DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In applicant’s reply filed on January 26, 2026, no new claims have been canceled, or are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement on January 26, 2026 was filed before the issue fee was paid and was filed with a request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114. The information disclosure statements filed is considered, by the examiner and a new ground of rejection is presented accordingly. Applicant’s filing of references submitted with the IDS presented have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as presented below, necessitated by the references submitted in the applicant’s IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maier (US PGPub US20050204473 A1, hereby referred to as “Maier”). Maier was cited by applicant in IDS submitted on January 26, 2026.
Consider Claim 1.
Maier teaches:
- A computed tomography device comprising: a gantryhaving an opening; (Maier: abstract, An imaging tomography apparatus, such as an x-ray computed tomography apparatus or a magnetic resonance tomography apparatus, has a patient bed that can be driven into a tunnel-shaped or annular data acquisition device. To increase comfort for the patient and accessibility by medical personnel, the patient bed has a pivotable backrest connected to a seat. [0018] A tomography apparatus is shown in FIGS. 1 through 5 in the example of an x-ray computed tomography apparatus. An annularly fashioned data acquisition device or gantry 1 is accommodated on a carrier 2. The carrier 2 is supported on a base 3 such that the carrier 2 can be moved vertically. In addition, a hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A mounting device 4 that can be moved vertically is in turn attached to the carrier 2. A mounting arm 5 of the mounting device 4 accommodates a-patient bed 6 such that it can move horizontally. The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6.)
- and a body support apparatus configured to support a body of a person, (Maier: [0018] A tomography apparatus is shown in FIGS. 1 through 5 in the example of an x-ray computed tomography apparatus. An annularly fashioned data acquisition device or gantry 1 is accommodated on a carrier 2. The carrier 2 is supported on a base 3 such that the carrier 2 can be moved vertically. In addition, a hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A mounting device 4 that can be moved vertically is in turn attached to the carrier 2. A mounting arm 5 of the mounting device 4 accommodates a-patient bed 6 such that it can move horizontally. The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction.)
- the body support apparatus including a board, the body support apparatus being arranged relative to the opening such that a shoulder region of the body of the person rests on the board based on the boardbeing in an examination position of the board relative to the gantry, (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
- and a head of the person is inserted into the opening along a system axis of the gantry,having a pivoting apparatus, (Maier: Figure 4, [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
- and the board is being mounted pivotably about a pivot axis relative to the gantry via the pivoting apparatus such that a first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis moves the board relative to the gantry from a preparation position of the board to the examination position of the board. (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregerson et al. (US PGPub US20140275953A1), hereby referred to as “Gregerson”, in view of Maier (US PGPub US20050204473 A1, hereby referred to as “Maier”). Maier was cited by applicant in IDS submitted on January 26, 2026.
Consider Claims 1.
Gregerson teaches:
1. A computed tomography device comprising: (Gregerson: abstract, An imaging system includes a first portion and a second portion that translates and/or rotates with respect to the first portion. A first locking mechanism may prevent the second portion from translating with respect to the first portion, such as during transport of the system. A second locking mechanism may prevent the second portion from rotating with respect to the first portion, such as during transport and/or during an imaging scan. Further embodiments include a cable management system between the first and second portions, a spherically-shaped surface of a support gimbal and a user interface device for an imaging system. [0055]-[0059] Fig. 1, 2A-B)
1. a gantry with an opening; and (Gregerson: [0055] Referring to FIG. 1, a mobile imaging system 100 according to one embodiment of the invention includes a mobile base 20, a gimbal 30, a gantry 40, and a pedestal 50. The system 100 includes image collection components, such as a rotatable x-ray source and detector array or stationary magnetic resonance imaging components, that are housed within the gantry 40. The system 100 is configured to collect imaging data, such as, for example x-ray computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data, from an object located within the bore of the gantry 40, in any manner known in the medical imaging field. The pedestal 50 is adapted to support a tabletop support 60 that can be attached to the pedestal 50 in a cantilevered manner and extend out into the bore of the gantry 40 to support a patient or other object being imaged.)
1. a body support apparatus to support a body of a person, the body support apparatus including a board, (Gregerson: [0055] The pedestal 50 is adapted to support a tabletop support 60 that can be attached to the pedestal 50 in a cantilevered manner and extend out into the bore of the gantry 40 to support a patient or other object being imaged. [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base.)
