DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 7/15/2026 for application number 18/343,353.
Claims 1-11, 13-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 14-16, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Green et al. (US 2022/0391778 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Green discloses a computer-implemented method (para. 0007) for improving accuracy of machine-learning models (para. 0046), the method comprising: obtaining, by one or more computing devices, component data from a donor model, the component data having a first embedding (client devices obtain an embeddings slices from a global model, para. 0052-57, fig. 1); storing the component data in a persistent database, the component data being input data for a plurality of recipient models (global embeddings are stored in repository, para. 0052); receiving, from a first recipient model of the plurality of recipient models, a first request for the first embedding; transmitting, from the persistent database to the first recipient model, the first embedding (a first client device like 102a can request and receive a first embedding slice, para. 0052-57, fig. 1); and processing, using the first recipient model, the first embedding to generate a first recipient output (client updates local model using the received embeddings, para. 0061-64, and then an output, or prediction, can be made using, in part, the received first embedding slice, para. 0094-0101), wherein updates to the internal model parameters of the first recipient model are not back propagated to the donor model (internal model embeddings of the first device are not directly used to update the global model: global model can be trained on local training data that has been obscured for privacy, para. 0072-74, and local updates are averaged to update the global model rather than being used directly, para. 0022).
In reference to claim 2, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the method further comprising: receiving, from a second recipient model of the plurality of recipient models, a second request for the first embedding (both clients 102a and 102b can request embeddings slice 1, para. 0052-54), wherein the second request is received from the second recipient model at a different time than the first request is received from the first recipient model (Green discloses that a slice can be assigned an identifier, and the embeddings in the slice are dynamically updated as the embeddings are updated over a plurality of iterations, para. 0057, 0114; thus, a second device could request the first slice at a later time / iteration); transmitting, from the persistent database to the second recipient model, the first embedding; and processing, using the second recipient model, the first embedding to generate a second recipient output (client updates local model using the received embeddings, para. 0061-64, and then an output, or prediction, can be made using, in part, the received first embedding slice, para. 0094-0101).
In reference to claim 4, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the second request is received a period of time after the first request is received, and wherein a value associated with the first embedding has changed during the period of time that has elapsed between the first request and the second request (embeddings in the slice are dynamically updated as the embeddings are updated over a plurality of iterations, para. 0057, 0114; thus, a second device could request the first slice at a later time / iteration after the slice has been updated).
In reference to claim 7, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the component data includes embeddings that are not human interpretable, and wherein the first recipient output is a prediction that is human interpretable (global model embeddings would not be human-interpretable, para. 0002-03; the client prediction output is interpretable, like a prediction of a positive entity, para. 0089-91, or items of interest to a user, para. 0097).
In reference to claim 8, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first embedding is an embedding that is inputted into the first recipient model to generate the first recipient output (client updates local model using the received embeddings as input, para. 0061-64, and then an output, or prediction, can be made using, in part, the received first embedding slice, para. 0094-0101).
In reference to claim 14, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the component data are embeddings that are outputs of the donor model (global embedding slices come from a global model, para. 0052-57, fig. 1), and wherein the embeddings are continuously transferred to the plurality of recipient models (global model and local models are continuously updated, para. 0071).
In reference to claim 15, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the donor model and the plurality of recipient models are stored as separate model files in different devices (see clients and server in fig. 1).
In reference to claim 16, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the donor model and the plurality of recipient models are run in separate processes (see clients and server in fig. 1) and at different times (global embeddings can be pre-trained, para. 0052, so the global model would run at an earlier time than the client models).
In reference to claim 18, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least the first recipient model is trained separately from the donor model, and wherein the donor model and the first recipient model are trained in different devices (see clients and server in fig. 1, para. 0052-71).
In reference to claim 19, Green discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: periodically re-generating, using the donor model, the component data; and replacing the component data in the persistent database with the re-generated component data (global model can periodically or continually updated, para. 0071, and replace embeddings with new embeddings, para. 0057).
In reference to claim 20, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 21, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 22, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 9-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. (US 2022/0391778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Bent, III et al. (US 2020/0402098 A1).
In reference to claim 3, Green does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the first recipient model predicts a clickthrough rate of a content item, and wherein the second recipient model predicts a quality value of a landing page associated with the content item (Green teaches models predicting user’s preferences, para. 0096-97, but not these specific predictions).
Bent teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the first recipient model predicts a clickthrough rate of a content item (click-through rate, para. 0062, 70), and wherein the second recipient model predicts a quality value of a landing page associated with the content item (landing page relevance value, para. 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the prediction of Green to include the clickthrough and landing page quality of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the prediction of Green to include the clickthrough and landing page quality of Bent because Green teaches predicting a user’s preferences, para. 0096-97, and Bent teaches user preference measures that are useful for content providers in determining user’s preferences, para. 0002-03.
