Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: treads appears to be a misspelling of threads. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostue (US 2025/0216565 A1) and Shi (US 2009/0262506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mostue teaches an ocean bottom node for recording seismic waves, the ocean bottom node comprising:
a casing made of a battery housing and an electronics housing, both made of metal [[0006] commonly, therefore, the node comprises one or more waterproof housings containing the seismic sensors, power supply, control means, clocks, and other sensors for orientation and positioning, formed as a fairly thick metal shell. A seabed node of this type is described in EP1805533B1. Here, a disc-shaped housing both protects the internal components from the external pressure environment and seals the node against water ingress; [0066] central block in this case includes two cavities which house the battery packs … battery packs themselves may each be formed as a solid metal block; [0067] central block 26 also includes a cavity 12 for receiving the hydrophone 10, in this case on a rear surface 54];
electronics located inside the casing [[0027] one or more cavities of the inner structure contain at least one data recorder, at least one power source, and at least one circuit board supporting a clock circuit];
a seismic sensor connected to the electronics and configured to detect the seismic waves [[0004] seismic sensors themselves can include one or more of a number of different types of device capable of detecting a seismic wave within the surrounding material (air, water, or the material of the node itself). These can include pressure sensors such as hydrophones and motion sensors such as geophones or accelerometers (for example MEMS accelerometers). Nodes can also include additional sensors for measuring a node position, orientation, temperature, for location of the node, and for monitoring of other parameters; [0005] nodes may be autonomous, meaning that they function to record seismic data when on the seafloor without any external control signal being required];
a battery located inside the casing and configured to supply power to the seismic sensor [[0066] central block in this case includes two cavities 28 which house the battery packs 30 or power sources for the node … battery packs themselves may each be formed as a solid metal block, preferably a metal (i.e aluminium or another metal) block, including openings in each of which a pack comprising a plurality of batteries is located. In the example shown, two such battery packs are included in the node and two corresponding cavities are provided in the central block 26, however one or more than two may be included in some embodiments]; and
Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Shi teaches a latching mechanism configured to hold the battery housing in direct contact with the electronics housing, free of screws extending between the battery housing and the electronics housing [[abstract] battery cover latching mechanism (20) used in a portable electronic device is described including a cover member (22) and a latch base (21) … sliding groove adjacent to the first guiding rail].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latching mechanism for holding a battery as taught by Shi so that the battery may be removed (Shi) [[0004]].
Regarding claim 8, Mostue teaches the node of Claim 1, wherein both the battery housing and the electronics housing are made of aluminum [[0018] inner structure may be formed completely or partly from a metal or metal alloy, such as aluminium. The aluminium used to form the pressure resistant structure may or may not be corrosion resistant. Aluminium is lightweight and easy to shape, but in some forms can corrode easily and requires anodizing for use as a sealing housing of a node. Here, where the pressure resistant inner structure is not exposed to the external seawater, treatment of the aluminium or other metal to prevent corrosion, although possible, is not required].
Regarding claim 10, Mostue teaches the node of Claim 1, further comprising: a connecting mechanism attached to each of the battery and electronics housings and configured to have a loop [[fig. 5] shows #14(s) handle or coupling means with an eyelet which appears similar to instant #224 oval eye or loop].
Regarding claim 11, Mostue teaches an ocean bottom node for recording seismic waves, the ocean bottom node comprising:
a casing made of a battery housing and an electronics housing, both made of metal [[0006][0066][0067]];
a seismic sensor connected to the electronics and configured to detect the seismic waves [[0004][0005]]; and
Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Shi teaches a latching mechanism configured to hold the battery housing in direct contact with the electronics housing with no screw extending between the battery housing and the electronics housing [[abstract]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latching mechanism for holding a battery as taught by Shi so that the battery may be removed (Shi) [[0004]].
Regarding claim 12, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Shi teaches the node of Claim 11, further comprising: electronics located inside the casing [[0027]]; a battery located inside the casing and configured to supply power to the seismic sensor [[0066]]; and a hydrophone attached to the electronics housing and partially in direct contact with the ambient of the casing [[0004] seismic sensors themselves can include one or more of a number of different types of device capable of detecting a seismic wave within the surrounding material (air, water, or the material of the node itself). These can include pressure sensors such as hydrophones and motion sensors such as geophones or accelerometers (for example MEMS accelerometers)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latching mechanism for holding a battery as taught by Shi so that the battery may be removed (Shi) [[0004]].