1. the body support apparatus being arranged relative to the opening such that a shoulder region of the body of the person rests on the board, when the board is in an examination position of the board relative to the gantry, (Gregerson: [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. [0064] FIG. 4A is an exploded view of a gantry 40 according to one embodiment that illustrates the outer shell 42, the rotor 41 and a bearing assembly 400. FIG. 4B illustrates the assembled gantry 40. As is shown in FIGS. 4A-B, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be a generally O-shaped covering of a structural material that may at least substantially fully enclose the rotating portion 101, including the rotor 41 and any components mounted to the rotor, over one or more sides of the rotating portion 101. The outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be conceptually considered an “exoskeleton,” that both supports the rotating portion 101 of the system 100, preferably in three dimensions, and also provides a protective barrier between the rotating portion 101 and the external environment. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may support at least about 75%, such as more than 80%, and preferably more than about 90%, such as more than 99%, and even more preferably 100% of the weight of the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 itself may be supported by one or more other components, such as a gimbal 30, base 20 and/or drive mechanism 70, as shown in FIG. 1, for example. In other embodiments, the outer shell 42 may be supported directly on the ground, for example, or via other means, such as raised on a pedestal, table, cart or other support, or suspended or cantilevered from a wall, ceiling or other support structure. In certain embodiments, an outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 that comprises both a protective outer covering for the rotating portion 101 and a mounting surface for a bearing for rotation of the rotating portion 101 may provide the gantry 40 with various degrees-of-freedom, such as the “tilt” motion about axis (a′) and/or rotation about axis (a) as shown in FIG. 2A, as well as translation motion for imaging applications and/or transport of the gantry 40.)
1. and a patient is inserted into the opening along a system axis of the gantry, (Gregerson: Referring to FIG. 1, a mobile imaging system 100 according to one embodiment of the invention includes a mobile base 20, a gimbal 30, a gantry 40, and a pedestal 50. The system 100 includes image collection components, such as a rotatable x-ray source and detector array or stationary magnetic resonance imaging components, that are housed within the gantry 40. The system 100 is configured to collect imaging data, such as, for example x-ray computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data, from an object located within the bore of the gantry 40, in any manner known in the medical imaging field. The pedestal 50 is adapted to support a tabletop support 60 that can be attached to the pedestal 50 in a cantilevered manner and extend out into the bore of the gantry 40 to support a patient or other object being imaged.)
1. wherein, the body support apparatus has a pivoting apparatus, and the board is mounted pivotably about a pivot axis relative to the gantry via the pivoting apparatus (Gregerson: [0114]
An embodiment of a rotation latch 2100 is shown in FIGS. 21A-C. In this embodiment, the latch 2100 includes a spring-loaded latch arm 2101 connected to a fixed latch portion 2102 by a pivot bearing 2103, as shown in FIG. 21A. The latch 2100 may be mounted to a first portion of the system that rotates (e.g., upper portion of the gimbal 30 and gantry 40, collectively the “rotating components”) with respect to a second portion of the system (e.g., the base 20, the drive mechanism 70 and a lower portion of the gimbal 30 mounted to the drive mechanism 70, collectively the “non-rotating portion” 2104). Alternatively, the latch may be located on the rotating portion of the system and engages with a latch receiver (receptacle) on the non-rotating portion of the system.)
1. such that a first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis can move the board relative to the gantry from a preparation position of the board to the examination position of the board. (Gregerson: [0123] FIGS. 24A-E illustrate a gimbal 30 having a spherically shaped outer surface 2400 that faces the gantry 40 according to an embodiment. As described above, the gantry 40 may be attached to the gimbal 30 at two pivot points and may tilt with respect to the gimbal 30. During this tilt motion, the gantry 40 swings through an arc over the outer surface of the gimbal 30 facing the gantry 40. The gantry 40 may have relatively sharp corners which may interfere with the gantry 40 swinging over the surface of the gimbal 30 and may require the gantry 40 to be raised away from the surface of the gimbal 30 and thus higher from the ground to provide the necessary clearance. This may produce mechanical instability and increase the size of the system. [0124] In one embodiment, the surface 2400 of the gimbal 30 which faces the gantry has a generally concave contour (e.g., curved, angled or both) along the direction through which the gantry 40 swings during tilt motion. In embodiments, the surface 2400 of the gimbal 30 may be substantially spherical, as illustrated schematically by the imaginary sphere 2401 contacting the surface 2400 of the gimbal 30 in FIG. 24A)
Even if Gregerson does not teach:
1. and a head of the person is inserted into the opening along a system axis of the gantry,
Maier teaches:
- A computed tomography device comprising: a gantryhaving an opening; (Maier: abstract, An imaging tomography apparatus, such as an x-ray computed tomography apparatus or a magnetic resonance tomography apparatus, has a patient bed that can be driven into a tunnel-shaped or annular data acquisition device. To increase comfort for the patient and accessibility by medical personnel, the patient bed has a pivotable backrest connected to a seat. [0018] A tomography apparatus is shown in FIGS. 1 through 5 in the example of an x-ray computed tomography apparatus. An annularly fashioned data acquisition device or gantry 1 is accommodated on a carrier 2. The carrier 2 is supported on a base 3 such that the carrier 2 can be moved vertically. In addition, a hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A mounting device 4 that can be moved vertically is in turn attached to the carrier 2. A mounting arm 5 of the mounting device 4 accommodates a-patient bed 6 such that it can move horizontally. The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6.)
