DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0238607 A1 (herein “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1.
Zhang discloses an interconnector (Fig. 2) for a heat exchanger (Fig. 1) comprising a body with an upper inlet (one end of 113) and a lower inlet (the other end of 113) connected by an inlet conduit (113); an upper outlet (one end of 114 which is adjacent the upper inlet) and a lower outlet (the other end of 114) connected by an outlet conduit (114); an external inlet (Fig. 3; left end of 111) communicated with the inlet conduit; an external outlet (Fig. 3; right end of 112) communicated with the outlet conduit, with the external outlet and the external inlet facing in opposite directions (shown in Fig. 3; the left end of 111 faces left which is opposite to the right end of 112 which faces right); wherein the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are fluidically isolated with respect to each other within the interconnector (seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2.
Zhang discloses that the upper inlet and the lower inlet are concentric (shown in Fig. 3 at 113).
Regarding claim 3.
Zhang discloses that the upper outlet and the lower outlet are concentric (shown in Fig. 3 and 114).
Regarding claim 4.
Zhang discloses that the external inlet is arranged perpendicular to the upper inlet (shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5.
Zhang discloses that the external outlet is arranged perpendicular to the upper outlet (shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6.
Zhang discloses that the external inlet is arranged parallel to the external outlet (Fig. 3; external inlets at 111 are parallel to the external outlets at 112).
Regarding claim 7.
Zhang discloses that the external inlet faces away from the external outlet (Fig. 3; right end of 111 faces away from the left end of 112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each reference discloses a heat exchanger interconnector similar to Applicant’s invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763