DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation "the strainer” is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation "the strainer” is interpreted to “the strainer handle”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (US 2007/0256315)
Regarding claim 7, Wong teaches a salad spinner (salad spinner 10) including a strainer bowl (outer bowl 100) and a lid (lid 500) having a drive mechanism (drive assembly 300) with a drive shaft (drive gear 332), the salad spinner comprising:
a strainer basket (inner basket 104) placed within the strainer bowl (outer bowl 102) (See para.[0025] “basket 104 may rotate with respect to bowl 102.”) and having a pivotable strainer handle handle (handle ; see the annotation of fig.8) extending a diameter of the strainer basket (inner basket 104).
Regarding claim 8, W ong teaches a spinning motion of the strainer basket (inner basket 104) is initiated by the drive shaft (drive gear 332) engaging the strainer handle (see fig.[0043.] “the handle 400 is allowed to be folded up and opened … Such movement of the handle 400 causes motion of the gear rack 334 which drives the drive gear 332 to rotate due to the pinion engagement as mentioned above, by which the rotary drive plate 350 is actuated to rotate.”).
Regarding claim 9, Wong teaches the strainer handle (handle; see the annotation of fig.8) includes a centrally disposed aperture and wherein the drive shaft is removably coupled to the centrally disposed aperture (see figs.7-8, , the handle has a aperture with shape disposed centrally on the salad spinner, and drive gear 332 is configured to be removably coupled to the aperture of the handle.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 2007/0256315) in view of Taylor (US 2010/0112164).
Regarding claim 1, Wong teaches a salad spinner (salad spinner 10) including a strainer bowl (outer bowl 100) and a lid (lid 500), the lid (lid 500) having an integrated a drive mechanism (drive assembly 300) including a drive shaft (drive gear 332) extending centrally from a bottom portion of the drive mechanism (drive assembly 300) (See fig.5, drive gear 332 extending centrally from a bottom portion of drive assembly 300); the salad spinner (salad spinner 10) comprising:
a strainer basket (inner basket 104) rotatably supported within the strainer bowl (outer bowl 102) (See para.[0025] “basket 104 may rotate with respect to bowl 102.”) and having a pivotable strainer handle (handle; see the annotation of fig.8), the drive shaft of the drive mechanism engaging the strainer handle (handle ; see the annotation of fig.8) to impart rotation to the strainer basket (inner basket 104) (see fig.[0043.] “the handle 400 is allowed to be folded up and opened … Such movement of the handle 400 causes motion of the gear rack 334 which drives the drive gear 332 to rotate due to the pinion engagement as mentioned above, by which the rotary drive plate 350 is actuated to rotate.”)
Wong does not explicitly teach the handle mounted on an edge of the strainer basket.
However, Taylor teaches the same field of endeavor of a kitchen appliance, comprising a handle (handle 816) mounted on an edge of a basket (filter 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the basket and handle of Wong with a handle mounted on an edge of a basket as taught by Taylor, in order to easier to carry the basket, since the rearrangement of the handle only involve routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Wong teaches the strainer handle (handle ; see the annotation of fig.8) includes a centrally disposed aperture of a predetermined shape (See fig.8, the handle has a aperture with shape disposed centrally on the salad spinner.).
Regarding claim 3, Wong teaches the drive shaft (drive gear 332) has the same predetermined shape and is configured to be removably coupled to the aperture of the strainer (see fig.7, both of drive gear 332 and the aperture of the handle include gear teeth shape, and drive gear 332 is configured to be removably coupled to the aperture of the handle ).
Regarding claim 5, Wong teaches the predetermined shape comprises a geometric shape (See fig.8, the shape is a geometric shape.)
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Wong and Taylor in view of Park (CN 202702288)
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Wong and Taylor does not explicitly teach a chopper centrally placed within the strainer basket and aligned with and configured to engage the aperture of predetermined shape.
However, Park teaches in the same field of endeavor of a kitchen appliance, comprising a chopper (chopper; see the annotation of fig.2) centrally placed within a container (body 20) and aligned with and configured to engage a aperture (rotating port 15) of predetermined shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the salad spinner of the modification of Wong and Taylor by adding a chopper centrally placed within a container and aligned with engage a aperture as taught by Park, in order to provide a device easy to repair, capable of cutting vegetables to various lengths, and easy to manufacture (See para.[0002] of Park).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Wong and Taylor does not explicitly teach a chopper centrally placed within the strainer basket and aligned with and configured to be engaged by the drive shaft through the aperture of predetermined shape in the strainer handle.
However, Park teaches in the same field of endeavor of a kitchen appliance, comprising a chopper (chopper; see the annotation of fig.2) centrally placed within a container and aligned with and configured to be engaged by a drive shaft (rotating drive unit 12) through the aperture (rotating port 15) of predetermined shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the salad spinner of the modification of Wong and Taylor by adding a chopper centrally placed within a container and aligned with and configured to be engaged by a drive shaft through the aperture as taught by Park, in order to provide a device easy to repair, capable of cutting vegetables to various lengths, and easy to manufacture (See para.[0002] of Park).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Park (CN 202702288)
Regarding claims 10-11, Wong does not explicitly teach a chopper having a chopper rod with chopper blades, a proximal end of the chopper rod defining an opening configured to align with the centrally disposed aperture of the strainer handle.
However, Park teaches in the same field of endeavor of a kitchen appliance, comprising a chopper (chopper; see the annotation of fig.2) having a chopper rod (rod; see the annotation of fig. 2) with chopper blades (blades 33)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the salad spinner of Wong by adding a chopper with a rod and blades, and the drive shaft is removably coupled to a protrusion of the chopper rod as taught by Park in order to provide a device easy to repair, capable of cutting vegetables to various lengths, and easy to manufacture (See para.[0002] of Park), and further modify the chopper and the drive shaft to exchange the protrusion of the chopper and the aperture of drive shaft, so that chopper defining an opening align with the aperture of the strainer handle, in order to provide a desired arrangement of the structure of the chopper, since the rearrangement of parts only involve routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761