DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 21 August 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the motivation to combine Yi and Lee fails because Yi’s displays should not bend. The examiner disagrees. Yi discloses multiple displays, the first of which is a mobile terminal 100, the second of which can be a projector 200a, a detachable display mounted in the seat of the vehicle 200b, or another mobile terminal 200c (Yi paragraph 57). Yi does on to explicitly state that the displays of the mobile terminals can be flexible (Yi paragraph 102). In response to applicant’s arguments that the mobile terminals are not ‘in-vehicle’, the mobile terminals are carried by the passengers or attached to the seats and therefor inside the vehicle (Yi paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2019/0363297 A1) in view of Jung et al. (KR 102229885 B1).
Note: Citations to Jung refer to the page/line/paragraph numbers in the attached English translation.
With respect to claim 1: Park teaches “a display device (DD) comprising: a display panel (DP); an anti-reflection member (260) on the display panel (see Fig. 2); a window member (300) on the anti-reflection member (see Fig. 2); and an adhesive layer (172) between the window member and the anti-reflection member (see Fig. 2)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C, wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 with respect to a strain of 24% to 26%”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C (page 18; “Temperature: 70℃”), wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 (page 3; “After the second photocuring of the pressure-sensitive adhesive composition, the stress relaxation ratio at 70° C. may be 0.2 or more, such as 0.2 or more and 0.6 or less, as described above”; see also table 2, inventive examples 1-7 and comparative example 1) with respect to a strain of 24% to 26% (page 18; “Measurement conditions: Strain 25%”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by adjusting the stress relaxation value of the adhesive to within the claimed range as taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
With respect to claim 6: Park in view of Jung teaches “the display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the adhesive layer comprises a polymer resin derived from a resin composition comprising a monomer, an oligomer, and a crosslinking agent”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein the adhesive layer comprises a polymer resin derived from a resin composition comprising a monomer (page 3; “photopolymerizable monomer; Dilute monomer”), an oligomer (page 3; “urethane oligomer” or “(meth)acrylic copolymer”), and a crosslinking agent (page 3; “photoinitiator”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the composition taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
With respect to claim 21: Park in view of Jung teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein, when measured at the temperature of 70°C, the stress relaxation value is less than or equal to 0.34 with respect to the strain of 24% to 26%”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein, when measured at the temperature of 70°C, the stress relaxation value is less than or equal to 0.34 (table 2; inventive example 7) with respect to the strain of 24% to 26%”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the composition taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita (US 2021/0214482 A1).
With respect to claim 2: Park in view of Jung teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Park further teaches “wherein the window member comprises: a window divided into a transmission region (DA) and a bezel region (NDA)”.
Park does not specifically teach “a printing layer that does not overlap the transmission region and is on one surface of the window, the adhesive layer being in contact with a side surface of the printing layer and one surface of the printing layer crossing the side surface of the printing layer”.
However, Morita teaches “a printing layer (BM) that does not overlap the transmission region (DA) and is on one surface of the window (BL), the adhesive layer (AP-a) being in contact with a side surface of the printing layer (see Fig. 10) and one surface of the printing layer crossing the side surface of the printing layer (see Fig. 10)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the printing layer of Morita in order to define the shape of the transmission region (Morita paragraphs 96, 98).
With respect to claim 3: Park in view of Jung and Morita teaches “The display device of claim 2 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein in the bezel region, the printing layer and the anti-reflection member are apart from each other with the adhesive layer therebetween”.
However, Morita teaches “wherein in the bezel region (BZ), the printing layer (BM) and the anti-reflection member (PP) are apart from each other with the adhesive layer therebetween (see Fig. 10)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the printing layer of Morita in order to define the shape of the transmission region (Morita paragraphs 96, 98).
With respect to claim 4: Park in view of Jung and Morita teaches “The display device of claim 2 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the adhesive layer has a first thickness in the bezel region, and has, in the transmission region, a second thickness greater than the first thickness”.
