DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/342,594 filed on 27 June 2023. The response filed 16 October 2025 presents arguments is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Independent Claims 1, 11, 17, and 26
On pages 9-12 of the response filed 16 October 2025, Applicant addresses the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection made on the 16 July 2025 Non-Final Rejection. Applicant’s arguments, regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, have been fully considered.
On pages 9-12, Applicant argues that the Mazloum system fails to teach or suggest “receive a configuration that indicates a set of carriers of a plurality of available carriers, the set of carriers being for communication on a first radio of the UE after the UE wakes up in response to a wake up signal (WUS).” Applicant argues that Mazloum fails to disclose a set of carriers. Examiner respectfully agrees and finds this argument persuasive. Mazloum fails to disclose the receive limitation. Therefore, Examiner finds this argument persuasive.
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-16, 18-25, and 27-30
On pages 9-12 of the response filed 16 October 2025, Applicant addresses the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection made on the 16 July 2025 Non-Final Rejection. Applicant submits that these claims are allowable at least as depending from an allowable independent claim, and further in view of the amendments to the independent claims, and the comments provided above. As per the comments above, Examiner found the arguments persuasive. With regards to allowability, Examiner has conducted a search and applied new art. Thus, a new rejection is established against the independent claims.
Finality
Due to the response filed 16 October 2025, Examiner is restarting prosecution. This action is a Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2021/0022077 A1 to Mazloum et al and in view of US PGPUB 2024/0430803 A1 to Li et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Mazloum discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (FIG. 10, UE 101), comprising: one or more memories (0088 provides for memory 1013); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors (0088 provides for processor 1012) configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration (FIG. 10 and 0124-0127 provides for UE 101 receiving config data 4001); receive the WUS (FIG. 10 and 0135 provides for UE 101 receiving wake-up signal); and wake up the first radio to communicate (FIG. 10 and 0136 provides for UE 101 transitioning to the active state). Mazloum doesn’t explicitly disclose the configuration that indicates a set of carriers of a plurality of available carriers, the set of carriers being for communication on a first radio of the UE after the UE wakes up in response to a wake up signal (WUS). Li, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein the configuration that indicates a set of carriers of a plurality of available carriers, the set of carriers being for communication on a first radio of the UE after the UE wakes up in response to a wake up signal (WUS); and wake up the first radio to communicate on the set of carriers (0079 provides for first indication information includes a plurality of resources on different carriers). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed data of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Li for DCI wake-up signals for multiple carriers. The multiple carriers of Li, when implemented with the WUS system of the Mazloum system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to wake-up a device in order to communicate with resources across multiple carriers on different frequency domain positions. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the multiple carriers of Li with the WUS system of the Mazloum system for the desirable purpose of transmitting data to resources for multiple carriers.
Regarding Claim 2, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the WUS, are configured to cause the UE to receive the WUS with a second radio of the UE (Mazloum, 0038 provides for UE receiving the WUS from a low-power receiver).
Regarding Claim 3, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein an operating power of the first radio is greater than an operating power of the second radio (Mazloum, 0036-0038 provides for the main power state is greater than the low-power receiver).
Regarding Claim 4, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the second radio is a low-power wake-up radio having an operating power that is below a threshold (Mazloum, 0036-0038 provides for the low-power receiver is below the main power state threshold).
Regarding Claim 5, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the WUS is one of a plurality of WUSs (Mazloum, FIG. 11 and 0142-0145 provides for wherein the wake-up signal 4003 at 3055 and signal 4003 at 3054, each signal 4003 is associated with BS 112 of cell 161 and cell 162), each WUS of the plurality of WUSs being associated with a corresponding set of carriers (Li, 0079 provides for first indication information includes a plurality of resources on different carriers). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 5, wherein each WUS of the plurality of WUSs is associated with a corresponding set of carriers based at least in part on a WUS identifier (Li, 0079 provides for first indication information includes a plurality of resources on different carriers). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 5, wherein each WUS of the plurality of WUSs is associated with a corresponding set of carriers (Li, 0079 provides for first indication information includes a plurality of resources on different carriers) based at least in part on one or more bits of the WUS (Mazloum, 0099-0105 provides for preamble bits to identify the WUS). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more bits indicate a UE identifier (ID) (Mazloum, 0116 provides for the WUS can be a random bits unique that can be assigned to a UE), a UE group ID, a carrier index, a carrier set index, or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 10, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit or receive a communication using the first radio (Mazloum, FIG. 10, 0003 and 0138-0140 provides for UE transmitting payload data on the main receiver).
Regarding Claim 11, Mazloum discloses a network node for wireless communication (FIG. 10, BS 112), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the network node to: transmit a configuration (FIG. 10 and 0124-0127 provides for BS 112 transmitting config data 4001 that indicates cells 161-168); and transmit the WUS (FIG. 10 and 0135 provides for VS 112 transmitting the wake-up signal). Mazloum doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the configuration that indicates a set of carriers of a plurality of available carriers, the set of carriers being for communication on a first radio of a user equipment (lE) after the first radio wakes up in response to receiving a wake up signal (WUS) with a second radio of the lE Li, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses transmit a configuration that indicates a set of carriers of a plurality of available carriers, the set of carriers being for communication on a first radio of a user equipment (lE) after the first radio wakes up in response to receiving a wake up signal (WUS) with a second radio of the lE (0079 provides for first indication information includes a plurality of resources on different carriers). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 5 teaches the network node of claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 6 teaches the network node of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 7 teaches the network node of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 8 teaches the network node of claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 2 teaches the method of claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 3 teaches the method of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 4 teaches the method of claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 5 teaches the method of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 6 teaches the method of claim 22.
Regarding Claim 23, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 7 teaches the method of claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 8 teaches the method of claim 24.
Regarding Claim 26, similar rejection where the network node of claim 11 teaches the method of claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 5 teaches the method of claim 27.
Regarding Claim 28, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 6 teaches the method of claim 28.
Regarding Claim 29, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 7 teaches the method of claim 29.
Regarding Claim 30, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 8 teaches the method of claim 30.
Claims 9, 16, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Mazloum/Li system as applied to claims 1, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of US PGPUB 2025/0039794 A1 to Zhou et al.
Regarding Claim 9, the Mazloum/Li system discloses the UE of claim 1. The Mazloum/Li system doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive downlink control information that schedules data on the set of carriers. Zhou, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive downlink control information that schedules data on the set of carriers (FIG. 1, 0043-0044, and 0050 provides for wherein the UE 120 receives DCI message). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Zhou for DCI messages. The DCI messages of Zhou, when implemented with the WUS system of the Mazloum/Li system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to wake-up the device to an active state in order to page a UE device. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the DCI messages of Zhou with the WUS system of the Mazloum/Li system for the desirable purpose of transmitting data based on a paging signal.
Regarding Claim 16, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 9 teaches the network node of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 25, similar rejection where the user equipment of claim 9 teaches the method of claim 25.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2025/0212126 A1 to Fu et al discloses wake-up resources for different carriers.
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459