Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 3, 11 and 19 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection has been applied based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10, 12-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiao et al. (Pub NO. US 2024/0011925 A1; hereinafter Chiao; Fig. 2B is applicant’s admitted prior art) in view of Byun et al. (Pub NO. US 2010/0090903 A1; hereinafter Byun).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiao teaches a system (system 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) for noninvasive monitoring of water content in a tissue (See [0011]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna without element inside in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]);
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]), wherein the water content in the tissue is determined (water content in tissue is determined in fig. 4 with resonance loop antenna in Fig. 2B; See [0068]).
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency.
Byun teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 102 is disposed within loop antenna 105 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 105 in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]); wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna (See the gap between 102 and 105 is constant Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency, as taught by Byun in order to achieve the planar antenna can obtain characteristics of omni-directional radiation patterns having a narrow bandwidth through the circular patch (Byun; See [0028]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the water is disposed within human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013], [0068]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to be disposed on or about a surface (system 240 is disposed on surface of substrate in Fig. 2B; See [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the detector comprises a vector network analyzer (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]), a scalar network analyzer, a spectrum analyzer, a phase-lock loop, or a frequency lock circuit.
Regarding Claim 6, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to measure an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chiao teaches a kit (kit 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) for noninvasive monitoring of water content in a tissue (See [0068]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]);
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]); and
a device (substrate in Fig. 2B and Fig. below) to secure the RF planar resonant loop sensor to a surface (substrate secure the loop sensor to it’s surface in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0005]), wherein the detector is configured to measure the water content in the tissue is determined (water content in tissue is determined in fig. 4 with resonance loop antenna in Fig. 2B; See [0068]).
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency.
Byun teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 102 is disposed within loop antenna 105 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 105 in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]); wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna (See the gap between 102 and 105 is constant Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency, as taught by Byun in order to achieve the planar antenna can obtain characteristics of omni-directional radiation patterns having a narrow bandwidth through the circular patch (Byun; See [0028]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the water is disposed within an organic material comprising human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to be disposed on or about a surface (system 240 is disposed on surface of substrate in Fig. 2B; See [0005]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the detector comprises a vector network analyzer (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]), a scalar network analyzer, a spectrum analyzer, a phase-lock loop, or a frequency lock circuit.
Regarding Claim 14, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 13. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to measure an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chiao teaches a method (method in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]]) of measuring water content in a tissue (See [0011]) comprising:
providing a system for noninvasive monitor or water content in the tissue (system 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) system comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]); and
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]);
disposing the loop on a surface of the material (disposing sensor loop 200 on surface of material tank 102 in Fig. 2); and
measuring a near-field resonance with the system, wherein the water content in the tissue is determined.
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency.
Byun teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 102 is disposed within loop antenna 105 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 105 in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]); wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna (See the gap between 102 and 105 is constant Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna; wherein a gap with a constant width is formed between an outer diameter of the element and an inner diameter of the planar loop antenna to maximize a quality factor of the sensor for a selected reference frequency, as taught by Byun in order to achieve the planar antenna can obtain characteristics of omni-directional radiation patterns having a narrow bandwidth through the circular patch (Byun; See [0028]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches wherein the tissue comprises an organic material comprising human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches wherein the step of measuring the near-field resonance with the system comprises measuring an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches further comprising measuring a near-field resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 22, Chiao in view of Byun teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches further comprising measuring a near-field resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Conclusion
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858