DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 08/27/2026
Claim 1 has been amended, claims 4-6 and 14 have been canceled and claims 20-25 have been added
Claims 1-2, 7-13 and 15-25 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 4-6 and 13-18 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Seshadri et al. (US 2020/0306404). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 8-13, 15-18, 20 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2003/0089791) in view of Seshadri et al. (US 202/0306404).
Claims 1, 13, 20. Chen discloses a container 10 for releasing volatile substances, comprising:
- a container body 20 that contains a liquid 30 with volatile substances and that is provided with an aperture (opening at T1) ([0048]; fig. 1);
- a porous membrane 40 that closes the aperture of the container body (fig. 1); and
characterized in that the porous membrane is transparent when it is in contact with the liquid in the container body ([0056-0057]).
Chen discloses a transparent porous membrane with the ability for both stored liquids and embossed indicia to be seen but fails to disclose a message or pattern on the container. Seshadri teaches a dispensing container 100 that comprises a viewable message or pattern ([0034]);
the message or pattern is configured to be viewed by the user through the porous membrane 140 when the porous membrane is transparent [0020-0022]; and
the message or pattern is printed on a side of the porous membrane [0034]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the membrane of Chen to include the printable indicia Seshadri to assist easily identifying the removable sections of the dispenser.
Claims 8, 16, 22. Chen-Seshadri discloses container for releasing volatile substances according to claim 1, wherein the container body is transparent (Chen; [0021]).
Claims 9-11: Chen-Shi discloses a container for releasing volatile substances according to claim 1, wherein the container body comprises a liquid residue area (Seshadri; middle 2 apertures running between receptacles 112; fig. 5).
Claims 12, 15, 17, 23. Chen-Seshadri discloses the container for releasing volatile substances according to claim 1, wherein the porous membrane is opaque when it is not in contact with the liquid in the container body (Chen; abstract), and
the message or pattern is configured so that the user cannot see the message or pattern when the porous membrane is opaque (Chen; abstract).
Claims 18, 24. Chen-Seshadri discloses container for releasing volatile substances according to claim 20, wherein the container body comprises a liquid residue area (Seshadri; fig. 5).
Claim(s) 2, 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2003/0089791) in view of Seshadri et al. (US 2020/0306404) in view of Santini et al. (US 10,814,029).
Claims 2, 7, 21. Chen-Seshadri discloses container where Chen discloses a container including a porous membrane 40 for releasing volatile substances coupled to a container body 20 according to claim 5, but fails to include a barrier layer. Santini teaches the printed support 18A placed between the membrane 23 (acting as a sealing membrane) and the barrier layer 18B (fig. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the layers of Chen to include the printed support of Santini to maintain adhesion of the barrier while presenting an aesthetically pleasing product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735