DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/28/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "bottom support plate" ("...the first and second battery modules furthermore comprises a respective bottom support plate..."). However, subsequent lines refer to a "bottom plate" ("...connecting the respective bottom plate...", "...protruding out from the bottom plate...", "...between the first supporting side wall and the bottom plate...").
It is unclear from the claim language whether the "bottom plate" is intended to be the same component as the previously introduced "bottom support plate," or if it refers to a distinct, separate structural element. To resolve this indefiniteness, the Examiner suggests amending the claim to use consistent terminology throughout (e.g., replacing "bottom plate" with "bottom support plate" or "said bottom support plate" in all subsequent instances).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0411821 A1 (“US’821”) in view of US 2019/097189 A1 (“US’189”).
As to Claim 1:
US’821 discloses:
a battery stack for a vehicle (traction battery for an electric or hybrid vehicle, [0002]);
the battery stack comprising a first battery module and a second battery module (module housing receives multiple battery cell stacks, [0024]), each comprising battery cells being stacked in a depth direction of the battery stack (battery cell stack 10 comprises multiple battery cells 14 stacked against one another in a stack direction 17, [0037]);
the first battery module comprises a first and a second supporting side wall and the second battery module comprises a first and a second supporting side wall for supporting the battery cells in the respective first and second battery module (module housing 4 encloses a first housing part 4a formed by a container 6, [0034];
the container inherently comprises side walls to enclose the interior space); the first and the second supporting side walls of the respective battery modules being opposing vertical side walls, provided on a respective side of the battery cells in the respective battery module and extending in a height direction of the battery stack (container 6 defines interior spaces with walls extending in the stack/height direction; tensile force direction runs from the top down, [0034], [0040]);
the first and second battery modules furthermore comprises a respective bottom support plate (locking device 11 comprises a bolt plate 18 arranged between the first housing part 4a and the battery cell stack 10; bolt plate 18 transmits tensile forces, acting as a support plate, [0012], [0038]);
the first and the second battery modules comprising a respective first connection arrangement for connecting the respective bottom plate to the respective first supporting side wall of the respective battery module (locking device 11 form-fittingly connects the battery cell stack... to the module housing, [0007];
connecting bolt plate 18 to housing part 4a, [0038]);
the first connection arrangements comprising one or more connecting elements protruding out from the bottom plate and/or from the first supporting side wall of the respective battery modules (housing-side first engagement elements 20a formed by screws 21, [0038]; and
the shank is fastened to the module housing and protrudes from it, [0016]).
However, US’821 does not explicitly disclose that the battery stack comprises a "first common cooling plate" arranged between the first supporting side wall and the battery cells in both of the first and the second battery modules, nor that this plate is provided with apertures configured for allowing the connecting elements to extend therethrough and is arranged between the first supporting side wall and the bottom plate (US’821 discloses a "bolt plate" 18 with apertures 22 in this structural location, but describes it primarily as a locking device rather than a cooling plate, [0010]).
US’189 teaches a battery pack wherein one or more cooling plates of a plurality of battery cell stacks can be a single common cooling plate (One or more cooling plates of a plurality of battery cell stacks can be a single common cooling plate, [0003]; Cooling plate 60 can be common to a plurality of battery stacks 50, [0019]). US’189 further teaches that the cooling plate is provided with apertures extending through the cooling plate (Cooling plate 60 can comprise one or more spacer apertures 61... and a plurality of apertures 65, [0019]) and being configured for allowing connecting elements to extend therethrough (apertures 65 which can align with the apertures 25 of repeating spacers... a set of aligned apertures 25 can receive a bolt 12, [0017], [0019]).
