DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 7/2/2026. Claims 1-7 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Examiner modified the rejections to claims 1-7 for further clarity. Therefore this action is a second action non-final.
Response to arguments
Applicant did not provide amendments but included remarks. Claims 1-7 are presently pending and presented for examination. Response to Applicants remarks are as follows:
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
However, Chiba fails to teach or suggest distinguishing between the SOC of a battery that was charged immediately prior and the SOC of a battery that was discharged immediately prior when performing the determination.
As described above, the present application describes the resistance value of a battery that was recently charged with that of a battery that was recently discharged, or compares the resistance value of a battery that was recently discharged with that of a battery that was recently charged.
Accordingly, the combination of Wang and Chiba still fails to teach or suggest the features of at least claim 1 of the present application, as properly interpreted.
In response:
Examiner does not use teach nor does claim 1 claims distinguishing between the SOC of a battery that was charged immediately prior and the SOC of a battery that was discharged immediately prior when performing the determination.
The Examiner uses the combined teachings of Wang and Chiba to teach the claim language of claims 1-7 as specified below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
Additionally, Wang fails to teach or suggest the features relied upon by the Examiner. Wang describes obtaining a resistance several times. However, Wang fails to teach or suggest obtaining a resistance value of a battery that has just been "charged" (e.g., SOC 70%) or the resistance value of a battery that has just been "discharged" (e.g., SOC 70%), and comparing them.
Accordingly, the combination of Wang and Chiba still fails to teach or suggest the features of at least claim 1 of the present application, as properly interpreted.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and uses the combined teachings of Wang and Chiba to teach the claim language of claim 1 as specified below. Specifically the Examiner uses Wang to teach claim language:
a first measuring step of measuring a resistance value of the battery in the state Y adjusted in the first adjusting step (Fig. 5 step 504 resistance Rn-1 in the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’), the resistance value regarded as a first resistance value (Column 15 lines 31-36 of Wang Rn-1 is a historical estimated battery resistance value stored by processor 202 during the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’ … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at the same predetermined SoC value (e.g., 70% SoC) at which Rn is determined. As such Rn-1 was determined in the previous power cycle when SOC of the battery was 70%. Fig. 5A Column 15 lines 11-41. … the change in battery resistance ΔR may be determined by processor 202 by first retrieving the historical battery resistance value for the preceding power cycle Rn-1 (i.e. first resistance value”);
a second measuring step of measuring a resistance value of the battery in the state Y (Rn) adjusted in the second adjusting step, the resistance value regarded as a second resistance value (Fig. 5A at step 502 of Wang, a first estimated battery resistance value Rn is determined for the battery for the present power cycle ‘n’. For example, the first estimated battery resistance value Rn may be determined … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at a predetermined SoC (e.g., 70% SoC. ) (Column 15 lines 11-41. of Wang)) and
a determination method of determine whether a battery is genuine or not comprising a determining step of determining whether the battery is genuine or not based on the first resistance value and the second resistance value ([0109]-[0112] of Chiba).
Examiner Notes on claim interpretation
Based on the specification, the Examiner will interpret the following claim language:
“at least one of charge and discharge” recites in claims 1 and 4 as “at least one of charge or discharge”.
“performing charge and discharge” as “performing a charge and discharge cycle“ and “the charge and discharge” as “the charge and discharge cycle“.
In regards to the claim language “Genuine battery”, Examiner will interpret as “battery produced by a regular manufacturer” or “battery produced by the original manufacturer” or an authentic battery or a battery that is not counterfeit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 10594145) in view of Chiba (US 20190195957).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a determination method of a battery for determining (Fig. 5 500), the method comprising:
a specifying step of specifying, as a state of the battery, a state X defined by a state of charge (SOC) or a voltage (Fig. 5A Column 15 lines 11-41. … At step 504, the change in battery resistance ΔR from the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’ to the present power cycle ‘n’ is determined….in response to determining that the battery 214 is at the same predetermined SoC value (e.g., 70% SoC). As such the previous power cycle (n-1) was at least charged or discharged from initial state (“i.e. “X”) to 70%);
a first adjusting step of adjusting a state of the battery to a state Y (70% in previous power cycle “n-1”) by performing at least one of charge and discharge to the battery in the state X (At Fig. 5A Column 15 lines 11-41 where previous power cycle (n-1) was at least charged or discharged from initial state (“i.e. “X”) to 70%).
a first measuring step of measuring a resistance value of the battery in the state Y adjusted in the first adjusting step (Fig. 5 step 504 resistance Rn-1 in the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’), the resistance value regarded as a first resistance value (Column 15 lines 31-36 Rn-1 is a historical estimated battery resistance value stored by processor 202 during the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’ … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at the same predetermined SoC value (e.g., 70% SoC) at which Rn is determined. As such Rn-1 was determined in the previous power cycle when SOC of the battery was 70%. Fig. 5A Column 15 lines 11-41. … the change in battery resistance ΔR may be determined by processor 202 by first retrieving the historical battery resistance value for the preceding power cycle Rn-1 (i.e. first resistance value”);
a second adjusting step of adjusting a state of the battery to the state Y again by performing charge and discharge to the battery after the first measuring step (Fig. 5A at step 502, a first estimated battery resistance value Rn is determined for the battery for the present power cycle ‘n’. Column 13 lines 56-67 and Columns 14 lines 1-35 defines a Power cycle where a charging and discharging occur between power cycle “n-1” to power cycle “n”. The first estimated battery resistance value Rn may be determined … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at a predetermined SoC (e.g., 70% SoC. ) (Column 15 lines 11-41. ). Rn-1 is a historical estimated battery resistance value stored by processor 202 during the immediately preceding power cycle ‘n−1’ … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at the same predetermined SoC value (e.g., 70% SoC) at which Rn is determined (Column 15 lines 31-36). Therefore Wang teaches the measured resistances at each power cycle Rn-1 and Rn were measured at the same SOC of 70% wherein Rn was measured after the second adjusting step of adjusting the SOC back to 70% in the current power cycle “n”), the charge and the discharge correspond to below (i) or (ii):
when the battery is adjusted to the state Y from a high SOC side or a high voltage side in the first adjusting step, the charge and the discharge are performed in the order of discharge and charge so as to adjust the state to the state Y again from a low SOC side or a low voltage side (Column 13 lines 56-67 and Columns 14 lines 1-35 defines a Power cycle);
when the battery is adjusted to the state Y from a low SOC side or a low voltage side in the first adjusting step, the charge and the discharge are performed in the order of charge and discharge so as to adjust the state to the state Y again from a high SOC side or a high voltage side (Column 13 lines 56-67 and Columns 14 lines 1-35 defines a Power cycle).