However, Morita teaches “wherein the adhesive layer has a first thickness in the bezel region, and has, in the transmission region, a second thickness greater than the first thickness (see Fig. 10)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the printing layer of Morita in order to define the shape of the transmission region (Morita paragraphs 96, 98), and consequently make the adhesive layer thinner where the printing layer is to make room for the thickness of said printing layer (see Morita Fig. 10).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Morita as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Shim et al. (US 2019/0215974 A1).
With respect to claim 5: Park in view of Lee and Morita teaches “The display device of claim 2 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein: the printing layer comprises first to third printing parts sequentially stacked on the one surface of the window; a first side surface of the third printing part and one surface of the second printing part define a first step, and a second side surface of the second printing part and one surface of the first printing part define a second step; and the adhesive layer covers the first step and the second step”.
However, Shim teaches “wherein: the printing layer (100) comprises first to third printing parts (101, 102, 103) sequentially stacked (see Fig. 4) on the one surface of the window (20); a first side surface of the third printing part and one surface of the second printing part define a first step (101s), and a second side surface of the second printing part and one surface of the first printing part define a second step (102s); and the adhesive layer (301) covers the first step and the second step (see Fig. 4)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the sacked printing layer of Shim in order to improve the aesthetics of the display (Shim paragraphs 63-64).
Claims 7-9, 12, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Park et al. (US 2020/0266368 A1), hereinafter Park II.
With respect to claim 7: Park teaches “a method of manufacturing a display device (method of making DD), the method comprising: forming a preliminary adhesive layer (172); applying the preliminary adhesive layer on an anti-reflection member (260) on a display panel (DA); applying a window member (300) on the preliminary adhesive layer on the anti-reflection member (see Fig. 2)”.
Park does not specifically teach preparing a resin composition comprising a monomer, an oligomer; forming a preliminary adhesive layer; and forming an adhesive layer by curing the preliminary adhesive layer, wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C,the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 with respect to a strain of 24% to 26%.
However, Jung teaches preparing a resin composition (throughout reference) comprising a monomer (page 3), an oligomer (page 3), forming a preliminary adhesive layer (adhesive layer formed after first curing step; page 15; “The pressure-sensitive adhesive composition according to an embodiment of the present invention is first cured and in a state before the secondary curing”), and forming an adhesive layer by curing the preliminary adhesive layer (adhesive layer after second curing step; page 15; “Therefore, the two display components are laminated through the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet before secondary curing, and then ultraviolet rays are irradiated from the side of at least one of the display components, and the pressure sensitive adhesive sheet is crosslinked with ultraviolet rays to secondary cure the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet”), wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C (page 18; “Temperature: 70℃”), wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 (page 3; “After the second photocuring of the pressure-sensitive adhesive composition, the stress relaxation ratio at 70° C. may be 0.2 or more, such as 0.2 or more and 0.6 or less, as described above”; see also table 2, inventive examples 1-7 and comparative example 1) with respect to a strain of 24% to 26% (page 18; “Measurement conditions: Strain 25%”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the composition taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
Park does not teach having a creep value of about 10% to about 35% with respect to a stress of about 900 Pa to about 1100 Pa.
However, Park II teaches forming the adhesive with a creep value within the claimed range (paragraph 101).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by forming the adhesive to have the claimed creep value as taught by Park II in order to balance between the display being easy to bend and having a sufficient restorative force (Park II paragraph 101).
With respect to claim 8: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein, in the forming of the adhesive layer, ultraviolet light of 6500 mJ to 8500 mJ is applied to the preliminary adhesive layer”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein, in the forming of the adhesive layer, ultraviolet light of 6500 mJ to 8500 mJ is applied to the preliminary adhesive layer (page 14; “the second photocuring is performed by activating the hydrogen drawing photoinitiator at a high light amount of 2,000 mJ/cm2 or more”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by irradiating the adhesive layer as suggested by Jung, as an art-recognized suitable method of curing the adhesive (Jung page 14).
