DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment(s)
The Amendment, filed on 12/30/2025, has been entered and acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim(s) 1-25 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/27/2023. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by Applicant's amendment(s).
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-4, 9-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Choi et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0339509 A1) as previously cited in view of Su et al., (CN 110727134 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi et al., teaches a display device comprising: a circuit portion including a first substrate (100, a substrate, see at least Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of subpixels (of 200) and a light emitting element (200, one or more organic light-emitting devices, ¶ [0049]) formed on an upper surface of the first substrate (100); a color filter portion including a second substrate (not shown, above color filters (plurality of 510), encapsulating device for operation) and a plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) formed on a lower surface of the second substrate; an encapsulation portion (410) between the circuit portion and the color filter portion; and a plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) and a flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) surrounding each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) are positioned on the lower surface of the second substrate, wherein the plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) are positioned in the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1), respectively. Choi et al., is silent regarding the plurality of concave portions each having a concave shape in the lower surface of the second substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Su et al., teaches a display device including a color filter (of 340) formed beneath a substrate (combination of 310+320), wherein a plurality of concave portions each having a concave shape in the lower surface of the second substrate (combination of 310+320) in order to ensure greater adhesion of the color filter via the embedding within the substrate, thereby creating greater mechanical stability overall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second substrate, as disclosed by Su et al., in the device of Choi et al., in order to ensure greater adhesion of the color filter via the embedding within the substrate, thereby creating greater mechanical stability overall.
Regarding Claim 2, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) overlaps a corresponding one of the plurality of subpixels (of 200).
Regarding Claim 3, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) is positioned inside a corresponding one of the plurality of subpixels (of 200).
Regarding Claim 4, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the color filter portion further includes a black matrix (520) positioned in the boundary of the plurality of subpixels (of 200), and the black matrix (520) is positioned on a lower surface of the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1).
Regarding Claim 9, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 4, wherein a thickness of the plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) is greater than a thickness of the black matrix (520).
Regarding Claim 10, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 9, wherein at least two color filters (plurality of 510) adjacent to each other is in contact (indirectly in contact therewith) with each other on the lower surface of the black matrix (520).
Regarding Claim 11, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of subpixels (of 200) include at least one subpixel which does not include the color filter. It should be noted that the phrase ‘one subpixel which does not include the color filter’ does not recite a positive limitation and instead attempts to claim the disclosed invention by excluding what the applicants did not disclose or invent, rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what the applicants did disclose or invent. Essentially this claim language fails to provide any structural element or concrete component and there is improper [MPEP 2173.05(i)].
Examiner suggests modifying to claim -- at least one subpixel which is color filter free -- or -- at least one subpixel which is free from the color filter --.
Regarding Claim 12, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 11, wherein the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) extends to at least one subpixel.
Regarding Claim 13, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 11, wherein a concave portion of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) corresponding to the at least one subpixel is filled with the encapsulation layer (420).
Regarding Claim 14, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulation portion (410) bonds the circuit portion and the color filter portion to each other.
The applicant is claiming the product of the above element including a method (i.e. a process) of making by employing bonding, consequently, this claim is considered a “product-by-process” claim. In spite of the fact that the product-by-process claim may recite only process limitations, it is the product and not the recited process that is covered by the claim. Further, patentability of a claim to a product does not rest merely on the difference in the method by which the product is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.
Furthermore, it is well established that a claimed apparatus cannot be distinguished over the prior art by a process limitation. Consequently, absent a showing of an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art, the subject product-by-process claim limitation is not afforded patentable weight (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claim 15, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of subpixels (of 200) include first to third subpixels (of 200), and the plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) include first to third color filters (plurality of 510) respectively positioned in the first to third subpixels (of 200).
Regarding Claim 16, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) are positioned in the respective first to third subpixels (of 200) and are provided to be spaced apart from each other, and the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) is positioned in the boundary of the first to third subpixels (of 200).
Regarding Claim 17, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of subpixels (of 200) further include a fourth subpixel (via repetition of array along display nth times) adjacent to the third subpixel, and the fourth subpixel emits white light (RGB combination, ¶ [0006]) and does not include the color filter. It should be noted that the phrase ‘the fourth subpixel does not include the color filter’ does not recite a positive limitation and instead attempts to claim the disclosed invention by excluding what the applicants did not disclose or invent, rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what the applicants did disclose or invent. Essentially this claim language fails to provide any structural element or concrete component and there is improper [MPEP 2173.05(i)].