- and a body support apparatus configured to support a body of a person, (Maier: [0018] A tomography apparatus is shown in FIGS. 1 through 5 in the example of an x-ray computed tomography apparatus. An annularly fashioned data acquisition device or gantry 1 is accommodated on a carrier 2. The carrier 2 is supported on a base 3 such that the carrier 2 can be moved vertically. In addition, a hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A mounting device 4 that can be moved vertically is in turn attached to the carrier 2. A mounting arm 5 of the mounting device 4 accommodates a-patient bed 6 such that it can move horizontally. The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction.)
- the body support apparatus including a board, the body support apparatus being arranged relative to the opening such that a shoulder region of the body of the person rests on the board based on the boardbeing in an examination position of the board relative to the gantry, (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
- and a head of the person is inserted into the opening along a system axis of the gantry,having a pivoting apparatus, (Maier: Figure 4, [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
- and the board is being mounted pivotably about a pivot axis relative to the gantry via the pivoting apparatus such that a first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis moves the board relative to the gantry from a preparation position of the board to the examination position of the board. (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gregerson’s mobile x-ray imaging system with the elements for a computed tomography device with a patient bed that can be driven into a tunnel-shaped or annular data acquisition device as suggested by Maier. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Gregerson in order to incorporate in the usage of a mobile pivoting patient bed that can facilitate an improved diagnostic imaging experience for a patient. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Gregerson, while the teaching of Maier continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enabling an improved mobile imaging device that provides an enhanced environment for diagnostic imaging. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claims 2.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
2. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the body support apparatus further includes a locking system, and the locking system is configured to at least one of lock the board in the preparation position of the board relative to the gantry or lock the board in the examination position of the board relative to the gantry. (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 20.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
20. The computed tomography device of claim 2, wherein the body support apparatus further includes a damper configured to brake the first pivoting movement of the board. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software.)
Consider Claims 3.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
3. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the body support apparatus further includes a damper configured to brake the first pivoting movement of the board. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software.)
Consider Claims 4.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
4. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the system axis is substantially horizontal and the pivot axis is substantially horizontal. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9.)
Consider Claims 5.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
5. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the pivot axis is below the system axis with respect to a vertical direction. (Gregerson: [0120] The one or more cables 2201 may be located within a channel 2213 formed in the gimbal 30 as the cable(s) 2201 are fed out from the service loop. As shown in FIG. 22D, for example, the channel 2213 extends proximate to the outer circumference of the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 along one side of the gimbal 30. By confining the cables 2201 in channels 2213, they may be prevented from interfering with other components within the gimbal, such as separate cables running between the arms 31, 32 of the gimbal. Multiple channels 2213 may be provided (e.g., at different radial positions on the lower non-rotating portion 2202 of the gimbal). Each channel 2213 may contain a bundle of cables, which may be vertically stacked and enclosed in a protective covering, for example. Channels 2213 located closer to the outer circumference of the gimbal 30 may require a larger service loop 2203 in the gimbal arm 31 because the cables must travel a greater distance as the gimbal rotates.)
Consider Claims 6.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
6. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the board extends in a planar manner in a board plane, and the board plane is substantially parallel to the pivot axis. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019]-[0020])
Consider Claims 7.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
7. The computed tomography device of claim 6, wherein the board plane is substantially perpendicular to the system axis when the board is in the preparation position of the board. (Gregerson: FIG. 21B shows a side view of a gimbal 30 and a bottom view of the gimbal 30 viewed along line A-A. As shown in FIG. 21B, a circular member 2105 is located on non-rotating portion 2104 (e.g., the lower portion of the gimbal 30 or the drive mechanism 70) and contains latch receivers 2107 which are precisely located at pre-determined angular positions. Other configurations may be utilized. In this embodiment, the latch receivers 2107 (receptacles) are at three locations, corresponding to “in line” position of the gimbal 30 (e.g., for transport), and +/−90 degrees (i.e., scanning positions). The larch arm 210 may be spring biased against the outer circumference of the circular member 2015, and the nose 2019 of the latch 2011 may glide over the outer circumference of the circular member 2015 (such as via bushings 2111 shown in FIG. 21A) as the rotating components (e.g., upper portion of gimbal 30 and the gantry 40) rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. When the latch nose 2019 reaches a latch receiver 2107, the latch nose 2019 is pushed into the receiver 2107, locking the rotational position of the rotating components relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. The latch receivers 2107 may be located at any arbitrary angular position around the circumference of the circular member 2105. The latch 2100 may be adjusted using adjustment screws to ensure that the rotating components are at the precise desired rotational angle relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 when the latch engages. For example, for an imaging scan, it may be important that the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 are precisely perpendicular to the long axis of the base 20 (e.g., the patient axis). The latch 2100 may be released via a cable 2113 that is attached to the latch arm 2101 and may extend through the interior of the gantry 30 (e.g., up through an arm 31 of the gantry 30) to a release mechanism (not visible in FIG. 21B). When the latch 2100 is released, the rotating components may rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. [0119] FIGS. 22B-D are bottom views of the gimbal 30 that schematically illustrate the one or more cables 2201 being fed into and out of the service loop in the gimbal arm 31 as the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 rotates relative to the lower portion 2202. In FIG. 22B, the gimbal 30 may be in an “in-line” position relative to the base 20 (e.g., a transport position). The one or more cables 2201 may be fixed to the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 at a position 2211 that is proximate to the opening or chute 2205 that feeds the cables 2201 up into the service loop in the gimbal arm 31. In FIG. 22C, the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 is rotated 90° from the “in-line” position of FIG. 22B, and may be oriented perpendicular to the base 20 (e.g., a scan position), such as shown in FIG. 1. The rotation of the upper portion 2204 relative to the lower portion 2202 causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed out from the service loop as shown in FIG. 22C. Rotating the upper portion 2204 in the opposite direction (e.g., back to the position of FIG. 22B) causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed back up through the opening/chute 2205 into the service loop. FIG. 22D shows the gimbal 30 rotated 180° relative to the position of FIG. 22B (i.e., back to an “in-line” configuration with the positions of the arms 31, 33 switched relative to FIG. 22B). In this position, the cables 2201 may be substantially completely fed out from the service loop.)
