DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “FireFly” (FireFly Essential Services Vehicle Non-Patent Literature provided by Applicant; May 24, 2022 according to The Wayback Machine).
With respect to claim 11, FireFly discloses a three-wheeled vehicle (system mounting front wheel to vehicle as seen in bottom figure of page 2/8 of Applicant provided NPL) comprising: an arched brace (labeled “arched brace” in enhanced figure from page 2/8 of Applicant provided NPL shown below) comprising a first end, a second end and an apex (labeled “apex”); a pivot tube (labeled “pivot tube”) mounted proximal to the apex of the arched brace and defining a pivot axis; a wheel-mount arm (labeled “wheel mount arm”) comprising an arched brace coupled to the pivot tube, configured to pivot about the pivot axis such that a wheel mounted to the wheel mount will rotate about a wheel axis; a first mounting point (labeled “1st mounting point”) at the first end of the arched brace, and a second mounting point at the second end of the arched brace (a second mounting point at opposite side of the vehicle frame, not shown in the marked-up drawing), the first and second mounting points at the same height or lower than the wheel mount (as shown in marked-up figure below); a third mounting point (labeled “3rd mounting point) coupled to the arched brace between the first mounting point and the apex, and a fourth mounting point (labeled “4th mounting point”) coupled to the arched brace between the second mounting point and the apex, wherein the third and fourth mounting points are configured to be coupled to shock absorbers (labeled “shock absorber”) and wherein the first and second mounting points are configured to be pivotably coupled to the frame of a vehicle.
With respect to claim 12, wherein the third and fourth mounting points are on outriggers (labeled “outrigger”) mounted to the arched brace, and wherein the shock absorbers are mounted to the frame of the vehicle at locations higher than the first and second mounting points (as shown in marked-up figure below).
With respect to claim 14, wherein the wheel-mount arm is configured to engage a steering column (labeled “steering column”) mounted to a top of the pivot tube.
With respect to claim 16, wherein the first and second mounting points define a suspension axis, and wherein the suspension axis is lower than, and behind the wheel axis relative to the vehicle frame (as shown in marked-up figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “FireFly” in view of Klein (US 5,273,301).
With respect to claims 13 and 17, “FireFly” discloses the claimed invention discussed above and that the pivot tube comprises a bearing configured to permit the wheel to pivot about the pivot axis but does not disclose wherein the bearing is an angular contact bearing configured to withstand both axial and radial loads. Klein discloses a tube supporting a wheel arm can comprise a bearing that permits rotation while being able to bear axial and radial loads (18, Figs 1a, 1b; column 5, lines 30-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of “FireFly” in view of the teachings of Klein to use angular contact bearings in order to allow for a smoother and more efficient turning of a vehicle wheel.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “FireFly” in view of Hanagan (US 6,883,629).
With respect to claim 15, “FireFly” discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose wherein the wheel mounting arm is a single sided mounting arm or wherein the wheel-mount arm comprises a removable portion, wherein removing the removal portion permits the wheel mounted to the wheel mount to be removed. Hanagan, however, discloses a front wheel of a three wheel vehicle having a wheel mounting arm (112) that is a single sided mounting arm (Fig 8) or wherein the wheel-mount arm comprises a removable portion (lug nuts connecting wheel to flange 152), wherein removing the removal portion permits the wheel mounted to the wheel mount to be removed (column 4, lines 30-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of “FireFly” in view of the teachings of Hanagan to utilize a one sided wheel mount arm and having a removable portion in order to enable the wheel to be conveniently removed from the lug nut side (column 4, lines 47-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614