DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyatkin et al. (US 2018/0026210) (hereafter “Dyatkin”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0334521) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-20, Dyatkin teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0039]) (claims 15-17 and 19). Dyatkin teaches that the emission layer comprises a host material and dopant, where the dopant is an organometallic compound (paragraphs [0099]-[0104]) (claims 14-17). Dyatkin teaches that the organometallic compound is a iridium compound comprising 3 bidentate ligands, where two of the ligands is the same and one is different (paragraphs [0095]-[0098]) (claims 2 and 3). Dyatkin teaches that one of the ligands claims be
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0095]) (claims 1, 5, 9, and 10-14). Dyatkin teaches that the other ligand can meet the following formula,
, where the R groups can be a hydrogen atom or a substituent group (paragraph [0097]) (Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-14). Dyatkin teaches the compounds can have the following structure,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs as an example (paragraphs [0095]-[0098]) (claims 1-6 and 8-14). Dyatkin teaches the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic apparatus (paragraph [0032]) (claim 20).
Dyatkin does not teach where the phenylpyridine ligand comprise a silicon or germanium substituent.
Lee teaches that one can improve the emission efficiency of an electroluminescent device by adding a germanium substituent, such as
, onto the pyridine group of a phenylpyridne ligand (paragraphs [0014] and [0104], Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compounds of Dyatkin so the pyridine group in the phenylpyridine ligand comprises
as a substituent, as taught by Lee. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of the device. This would lead to the following compounds,
,
,
, and
, claimed the applicant and would inherently have an emission wavelength between 490nm and 550nm.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyatkin et al. (US 2018/0026210) (hereafter “Dyatkin”) in view of Kim et al. (J. Nanosci. Nanotechnol. 2017, Vol. 17, No. 8) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20, Dyatkin teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0039]) (claims 15-17 and 19). Dyatkin teaches that the emission layer comprises a host material and dopant, where the dopant is an organometallic compound (paragraphs [0099]-[0104]) (claims 14-17). Dyatkin teaches that the organometallic compound is a iridium compound comprising 3 bidentate ligands, where two of the ligands is the same and one is different (paragraphs [0095]-[0098]) (claims 2 and 3). Dyatkin teaches that one of the ligands claims be
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0095]) (claims 1, 5, 9, and 10-13). Dyatkin teaches that the other ligand can meet the following formula,
, where the R groups can be a hydrogen atom or a substituent group (paragraph [0097]) (Claims 1-4, 7, 8, and 10-14). Dyatkin teaches the compounds can have the following structure,
and
, are a few examples (paragraphs as an example (paragraphs [0095]-[0098]) (claims 1-5 and 7-13). Dyatkin teaches the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic apparatus (paragraph [0032]) (claim 20).
Dyatkin does not teach where the phenylpyridine ligand comprise a silicon or germanium substituent.
Kim teaches that one can improve the emission efficiency of an electroluminescent device by adding a silicon substituent, such as -Si(CH)3, onto the phenyl group of a phenylpyridine ligand (paragraphs [0014] and [0104], Table 1). Adding the groups limits self-quenching (page 5588 left compound first paragraph and page 5592 first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compounds of Dyatkin so the phenyl group of the phenylpyridine group is substituted with -Si(CH)3, as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve the emission efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yen et al. (2019/0296251) teaches ligands that meet applicant’s formula 1B.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759