Consider Claims 8.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
8. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the board projects away from the opening when the board is in the examination position of the board. (Gregerson: [0119] FIGS. 22B-D are bottom views of the gimbal 30 that schematically illustrate the one or more cables 2201 being fed into and out of the service loop in the gimbal arm 31 as the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 rotates relative to the lower portion 2202. In FIG. 22B, the gimbal 30 may be in an “in-line” position relative to the base 20 (e.g., a transport position). The one or more cables 2201 may be fixed to the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 at a position 2211 that is proximate to the opening or chute 2205 that feeds the cables 2201 up into the service loop in the gimbal arm 31. In FIG. 22C, the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 is rotated 90° from the “in-line” position of FIG. 22B, and may be oriented perpendicular to the base 20 (e.g., a scan position), such as shown in FIG. 1. The rotation of the upper portion 2204 relative to the lower portion 2202 causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed out from the service loop as shown in FIG. 22C. Rotating the upper portion 2204 in the opposite direction (e.g., back to the position of FIG. 22B) causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed back up through the opening/chute 2205 into the service loop. FIG. 22D shows the gimbal 30 rotated 180° relative to the position of FIG. 22B (i.e., back to an “in-line” configuration with the positions of the arms 31, 33 switched relative to FIG. 22B). In this position, the cables 2201 may be substantially completely fed out from the service loop.)
Consider Claims 9.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
9. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis causes the board to be lowered. (Gregerson: [0119] FIGS. 22B-D are bottom views of the gimbal 30 that schematically illustrate the one or more cables 2201 being fed into and out of the service loop in the gimbal arm 31 as the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 rotates relative to the lower portion 2202. In FIG. 22B, the gimbal 30 may be in an “in-line” position relative to the base 20 (e.g., a transport position). The one or more cables 2201 may be fixed to the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 at a position 2211 that is proximate to the opening or chute 2205 that feeds the cables 2201 up into the service loop in the gimbal arm 31. In FIG. 22C, the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 is rotated 90° from the “in-line” position of FIG. 22B, and may be oriented perpendicular to the base 20 (e.g., a scan position), such as shown in FIG. 1. The rotation of the upper portion 2204 relative to the lower portion 2202 causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed out from the service loop as shown in FIG. 22C. Rotating the upper portion 2204 in the opposite direction (e.g., back to the position of FIG. 22B) causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed back up through the opening/chute 2205 into the service loop. FIG. 22D shows the gimbal 30 rotated 180° relative to the position of FIG. 22B (i.e., back to an “in-line” configuration with the positions of the arms 31, 33 switched relative to FIG. 22B). In this position, the cables 2201 may be substantially completely fed out from the service loop.)