US’821 and US’189 are analogous arts because both references pertain to the field of battery module assemblies for electric vehicles (US’821, [0002]; US’189, [0001]), specifically addressing structural integrity and thermal management of stacked battery cells.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery stack of US’821 by incorporating the "common cooling plate" teachings of US’189. Specifically, it would have been obvious to insert US’189's common cooling plate into the interface between US’821's housing wall (side wall) and the bolt plate (bottom support plate)—or to configure US’821's intermediate bolt plate to function as the cooling plate itself—to provide efficient thermal management for the multiple battery stacks while maintaining a compact assembly. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide this cooling plate with apertures as taught by US’189(and consistent with US’821's own use of apertures 22 in plate 18, [0016]) to allow US’821's connecting elements (screws 21) to extend therethrough, thereby ensuring the cooling plate is securely captured within the mechanical connection arrangement between the side wall and the bottom support plate.
As to Claim 2:
US'821 discloses the battery stack of claim 1, wherein the first connection arrangements of the first and second battery modules comprise a first and second mating connecting elements respectively (locking device 11 comprises multiple housing-side first engagement elements 20a and multiple stack-side second engagement elements 20b [0225]), the first connecting elements being protrusions, such as pins, protruding out from the bottom plate and/or from the first supporting side wall of the respective battery modules (housing-side first engagement elements 20a are formed by mushroom-like structures, preferentially by screws 21 [0280]; the shank is fastened to the module housing [side wall] and protrudes from it [0283]) and the second connecting elements being one or more recesses (first bolt structures 19a are then formed by elongated holes 22 [0282]), the protrusions being adapted to be in engagement with the one or more recesses thereby connecting, and optionally locking, the respective bottom plate to the respective first supporting side walls of the battery modules (the shank... penetrates the associated elongated hole... so that the head is arranged on a side... engaging behind the bolt plate... and form the housing-side locking points paragraphs [0248], [0283]).
As to Claim 3:
US'821 discloses the battery stack of claim 2, wherein the second mating connecting elements is a respective track in the respective first supporting side wall or the bottom plate (first bolt structures 19a are formed by elongated holes 22... orientated in the stack direction so that a longitudinal guide of the bolt plate 18 is realized [0285]; the longitudinal guide acts as a track) adapted to receive the first connecting elements of the other one of the respective first supporting side wall or the bottom plate (screws 21 [first connecting elements] slidably fix the bolt plate 18... screws 21 penetrate the associated elongated hole [0373]).
As to Claim 4:
US'821 discloses a connection arrangement on a first side of the module (locking device 11 on the first housing part 4a [0038]).
However, US'821 does not explicitly disclose a "second connection arrangement" on a second supporting side wall comprising connecting elements protruding through a "second common cooling plate" arranged between the second supporting side wall and the battery cells.
US'545 teaches a symmetrical cooling arrangement comprising a second side heat-conducting plate (second side heat-conducting plate is disposed at an outer side of the second side plate [0050]) and teaches that the battery module comprises a second supporting side wall (second module cooling plate... including a first side plate... and a second side plate [0064]). US'545 further teaches cooling plates on both sides of the stack (first and second side heat-conducting plates [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery stack of US'821 to include the "second connection arrangement" and "second common cooling plate" as taught by US'545. Specifically, because US'545 teaches the thermal benefits of cooling the battery stack from both sides using first and second side plates, it would have been obvious to replicate the connection and cooling arrangement disclosed by US'821 (and modified by the common cooling plate concept) on the opposing second side of the battery module. Doing so would ensure uniform thermal management and symmetrical structural support for the battery cells. The use of apertures and connecting elements on this second side would directly follow from the design of the first side taught by US'821 to achieve the same secure locking function.
As to Claim 5:
US'821 discloses the mating connecting element structure used in the connection arrangement (locking device 11 comprises multiple housing-side first engagement elements 20a and multiple stack-side second engagement elements 20b [0225]), wherein the first connecting elements are protrusions, such as pins, protruding out from the supporting side wall (housing-side first engagement elements 20a are formed by mushroom-like structures, preferentially by screws 21 [0280]; the shank is fastened to the module housing [side wall] and protrudes from it [0283]) and the second connecting elements are one or more recesses (first bolt structures 19a are then formed by elongated holes 22 [0282]), the protrusions being adapted to be in engagement with the one or more recesses thereby connecting, and optionally locking, the respective bottom plate to the respective supporting side walls (the shank... penetrates the associated elongated hole... so that the head is arranged on a side... engaging behind the bolt plate... and form the housing-side locking points paragraphs [0248], [0283]).
