DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per dependent claim 3, the claim limitations toward selecting prompt context tokens from the distribution and utilizing the prompt context tokens as learnable parameters for the vision language model, in conjunction with the claim limitations in the independent claim, is not explicitly taught by the prior art of record. Regarding the prior art of record, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches cross learning between the image representation vectors and the text representation vectors – para 0025; see para 0035, wherein the image prompt tokens are introduced to the language branch prompt learning framework; this process forces an alignment between the image tokens and text tokens – para 0036; see also the “coupling functions” as the alignment process – para 0029)). Li et al (20220391755) teaches a multimodal encoder taking images, generating encoded image parameters, along with a separate text encoder generating text encoding embedding, of which, both types are inserted into self attention and cross attention layers (see para 0073), using pretrained weights, generating token values representing the relationship between the image encoded information and the text encoding information, used in a MLP classifier (para 0074), as well as para 0032 detailing the joint representation of the image/text pair. However, neither reference explicitly teaches the claim limitations of dependent claim 3 (with independent claim 1), as noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khattak et al (20240220722) in view of Li et al (20220391755).
As per claim 1, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating, utilizing an image encoder of a vision language machine learning model (as using vision language models (para 0025), image patch feature representations that represent patches from an input image (para 0025 – the vision language models generate image-text pairs; the text portion is the patch feature representation; see further, in para 0034, wherein the image is split into “M” patch embeddings);
initializing prompt context tokens from a distribution; utilizing context tokens according to the image patch feature representations (as weighting based on a loss function representing a differential between the prediction and ground-truth value, affecting the score – see para 0043 reflecting back on para 0042);
generating, utilizing an attention layer of the vision language machine learning model, the localized context tokens based on the
and generating, utilizing a text encoder of the vision language machine learning model, a text caption describing the input image from the localized context tokens (as, generating text from the image using text prompt tokens – para 0031) generated based
As per claim 1, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches an interaction between the image prompt tokens into the language prompt learning framework -- see para 0035; the “coupling function in para 0029, forces ‘an alignment’ between the image tokens and text tokens – para 0036; however, Khattak et al (20240220722) does not explicitly state the use of alignment vectors as a go-between among the image tokens and the text prompt tokens; Li et al (20220391755) teaches a multimodal encoder taking images, generating encoded image parameters, along with a separate text encoder generating text encoding embedding, of which, both types are inserted into self attention and cross attention layers (see para 0073), using pretrained weights, generating token values representing the relationship between the image encoded information and the text encoding information, used in a MLP classifier (para 0074), as well as para 0032 detailing the joint representation of the image/text pair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of image/text encoding/pairing to modify the relationship calculations between text/image as taught in Khattak et al (20240220722) with attention layer type calculations, as taught by Li et al (20220391755), because it would advantageously add to the image-text pair information semantically similar image/texts (see Li et al (20220391755), para 0061).
As per claim 2, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the image patch feature representations comprises:
extracting the patches from the input image; generating, utilizing the image encoder, image patch feature vectors from the patches (as operating on patches from the images – para 0034, and generating patch feature vectors – see para 0037, patch embeddings and appended learnable class tokens); and generating, utilizing a neural network, conditional image patch tokens from the image patch feature vectors (generating image prompt tokens – para 0030).
As per claim 4, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein generating, utilizing the attention layer of the vision language machine learning model (see neural network layers, and explanation of attention layer, in the mapping of claim 1), by generating context vectors for the patches from the input image by combining the alignment vectors and the prompt context tokens (as, Khattak et al (20240220722) , cross-learning the transformed blocks across the vision/image and language/text blocks, to align the image/vision – text/language representations – para 0025; and combining the word embeddings with the learnable text prompt tokens – para 0031; Li et al (20220391755) teaches a multimodal encoder taking images, generating encoded image parameters, along with a separate text encoder generating text encoding embedding, of which, both types are inserted into self attention and cross attention layers (see para 0073), using pretrained weights, generating token values representing the relationship between the image encoded information and the text encoding information, used in a MLP classifier (para 0074), as well as para 0032 detailing the joint representation of the image/text pair).
As per claim 5, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein generating, utilizing the attention layer of the vision language machine learning model (see neural network layers, and explanation of attention layer, in the mapping of claim 1), the localized context tokens further comprises:
combining the context vectors for the patches from the input image with the prompt context tokens to generate the localized context tokens (as, combining the modified patch embedding with the text prompt tokens – para 0031).
As per claim 6, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising training the vision language machine learning model by:
generating, utilizing the image encoder, an image feature vector of the input image (as generating image tokens from the patches – para 0029, see the ‘vision branch’, with the image transformer layers; the image transformer layers generate tokens – para 0035 – para 0037); determining a measure of loss by comparing the text representation with the image feature vector (as generating loss functions, including cross entropy between the text prompt tokens and the image prompt tokens – para 0043);
and modifying the prompt context tokens and weights of the attention layer of the vision language machine learning model based on the determined measure of loss (as, backpropagating the learnable text/image tokens – para 0043).
As per claim 7, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising training the vision language machine learning model by generating the text representation, utilizing the text encoder of the vision language machine learning model, from the localized context tokens and a ground truth class corresponding to the input image (as comparing the image-text pairs to known ground-truth values – para 0043).
Claims 8-14 are system claims whose steps are performed by the method steps 1-7 above and as such, claims 8-14 are similar in scope and content to claims 1-7; therefore, claims 8-14 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-7 above. Furthermore, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches a processor executing instructions performing the disclosed steps (see para 0074 – 0079). Further, to claim 8, regarding the alignment vectors by weighing the prompt context tokens according to the image patch feature representations -- see Khattak et al (20240220722) – as weighting based on a loss function representing a differential between the prediction and ground-truth value, affecting the score – see para 0043 reflecting back on para 0042).
Claims 15-20 are non-transitory computer readable claims, whose steps are performed by the method steps 1-7 above and as such, claims 15-20 are similar in scope and content to claims 1-7; therefore, claims 15-20 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-7 above. Furthermore, Khattak et al (20240220722) teaches a processor executing instructions performing the disclosed steps (see para 0007). Likewise to claim 8 above, further to claim 15, regarding the alignment vectors by weighing the prompt context tokens according to the image patch feature representations -- see Khattak et al (20240220722) – as weighting based on a loss function representing a differential between the prediction and ground-truth value, affecting the score – see para 0043 reflecting back on para 0042.
Response to Arguments
Applicants amendment to the abstract, has been reviewed, accepted; and the objection withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Examiner notes the use of the Li et al (20220391755) reference to address the further claim limitations toward attention layers used for alignment purposes between the context vectors and the image vectors. The majority of applicants arguments are toward these features, and the Khattak et al (20240220722) reference. Examiner notes the indication of allowable subject matter, of the claim limitations, found in dependent claim 3.
Furthermore, Fei et al (20220383048) teaches self attention layered networks as well (para 0042, 0054). Gopalkrishna et al (20230281963) teaches injection of an inferred text, as a caption, for the related image – see para 0034.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see related art listed on the PTO-892 form.
Mangla et al (20240153258) teaches a multimodal network mapping image information to text/language – see fig 3
Guo et al (20240119257) teaches multimodal tying to image with text prompts – Fig. 3
Gopalkrishna et al (20230281963) teaches multilevel alignment for vision-language pretraining – abstract.
Li et al (20220391755) teaches vision-language representation learning – abstract, figure 2.
/Michael N Opsasnick/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658 02/28/2026