Consider Claims 10.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
10. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the body support apparatus further includes a holding apparatus, the pivoting apparatus is connected to the gantry via the holding apparatus, the board is connected to the holding apparatus via the pivoting apparatus and is mounted pivotably about the pivot axis relative to the holding apparatus, (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows:)
and the holding apparatus is configured to set a distance between the pivot axis and the system axis in an adjustable manner. (Maier: Figure 4, [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 11.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
11. The computed tomography device of claim 1, wherein the gantry includes a first gantry part and a second gantry part, the first gantry part includes a rotatably mounted rotor with a projection data acquisition system, (Gregerson: [0055] Referring to FIG. 1, a mobile imaging system 100 according to one embodiment of the invention includes a mobile base 20, a gimbal 30, a gantry 40, and a pedestal 50. The system 100 includes image collection components, such as a rotatable x-ray source and detector array or stationary magnetic resonance imaging components, that are housed within the gantry 40. The system 100 is configured to collect imaging data, such as, for example x-ray computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data, from an object located within the bore of the gantry 40, in any manner known in the medical imaging field. [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9.) and the second gantry part includes at least one section of the opening, the board is connected to the second gantry part via the pivoting apparatus and is mounted pivotably about the pivot axis relative to the second gantry part, (Gregerson: [0069] The bearing assembly 400 according to one embodiment is shown in FIGS. 4A and 4E. In this embodiment, the bearing assembly 400 includes a first race 402 that may be securely fastened to the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, and a second race 404 that may be securely fastened to the rotor 41. A bearing element 406 (FIG. 4E) is provided between the first race 402 and the second race 404, and is configured to allow the second race 404 (along with the rotor 41 to which it is attached) to rotate concentrically within the first race 402, preferably with minimal friction, thereby enabling the rotor 41 to rotate with respect to the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4E, the bearing assembly 400 may abut against a lip 424 in the rotor, and a plurality of fastening members 426 (such as bolts) may be provided through the lip 424 and into the second race 404 around the periphery of the rotor 41 to securely fasten the rotor 41 to the bearing assembly 400. The bearing assembly 400 may also be provided at least partially within the outer circumferential wall 406 of the outer shell 42 and against a lip 422 in the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40. A plurality of fastening members (similar to fastening members 426) may be provided through the lip 422 and into the first race 402 around the periphery of the outer shell 42 to securely fasten the outer shell 42 to the bearing assembly 400. A small gap 428 may be provided between lip 422 and lip 424. In some embodiments, all or a portion of the bearing assembly 400 may be integrally formed as a part of the outer shell 42 or of the rotor 41, or of both. For example, the first race 402 may be formed as an integral surface of the outer shell 42 and/or the second race 404 may be formed as an integral surface of the rotor 41. In various embodiments, the entire bearing assembly for enabling the rotation of the rotating portion 101 with respect to the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100 may be located within the generally O-shaped gantry 40. [0082], [0085]) the first gantry part is mounted movably relative to the second gantry part such that a translatory movement of the first gantry part relative to the second gantry part is executable while the second gantry part rests relative to the head of the person and the body support apparatus rests relative to the head of the person and relative to the at least one section of the opening when the head of the person is located in the opening. (Gregerson: [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. Maier: [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 12.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
12. A medical imaging system comprising: the computed tomography device of claim 1; and a patient bed configured to support the person, wherein the patient bed is arrangeable in an examination position of the patient bed relative to the gantry. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 13.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
13. The medical imaging system of claim 12, wherein the board bridges a gap extending between the gantry and the patient bed substantially perpendicular to the system axis when the patient bed is in the examination position of the patient bed and the board is in the examination position of the board. (Gregerson: FIG. 21B shows a side view of a gimbal 30 and a bottom view of the gimbal 30 viewed along line A-A. As shown in FIG. 21B, a circular member 2105 is located on non-rotating portion 2104 (e.g., the lower portion of the gimbal 30 or the drive mechanism 70) and contains latch receivers 2107 which are precisely located at pre-determined angular positions. Other configurations may be utilized. In this embodiment, the latch receivers 2107 (receptacles) are at three locations, corresponding to “in line” position of the gimbal 30 (e.g., for transport), and +/−90 degrees (i.e., scanning positions). The larch arm 210 may be spring biased against the outer circumference of the circular member 2015, and the nose 2019 of the latch 2011 may glide over the outer circumference of the circular member 2015 (such as via bushings 2111 shown in FIG. 21A) as the rotating components (e.g., upper portion of gimbal 30 and the gantry 40) rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. When the latch nose 2019 reaches a latch receiver 2107, the latch nose 2019 is pushed into the receiver 2107, locking the rotational position of the rotating components relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. The latch receivers 2107 may be located at any arbitrary angular position around the circumference of the circular member 2105. The latch 2100 may be adjusted using adjustment screws to ensure that the rotating components are at the precise desired rotational angle relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 when the latch engages. For example, for an imaging scan, it may be important that the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 are precisely perpendicular to the long axis of the base 20 (e.g., the patient axis). The latch 2100 may be released via a cable 2113 that is attached to the latch arm 2101 and may extend through the interior of the gantry 30 (e.g., up through an arm 31 of the gantry 30) to a release mechanism (not visible in FIG. 21B). When the latch 2100 is released, the rotating components may rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. [0119] FIGS. 22B-D are bottom views of the gimbal 30 that schematically illustrate the one or more cables 2201 being fed into and out of the service loop in the gimbal arm 31 as the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 rotates relative to the lower portion 2202. In FIG. 22B, the gimbal 30 may be in an “in-line” position relative to the base 20 (e.g., a transport position). The one or more cables 2201 may be fixed to the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 at a position 2211 that is proximate to the opening or chute 2205 that feeds the cables 2201 up into the service loop in the gimbal arm 31. In FIG. 22C, the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 is rotated 90° from the “in-line” position of FIG. 22B, and may be oriented perpendicular to the base 20 (e.g., a scan position), such as shown in FIG. 1. The rotation of the upper portion 2204 relative to the lower portion 2202 causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed out from the service loop as shown in FIG. 22C. Rotating the upper portion 2204 in the opposite direction (e.g., back to the position of FIG. 22B) causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed back up through the opening/chute 2205 into the service loop. FIG. 22D shows the gimbal 30 rotated 180° relative to the position of FIG. 22B (i.e., back to an “in-line” configuration with the positions of the arms 31, 33 switched relative to FIG. 22B). In this position, the cables 2201 may be substantially completely fed out from the service loop.)
