DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 04/24/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim objection(s), Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the objection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s). However, Applicant's amendment(s) introduced new rejections set forth below.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of claim 4, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the proposed modification of a vibration module would render Lenzen unsatisfactory for its intended purpose which is to recover as much of the unused resin as possible for reuse. According to Applicant, incorporating a vibration module into the apparatus of Lenzen may shake loose uncured resin from different layers comprising different resin types, resulting in contamination of the recovered resin and prevention of the resin's reuse.
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive because the apparatus of Lenzen is provided with independent cleaning devices for cleaning each uncured raw material from the component layer by layer and independent recovering devices for recovering each uncured resin (P0024-0028, 0045, Fig. 1). Thus, no uncured resin from different material layers is expected to be present in the component of Lenzen as Applicant alleges. The independent dispensing, cleaning, and recovering of the different resins already prevent contamination. In fact, the operation/activation of a vibration module during the cleaning of individual resin/layer would have been desirable.
Applicant further argues that the proposed modification of a vibration module would change the basic principle of operation of Lenzen. According to Applicant, by vibrating the component and/or support plate in Lenzen, the different residual resins present on the component and/or support plate may mix and render the recovered resin unusable, which would require an additional step to remove the unusable resin from the apparatus, as opposed to the apparatus recovering and reusing the resin, as designed.
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive because the apparatus of Lenzen is provided with independent cleaning devices for cleaning each uncured resin from the component layer by layer and independent recovering devices for recovering each uncured resin type (P0024-0028, 0045, Fig. 1). Thus, no different residual resins are expected to be present on the component and/or support plate of Lenzen as Applicant alleges. Furthermore, since Lenzen discloses moving a cleaning device 11 such as roller along/near the support plate and configured to contact the component during the cleaning of each excess raw material from the component, the component and/or support plate in Lenzen are subjected to vibrations from the movement, rotation, and direct contact with 11 (P0024-0025, Fig. 2E). Thus, the proposed modification would not change the principle of operation of Lenzen because the component and/or support plate in Lenzen are already subjected to vibrations during the cleaning of each excess raw material from the component.
For at least the reasons set forth above, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“radiant energy device … operable to generate and project radiant energy in a patterned image” in at least claim 1 with a projector, digital micromirror device, a two-dimensional array of LEDs, a two-dimensional array of lasers, and/or energy source with optically addressed light valves as the corresponding structure disclosed in at least [0038] and [0053] of Applicant’s published publication.
“a resin support configured to” in at least claim(s) 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0033], [0040], and [0043], and Figs. 1A-B of Applicant’s published application.
“removal component configured to remove residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position” in at least claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0103] and [0138] of Applicant’s published application.
“material depositor configured” in at least claim(s) 5-7 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0042] of Applicant’s published application.
Other claim interpretations:
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, and 21 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). Thus, the terms “resin”, “first resin” and “cleaning resin” are the materials worked upon by the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the newly added limitation “a removal component configured to remove residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position, wherein the removal component comprises at least one of: … or a pneumatic assembly configured to generate at least one of negative pressure or positive pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant argues that [0057] and [0092] of Applicant’s specification as filed has support for the newly added limitation. However, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Applicant’s disclosed pneumatic assembly 70 configured to generate negative pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin is incapable of removing residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position because the pneumatic assembly 70 configured to generate negative pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin is disclosed as being only capable of retaining the resin support 26 during the removal operation ([0092] and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s Specification). Applicant’s disclosed pneumatic assembly 70 configured to generate positive pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin is incapable of removing residual resin from the component by itself because the positive pressure merely presses the resin support into the component and the resin support removes the residual resin from the component ([0092] and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s published application; thus, the positive pressure of the pneumatic assembly in combination with the resin support and with specific configuration perform the claimed function in Applicant’s disclosure). Since the scope of the claimed limitation is not commensurate with Applicant’s disclosure, the newly added limitation is considered new matter. See MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06.
