DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 07/19/2023 is received prior to the examination of the instant application and has not introduced any new matter, thus, has been entered and examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the remote radio unitis…” in line 13. For a purpose of clarification, it is suggested to change “the remote radio unitis…” to “the remote radio unit is…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0272180 A1 to Jitsukawa et all (hereafter refers as Jitsukawa) in view of US 2020/0112096 A1 to Mochizuki.
Regarding claim 1, Jitsukawa teaches an antenna calibration system (an antenna calibration system, Fig. 4, 7A-7B), wherein the antenna calibration system comprises a baseband processing unit (antenna calibration system comprises a BBU, Fig. 4, 7A-7B), a remote radio unit (RRH Fig. 4, 7A-7B), an antenna array (antennas connected to RRH, i.e. antennas 304 #1 and 304#2, Fig. 4, 7A-7B), and a coupled antenna (antenna 313, coupled to an UE, coupled to a BBU, i.e. via self calibrator, Fig. 7A, and radio connected to the RRH(s), Fig. 4, 7B),
wherein the baseband processing unit is connected to a first end of the remote radio unit (wherein the BBU is connected to a first end of RRH, Fig. 4, 7A, 7B), and the antenna array (the antennas are connected to a second end of RRH, i.e. antennas 304 #1 and 304#2, Fig. 4, 7A-7B) and the coupled antenna are respectively connected to a second end of the remote radio unit (antenna 313, coupled to an UE, coupled to a BBU, i.e. via self calibrator, Fig. 7A, are connected to the second end of RRH(s), Fig. 4, 7A, 7B);
the antenna array is configured to:
send, to a wireless network, a radio frequency calibration signal sent by the baseband processing unit (the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 send, to a wireless network, a calibration signal(s) sent by a self-calibrator of the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), or
receive the radio frequency calibration signal, and transmit a coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit (the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 receive the calibration signals sent by a self-calibrator of the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118], and transmit a calibration signal corresponding to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, send by the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, to the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]),
wherein the antenna array comprises a plurality of transmission ports (wherein the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 include a plurality of transmission ports, Fig. 4, 7A, 7B);
the remote radio unit is configured to provide a plurality of transmission channels (RRH includes a plurality of transmission channels/paths, Fig. 7A, paths 701-702, and paragraphs [54-56, 86-89]),
wherein the plurality of transmission channels correspond to the plurality of transmission ports (wherein the plurality of transmission channels/paths correspond to the plurality of transmission ports/antennas, Fig. 7A and paragraphs [54-56, 86-89]);
the coupled antenna is configured to:
receive, in the wireless network, the radio frequency calibration signal sent by the baseband processing unit (antenna of UE, receives the calibration signal(s) sent by the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), and transmit the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit (antenna of UE, transmits the calibration signal(s) correspond to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, to the BB, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), or
send the radio frequency calibration signal to the wireless network (the antenna of UE sends the calibration signal(s) correspond to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, to the BB, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]); and
the baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels (the BBU calculates a calibration coefficient for each to-be-sent baseband signal, i.e. signal to be precoded by the baseband, based on channel state of transmitted calibration signal(s) and channel state of received calibration signal(s), and thereby the BBU calibrate the plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals using the calibration coefficients, paragraphs [67-71,90-93, 117-121, 125]).
However, Jitsukawa does not explicitly teach the calibration is based on “a difference” between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal.