Consider Claims 14.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
14. The medical imaging system of claim 12, wherein the body support apparatus is arranged relative to the gantry such that a bed-side edge of the board rests on the patient bed when the patient bed is in the examination position of the patient bed and the board is in the examination position of the board. (Gregerson: FIG. 21B shows a side view of a gimbal 30 and a bottom view of the gimbal 30 viewed along line A-A. As shown in FIG. 21B, a circular member 2105 is located on non-rotating portion 2104 (e.g., the lower portion of the gimbal 30 or the drive mechanism 70) and contains latch receivers 2107 which are precisely located at pre-determined angular positions. Other configurations may be utilized. In this embodiment, the latch receivers 2107 (receptacles) are at three locations, corresponding to “in line” position of the gimbal 30 (e.g., for transport), and +/−90 degrees (i.e., scanning positions). The larch arm 210 may be spring biased against the outer circumference of the circular member 2015, and the nose 2019 of the latch 2011 may glide over the outer circumference of the circular member 2015 (such as via bushings 2111 shown in FIG. 21A) as the rotating components (e.g., upper portion of gimbal 30 and the gantry 40) rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. When the latch nose 2019 reaches a latch receiver 2107, the latch nose 2019 is pushed into the receiver 2107, locking the rotational position of the rotating components relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. The latch receivers 2107 may be located at any arbitrary angular position around the circumference of the circular member 2105. The latch 2100 may be adjusted using adjustment screws to ensure that the rotating components are at the precise desired rotational angle relative to the non-rotating portion 2104 when the latch engages. For example, for an imaging scan, it may be important that the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 are precisely perpendicular to the long axis of the base 20 (e.g., the patient axis). The latch 2100 may be released via a cable 2113 that is attached to the latch arm 2101 and may extend through the interior of the gantry 30 (e.g., up through an arm 31 of the gantry 30) to a release mechanism (not visible in FIG. 21B). When the latch 2100 is released, the rotating components may rotate with respect to the non-rotating portion 2104 of the system. [0119] FIGS. 22B-D are bottom views of the gimbal 30 that schematically illustrate the one or more cables 2201 being fed into and out of the service loop in the gimbal arm 31 as the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 rotates relative to the lower portion 2202. In FIG. 22B, the gimbal 30 may be in an “in-line” position relative to the base 20 (e.g., a transport position). The one or more cables 2201 may be fixed to the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 at a position 2211 that is proximate to the opening or chute 2205 that feeds the cables 2201 up into the service loop in the gimbal arm 31. In FIG. 22C, the upper portion 2204 of the gimbal 30 is rotated 90° from the “in-line” position of FIG. 22B, and may be oriented perpendicular to the base 20 (e.g., a scan position), such as shown in FIG. 1. The rotation of the upper portion 2204 relative to the lower portion 2202 causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed out from the service loop as shown in FIG. 22C. Rotating the upper portion 2204 in the opposite direction (e.g., back to the position of FIG. 22B) causes the one or more cables 2201 to be fed back up through the opening/chute 2205 into the service loop. FIG. 22D shows the gimbal 30 rotated 180° relative to the position of FIG. 22B (i.e., back to an “in-line” configuration with the positions of the arms 31, 33 switched relative to FIG. 22B). In this position, the cables 2201 may be substantially completely fed out from the service loop.)