Claim(s) 5, 7-9 and 21 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a removal component configured to remove residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position, wherein the removal component comprises at least one of: … or a pneumatic assembly configured to generate at least one of negative pressure or positive pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin” which is indefinite. It is unclear how a pneumatic assembly configured to generate at least one of negative pressure or positive pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin can remove residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position because the resin support would block all the negative pressure or positive pressure (See locations of claimed elements in Applicant’s Fig. 1 and 14). Furthermore, the limitation is inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosed pneumatic assembly 70 configured to generate negative pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin is incapable of removing residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position ([0092] of Applicant’s specification as well as the 112a rejection above). Applicant’s disclosed pneumatic assembly 70 configured to generate positive pressure on a first surface of the resin support opposite the resin is incapable of removing residual resin from the component by itself ([0092] of Applicant’s specification as well as the 112a rejection above).
Claim(s) 5, 7-9 and 21 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzen (US 20220332046 – of record) in view of Thompson (US 20190126535 – of record) and/or Arai (US 20180065302 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lenzen discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (Abstract, P0001, Figure 1) comprising:
a resin support (3) configured to support a resin (P0070-0071, Fig. 1; wherein the raw material supported by 3 can be a photopolymerizable binder/resin: P0018; furthermore, 3 of Lenzen is capable of supporting a resin: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115);
a support plate (6) including a window (P0073-0074, Fig. 1; See [0038] of Applicant’s published application);
a stage (build plate 9) configured to hold one or more cured layers of the resin to form a component (P0076, Fig. 1), wherein a cured layer is formed with the stage or the component contacting the resin in a first cure position (a first cured layer is formed with 9 contacting the resin in a first cure position/height: P0080-0082; 9 at the first cure position/height shown in Fig. 2C);
a radiant energy device (7) positioned on an opposite side of the resin support from the stage and operable to generate and project radiant energy in a patterned image through the window (P0074 and Fig. 1); and
an actuator assembly (10) operably coupled with the stage (9) and configured to:
to move the stage in a Z-axis direction (P0076, Fig. 1);
separate the component (8) from the resin support (3) by moving the stage in the Z-axis direction from the first cure position to a removal position (P0082, 0085; Fig. 2E shows 9 at a removal position); and
move the stage from the removal position to a second cure position such that the component contacts the resin (10 is configured for moving 9 from removal position shown in Fig. 2E to a second cure position/height shown in Fig. 2F: P0087-0088, 0081; Fig. 2F shows 9 at the second cure position/height such that the component 8 contacts the resin); and
a removal component (cleaning device 11) configured to remove residual resin from the component while the stage is in the removal position (P0077, 0085, Fig. 2E).
However, Lenzen fails to disclose a vibration module operably coupled with the support plate.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Thompson ‘535 discloses/suggests the techniques of vibrating a support plate 12 (P0034, Fig. 1) and using ultrasonic transducer(s) 394 (vibration module) coupled with a support (391), wherein the ultrasonic transducer(s) (vibration module) is activatable when a stage (14) is in a removal position during a removal/cleaning operation for removing/cleaning residual resin for the component (74: P0066. Fig. 13).
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Arai discloses the technique of coupling a vibration module (212) to a support plate (206), wherein the vibration module (212) is activatable when a stage (203) is in a removal position during removal of uncured resin from a component and/or build zone (P0244, Fig. 10).
Office notice is taken that the provision and activation of a vibration module during a removal/cleaning operation of uncured resin is well-known/desirable in art yielding the predictable result(s) of expediating removal/cleaning of uncured resin.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Lenzen in view of Thompson ‘535 and/or Arai by operably coupling a vibration module to the support plate and activating the vibration module when the stage is in the removal position for the benefit of yielding the predictable result(s) of expediating and/or enhancing removal/cleaning of the residual resin though the vibrations as suggested by Thompson ‘535 and/or Arai.
Regarding claim 5, Lenzen further discloses a material depositor (2a) configured to deposit the resin on the resin support (P0080, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzen in view of Thompson ‘535 and Arai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boehm (US 20210276248 – of record).
