DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are pending and have been considered as follows.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boss (US Pub. No. 2008/0030588) in view of Michalakis (US Pub. No. 2018/0281179).
As per Claim 1, Boss discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
evaluating (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800), by one or more processors (402), a manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), wherein a feature of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) is protected by a trade secret (as per “trade secret” in ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
evaluating (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform steps 802-818), by the one or more processors (402), a sensor capability (as per camera 120) of a third-party machine (102) to detect an aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27-30, 35-36, 60-64);
determining (as per disablement area adapted to correspond to secure facility 202), by the one or more processors (402), a set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
determining (as per step 810), by the one or more processors (402), whether the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-61); and
responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (as per YES at step 810), disabling (as per steps 814, 816), by the one or more processors (402), the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) when the third-party machine (102) enters the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity.
Michalakis discloses a robot (120) that includes: one or more cameras (125) for evaluating target objects (162) in an environment (160) and located in a head portion (124); hands (122) adapted for performing tasks on the target objects (162); and a locomotive base (127) for moving the robot (120) throughout the environment (160) (Fig. 1; ¶16-23). The operation environment (160) includes a first room (164) as well as a second room (166) and the target objects (162) are located within the first room (164) (Fig. 4; ¶42). In this way, the robot (120) is adapted to move to specified locations (164, 166) within the environment (160) and perform specified tasks on the target objects (162) (Figs. 1, 4; ¶21-22, 39, 42). Like Boss, Michalakis is concerned with mobile camera systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 2, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses wherein evaluating (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) further comprises:
Identifying (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800), by the one or more processors (402), the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62); and
identifying, by the one or more processors (402), an extent of a propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) to a location (as per “area” in step 802) on an industrial floor (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses wherein the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) is at least one of a visual aspect (“images” in ¶4) and {a non-visual aspect} (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
As per Claim 4, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses wherein the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) are based on at least on one of the extent of the propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) and the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) to detect the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 6, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) cannot be disabled (as per NO at step 810), restricting (as per “appropriate security personnel could be notified via either the base stations 204 or security computer system 104 so that normal security precautions with human staff could ensue” in ¶38; as per step 810), by the one or more processors (402), the third-party machine (102) from accessing the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 38, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 8, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses instructing, by the one or more processors (402), by an ecosystem (204, 104) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), the third-party machine (102) to relinquish system controls (as per step 814) to the ecosystem (204, 104), wherein the ecosystem (204, 104) provides instructions for performing (as per “disablement command” in step 814) to the third-party machine (102) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 9, Boss discloses a computer program product (as per “computer program product” in ¶25) comprising:
one or more computer readable storage media (as per “storage devices” in ¶23) and program instructions (as per “sequence of instructions” in ¶23; as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (as per “storage devices” in ¶23), the program instructions (as per “sequence of instructions” in ¶23; as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) comprising:
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to evaluate (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) a manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), wherein a feature of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) is protected by a trade secret (as per “trade secret” in ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to evaluate (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform steps 802-818) a sensor capability (as per camera 120) of a third-party machine (102) to detect an aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27-30, 35-36, 60-64);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to determine a set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to determine whether the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-61); and
responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (as per YES at step 810), program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to disable (as per steps 814, 816) the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) when the third-party machine (102) enters the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 10, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Boss further discloses wherein evaluating (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) further comprises:
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to identify (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62); and
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to identify an extent of a propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) to a location (as per “area” in step 802) on an industrial floor (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62).
As per Claim 11, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Boss further discloses wherein the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) are based on at least on one of the extent of the propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) and the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) to detect the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 12, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Boss further discloses responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) cannot be disabled (as per NO at step 810), program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to restrict (as per “appropriate security personnel could be notified via either the base stations 204 or security computer system 104 so that normal security precautions with human staff could ensue” in ¶38; as per step 810) the third-party machine (102) from accessing the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 38, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 14, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Boss further discloses program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to instruct by an ecosystem (204, 104) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), the third-party machine (102) to relinquish system controls (as per step 814) to the ecosystem (204, 104), wherein the ecosystem (204, 104) provides instructions for performing (as per “disablement command” in step 814) to the third-party machine (102) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 15, Boss discloses a computer system (400) (Fig. 4; ¶45) comprising:
one or more computer processors (402) (Fig. 4; ¶45-46);
one or more computer readable storage media (as per “storage devices” in ¶23; 404, 406) (Fig. 4; ¶46);
program instructions (as per “sequence of instructions” in ¶23; as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (as per “storage devices” in ¶23; 404, 406) for execution by at least one of the one or more computer processors (402), the stored program instructions (as per “sequence of instructions” in ¶23; as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) comprising:
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to evaluate (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) a manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), wherein a feature of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) is protected by a trade secret (as per “trade secret” in ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to evaluate (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform steps 802-818) a sensor capability (as per camera 120) of a third-party machine (102) to detect an aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27-30, 35-36, 60-64);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to determine a set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60);
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to determine whether the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-61); and
responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (as per YES at step 810), program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to disable (as per steps 814, 816) the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) when the third-party machine (102) enters the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform an activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 16, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Boss further discloses wherein evaluating (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) further comprises:
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to identify (as per security computer system 104 adapted to perform method 800) the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62); and
program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to identify an extent of a propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) to a location (as per “area” in step 802) on an industrial floor (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶4, 27, 35-36, 60-62).