Consider Claims 15.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
15. A method for arranging the board of the body support apparatus relative to the gantry of the computed tomography device of claim 1, the method comprising: moving the board relative to the gantry from the preparation position of the board to the examination position of the board via the first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis. (Gregerson: [0082] FIG. 6A schematically illustrates the battery system 63, charging system 34 and docking system 35 according to one embodiment. The charging system 34 provides electrical power to the battery system 63 in order to charge the rechargeable electrochemical cells. In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the non-rotating portion 103 of the imaging system 100. For example, the charging system 103 can be located on the gimbal 30, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40, the base 20 or the pedestal 50 (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3B). In a preferred embodiment, the charging system 34 is located on the gimbal 30. FIGS. 3A, 7 and 8 illustrate one embodiment of a charging system 34 that is located on the gimbal 30. The charging system 34 is electrically coupled to the battery system 63 at least during the times when the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100 is stationary relative to the non-rotating portion 103, such as in between imaging scans. The charging system 100 need not be, and in preferred embodiments is not, electrically coupled to the rotating portion 101 during an imaging scan. In one embodiment, the docking system 35 couples the charging system 34 to the battery system 63 when the rotating portion 101 is in a stationary or “park” mode, as is described in greater detail below. [0086]-[0087] In one embodiment of a docking sequence, the control circuitry on the rotor 41 causes the rotor drive mechanism 47 to rotate the rotor to the “park” position, preliminary to docking. Then, the control circuitry causes the actuator mechanism 55, 56 to drive the rods 51 (fast) to the point where the tapered end portions of the rods 51 (see, e.g., FIGS. 9A-B) engage with “rollers” that define the slots 52 on the second portion 36 b of the docking mechanism. Then, the control parameters of the rotor drive mechanism are relaxed such that it can be back driven. The mating electrical contacts are then prepared to engage such that they are protected from damage during docking, as is discussed further below. Next, the rods 51 are driven (slow) to the “docked” position whereby the tapered portion of the rods pushes the rotor into alignment through contacting the rollers on the mating dock. The control circuitry then reads a loopback signal on the dock to determine proper engagement, and once proper engagement is determined, the electrical connections (e.g., power and data connections) between the rotating 101 and non-rotating 103 portions of the system are engaged. Rotor drive control parameters are then restored, and the position is assigned within the control software. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 16.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
16. The computed tomography device of claim 7, wherein the board projects away from the opening when the board is in the examination position of the board.( Gregerson: [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. [0064] FIG. 4A is an exploded view of a gantry 40 according to one embodiment that illustrates the outer shell 42, the rotor 41 and a bearing assembly 400. FIG. 4B illustrates the assembled gantry 40. As is shown in FIGS. 4A-B, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be a generally O-shaped covering of a structural material that may at least substantially fully enclose the rotating portion 101, including the rotor 41 and any components mounted to the rotor, over one or more sides of the rotating portion 101. The outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be conceptually considered an “exoskeleton,” that both supports the rotating portion 101 of the system 100, preferably in three dimensions, and also provides a protective barrier between the rotating portion 101 and the external environment. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may support at least about 75%, such as more than 80%, and preferably more than about 90%, such as more than 99%, and even more preferably 100% of the weight of the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 itself may be supported by one or more other components, such as a gimbal 30, base 20 and/or drive mechanism 70, as shown in FIG. 1, for example. In other embodiments, the outer shell 42 may be supported directly on the ground, for example, or via other means, such as raised on a pedestal, table, cart or other support, or suspended or cantilevered from a wall, ceiling or other support structure. In certain embodiments, an outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 that comprises both a protective outer covering for the rotating portion 101 and a mounting surface for a bearing for rotation of the rotating portion 101 may provide the gantry 40 with various degrees-of-freedom, such as the “tilt” motion about axis (a′) and/or rotation about axis (a) as shown in FIG. 2A, as well as translation motion for imaging applications and/or transport of the gantry 40. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 17.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
17. The computed tomography device of claim 16, wherein the first pivoting movement of the board about the pivot axis causes the board to be lowered. (Gregerson: [0120] The one or more cables 2201 may be located within a channel 2213 formed in the gimbal 30 as the cable(s) 2201 are fed out from the service loop. As shown in FIG. 22D, for example, the channel 2213 extends proximate to the outer circumference of the lower (i.e., non-rotating) portion 2202 of the gimbal 30 along one side of the gimbal 30. By confining the cables 2201 in channels 2213, they may be prevented from interfering with other components within the gimbal, such as separate cables running between the arms 31, 32 of the gimbal. Multiple channels 2213 may be provided (e.g., at different radial positions on the lower non-rotating portion 2202 of the gimbal). Each channel 2213 may contain a bundle of cables, which may be vertically stacked and enclosed in a protective covering, for example. Channels 2213 located closer to the outer circumference of the gimbal 30 may require a larger service loop 2203 in the gimbal arm 31 because the cables must travel a greater distance as the gimbal rotates. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Consider Claims 18.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
18. The computed tomography device of claim 17, wherein the body support apparatus further includes a holding apparatus, the pivoting apparatus is connected to the gantry via the holding apparatus, the board is connected to the holding apparatus via the pivoting apparatus and is mounted pivotably about the pivot axis relative to the holding apparatus, and the holding apparatus is configured to set a distance between the pivot axis and the system axis in an adjustable manner. (Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient. Gregerson: [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. [0064] FIG. 4A is an exploded view of a gantry 40 according to one embodiment that illustrates the outer shell 42, the rotor 41 and a bearing assembly 400. FIG. 4B illustrates the assembled gantry 40. As is shown in FIGS. 4A-B, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be a generally O-shaped covering of a structural material that may at least substantially fully enclose the rotating portion 101, including the rotor 41 and any components mounted to the rotor, over one or more sides of the rotating portion 101. The outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be conceptually considered an “exoskeleton,” that both supports the rotating portion 101 of the system 100, preferably in three dimensions, and also provides a protective barrier between the rotating portion 101 and the external environment. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may support at least about 75%, such as more than 80%, and preferably more than about 90%, such as more than 99%, and even more preferably 100% of the weight of the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 itself may be supported by one or more other components, such as a gimbal 30, base 20 and/or drive mechanism 70, as shown in FIG. 1, for example. In other embodiments, the outer shell 42 may be supported directly on the ground, for example, or via other means, such as raised on a pedestal, table, cart or other support, or suspended or cantilevered from a wall, ceiling or other support structure. In certain embodiments, an outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 that comprises both a protective outer covering for the rotating portion 101 and a mounting surface for a bearing for rotation of the rotating portion 101 may provide the gantry 40 with various degrees-of-freedom, such as the “tilt” motion about axis (a′) and/or rotation about axis (a) as shown in FIG. 2A, as well as translation motion for imaging applications and/or transport of the gantry 40.)