However, US'821 describes this specific mating engagement structure primarily in the context of the first connection arrangement on the first housing part, and does not explicitly describe applying this identical structure to a "second connection arrangement" on a second supporting side wall as recited in Claim 4 (from which Claim 5 depends).
US'545 teaches a battery pack configuration with symmetrical cooling and structural support on both sides of the battery module, disclosing a second side heat-conducting plate disposed at an outer side of the second side plate (second side heat-conducting plate is disposed at an outer side of the second side plate [0050]) and a second module cooling plate including a second side plate (second module cooling plate... including a first side plate... and a second side plate [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to implement the mating connecting element structure (protrusions/pins and recesses/elongated holes) disclosed by US'821 for the "second connection arrangement" required by the symmetrical design taught by US'545. Since US'545 teaches that the battery module requires cooling and support on both the first and second sides (via first and second side plates), it would be obvious to utilize the robust locking mechanism taught by US'821 (comprising screws and elongated holes) on the second side as well, ensuring consistent mechanical retention and tolerance compensation across the entire battery module assembly.
As to Claim 6:
US'821 discloses the connection structure of claim 5, wherein the second mating connecting elements (recesses) are a respective track (first bolt structures 19a are formed by elongated holes 22... orientated in the stack direction so that a longitudinal guide of the bolt plate 18 is realized [0285]; the "longitudinal guide" functions as a track) in the bottom plate adapted to receive the first connecting elements (protrusions) (screws 21 [first connecting elements] slidably fix the bolt plate 18... screws 21 penetrate the associated elongated hole [0373]).
However, US'821 describes this track features in the context of the first connection arrangement.
US'545 teaches the symmetrical module configuration including a second side plate as discussed above ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the "track" (longitudinal guide/elongated hole) feature taught by US'821 to the second connection arrangement of the combined invention. Using a track on the second side (as on the first) would provide the same benefits of adjustability and ease of assembly described in US'821 ([0285]), accommodating tolerances between the bottom plate and the second side wall of the module structure taught by US'545.
As to Claim 7:
US'821 discloses that the first and second side walls extend in the height direction (module housing 4... encloses a first housing part 4a formed by a container 6 [0034]; the container walls inherently extend in the stack/height direction [0040]).
However, US'821 does not explicitly disclose the specific stacking members on the upper and lower edge surfaces of the side walls configured for stacking a second battery module onto a first battery module (US'821 focuses on stacking cell stacks within a housing, rather than stacking housings/modules on top of each other).
US'545 teaches stacking multiple battery modules, wherein the side walls of the second module are supported by the side walls of the first module (second battery module stacked on at least part of the first battery module [0043]; The second module cooling plate 11a [side wall of second module] is stacked on the first module cooling plate 11b [side wall of first module] [0064]). This teaching inherently discloses that the upper edge surface of the first side wall has a stacking member (surface) and the lower edge surface of the second side wall has a mating stacking member to facilitate this stacked arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the side walls of US'821's modules with the stacking members taught by US'545. The motivation would be to enable the modular scalability of the battery system. By providing the upper and lower edges of the side walls with compatible stacking members (as taught by US'545's stacking of cooling plates/walls), the modules of US'821 could be securely stacked on top of one another to increase the total energy capacity of the battery pack, as explicitly suggested by US'545's multi-module design.
As to Claim 8:
US'821 discloses the side walls extending in the height direction as discussed in claim 7.
However, US'821 does not explicitly disclose that the stacking members comprise a "stacking step" for aligning and supporting the stacked modules.
US'545 teaches the specific interface for stacking modules, disclosing that the first bottom plate of the second module is installed in a "second bottom groove" (first bottom plate... is installed in the second bottom groove [0065]). A groove is structurally formed by recesses or steps. Therefore, US'545 teaches using a stepped profile (groove) to receive and support the stacked components.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the stacking members of US'821 with the "stacking step" (or groove) configuration taught by US'545. The use of a stacking step or groove is a standard mechanical engineering technique to ensure precise alignment and prevent lateral movement between stacked modules. Incorporating the groove/step taught by US'545 into the stacking interface of US'821 would be obvious to ensure that the second battery module is stably supported and correctly positioned on top of the first battery module.