With respect to claim 9: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein, in the forming of the adhesive layer, light passes through the window member and is applied to the preliminary adhesive layer”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein, in the forming of the adhesive layer, light passes through the window member and is applied to the preliminary adhesive layer (page 15; “Therefore, the two display components are laminated through the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet before secondary curing, and then ultraviolet rays are irradiated from the side of at least one of the display components, and the pressure sensitive adhesive sheet is crosslinked with ultraviolet rays to secondary cure the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by irradiating the adhesive layer as suggested by Jung, as an art-recognized suitable method of curing the adhesive (Jung page 14).
With respect to claim 12: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the oligomer comprises 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (2-EHA)”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein the oligomer comprises 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (2-EHA) (page 17)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the composition taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
With respect to claim 14: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the monomer comprises at least one of 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate (2-HEA), butyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, isobornyl acrylate, octyl methacrylate, or benzyl acrylate”.
Howevever, Jung teaches “wherein the monomer comprises at least one of 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate (2-HEA), butyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, isobornyl acrylate, octyl methacrylate, or benzyl acrylate (page 17)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the composition taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
With respect to claim 19: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the resin composition further comprises an ultraviolet (UV) absorber”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein the resin composition further comprises an ultraviolet (UV) absorber (page 12; “the photoinitiator refers to an initiator that absorbs active energy rays and generates radicals”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by including a UV absorber, so the adhesive can be cured by UV light (Jung page 12).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Park II as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Morita (US 2021/0214482 A1).
With respect to claim 10: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the window member comprises: a window divided into a transmission region and a bezel region; and a printing layer that does not overlap the transmission region and is on one surface of the window; the preliminary adhesive layer being in contact with a side surface of the printing layer and one surface of the printing layer crossing the side surface of the printing layer”.
However, Morita teaches “wherein the window member (WP) comprises: a window divided into a transmission region (TA/DA) and a bezel region (BZA/NDA); and a printing layer (BM) that does not overlap the transmission region and is on one surface of the window (see Fig. 7); the preliminary adhesive layer being in contact with a side surface of the printing layer and one surface of the printing layer crossing the side surface of the printing layer (see Fig. 9b)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using the printing layer of Morita in order to define the shape of the transmission region (Morita paragraphs 96, 98).
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Park II as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (US 20200299471 A1).
With respect to claim 11: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the oligomer has a weight of 73.9 wt% to 84.7 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition”.
However, Hou teaches “wherein the oligomer has a weight of 73.9 wt% to 84.7 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition (paragraph 95)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by selecting the material taught by Hou as the resin composition in order to obtain an adhesive layer with a good combination of flexibility and protection (Hou paragraph 13).
With respect to claim 13: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the monomer has a weight of15.0 wt% to 25.0 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition”.
However, Hou teaches “wherein the monomer has a weight of 15.0 wt% to 25.0 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition (paragraph 95)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by selecting the material taught by Hou as the resin composition in order to obtain an adhesive layer with a good combination of flexibility and protection (Hou paragraph 13).
With respect to claim 15: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the crosslinking agent has a weight of about 0.1 wt% to about 0.5 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition”.
However, Hou teaches “wherein the crosslinking agent has a weight of 0.1 wt% to 0.5 wt% with respect to a total weight of the resin composition (paragraph 99)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by selecting the material taught by Hou as the resin composition in order to obtain an adhesive layer with a good combination of flexibility and protection (Hou paragraph 13).
With respect to claim 17: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the resin composition further comprises 0.1 wt% to 0.4 wt% of a photoinitiator with respect to a total weight of the resin composition”.
However, Hou teaches “wherein the resin composition further comprises 0.1 wt% to 0.4 wt% of a photoinitiator with respect to a total weight of the resin composition (paragraph 99)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by selecting the material taught by Hou as the resin composition in order to obtain an adhesive layer with a good combination of flexibility and protection (Hou paragraph 13).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Park II as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lewandowski et al. (US 2007/0213449 A1).
