DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention II in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (6143101).
Regarding claims 10-13, Lundstrom discloses heat applied through ignition (col. 2, lines 5-10) to a composition that includes aluminum, nanosized iron oxide (claim 11) (meets claimed nanothermite), and propylene carbonate (see table). The propylene carbonate polymer unzips due to the heat application which meets the limitation of heat near the reaction front since the composition is heated by ignition.
Regarding claim 13, the step of sequential monomer depolymerization is met through the heating step as shown by Applicant’s specification para 0018.
Regarding clam 16, the composition is used as a propellant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tappan (8048242) in view of Lundstrom (6143101).
Regarding claim 10, Tappan discloses nanothermite including copper oxide and aluminum (claim 1 and col1, lines 20-25) with a binder as applied by ink for energetic applications that are exposed to heat by ignition (col.1 lines 60-67 and col. 2, lines 1-20).
Lundstrom teaches that propylene carbonate is a known binder for use with nanothermite compositions (see table). The propylene carbonate polymer unzips due to the heat application which meets the limitation of heat near the reaction front since the composition is heated by ignition.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the binder as taught by Lundstrom with the ink nanothermite of Tappan since Tappan discloses that it is known to use a binder with nanothermite ink compositions and since Lundstrom teaches that propylene carbonate is a known binder for use with nanothermite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the reaction front”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the energetic composite”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734