DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 16, 18, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 claims a negative limitation not found in the specification which is “strips are not studs that extend from the interior side to the exterior side”. This is new matter and must be removed. Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 11, 16, 18, 34 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the recitation “to double” is not clear as to what is double of. Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 11, 16, 18, 34 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11, 16, 18 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,308,491 to Porter in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2009/0077916 to Scuderi et al.
Regarding claim 1, Porter discloses a panel (fig. 2, title), an insulation layer (fig. 2: 14) an outer layer with surface (assembly which includes 16) board adjacent to a first lateral surface (flat top) of the insulation layer, and a plurality of reinforcement structures (22a, 22b) which are strips (column 3, lines 57-59 “thin, elongated”) within the panel wherein the reinforcement structure strips are fixed between insulation and inner surface of the outer layer (assembly which includes 16), the reinforcement structures being wood studs (column 3, lines 53-55; abstract), wherein the reinforcement structures have a length equal to the length of the outer layer (see uniform lengths of components fig. 7). However, the outer surface layer board and the strips are not disclosed as being magnesium oxide. Scuderi discloses a panel with multiple components being made from magnesium oxide [0026]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Porter by using such a material as disclosed by Scuderi in order to better strengthen the structure. Regarding dimensions of these materials, Porter discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions as claimed. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Porter to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a design choice where larger components would increase strength where needed as smaller components would decrease strength where strength is not needed. Regarding the limitation of the strips increasing the cladding fastener withdrawal force, this may be performed by the strips of Porter.
Regarding claim 2, Porter in view of Scuderi disclose the panel having a second outer layer (12).
Regarding claim 3, a second plurality of reinforcing strips (26b, 26c, 26d) are disclosed and are between the insulation layer (14) and an inner surface of the second outer layer (12), the second plurality of reinforcement structures are also wood studs (column 3, lines 53-55).
Regarding claims 5-7, Porter discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Porter to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a design choice based upon the intended strength of the panel to be made, as studs/strips are found in various sizes.
Regarding claim 11, markings on the outside indicating reinforcement structure locations is not explicitly disclosed. However, the Examiner takes official notice that studs are typically secured to gypsum by sheetrock screws, the sheetrock screws are visible from outside the panel and locate the studs. This is a well-known and used method of locating a stud when hanging weight from a wall stud. The use of sheetrock screws would have been obvious to one in the art at the time of filing in order to secure the studs to the gypsum in a strong manner.
Regarding claim 16, an epoxy cement is disclosed as being between layer 18 and layer 16 of the outer layer (column 3, lines 28-32), epoxy being inherently water resistant.
Regarding claim 18, a polystyrene and urethane are disclosed as being the insulation (column 3, lines 24-26) as polyurethane foam is a type of foam that is made from polyurethane chemistry, which is a polymer composed of many urethane units.
Regarding claim 34, the reinforcement strips are affixed by insulating material in the insulating layer (Porter, column 3, lines 65-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the lack of magnesium oxide in the Porter reference. This has been addressed in the previous action. Also, this limitation is taught by the obviousness rejection combined with Scuderi. Regarding the studs of Porter, they are located between insulating layer and inner surface of the outer layer. This is obvious as they are embedded. The Applicant also argues the intended function of the prior art used. The Applicant should note that the intended function of the prior art are related in the art and are proper for combining and use in the above rejection. Also, the Applicant argues the modification of the references would render them inoperable for the purpose of providing a structural insulated panel because of a lack of protection. This is not persuasive since the structure would not significantly change as the magnesium oxid would reinforce the panel. Regarding the argument of weather resistance, this is also not modified as the studs are embedded.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633