With respect to claim 16: Park in view of Lee, Morita, and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the crosslinking agent comprises at least one of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate (HDDA), pentaerythritol triacrylate (PETA), tripropylene glycol diacrylate (TPGDA), dipropylene glycol diacrylate (DPGDA), tricyclodecane dimethanol diacrylate (TCDDA), tetraethylene glycol diacrylate (TTEGDA), bisphenol F (ethylene oxide)4 diacrylate, bisphenol A (ethylene oxide)20 diacrylate, bisphenol A (ethylene oxide)30 diacrylate, polyethylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PEG400DA), polyethylene glycol 200 diacrylate (PEG200DA), polyethylene glycol 300 diacrylate (PEG300DA), polyethylene glycol 600 diacrylate (PEG600DA), or polypropylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PPG400DA)”.
However, Lewandowski teaches “wherein the crosslinking agent comprises at least one of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate (HDDA), pentaerythritol triacrylate (PETA), tripropylene glycol diacrylate (TPGDA), dipropylene glycol diacrylate (DPGDA), tricyclodecane dimethanol diacrylate (TCDDA), tetraethylene glycol diacrylate (TTEGDA), bisphenol F (ethylene oxide)4 diacrylate, bisphenol A (ethylene oxide)20 diacrylate, bisphenol A (ethylene oxide)30 diacrylate, polyethylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PEG400DA), polyethylene glycol 200 diacrylate (PEG200DA), polyethylene glycol 300 diacrylate (PEG300DA), polyethylene glycol 600 diacrylate (PEG600DA), or polypropylene glycol 400 diacrylate (PPG400DA) (paragraph 42)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by selecting the crosslinking agent taught by Lewandowski in order to increase the cohesive strength of the adhesive (Lewandowski paragraph 42).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Park II as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hasskerl et al. (US 2014/0349093 A1).
With respect to claim 18: Park in view of Jung and Park II teaches “The method of claim 7 (see above)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein the resin composition further comprises 0.1 wt% to 0.2 wt% of a molecular weight modifier with respect to a total weight of the resin composition, and the molecular weight modifier comprises n-dodecyl mercaptan”.
However, Hasskerl teaches “wherein the resin composition further comprises 0.1 wt% to 0.2 wt% of a molecular weight modifier with respect to a total weight of the resin composition (paragraph 103), and the molecular weight modifier comprises n-dodecyl mercaptan (paragraph 103)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by adding the n-dodecyl mercaptan taught by Hasskerl in order to improve processability (Hasskerl paragraph 103).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung and Yi et al. (US 20150031352 A1).
With respect to claim 20: Park teaches “a display device (DD) comprising: a display panel (DP); an anti-reflection member (260) on the display panel (see Fig. 2); a window member (300) on the anti-reflection member (see Fig. 2); and an adhesive layer (172) between the window member and the anti-reflection member (see Fig. 2)”.
Park does not specifically teach “wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C, wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 with respect to a strain of 24% to 26%”.
However, Jung teaches “wherein, when measured at a temperature of 70°C (page 18; “Temperature: 70℃”), wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation value of 0.30 to 0.40 (page 3; “After the second photocuring of the pressure-sensitive adhesive composition, the stress relaxation ratio at 70° C. may be 0.2 or more, such as 0.2 or more and 0.6 or less, as described above”; see also table 2, inventive examples 1-7 and comparative example 1) with respect to a strain of 24% to 26% (page 18; “Measurement conditions: Strain 25%”)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by adjusting the stress relaxation value of the adhesive to within the claimed range as taught by Jung in order to secure durability, adhesion and cohesion (Jung page 15; “Durability can be secured by making sure that it is crosslinked to have sufficient adhesive strength and cohesion”).
Park does not specifically teach a vehicle comprising: a first display device in a first region inside the vehicle and to display first information of the vehicle; and a second display device in a second region inside the vehicle and to display second information of the vehicle.
However, Yi teaches a vehicle (see Fig. 1) comprising: a first display device (200) in a first region inside the vehicle (201a) and to display first information of the vehicle (Fig. 7); and a second display device (100) in a second region inside the vehicle and to display second information of the vehicle (see Figs. 10).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Park by using it as a display device in a vehicle as Yi suggests in order to provide information to guide the driver of the vehicle (Yi paragraphs 60-61).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875