DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses a phrase which can be implied. For instance, lines 1-2 recite “Example systems, apparatus, articles of manufacture, and methods … are disclosed”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Lesso et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2016/0329867).
In regards to claims 1, 9, and 17, Lesso discloses an apparatus, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and a method comprising: at least one memory; instructions; and programmable circuitry (See [0113])to execute the instructions to: cause at least one test signal to be output to an audio device, a voltage of the at least one test signal based on a default load impedance (See [0075] – [0076] and [0106]); measure a current drawn by the audio device based on the at least one test signal; and change the voltage based on an impedance profile, the impedance profile based on the measured current (See [0097]).
In regards to claims 2, 10, and 18, Lesso discloses the apparatus, non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and method, wherein the at least one test signal includes a first test signal and a second test signal, the first test signal associated with a first frequency, and the second test signal associated with a second frequency different from the first frequency (See [0075]).
In regards to claims 3, 11, and 19, Lesso discloses the apparatus, non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and method, wherein the at least one test signal includes a third test signal associated with a third frequency that is different from the first frequency and the second frequency (See [0075]).
In regards to claims 4, 12, and 20, Lesso discloses the apparatus, non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and method, wherein the first test signal, the second test signal, and the third test signal form a melody (See [0106]).
In regards to claims 5 and 13, Lesso discloses the apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the audio device is an audio peripheral device coupled to a universal serial bus (USB) connector of a host device (See [0065] and [0069]).
In regards to claims 6 and 14, Lesso discloses the apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the audio peripheral device is a pair of headphones (See [0051]).
In regards to claims 7 and 15, Lesso discloses the apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause a digital to analog converter (DAC) to transmit a measurement of the current drawn by the audio device to an audio codec, the audio codec to change a frequency of an audio signal transmitted to the audio device based on the measurement (See [0051]).
In regards to claims 8 and 16, Lesso discloses the apparatus and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the DAC is included in a power delivery controller, the power delivery controller coupled to the audio codec by an inter-integrated circuit communication bus, and the programmable circuitry is to cause the audio codec to determine an impedance associated with the measured current based on a current to impedance mapping stored in a lookup table (See [0066] – [0067]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Allen et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2013/0094680 A1) teach a portable electronic device with magnetic audio interface and audio reproduction accessory therefor.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693