a second measuring step of measuring a resistance value of the battery in the state Y (Rn) adjusted in the second adjusting step, the resistance value regarded as a second resistance value (Fig. 5A at step 502, a first estimated battery resistance value Rn is determined for the battery for the present power cycle ‘n’. For example, the first estimated battery resistance value Rn may be determined … in response to determining that the battery 214 is at a predetermined SoC (e.g., 70% SoC. ) (Column 15 lines 11-41. )).
Wang does not disclose/teach the determination method is determining whether a battery is genuine or not comprising a determining step of determining whether the battery is genuine or not based on the first resistance value and the second resistance value
Chiba teaches a determination method of determine whether a battery is genuine or not comprising a determining step of determining whether the battery is genuine or not based on the first resistance value and the second resistance value ([0109]-[0112] where the internal resistance management table showing the internal resistance at different SOC (Fig.9) is created at the time of shipping. When the internal resistance at the same temperature and at the same charging rate is measured, the control unit 26 compares the measured internal resistance with the corresponding internal resistance recorded into the internal resistance management table 350 (i.e cycle of 1), and performs the determination process of whether the battery cell 10 is a non-authenticated product).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the determination method of Wang to determining whether a battery is genuine or not comprising a determining step of determining whether the battery is genuine or not based on the first resistance value and the second resistance value in order to detect non-authenticated battery cell with high accuracy [0012].
As to claim 2, Wang in view of Chiba teaches the determination method according to claim 1, wherein the state X and the state Y are defined by the state of charge (SOC) (Fig. 5A Column 15 lines 11-41 of Wang … the same predetermined SoC value (e.g., 70% SoC)..
As to claim 3, Wang in view of Chiba teaches the determination method according to claim 1, wherein the state X and the state Y are defined by the voltage (Column 26 lines 17-24 of Wang…a voltage sensor configured to measure a voltage across the battery, a current sensor configured to measure a current generated by the battery, and a controller. The controller is configured to execute instructions for determining that the battery is at a predetermined state of charge value during a first power cycle of the battery).
As to claim 6, Wang in view of Chiba the teaches the determination method according to claim 1, wherein the charge and the discharge corresponding to the (i) are performed in the second adjusting step (Column 13 lines 56-67 and Columns 14 lines 1-35 of Wang..a power cycle may start at the time a device's battery is charged above an 80% SoC and then continue until the battery is first discharged to an SoC below a threshold (e.g., 20%) and then re-charged back to at least an 80% SoC, at which point a new power cycle is entered).
As to claim 7, Wang in view of Chiba the determination method according to claim 1, wherein the charge and the discharge corresponding to the (ii) are performed in the second adjusting step (Column 13 lines 56-67 and Columns 14 lines 1-35 of Wang …the definition of power cycle may be such that the power cycle begins when a device's battery reaches a particular state of discharge. For example, a power cycle may begin at the time a device's battery is discharged below a threshold SoC (e.g., 20% SoC) and then continue until the device's battery is charged above another threshold SoC (e.g., 80% SoC) and subsequently discharged below the first threshold SoC (e.g., 20% SoC).
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 10594145) in view of Chiba (US 20190195957) in view of Zeng (US 20210391572).
As to claim 4, Wang in view of Chiba the teaches the determination method according to claim 1.
Wang in view of Chiba does not disclose/teach wherein at least one of the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more in the first adjusting step.
Zeng teaches wherein at least one of the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more ([0086] The lithium-ion battery is charged to the upper limit voltage at a rate of 1/3C at room temperature, and then discharged to the lower limit voltage at a rate of 1/3C to obtain the energy during the discharge process of the lithium-ion battery).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the determination method of Wang to wherein at least one of the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more in the first adjusting step in order to reduce heat generation and minimizes stress on the battery’s internal components.
As to claim 5, Wang in view of Chiba the teaches the determination method according to claim 1.
Wang in view of Chiba does not disclose/teach wherein the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more in the second adjusting step.
Zeng teaches wherein the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more ([0086] The lithium-ion battery is charged to the upper limit voltage at a rate of 1/3C at room temperature, and then discharged to the lower limit voltage at a rate of 1/3C to obtain the energy during the discharge process of the lithium-ion battery).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the determination method of Wang to wherein the charge and the discharge are performed at a current value of 1/3 C or more in the second adjusting step in order to reduce heat generation and minimizes stress on the battery’s internal components.
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859