In reference to claim 5, Green does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first recipient output is a predicted Click-Through Rate (pCTR) that calculates a probability that a content item is clicked when the content item is shown to a user.
Bent teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first recipient output is a predicted Click-Through Rate (pCTR) that calculates a probability that a content item is clicked when the content item is shown to a user (click-through rate, para. 0062, 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the prediction of Green to include the clickthrough rate of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the prediction of Green to include the clickthrough rate of Bent because Green teaches predicting a user’s preferences, para. 0096-97, and Bent teaches user preference measures that are useful for content providers in determining user’s preferences, para. 0002-03.
In reference to claim 9, Green teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the donor model is an online model that learns continuously from … data being fed into the donor model, and wherein the donor model is continuously being trained based on … data (global model is online and continuously updated, para. 0071).
However, Green does not explicitly teach real-time data.
Bent teaches real-time data (para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent because Green teaches using recent data is desirable, para. 0050, and Bent teaches immediate, real-time data, para. 0027-28.
In reference to claim 10, Green teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the component data is updated based on [recent] data (only data collected within a recent window is used to update model / embeddings, para. 0050), and wherein the first embedding is updated based on a change to a user preference that is captured in the [recent] data (models predicts user’s preferences, para. 0096-97, so if the collected data shows a change in the user preference, it would be reflected in the update to the local model).
However, Green does not explicitly teach real-time data.
Bent teaches real-time data (para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent because Green teaches using recent data is desirable, para. 0050, and Bent teaches immediate, real-time data, para. 0027-28.
In reference to claim 11, Green teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of recipient models are online models (online models, para. 0071), and wherein the first recipient model generates the recipient output based on ... data (only data collected within a recent window is used to update model / embeddings, para. 0050; it would be obvious recent data would also be used for predictions, para. 0096-97), and wherein internal model parameters of the first recipient model are updated based on the [recent] data (model updated with recent data, para. 0050).
However, Green does not explicitly teach real-time data.
Bent teaches real-time data (para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the data of Green to include the real-time data of Bent because Green teaches using recent data is desirable, para. 0050, and Bent teaches immediate, real-time data, para. 0027-28.
In reference to claim 13, Green does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first recipient model serves a prediction based on live internet traffic data.
Bent teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first recipient model serves a prediction based on live internet traffic data (predictions are for live online content, para. 0027-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Bent before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the predictions of Green to include the live content of Bent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the predictions of Green to include the live content of Bent because Green teaches using recent data is desirable, para. 0050, and Bent teaches making predictions for live content, para. 0027-28.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. (US 2022/0391778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Azarbakht et al. (US 2022/0215345 A1).
In reference to claim 6, Green does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the donor model is a large model having more than 100 million parameters, and wherein the first recipient model is a small model having less than 100 million parameters.
Azarbakht teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the donor model is a large model having more than 100 million parameters, and wherein the first recipient model is a small model having less than 100 million parameters (knowledge distillation is used to take BERT large with 340 million parameters to BERT-small with 29 million parameters, para. 0099-0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Azarbakht before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the models of Green to include the parameter sizes of Azarbakht.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the models of Green to include the parameter sizes of Azarbakht because it would allow for making faster predictions with negligible accuracy loss (Azarbakht, para. 0099-0104).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. (US 2022/0391778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0284283 A1).
In reference to claim 17, Green does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving, from a first recipient model of the plurality of recipient models, a first request for the first embedding includes: receiving, from the first recipient model, the first request via a remote procedure call (RPC).
Yin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving, from a first recipient model of the plurality of recipient models, a first request for the first embedding includes: receiving, from the first recipient model, the first request via a remote procedure call (RPC) (para. 0541).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Green and Yin before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the request of Green to include the RPC of Yin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the request of Green to include the RPC of Yin because Green does not explicitly state how the first client requests embedding slices, and Green provides a standard way of making such a request for data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 23 recites, “… removing the component data from a subset of training data provided to the first recipient model to adapt the first recipient model to operate when the donor model is unavailable.” While removing data from a subset of training data is generally known in the art (for example, data ablation, removing outlier data points, etc.), the prior art does not teach removing component data from a donor model having a first embedding from training data, “to adapt the first recipient model to operate when the donor model is unavailable.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Green does not teach, “wherein updates to the internal model parameters of the first recipient model are not back propagated to the donor model,” because in Green, local updates from clients are used to update the global model. However, the claims do not recite preventing any recipient updates from being incorporated into the donor model: it says updates are “not back propagated to the donor model.” Green does not backpropagate local model parameter updates to the global model.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T CHIUSANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144