Regarding claim 13, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Shi teaches the node of Claim 11, wherein the latching mechanism includes first and second latches, each latch being configured to attach to corresponding lips of the battery and the electronics housings [[fig. 1][abstract]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latching mechanism for holding a battery as taught by Shi so that the battery may be removed (Shi) [[0004]].
Regarding claim 19, Mostue teaches the node of Claim 12, wherein both the battery housing and the electronics housing are made of aluminum [[0006] housings … metal shell; [0066] battery packs themselves may each be formed as a solid metal block, preferably a metal (i.e aluminium or another metal) block].
Claims 2-5, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostue (US 2025/0216565 A1) and Shi (US 2009/0262506 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lee (US 2006/0049640 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 1, wherein the latching mechanism includes first and second latches, each latch being configured to attach to corresponding lips of the battery and electronics housings [[fig. 1] shows two latches that joins sides at the edges of first casing and second casing; [fig. 3] shows details of the latches].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 3, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 2, wherein each latch includes a pin and a screw [[fig. 3] shows pivot shafts #37 #38 and screws #46].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 4, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 3, wherein the lips of the battery and the electronics housings have corresponding holes for receiving the pin [[fig. 3] shows pivot hole #32 through which pivot shafts are inserted [[0023-0026]]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 5, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 4, wherein each latch has first and second shoulders, and each shoulder has a corresponding hole for receiving the pin [[fig. 3] shows pivot bores #51 in latch #50].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 9, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 1, wherein lips of the battery and electronics housings include holes with no threads for accommodating pins of the latching mechanism [[fig. 3] shows pivot hole #32 through which pivot shafts are inserted [[0023-0026]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 14, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 13, wherein each latch includes a pin and a screw [[fig. 3] shows pivot shafts #37 #38 and screws #46].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 15, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 14, wherein the lips of the battery and the electronics housings have corresponding holes for receiving the pin [[fig. 3] shows pivot hole #32 through which pivot shafts are inserted [[0023-0026]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 16, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Lee teaches the node of Claim 15, wherein each latch has first and second shoulders, and each shoulder has a corresponding hole for receiving the pin [[fig. 3] shows pivot bores #51 in latch #50].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with the latches as taught by Lee so that the casings may be conveniently opened without tools (Lee) [[abstract]].
Claims 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostue (US 2025/0216565 A1), Shi (US 2009/0262506 A1), and Lee (US 2006/0049640 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sandler (US 2014/0096429 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Sandler teaches the node of Claim 5, wherein the first shoulder has treads for receiving the screw and the second shoulder has one end of the corresponding hole closed [[fig. 4] shows pin through holes of halves of #328 and #326 with screw cap #332].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with screw and pin as taught by Sandler so that the pin can be removed without tools.
Regarding claim 7, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Sandler teaches the node of Claim 6, further comprising: the screw, which is configured to be attached to the first shoulder, after the pin was inserted into the first and second shoulders, to secure the pin in place [[fig. 4] shows pin through holes of halves of #328 and #326 with screw cap #332].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with screw and pin as taught by Sandler so that the pin can be removed without tools.
Regarding claim 17, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Sandler teaches the node of Claim 16, wherein the first shoulder has treads for receiving the screw and the second shoulder has one end of the corresponding hole closed [[fig. 4] shows pin through holes of halves of #328 and #326 with screw cap #332].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with screw and pin as taught by Sandler so that the pin can be removed without tools.
Regarding claim 18, Mostue does not explicitly teach and yet Sandler teaches the node of Claim 17, further comprising: the screw, which is configured to be attached to the first shoulder, after the pin was inserted into the first and second shoulders to secure the pin in place [[fig. 4] shows pin through holes of halves of #328 and #326 with screw cap #332].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the housings and metal battery as taught by Mostue, with screw and pin as taught by Sandler so that the pin can be removed without tools.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645