses, which corresponds to the temple region of the user’s head when the device is worn, more explicitly called a “temple” 47 in [0083]).
However, Miller fails to teach or suggest wherein the facial interface is “removably coupled to the display.”
Aimone (Fig. 1 and 2) discloses an apparatus comprising:
a display (“display” discussed in [0166]);
a facial interface (120) removably coupled to the display (“face pad 120 is detachably attached to wearable computing device 100” discussed in [0190]) and configured to engage a face of a user (“face pad 120 includes a foam pad 121” and “the foam pad 121 conforms to the user's face” discussed in [0188]);
a biometric sensor (130) attached to the facial interface (“face pad 120 includes bio-signal sensors disposed thereon” discussed in [0191]); and
a processor (“processor” discussed in [0228]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller so the facial interface is removably coupled to the display as taught by Aimone because this allows for easier cleaning or replacement when damaged.
Regarding claim 10, Miller and Aimone disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the removable electromechanical connection comprises a communication interface between the processor and the sensor (“connections that permit bidirectional transmission of data between the glasses front piece and the glasses arm” discussed in [0123], while Fig. 1 shows that the front piece includes the sensor 72, and the left arm includes the processor 61).
Regarding claim 11, Miller and Aimone disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the removable electromechanical connection comprises a power interface between the power source and the sensor (“hardware accessory port(s) (2632) provide a bidirectional serial data bus as well as voltage-regulated power lines” discussed in [0199], “send power to every circuit that needs power” discussed in [0206]).
Regarding claim 12, Miller and Aimone disclose an HMD as discussed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the removable electromechanical connection comprises a communication interface and a power interface (1502 includes a “data port” as discussed in [0123], with “send and receive data to/from a data port” discussed in [0201] and “receives and sends power over the data ports” discussed in [0202]).
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller and Bohn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khan et al. (US 2022/0151489).
Regarding claim 3, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, however fails to teach or suggest wherein at least one of the communication interface or the power interface is positioned between the display and the facial interface.
Khan (Fig. 1-4, 6, and 8) discloses a head mountable display (HMD) (12), comprising:
a display (310);
a facial interface (including both 105 and 110, with the “front portion is configured to be pressed against a user's face” discussed in [0021]);
a biometric sensor (an eye tracking camera, labelled 612 in Fig. 6 and 808 in Fig. 8, eg. to sense biometric features of the user, such as to “imaging of a respective quadrant of the user's eye” for eye tracking as discussed in [0099]);
a communication interface connected to the sensor (seen in Fig. 6, an interface connects the eye tracking camera 612 to the processor 602, with “electrical interfaces can also be provided on the sub-components to allow… data communication between adjacent sub-components” discussed in [0079]); and
a power interface (145 “can be used to provide power” as discussed in [0064]) connected to the sensor (eg. “allow direct power and data communication between adjacent sub-components” discussed in [0079]);
wherein at least one of the communication interface (145 is used to “provide a data and control connection” as discussed in [0064]) or the power interface (145 is also used to “provide power” as discussed in [0064]) is positioned between the display and the facial interface (145 is located between the display, which is inside 130, and the facial interface 115, as seen in Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller and Bohn so at least one of the communication interface or the power interface is positioned between the display and the facial interface as taught by Khan because this allows the display and facial interface to be positioned to “maintain a center of gravity as close as possible to the neck for comfort and to minimize slipping” (see [0062]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller and Bohn as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kuwabara et al. (US 2022/0361815).
Regarding claim 5, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, however fail to teach or suggest wherein the wireless communication interface is sealed.
Kuwabara discloses a wearable device including a wireless communication interface (6) wherein the wireless communication interface is sealed (6 is “provided in the sealed housing 1” as discussed in [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller and Bohn so the wireless communication interface is sealed as taught by Kuwabara because sealing the wireless communication interface prevents it “from being damaged by sweat, rain, or the like from the outside” (see [0038]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller and Aimone as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0360326).
Regarding claim 13, Miller and Aimone disclose an apparatus as discussed above, however fail to teach or suggest wherein the electromechanical connection comprises a pogo-pin connection.
Lee (Fig. 3) discloses an apparatus wherein an electromechanical connection comprises a pogo-pin connection (“the charging terminals 910 and 920, and the sensing terminals 930 and 940 may be configured as pogo pins” as discussed in [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller and Aimone so the electromechanical connection comprises a pogo-pin connection as taught by Lee because Miller, Aimone, and Lee are each directed to wearable devices, and pogo pins allow for easy mechanical and electrical contact even when frequently connecting or disconnecting.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller and Bohn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aimone.
Regarding claim 21, Miller and Bohn disclose an HMD as discussed above, however fail to teach or suggest wherein the facial interface is configured to be removably coupled to the display at the power interface connector.
Aimone (Fig. 1 and 2) discloses a head mountable display (HMD) comprising:
a display (“display” discussed in [0166]);
a facial interface (120) configured to engage a face of a user (“face pad 120 includes a foam pad 121” and “the foam pad 121 conforms to the user's face” discussed in [0188]);
a biometric sensor (130) attached to the facial interface (“face pad 120 includes bio-signal sensors disposed thereon” discussed in [0191]); and
a power interface connector attached to the sensor (“an electrical connection portion for establishing an electrical connection between the sensor 3700 and a signal receiver” discussed in [0228]), and
wherein the facial interface is configured to be removably coupled to the display (“face pad 120 is detachably attached to wearable computing device 100” discussed in [0190]).
Additionally, the combination of Miller, Bohn, and Aimone would provide an HMD wherein the facial interface is configured to be removably coupled at the power interface connector (Miller teaches that detachable elements include power interface connectors, see “the arm connects to the front piece and electrical contact is made between components in the arm and components in the front piece” discussed in [0123], while Aimone teaches that the facial interface 120 including sensors 130 is detachable from the rest of the HMD 100, see [0190], see also Fig. 12 which shows a similar interface 145 being detachable at electrical connector 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller and Bohn so the facial interface is removably coupled to the display as taught by Aimone because this allows for easier cleaning or replacement when damaged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 15-20 have not been amended, and so are allowable for the same reasons as discussed in the previous rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
In view of the amendments, the reference of Bohn and Aimone have been added for new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M BLANCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623