Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1-2, 9 and 17-19 have been amended.
Claims 3 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiao et al. (Pub NO. US 2024/0011925 A1; hereinafter Chiao; Fig. 2B is applicant’s admitted prior art) in view of YEHEZKELY et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0288395 A1; hereinafter Yehezkely).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiao teaches a system (system 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) for noninvasive monitoring of water content in a tissue (See [0011]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna without element inside in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]);
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]), wherein the water content in the tissue is determined (water content in tissue is determined in fig. 4 with resonance loop antenna in Fig. 2B; See [0068]).
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna;
Yehezkely teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 506 is disposed within loop antenna 502 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 502 in Fig. 5; See [0044]-[0045]); and
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna, as taught by Yehezkely in order to achieve each antenna is designed in such way that inductive elements of the antenna together with capacitive elements of the chip would resonate (Yehezkely; See [0046]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the water is disposed within human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013], [0068]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to be disposed on or about a surface (system 240 is disposed on surface of substrate in Fig. 2B; See [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the system of claim 1. Chiao further teaches wherein the detector comprises a vector network analyzer (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]), a scalar network analyzer, a spectrum analyzer, a phase-lock loop, or a frequency lock circuit.
Regarding Claim 6, Chiao in view of Yehezkely in view of Berezin teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to measure an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chiao in view of Yehezkely in view of Berezin teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chiao in view of Yehezkely in view of Berezin teaches the system of claim 5. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chiao teaches a kit (kit 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) for noninvasive monitoring of water content in a tissue (See [0068]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]);
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]); and
a device (substrate in Fig. 2B and Fig. below) to secure the RF planar resonant loop sensor to a surface (substrate secure the loop sensor to it’s surface in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0005]), wherein the detector is configured to measure the water content in the tissue is determined (water content in tissue is determined in fig. 4 with resonance loop antenna in Fig. 2B; See [0068]).
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna;
Yehezkely teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 506 is disposed within loop antenna 502 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 502 in Fig. 5; See [0044]-[0045]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna, as taught by Yehezkely in order to achieve each antenna is designed in such way that inductive elements of the antenna together with capacitive elements of the chip would resonate (Yehezkely; See [0046]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the water is disposed within an organic material comprising human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the water of is disposed within an inorganic material (See [0013]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to be disposed on or about a surface (system 240 is disposed on surface of substrate in Fig. 2B; See [0005]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao further teaches wherein the detector comprises a vector network analyzer (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]), a scalar network analyzer, a spectrum analyzer, a phase-lock loop, or a frequency lock circuit.
Regarding Claim 14, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 13. Chiao further teaches wherein the system is configured to measure an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the kit of claim 9. Chiao teaches wherein the system is configured to monitor water content over time by measuring a resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chiao teaches a method (method in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]]) of measuring water content in a tissue (See [0011]) comprising:
providing a system for noninvasive monitor or water content in the tissue (system 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) planar resonant loop sensor (RF loop sensor 240 in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]) system comprising:
a planar loop antenna (See planar loop antenna in Fig. 2B and Fig. below; See [0065]); and
a detector (loop antenna without element in Fig. 2B is connected to detector/vector network analyzer; See [0066]-[0068]) configured to be connected with the RF planar resonant loop sensor to detect a near-field resonance (See [0066]-[0068]);
disposing the loop on a surface of the material (disposing sensor loop 200 on surface of material tank 102 in Fig. 2); and
measuring a near-field resonance with the system, wherein the water content in the tissue is determined.
Chiao is silent about an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna;
Yehezkely teaches an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna (element 506 is disposed within loop antenna 502 is co-planar of the loop formed by antenna 502 in Fig. 5; See [0044]-[0045]); and
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Chiao by using an element disposed within and co-planar with a loop formed by the planar loop antenna, as taught by Yehezkely in order to achieve each antenna is designed in such way that inductive elements of the antenna together with capacitive elements of the chip would resonate (Yehezkely; See [0046]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches wherein the tissue comprises an organic material comprising human tissue, non-human animal tissue, or plant tissue (See [0011], [0013]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches wherein the tissue comprises an inorganic material (See [0013]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches wherein the step of measuring the near-field resonance with the system comprises measuring an |s11| reflection coefficient (reflection coefficient without element is measured; See [0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches further comprising measuring a near-field resonance twice or more in a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 22, Chiao in view of Yehezkely teaches the method of claim 17. Chiao further teaches further comprising measuring a near-field resonance continuously during a selected time period (measuring change of resonance frequency periodically without element in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 to monitor water content in tissue; See [0068]-[0069]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858