Regarding Claim 18, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 17, wherein the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) extends to the fourth subpixel.
Regarding Claim 19, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 17, wherein a concave portion is further positioned in the fourth subpixel, and the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) is positioned in the boundary of the first to fourth subpixels (of 200).
Regarding Claim 20, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein an inner surface of each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) has a curved shape, and the color filter is positioned to be bent along the inner surface of each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) inside the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1).
Regarding Claim 21, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the color filter is uniform (single, uniform planar layer, Fig. 4) inside the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1).
Regarding Claim 22, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 15, wherein the color filter portion further includes a black matrix (520) positioned in the boundary of the first to third subpixels (of 200), and the black matrix (520) is positioned on a lower surface of the flat portion (flat regions between respective S1).
Regarding Claim 23, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 22, wherein an upper surface of the black matrix (520) is flat and is spaced apart from the concave portion (S1).
Regarding Claim 24, Choi et al., teaches the display device according to claim 22, wherein the color filter extends from the concave portion and covers a portion of the upper surface of the black matrix (520).
Regarding Claim 25, Choi et al., teaches t display device comprising: a circuit portion including a first substrate (100) with a plurality of subpixels (of 200) and a light emitting element (200) positioned on an upper surface of the first substrate (100); a color filter portion including a second substrate (now shown), and a planarization layer (41) and a plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) positioned on a lower surface of the second substrate; and an encapsulation portion (410) between the circuit portion and the color filter portion, wherein a plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) and a flat portion (flat regions between respective S1) surrounding each of the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1) are positioned on a lower surface of the planarization layer (41), and the plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) are positioned inside the plurality of concave portions (plurality of S1), respectively, wherein the plurality of color filters (510) are disposed on the lower surface of the planarization layer (when viewed from beneath the display device, as opposed to in plan view). Choi et al., is silent regarding the plurality of concave portions each having a concave shape in the lower surface of the second substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Su et al., teaches a display device including a color filter (of 340) formed beneath a substrate (combination of 310+320), wherein a plurality of concave portions each having a concave shape in the lower surface of the second substrate (combination of 310+320) in order to ensure greater adhesion of the color filter via the embedding within the substrate, thereby creating greater mechanical stability overall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second substrate, as disclosed by Su et al., in the device of Choi et al., in order to ensure greater adhesion of the color filter via the embedding within the substrate, thereby creating greater mechanical stability overall.
2. Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Choi et al., in view of Su et al., in view of Lee et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0341428 A1) as previously cited.
Regarding Claim 5, Choi et al., in view of Su et al., teaches the invention set forth above (see rejection in the corresponding claim(s) above). Choi et al., in view of Su et al., is silent regarding a width of the black matrix is greater than a width of the flat portion, such that a portion of the black matrix overlap at least one of the plurality of concave portions
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al., teaches an active-matrix display device wherein a width of the black matrix (140, BM) is greater than a width of the flat portion (very edge portion of 161, color filter), such that a portion of the black matrix overlap at least one of the plurality of concave portions (as clearly depicted in Fig. 9) in order to advantageously reduce a white angle dependency phenomenon that would otherwise occur.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the width of the black matrix, as disclosed by Lee et al., in the display of Choi et al., in view of Su et al., in order to advantageously reduce a white angle dependency phenomenon that would otherwise occur.
Regarding Claim 6, Choi et al., in view of Su et al., teaches the display device according to claim 5, wherein an upper surface of the portion of the black matrix (520) is spaced apart from the at least one concave portion (S1).
Regarding Claim 7, Choi et al., in view of Su et al., teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein a color filter of the plurality of color filters (plurality of 510) positioned in the at least one concave portion fills a space between the portion of the black matrix (520) and the at least one concave portion (S1).
Regarding Claim 8, Choi et al., in view of Su et al., teaches the display device according to claim 5, wherein a color filter of the plurality of color filters (520) positioned in the at least one concave portion contacts a side surface and a lower surface of the black matrix as well as an upper surface of the portion of the black matrix (Fig. 4 of Choi et al.).
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art below is made of record and is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
K-PION Patent File Wrapper Search.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment(s) necessitates the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, therefore:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/H. Featherly/
Examiner Featherly
Art Unit 2875 Patent Examiner
/JAMES R GREECE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875