DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Amendment and Remarks filed on Nov. 25, 2025.
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yiu et al. (2021/0360729).
Regarding claim 11, Yiu discloses an apparatus (UE) (see fig.2, element 201, paragraph [0028] and its description), comprising: one or more processors configured to receive a first message from a network device, wherein the first message comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates to allow a request to adjust a capability mode of a terminal device to one capability mode in M capability modes, wherein the first message includes the M capability modes (see fig.2, elements 205, 250, fig.3, elements 310, 320, step 354, paragraphs [0028-0030], [0042] and its description); and the one capability mode in the M capability modes corresponds to a group of capability information sets, and M is an integer greater than 0 (see paragraph [0029]); and determine the M capability modes based on the first message (see paragraphs [0029], [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Yiu further discloses wherein before receiving the first message from the network device, the one or more processors is configured to: send a second message to the network device, wherein the second message comprises second indication information fig.3, element 310, 320 steps 356, paragraphs [0042] and its description); and the second indication information indicates N capability modes, one capability mode in the N capability modes corresponds to a group of capability information sets, the M capability modes are included in the N capability modes, and N is an integer greater than or equal to M (see fig.3, element 310, 320 steps 356, paragraphs [0042-0043] and its description).
Regarding claim 13, Yiu further discloses wherein the allowing a request comprises: allowing the terminal device to send an indication message or a request message to the network device, wherein the indication message or the request message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to one capability mode in the M capability modes (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Yiu further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: send a third message to the network device, wherein the third message comprises third indication information, the third indication information indicates a first capability mode, and the first capability mode is one capability mode in the M capability modes (see fig.3, element 310, 320 step 360, paragraphs [0026], [0042], [0044] and its description); and the third message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to the first capability mode (see fig.3, element 310, 320 step 360, paragraphs [0026], [0044] and its description).
Regarding claim 15, Yiu further discloses wherein the third message further comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates an adjustment reason or an adjustment purpose of the first capability mode (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Yiu discloses an apparatus (see fig.2, element 250, paragraph [0031] and its description), comprising: one or more processors configured to determine a first message (see fig.2, element 255, paragraphs [0031-0032] and its description); and send the first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates to allow a request to adjust a capability mode of the terminal device to one capability mode in M capability modes, wherein the first message includes the M capability modes (see fig.2, elements 205, 250, fig.3, elements 310, 320, step 354, paragraphs [0028-0030], [0042] and its description); the M capability modes are some or all of included in N capability modes, and M is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to N (see paragraphs [0028-0029], [0042] and its description).
Regarding claim 17, Yiu further discloses, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: receive a second message from the terminal device, wherein the second message comprises second indication information (see fig.3, element 310, 320 steps 356, paragraphs [0042] and its description); and the second indication information indicates the N capability modes, one capability mode in the N capability modes corresponds to a group of capability information sets fig.3, element 310, 320 steps 356, paragraphs [0029], [0042-0043] and its description).
Regarding claim 18, Yiu further discloses wherein the allowing a request comprises: allowing the terminal device to send an indication message or a request message, wherein the indication message or the request message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to one capability mode in the M capability modes (see paragraph [0029], [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Yiu further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: receive a third message from the terminal device, wherein the third message comprises third indication information, the third indication information indicates a first capability mode, and the first capability mode is one capability mode in the M capability modes (see fig.3, element 310, 320 step 360, paragraphs [0026], [0042], [0044] and its description); and the third message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to the first capability mode(see fig.3, element 310, 320 step 360, paragraphs [0026], [0044] and its description).
Regarding claim 20, Yiu further discloses wherein the third message further comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates an adjustment reason or an adjustment purpose of the first capability mode (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claims 1-10 recite limitations substantially similar to the claims 11-20. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20210329608-A1
US-20180343689-A1
US-20170215065-A1
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
L54-2/4 Yiu et al. (2021/0360729)
Regarding claim 11, Yiu discloses an 11. (Currently Amended) An apparatus (UE) (see fig.2, element 201, paragraph [0028] and its description), comprising:
one or more processors configured to receive a first message from a network device, wherein the first message comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates to allow a request to adjust a capability mode of a terminal device to one capability mode in M capability modes, wherein the first message includes the M capability modes (see fig.2, elements 205, 250, fig.3, elements 310, 320, step 354, paragraphs [0028-0030], [0042] and its description); and
the one capability mode in the M capability modes corresponds to a group of capability information sets, and M is an integer greater than 0 (see paragraph [0029]); and
determine the M capability modes based on the first message (see paragraphs [0029], [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Yiu further discloses 12. The apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein before receiving the first message from the network device, the one or more processors is configured to:
send a second message to the network device, wherein the second message comprises second indication information (see paragraph [0042]); and the second indication information indicates N capability modes, one capability mode in the N capability modes corresponds to a group of capability information sets, the M capability modes are included in the N capability modes, and N is an integer greater than or equal to M (see fig.3, element 310, 320 steps 356, paragraphs [0042-0043] and its description).
Regarding claim 13, Yiu further discloses 13. The apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the allowing a request comprises:
allowing the terminal device to send an indication message or a request message to the network device, wherein the indication message or the request message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to one capability mode in the M capability modes (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Yiu further discloses 14. The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: send a third message to the network device, wherein the third message comprises third indication information, the third indication information indicates a first capability mode, and the first capability mode is one capability mode in the M capability modes; and the third message indicates to adjust the capability mode of the terminal device to the first capability mode ((see fig.3, element 310, 320 step 360, paragraphs [0026], [0044] and its description).
Regarding claim 15, Yiu further discloses 15. The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the third message further comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates an adjustment reason or an adjustment purpose of the first capability mode (see paragraph [0029]).