Mochizuki teaches a baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on a difference the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels (a baseband processing device calibrates signals based on calibrate weights, which are determined from a difference between an input signal and an output signal, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on a difference the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels as taught by Mochizuki, with the teachings of baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels as taught by Jitsukawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the calibration coefficients/weights by simply using the difference between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, thus reduce complexity in determining the calibration coefficients/weights (see Mochizuki, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Regarding claim 2, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein the plurality of transmission channels comprise a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one calibration channel (wherein the plurality of channels comprises a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one channel for transmitting calibration signal, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118] and Fig. 7A, 7B, 9-10), wherein the plurality of transmission ports correspond to the plurality of signal transmission channels (wherein the plurality of channels corresponds to a plurality of antennas, Fig. 7A, 7B, 9-10), and the coupled antenna corresponds to the at least one calibration channel (wherein the antenna of UE is configured to receive the calibration signal, Fig. 7A, 7B, 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 3, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein when the antenna calibration system is used for downlink signal calibration (when the antenna calibration system is used for downlink signal calibration, paragraphs [47-49, 57, 60, 92, 101]), the baseband processing unit is configured to send the radio frequency calibration signal through the plurality of signal transmission channels (the self-calibrator of the BBU sends the calibration signal(s) via the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 to the wireless network, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]); and
the coupled antenna is configured to couple the radio frequency calibration signal to the calibration channel (the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, receives the calibration signal from the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), and transmit the coupled signal of the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the calibration channel (and transmits the calibration signal to the BBU, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]).
Regarding claim 4, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein when the antenna calibration system is used for uplink signal calibration(when the antenna calibration system is used for uplink signal calibration, see Jitsukawa, paragraphs [47-49, 57, 60, 144-146]), the baseband processing unit is configured to send the radio frequency calibration signal through the calibration channel (the BBU configured to send the calibration signal via the UE, Fig. 16 and paragraphs [144-146]); and the coupled antenna is configured to couple the radio frequency calibration signal to the signal transmission channel (the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, receives the calibration signal from the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), and transmit the coupled signal of the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the signal transmission channel (and transmits the calibration signal to the BBU, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]).
Regarding claim 8, Jitsukawa teaches an antenna calibration method (an antenna calibration method, Fig. 5, 7A-7B, 8), wherein the method comprises:
receiving a radio frequency calibration signal from a wireless network by using a coupled antenna (receiving a calibration signal from a wireless network by using an antenna of UE, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]),
wherein the radio frequency calibration signal is sent by a baseband processing unit to the wireless network through transmission channels in a remote radio unit (wherein the calibration signal is sent by a self-calibrator of BBU to the wireless network through transmission paths in a RRH, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118], Fig. 4-8);
backhauling a coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the transmission channels (backhauling a response calibration signal corresponding to the calibration signal, to the BBU through the channels, Fig. 7A-7B, paragraphs [87-90]); and
calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit based on the coupled signal and the radio frequency calibration signal (calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the BBU based on the channel state of transmitted calibration signal(s) and channel state of received calibration signal(s), paragraphs [67-71,90-93, 117-121, 125]).
However, Jitsukawa does not explicitly teach the calibrating is based on “a difference” between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal.
Mochizuki teaches calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit based on a difference between a coupled signal and a radio frequency calibration signal (a baseband processing device calibrates signals based on calibrate weights, which are determined from a difference between an input signal and an output signal, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit based on a difference between a coupled signal and a radio frequency calibration signal as taught by Mochizuki, with the teachings of calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit based on the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal as taught by Jitsukawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the calibration coefficients/weights by simply using the difference between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, thus reduce complexity in determining the calibration coefficients/weights (see Mochizuki, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Regarding claim 9, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein the transmission channels comprise a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one calibration channel (wherein the plurality of channels comprises a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one channel for transmitting calibration signal, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118] and Fig. 7A, 7B, 9-10), and the coupled antenna is connected to the at least one calibration channel (wherein the antenna of UE is configured to receive the calibration signal, Fig. 7A, 7B, 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein when the radio frequency calibration signal is sent by the baseband processing unit to the wireless network through the plurality of signal transmission channels (the self-calibrator of the BBU sends the calibration signal(s) via the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 to the wireless network, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), transmitting the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the transmission channels comprises (the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, receives the calibration signal from the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]): transmitting the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the at least one calibration channel (and transmits the calibration signal to the BBU, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]).
Regarding claim 11, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein when the radio frequency calibration signal is sent by the baseband processing unit to the wireless network through the at least one calibration channel (the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, receives the calibration signal from the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), transmitting the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the transmission channels comprises: transmitting the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the plurality of transmission channels (and transmits the calibration signal to the BBU, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jitsukawa and Mochizuki further teaches wherein the calibrating a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit comprises: calibrating phases and amplitudes of the plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals in the baseband processing unit (the baseband processing device calibrates phases and amplitudes of the plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals, see Jitsukawa, paragraphs [67-71,90-93, 117-121, 125], see Mochizuki, paragraphs [82, 115-117]).