Regarding claim 8, Lenzen, as modified above, fails to disclose wherein the radiant energy device is configured to at least partially cure a portion of the resin on the resin support with the component separated from the resin.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Boehm discloses the technique of irradiating and curing a residual portion of the resin on a resin support (carrier 20) in a state where the component (100) is separated from the resin for the benefit(s) of facilitating disposal of the residual resin (P0057-0059, 0082-0084, claim 7, Fig. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to cure at least portion of the uncured resin on the resin support in the build zone after the component is separated from the uncured resin on the resin support in the build zone for the benefit of yielding the predictable result(s) of expediating disposal of the excess/residual resin as uncured/liquid resin is more difficult to clean than cured/solid resin and/or enhancing disposal of the excess/residual resin as uncured resin is more hazardous/unsafe waste than cured/solid resin.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Lenzen in view of Boehm by configuring the radiant energy device to at least partially cure a portion of the resin on the resin support with the component separated from the resin for the benefit of yielding the predictable result(s) of expediating curing and disposal of the excess/residual portion as uncured/liquid resin is more difficult to clean than cured/solid resin and/or enhancing disposal of the excess/residual resin as uncured resin is more hazardous/unsafe waste than cured/solid resin as suggested by Boehm and/or predicated by a POSITA.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzen in view of Thompson and/or Arai as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Thompson (US 20190126535).
Regarding claim 7, Lenzen further discloses wherein the resin includes a first resin for forming the component (P0081-0082). Lenzen fails to explicitly disclose a cleaning resin for cleaning the component.
However, the cleaning resin is the material worked upon by the apparatus. Additionally, since the apparatus of Lenzen is configured for dispensing multiple materials/resins (P0087, Fig. 1), the apparatus of Lenzen is expected to be capable of providing/dispensing a cleaning resin as one of the materials/resins. Furthermore, since the apparatus of Lenzen comprises all the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Lenzen is expected to be capable of providing/dispensing a cleaning resin (See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzen in view of Thompson ‘535, Arai and Boehm as applied to claim 8 above, alone or further in view of Sands (US 20180056604 – of record).
Regarding claim 9, the combination as applied above, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the radiant energy device is operable to generate and project radiant energy in a mirrored image through the window to at least partially cure the portion of the resin, wherein the mirrored image is an inverse of the patterned image.
However, since Boehm further discloses/shows that the residual portion (400’) defines a mirror image which is an inverse of the patterned image (P0084-0086, 0093, annotated Fig. 2 below) and curing the residual portion on the resin support for the benefit(s) of facilitating disposal/removal of the residual portion from the resin support (P0058-0059, claim 7), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the apparatus of the combination by configuring the radiant energy device to generate and project radiant energy in a mirrored image through the window to at least partially cure the portion of the resin, wherein the mirrored image is an inverse of the patterned image for the benefit of yielding the predictable result(s) of facilitating/enhancing curing of the residual portion with the radiant energy device and facilitating/enhancing disposal/removal of the residual portion from the resin support as suggested by Boehm.
Alternatively, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Sands discloses the technique of operating a radiant energy device (20: Fig. 1) to generate and project radiant energy in a mirrored image (46) to at least partially cure the portion of resin, wherein the mirrored image (46) is an inverse of a patterned image (44) for the benefit(s) of improving curing and/or fidelity (P0026-0031, 0034-0035, Fig. 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the apparatus of Lenzen in view of Sands by operating the radiant energy device to generate and project radiant energy in a mirrored image to at least partially cure the portion of resin, wherein the mirrored image is an inverse of a patterned image for the benefit(s) of improving curing and/or fidelity as suggested by Sands.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzen in view of Thompson and/or Arai as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Schultheiss (US 20170297261) and/or Hundley (US 20180341184).
Regarding claim 21, Lenzen, as modified in claim 4 above, fails to disclose a gasket positioned between the window and the support plate, the gasket comprising a material containing natural rubber or silicone.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Schultheiss discloses the technique of positioning a gasket (sealing ring 70) between a window (36) and a support plate (62) for the benefit(s) of providing a sealing effect (P0039-0040, 0109, Figs. 3-4). Schultheiss fails to disclose the gasket comprising a material containing natural rubber or silicone. However, Office notice is taken that the natural rubber or silicone is a well-known suitable material for gaskets in view of its sealing and attenuating properties.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Hundley discloses the technique of positioning a gasket (boundary seal 13) between a window (12) and a support plate (3: Fig. 5), the gasket comprising a material containing silicone for the benefit(s) of providing/improving a sealing effect (P0076, 0035, Fig. 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the apparatus of Lenzen in view of Schultheiss and/or Hundley by positioning a gasket between the window and the support plate, the gasket comprising a material containing natural rubber or silicone for the benefit of yielding the predictable result(s) of providing/improving a sealing effect between the window and the support plate as suggested by Schultheiss and/or Hundley.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Hull (US 20080226346) discloses an apparatus relevant to at least claim 1 (Fig. 1a and accompanying text).
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743