As per Claim 17, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Boss further discloses wherein the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) are based on at least on one of the extent of the propagation of the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) and the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) to detect the aspect (as per “misappropriation of images” in ¶4) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 18, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Boss further discloses responsive to determining the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) cannot be disabled (as per NO at step 810), program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to restrict (as per “appropriate security personnel could be notified via either the base stations 204 or security computer system 104 so that normal security precautions with human staff could ensue” in ¶38; as per step 810) the third-party machine (102) from accessing the set of detection boundaries (as per “area” in step 802) for the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 38, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose wherein the third-party machine is robotic.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss and Michalakis, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system “wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
As per Claim 20, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Boss further discloses discloses program instructions (as per “instructions” in ¶41, 46) to instruct by an ecosystem (204, 104) of the manufacturing process (as per embodiment for “secure facility 202” in ¶35-36 directed to “factories” as per ¶4), the third-party machine (102) to relinquish system controls (as per step 814) to the ecosystem (204, 104), wherein the ecosystem (204, 104) provides instructions for performing (as per “disablement command” in step 814) to the third-party machine (102) (Figs. 1-2, 8; ¶27-30, 35, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis. Applying the teachings of Michalakis to the system of Boss would result in a system:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the third-party machine is to perform the activity” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would adapted to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boss (US Pub. No. 2008/0030588) in view of Michalakis (US Pub. No. 2018/0281179), further in view of Weldemariam (US Pub. No. 2020/0143300).
As per Claim 5, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss further discloses wherein the sensor capability (as per camera 120) of the third-party machine (102) can be disabled (as per disablement command in step 814 via YES at step 810) using functionality (124) integrated in the third-party machine (102) (Figs. 1, 6, 8; ¶30, 32, 51-54, 60-62).
Boss does not expressly disclose:
wherein the third-party machine is robotic; and
wherein the functionality involves blockchain.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Weldemariam discloses a network (100) including sensors (104) that produce sensor data (140) for a data capture/validation node or peer (108) (Fig. 1; ¶52). The network (100) also includes an analytics node or peer (132) that obtains sensor-related information, calculates a risk assessment, and provides sensor adjustments (172) to the data capture/validation node or peer (108) which in turn provides sensor adjustments (172) to the sensors (104) (Fig. 1; ¶70-71). In this way, the sensor (104) is adapted to operate in view of blockchain transactions (¶4-5, 56, 70-72). Like Boss, Weldemariam is concerned with sensor systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss, Michalakis, and Weldemariam, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis and Weldemariam to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and adapting the sensor (120) of Boss to operate with data systems as per Weldemariam. Applying the teachings of Michalakis and Weldemariam to the system of Boss would result in a system that operates:
“wherein the third-party machine is robotic” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and
“wherein the functionality involves blockchain” in that the camera (120) of Boss would be configured to operate in view of transactions as per Weldemariam.
Claims 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boss (US Pub. No. 2008/0030588) in view of Michalakis (US Pub. No. 2018/0281179), further in view of Aksamit (US Pub. No. 2019/0075429).
As per Claim 7, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Boss does not expressly disclose responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, rescheduling, by the one or more processors, a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
Aksamit discloses a mobile phone (100) that includes sensors (111, 121, 122, 131), one of which is a camera (Fig. 1; ¶36, 58, 60). The mobile phone (100) performs a context detection method in which the sensors (111, 121, 122, 131) are switched on and off in accordance with a specific schedule (Fig. 3; ¶68-72). In this way, the mobile phone (100) is configured for energy savings (¶68, 72, 74, 76). Like Boss, Aksamit is concerned with mobile camera systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss, Michalakis, and Aksamit, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and adapting the mobile device (102) of Boss for energy savings. Applying the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss would result in a system that operates: “responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, rescheduling, by the one or more processors, a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis and in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured to receive disablement commands (as per step 814) consistent with the specific schedule as per Aksamit.
As per Claim 13, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 9. Boss does not expressly disclose responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, program instructions to reschedule a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
See rejection of Claim 7 for discussion of teachings of Aksamit.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss, Michalakis, and Aksamit, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and adapting the mobile device (102) of Boss for energy savings. Applying the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss would result in a system that operates: “responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, program instructions to reschedule a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis and in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured to receive disablement commands (as per step 814) consistent with the specific schedule as per Aksamit.
As per Claim 19, the combination of Boss and Michalakis teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Boss does not expressly disclose responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, program instructions to reschedule a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Michalakis.
See rejection of Claim 7 for discussion of teachings of Aksamit.
Therefore, from these teachings of Boss, Michalakis, and Aksamit, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the portable device (102) of Boss to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis; and adapting the mobile device (102) of Boss for energy savings. Applying the teachings of Michalakis and Aksamit to the system of Boss would result in a system that operates: “responsive to determining the sensor capability of the third-party robotic machine cannot be disabled, program instructions to reschedule a timeline for the third-party robotic machine to perform the activity within the set of detection boundaries” in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured as a robot (120) to perform specified tasks on target objects (162) as per Michalakis and in that the portable device (102) of Boss would be configured to receive disablement commands (as per step 814) consistent with the specific schedule as per Aksamit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aburai (US Pub. No. 2002/0090953), Sinha (US Pub. No. 2008/0220715), and Onoe (US Pub. No. 2021/0243360) discloses system for restricting functionality of devices.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656