As to Claim 9:
US'821 discloses a battery stack for a "traction battery" used in an "electric or hybrid vehicle" (The invention relates to a battery module for a traction battery, in particular for an electric or hybrid vehicle [0002]).
However, US'821 does not explicitly recite the "electric motor" itself receiving power.
US'545 discloses an "electrical vehicle" comprising the battery pack (An electrical vehicle, comprising a power battery pack [0011]). An electrical vehicle inherently comprises an electric propulsion system with an electric motor configured to receive power from the battery stack to drive the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery stack of US'821 into an electrical propulsion system as taught by US'545. Since US'821 explicitly states the battery is a "traction battery" (a term of art for a battery designed to power the electric motor of a vehicle), the presence of an electric motor configured to receive that power is inherent to the intended use of the invention. US'545 reinforces this by disclosing the battery pack within the context of an electrical vehicle.
As to Claim 10:
US'821 discloses a vehicle comprising the battery stack (The invention also relates to a traction battery for the electric or hybrid vehicle with the battery module [0198]).
However, US'821 is primarily directed to the battery module itself.
US'545 explicitly claims the vehicle containing the battery pack (An electrical vehicle, comprising a power battery pack [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to install the battery stack of US'821 into a vehicle as taught by both US'821 and US'545. Both references explicitly identify the electric vehicle as the intended application for the disclosed battery stacks.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0411821 A1 (US'821) in view of US 2018/0269545 A1 (US'545), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2013/0202940 A1 (US'940).
As to Claim 11:
US'821 discloses the battery stack of claim 1 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1), suitable for a "traction battery" in a vehicle (The invention relates to a battery module for a traction battery, in particular for an electric or hybrid vehicle [0002]).
US'545 discloses the stacked module configuration and the vehicle application (An electrical vehicle, comprising a power battery pack [0011]).
However, neither US'821 nor US'545 explicitly discloses that the battery stack is comprised within a "stationary energy storing system."
US'940 discloses a battery having a cooling plate and a motor vehicle having a corresponding battery (A motor vehicle, comprising: a battery... [0010]), and teaches the robust design of battery modules with cooling plates suitable for high-power applications (The battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cooling plate has coolant ducts claim 9). While US'940 focuses on the vehicle application, it discloses a modular battery system designed for high thermal loads and structural integrity (fixing system... rails... cooling plate [0010]).
US'940, US'545, and US'821 are analogous arts because they all describe liquid-cooled, modular battery packs for high-energy applications.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the battery stack taught by US'821 and US'545 in a "stationary energy storing system." It is well known in the art that high-capacity battery modules designed for electric vehicles (traction batteries), such as those disclosed in US'940 and the primary references, are interchangeably used in stationary applications (e.g., grid storage, home energy storage) due to their high energy density, modularity, and established thermal management systems. Modifying the intended use of the battery stack from a vehicle to a stationary system requires no structural change to the battery stack itself, only a change in its external connection and application environment.
As to Claim 12:
US'821 discloses the battery stack structure for a vehicle.
However, US'821 does not explicitly disclose that the battery stack is comprised within a "marine vessel."
US'940 discloses a high-power battery module with a cooling plate connected to a drive system (battery is connected to a drive system of the motor vehicle claim 10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to adapt the battery stack of US'821 (modified by US'545) for use in a "marine vessel." As with stationary systems, the requirements for electric marine propulsion (high power output, effective liquid cooling, and modular stacking) are substantially similar to those for automotive traction batteries taught by US'940. Therefore, applying the disclosed robust, liquid-cooled battery stack to a marine vessel would have been an obvious design choice for a skilled artisan seeking to electrify a boat or ship using established automotive-grade battery technology.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0296294 A1 disclose a "carrier frame" (side walls) that accommodates "removable battery component carriers" (modules).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723