DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2024, 2/9/2026 and 5/4/2026 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups 2 and 3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2021/105178 A1) to Johann et al. (hereinafter Johann) in view of the teachings of (US 2006/0124301 A1) to Gupta et al. (hereinafter Gupta)
Johann is directed toward a cartridge for corrosion protection. Johann discloses that a cartridge filled with solid silica that has a flow of water passed through that dissolves and releases the silica to the water flow to prevent corrosion to metal surfaces within the water in contact with the cartridge and includes a side stream conduit for bypass water flow. Johann describes the method of inhibiting corrosion, but is silent regrading placing the cartridge within the wellbore of a subterranean formation.
Gupta is directed toward a method of releasing protective compounds into water containing bodies. Johann and Gupta are both directed toward a method of releasing protective compounds into water containing bodies and thus are analogous art. Gupta teaches at paragraph [0001] that the invention is related to slow release scale inhibitors into wellbores. Gupta teaches at paragraph [0003] that the scale reduces the lifespan of equipment, similar to corrosion present in wellbore fluids. Therefore one would be motivated to provide sustained release of protective compounds to protect equipment and one would be motivated to combine the teachings of the references. Gupta teaches at paragraph [0009] that the compound is absorbed onto an absorbent for slow release into the water. Gupta teaches at paragraph [0015] that the scale inhibitor may be made into a liquid form. Gupta teaches at paragraph [0021] that the sorbent material may be a silica.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766