Consider Claims 19.
The combination of Gregerson and Maier teaches:
19. The computed tomography device of claim 19, wherein the gantry includes a first gantry part and a second gantry part, the first gantry part includes a rotatably mounted rotor with a projection data acquisition system, and the second gantry part includes at least one section of the opening, the board is connected to the second gantry part via the pivoting apparatus and is mounted pivotably about the pivot axis relative to the second gantry part, the first gantry part is mounted movably relative to the second gantry part such that a translatory movement of the first gantry part relative to the second gantry part is executable while the second gantry part rests relative to the head of the person and the body support apparatus rests relative to the head of the person and relative to the at least one section of the opening when the head of the person is located in the opening. (Gregerson: [0056] The gantry 40 and gimbal 30 are illustrated in FIG. 2A. The gimbal 30 is a generally C-shaped support that is mounted to the top surface of base 20 and includes a pair of arms 31, 33 extending up from the base. The arms 31, 33 are connected to opposite sides of gantry 40 so that the gantry is suspended above base 20 and gimbal 30. In one embodiment, the gimbal 30 and gantry 40 can rotate together about a first axis (a) relative to the base 20, and the gantry 40 can tilt about a second axis (a′) relative to the gimbal 30 and base 20. [0064] FIG. 4A is an exploded view of a gantry 40 according to one embodiment that illustrates the outer shell 42, the rotor 41 and a bearing assembly 400. FIG. 4B illustrates the assembled gantry 40. As is shown in FIGS. 4A-B, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be a generally O-shaped covering of a structural material that may at least substantially fully enclose the rotating portion 101, including the rotor 41 and any components mounted to the rotor, over one or more sides of the rotating portion 101. The outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may be conceptually considered an “exoskeleton,” that both supports the rotating portion 101 of the system 100, preferably in three dimensions, and also provides a protective barrier between the rotating portion 101 and the external environment. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 may support at least about 75%, such as more than 80%, and preferably more than about 90%, such as more than 99%, and even more preferably 100% of the weight of the rotating portion 101 of the imaging system 100. In embodiments, the outer shell 42 itself may be supported by one or more other components, such as a gimbal 30, base 20 and/or drive mechanism 70, as shown in FIG. 1, for example. In other embodiments, the outer shell 42 may be supported directly on the ground, for example, or via other means, such as raised on a pedestal, table, cart or other support, or suspended or cantilevered from a wall, ceiling or other support structure. In certain embodiments, an outer shell 42 of the gantry 40 that comprises both a protective outer covering for the rotating portion 101 and a mounting surface for a bearing for rotation of the rotating portion 101 may provide the gantry 40 with various degrees-of-freedom, such as the “tilt” motion about axis (a′) and/or rotation about axis (a) as shown in FIG. 2A, as well as translation motion for imaging applications and/or transport of the gantry 40. Maier: Figure 4, [0018] The patient bed 6 can move horizontally, in particular parallel to the axis of the data acquisition device 1. As is best seen from FIG. 4, the patient bed 6 is formed of a backrest 7, a seat 8 and a foot part 9. For vertical movement of the mounting device 5, a further hydraulically-operable or electrically-operable lifting device (not shown) is provided. A preferably electrically-operable horizontal movement device (not shown) is likewise provided for horizontal movement of the patient bed 6. The horizontal movement device can be disposed in the mounting arm 5. In particular, electrically-operable pivot devices (not shown) are provided to pivot the backrest 7 as well as the foot part 9. [0019] The functioning of the x-ray computed tomography apparatus is as follows: [0020] Because the mounting device 4 can be moved vertically on the carrier 2, and this is in turn attached to the base 3 such that it can move vertically, the patient bed 6 can be moved particularly far in the vertical direction. FIG. 1 shows an x-ray computed tomography apparatus in a first vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is not raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 2 shows the patient bed 6 in a highest second vertical position, in which the carrier 2 is vertically raised relative to the base 3. FIG. 3 shows the patient bed 6 in a lowest third position. The carrier 2 is likewise in a position that is vertically lowered relative to the base 3. The pivoting capability of the backrest 7 and the seat 9 enable the patient bed 6 to be adjusted to a seating position. This eases accessibility to a surgery region at the patient.)
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
February 19, 2026
/TAHMINA N ANSARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674