Regarding claim 14, Jitsukawa teaches a base station comprising an antenna calibration system (a base station comprises an antenna calibration system, Fig. 4, 7A-7B and paragraphs [2, 4-6, 41, 44-46]),
wherein the antenna calibration system comprises a baseband processing unit (antenna calibration system comprises a BBU, Fig. 4, 7A-7B), a remote radio unit (RRH Fig. 4, 7A-7B), an antenna array (antennas connected to RRH, i.e. antennas 304 #1 and 304#2, Fig. 4, 7A-7B), and a coupled antenna (antenna 313, coupled to an UE, coupled to a BBU, i.e. via self calibrator, Fig. 7A, and radio connected to the RRH(s), Fig. 4, 7B),
wherein the baseband processing unit is connected to a first end of the remote radio unit (wherein the BBU is connected to a first end of RRH, Fig. 4, 7A, 7B), and the antenna array (the antennas are connected to a second end of RRH, i.e. antennas 304 #1 and 304#2, Fig. 4, 7A-7B) and the coupled antenna are respectively connected to a second end of the remote radio unit (antenna 313, coupled to an UE, coupled to a BBU, i.e. via self calibrator, Fig. 7A, are connected to the second end of RRH(s), Fig. 4, 7A, 7B);
the antenna array is configured to:
send, to a wireless network, a radio frequency calibration signal sent by the baseband processing unit (the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 send, to a wireless network, a calibration signal(s) sent by a self-calibrator of the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), or receive the radio frequency calibration signal (the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 receive the calibration signals sent by a self-calibrator of the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), and
transmit a coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit (transmit a calibration signal corresponding to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, send by the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, to the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]),
wherein the antenna array comprises a plurality of transmission ports (wherein the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 include a plurality of transmission ports, Fig. 4, 7A, 7B);
the remote radio unitis configured to provide a plurality of transmission channels (RRH includes a plurality of transmission channels/paths, Fig. 7A, paths 701-702, and paragraphs [54-56, 86-89]), wherein the plurality of transmission channels correspond to the plurality of transmission ports (wherein the plurality of transmission channels/paths correspond to the plurality of transmission ports/antennas, Fig. 7A and paragraphs [54-56, 86-89]);
the coupled antenna is configured to:
receive, in the wireless network, the radio frequency calibration signal sent by the baseband processing unit (antenna of UE, receives the calibration signal(s) sent by the BBU, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]), and transmit the coupled signal corresponding to the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit (antenna of UE, transmits the calibration signal(s) correspond to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, to the BB, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), or
send the radio frequency calibration signal to the wireless network (the antenna of UE sends the calibration signal(s) correspond to the calibration signal sent by the self-calibrator of the BBU, to the BB, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]); and
the baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels (the BBU calculates a calibration coefficient for each to-be-sent baseband signal, i.e. signal to be precoded by the baseband, based on channel state of transmitted calibration signal(s) and channel state of received calibration signal(s), and thereby the BBU calibrate the plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals using the calibration coefficients, paragraphs [67-71,90-93, 117-121, 125]).
However, Jitsukawa does not explicitly teach the calibration is based on “a difference” between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal.
Mochizuki teaches a baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on a difference between a radio frequency calibration signal and a coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels (a baseband processing device calibrates signals based on calibrate weights, which are determined from a difference between an input signal and an output signal, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on a difference the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels as taught by Mochizuki, with the teachings of baseband processing unit is configured to calibrate, based on the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, a plurality of to-be-sent baseband signals corresponding to the plurality of transmission channels as taught by Jitsukawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the calibration coefficients/weights by simply using the difference between the radio frequency calibration signal and the coupled signal, thus reduce complexity in determining the calibration coefficients/weights (see Mochizuki, paragraphs [57-59, 66, 70, 72, 115-116, 133]).
