DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Claims 1-6 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this communication, no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A) In Claim 1, line 3, “The group” should read “the group”
B) In Claims 1 & 4, “the means” should read “a means”
C) Claims 2-3 & 5-6 are also objected to due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication Number 2022/0316742 A1 to Okeya.
A) As per Claim 1, Okeya teaches a method for reducing heat stress and increasing biosecurity in the protein production industry (Okeya: Figure 1), comprising:
a group consisting of the means to control supply air of a designated space (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 3), the means to control discharge air of a designated space (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 5), the means to control biosecurity entering a designated space (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 15), and the means to control biosecurity leaving a designated space (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 16) or a mixture thereof.
B) As per Claim 2, Okeya teaches the group consisting of mechanical or natural ventilation or a mixture thereof to manage supply air (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 3).
C) As per Claim 3, Okeya teaches the group consisting of mechanical or natural ventilation or a mixture thereof to manage discharge air (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 5).
D) As per Claim 4, Okeya teaches the means to control latent and sensible capacity within the air-stream (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 6).
E) As per Claim 5, Okeya teaches that a biosecurity system is used for air entering the facility and is controlled by the group consisting of ultraviolet disinfection, filtration (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 15), ionization, and oxidation or a mixture thereof.
F) As per Claim 6, Okeya teaches that a biosecurity system is used for air exiting the facility and is controlled by the group consisting of ultraviolet disinfection, filtration (Okeya: Figure 1, Item 16), ionization, and oxidation or a mixture thereof.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762