DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Russ et al. (PGPub 2018/0175336).
Considering Claim 1, Russ discloses a method for joining external tabs of a battery cell to a terminal (forming and joining method for external electrode flags to external terminal [Abstract, 0035]), comprising:
providing a battery cell stack (providing electrode stack [0048] for a battery cell [0001]) including:
C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is positive, electrode foils [0048]), a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the cathode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]);
A anode electrodes including an anode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is negative, electrode foils [0048]), an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the anode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); and
S separators (electrical insulator arranged between pair of electrodes [0007] and with multiple pairs of electrodes [Figure 3] for multiple separators), where C, S and A are integers greater than one (multiple anodes, cathodes, and separators as disclosed above); and
arranging a stack of the external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes on a terminal (stack of flags on external terminal 9 [0048, Figure 3]); and
laser welding W weld segments in each of L weld locations on the stack of external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes (multiple welded joints 17 are provided on flags [0052, Figure 3] via welding method [0054], multiple joints 17 are provided across the whole of the flags [0052, Figure 3], so in an unobstructed view of full width of flags [Figure 3], pairs of flags are provided across multiple locations) to join the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes to the terminal (joined flags via welded joints 17 are joined to terminal 9 [0052, 0048, Figure 3]), where W and L are integers greater than one (multiple joints 17 and location pairs are as disclosed above).
Considering Claim 2, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in a first diagonal direction (welded joints 17 are parallel and at one diagonal [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 3, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments include a first group arranged parallel to one another in a first diagonal direction and a second group arranged parallel to one another in a second diagonal direction and overlapping the first group (parallel and perpendicular, overlapping welding marks across locations [Figure 5]).
Considering Claim 4, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction parallel to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 5, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segment are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction perpendicular to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 6, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments include a first group arranged parallel to one another in a first direction parallel to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs and a second group arranged parallel to one another in a second direction perpendicular to the outer edge of the stack including the external tabs and overlapping the first group (across locations, parallel and perpendicular welding marks relative to a flag edge [Figure 5]).
Considering Claim 7, Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and spaced from an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel middle joint locations spaced away from end edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 8, Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and overlapping an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel end joint locations that overlap end edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 9, Russ discloses that the W weld segments in each of the L weld locations are created in a predetermined sequence without sequentially welding immediately adjacent ones of the W weld segments in each of the L weld locations (weld mark is linear and meandering such that perpendicular weld mark is made before a parallel and immediately adjacent weld mark is made [Figure 5]).
Considering Claim 12, discloses that the stack of external tabs is trimmed at an acute angle to form a sloped edge, and the L weld locations are arranged in a row along the sloped edge (flags are cut and oriented at angle α toward the terminal to form an angled edge [0048, Figure 3], L weld locations are along angled edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 13, Russ discloses that at least one of the anode current collector of the A anode electrodes and the cathode current collector of the C cathode electrodes is made of foil (electrodes are foils [0048]).
Considering Claim 14, Russ discloses a battery cell (battery cell [0001]), comprising:
a terminal (terminal 9 [0048, Figure 3]); and
a battery cell stack (electrode stack [0048] for a battery cell [0001]) including:
C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is positive, electrode foils [0048]), a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the cathode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]);
A anode electrodes including an anode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is negative, electrode foils [0048]), an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the anode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); and
S separators (electrical insulator arranged between pair of electrodes [0007] and with multiple pairs of electrodes [Figure 3] for multiple separators), where C, S and A are integers greater than one (multiple anodes, cathodes, and separators as disclosed above),
wherein a stack of the external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes is laser welded to the terminal (joined flags via welded joints 17 are joined to terminal 9 [0052, 0048, Figure 3]), and
wherein a laser weld between the stack of external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes and the terminal includes W weld segments in each of L weld locations, where W and L are integers greater than one (multiple welded joints 17 are provided on flags [0052, Figure 3] via welding method [0054], multiple joints 17 are provided across the whole of the flags [0052, Figure 3], so in an unobstructed view of full width of flags [Figure 3], pairs of flags are provided across multiple locations, multiple joints 17 and location pairs are as disclosed above).
Considering Claim 15, Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in at least one of a first diagonal direction and a second diagonal direction (welded joints 17 are parallel and at one diagonal [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 16, Russ discloses that for reach of the L weld locations, the W weld segment are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction at least one of parallel and perpendicular to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 17, Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and spaced from an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel middle joint locations spaced away from end edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 18, Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and overlapping an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel end joint locations that overlap end edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 19, Russ discloses that the stack of external tabs is trimmed at an acute angle to form a sloped edge, and the L weld locations are arranged in a row along the sloped edge (flags are cut and oriented at angle α toward the terminal to form an angled edge [0048, Figure 3], L weld locations are along angled edge [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 20, Russ discloses that at least one of the anode current collector of the A anode electrodes and the cathode current collector of the C cathode electrodes is made of foil (electrodes are foils [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russ et al. (PGPub 2018/0175336).
Considering Claims 10 and 11, Russ discloses that the L weld locations are created on the stack of external tabs in a predetermined sequence without sequentially welding immediately adjacent ones of the L weld locations, including laser welding outer ones of the L weld locations before laser welding inner ones of the L weld locations (laser beam welding of joints [0054], direction of welding laser is optimized such that localized input of heat to the energy store and heat-sensitive components is minimized, so routinely experimenting with and coming up with outer welding before sequential inner welding so as to protect heat to energy store and heat-sensitive components would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725