Regarding claim 15, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein the plurality of transmission channels comprise a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one calibration channel (wherein the plurality of channels comprises a plurality of signal transmission channels and at least one channel for transmitting calibration signal, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118] and Fig. 7A, 7B, 9-10), wherein the plurality of transmission ports correspond to the plurality of signal transmission channels (wherein the plurality of channels corresponds to a plurality of antennas, Fig. 7A, 7B, 9-10), and the coupled antenna corresponds to the at least one calibration channel (wherein the antenna of UE is configured to receive the calibration signal, Fig. 7A, 7B, 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 16, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein when the antenna calibration system is used for downlink signal calibration (when the antenna calibration system is used for downlink signal calibration, paragraphs [47-49, 57, 60, 92, 101]), the baseband processing unit is configured to send the radio frequency calibration signal through the plurality of signal transmission channels (the self-calibrator of the BBU sends the calibration signal(s) via the antennas 304 #1 and 304#2 to the wireless network, paragraphs [88, 92, 103, 104, 106, 118]); and
the coupled antenna is configured to couple the radio frequency calibration signal to the calibration channel (the antenna of wireless terminal 103, i.e. antenna 313, receives the calibration signal from the self-calibrator 403, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]), and transmit the coupled signal of the radio frequency calibration signal to the baseband processing unit through the calibration channel (and transmits the calibration signal to the BBU, paragraphs [89, 93-94, 103-107, 116-118]).
Claims 5-6, 12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0272180 A1 to Jitsukawa et all (hereafter refers as Jitsukawa) in view of US 2020/0112096 A1 to Mochizuki as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2018/0040964 A1 to Benjebbour et al. (hereafter refers as Benjebbour).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 17, the combination of Jitsukawa and Mochizuki further teaches wherein the antenna calibration system further comprises a phase shifter (the antenna calibration system comprises a precoder for modifying baseband signal, see Jitsukawa, paragraphs [57, 67, 71-73, 84, 102], including phase shifter, see Mochizuki, paragraphs [108-113, 115-117]), and the coupled antenna is connected to a calibration channel by using the phase shifter (the antenna of the UE is connected to a calibration channel using the precoder/phase shifter, see Jitsukawa, Fig. 4, 7A, 7B).
However, the combination of Jitsukawa and Mochizuki does not explicitly teach the phase shifter is a “digital” phase shifter.
Benjebbour teaches an antenna calibration system further comprises a digital phase shifter (an antenna calibration system comprises a digital phase controller, paragraphs [94, 96, 128]), and a coupled antenna is connected to a calibration channel by using the digital phase shifter (wherein an antenna is connected to a calibration channel using a digital phase shifter, Fig. 8, 11 and paragraphs [94-96, 128-130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the antenna calibration system further comprises the digital phase shifter as taught by Benjebbour, with the teachings of phase shifter as taught by combination of Jitsukawa and Mochizuki, for a purpose of increase efficiency in phase shifting the baseband signals by using the digital phase shifter, thus reduce complexity of circuitry by digitally modify the phase while provide orthogonality for baseband signals (see Benjebbour, Fig. 8, 11 and paragraphs [94-96, 139]).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Jitsukawa further teaches wherein a quantity of coupled antennas is equal to a quantity of calibration channels (wherein a quantity of antennas is equal to a quantity of calibration channels, Fig. 4, 13-14); and when the antenna calibration system is used for downlink signal calibration, each coupled signal corresponding to each coupled antenna is transmitted to the baseband processing unit through one calibration channel (a response calibration signal is transmitted to the BB through one calibration channel, Fig. 7A and paragraphs [88-90]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0054264 A1 discloses a BBU transmits a calibration signal via array antennas (Fig. 4) and BBU calibrates signals based on a phase difference between a first signal and a first reception signal and a second phase difference between a second signal and a second reception signal (abstract and paragraphs [43-44, 50, 54-56, 73-77]).
US 2018/045660 A1 discloses a digital phase shifter is used for calibrate signals (see paragraphs [43-45, 48, 64-66, 68, 72]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 April 9, 2026