CTNF 18/343,482 CTNF 88894 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Russ et al. (PGPub 2018/0175336) . Considering Claim 1 , Russ discloses a method for joining external tabs of a battery cell to a terminal (forming and joining method for external electrode flags to external terminal [Abstract, 0035]), comprising: providing a battery cell stack (providing electrode stack [0048] for a battery cell [0001]) including: C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is positive, electrode foils [0048]), a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the cathode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); A anode electrodes including an anode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is negative, electrode foils [0048]), an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the anode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); and S separators (electrical insulator arranged between pair of electrodes [0007] and with multiple pairs of electrodes [Figure 3] for multiple separators), where C, S and A are integers greater than one (multiple anodes, cathodes, and separators as disclosed above); and arranging a stack of the external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes on a terminal (stack of flags on external terminal 9 [0048, Figure 3]); and laser welding W weld segments in each of L weld locations on the stack of external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes (multiple welded joints 17 are provided on flags [0052, Figure 3] via welding method [0054], multiple joints 17 are provided across the whole of the flags [0052, Figure 3], so in an unobstructed view of full width of flags [Figure 3], pairs of flags are provided across multiple locations) to join the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes to the terminal (joined flags via welded joints 17 are joined to terminal 9 [0052, 0048, Figure 3]), where W and L are integers greater than one (multiple joints 17 and location pairs are as disclosed above). Considering Claim 2 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in a first diagonal direction (welded joints 17 are parallel and at one diagonal [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 3 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments include a first group arranged parallel to one another in a first diagonal direction and a second group arranged parallel to one another in a second diagonal direction and overlapping the first group (parallel and perpendicular, overlapping welding marks across locations [Figure 5]). Considering Claim 4 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction parallel to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 5 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segment are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction perpendicular to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 6 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments include a first group arranged parallel to one another in a first direction parallel to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs and a second group arranged parallel to one another in a second direction perpendicular to the outer edge of the stack including the external tabs and overlapping the first group (across locations, parallel and perpendicular welding marks relative to a flag edge [Figure 5]). Considering Claim 7 , Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and spaced from an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel middle joint locations spaced away from end edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 8 , Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and overlapping an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel end joint locations that overlap end edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 9 , Russ discloses that the W weld segments in each of the L weld locations are created in a predetermined sequence without sequentially welding immediately adjacent ones of the W weld segments in each of the L weld locations (weld mark is linear and meandering such that perpendicular weld mark is made before a parallel and immediately adjacent weld mark is made [Figure 5]). Considering Claim 12 , discloses that the stack of external tabs is trimmed at an acute angle to form a sloped edge, and the L weld locations are arranged in a row along the sloped edge (flags are cut and oriented at angle α toward the terminal to form an angled edge [0048, Figure 3], L weld locations are along angled edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 13 , Russ discloses that at least one of the anode current collector of the A anode electrodes and the cathode current collector of the C cathode electrodes is made of foil (electrodes are foils [0048]). Considering Claim 14 , Russ discloses a battery cell (battery cell [0001]), comprising: a terminal (terminal 9 [0048, Figure 3]); and a battery cell stack (electrode stack [0048] for a battery cell [0001]) including: C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is positive, electrode foils [0048]), a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the cathode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); A anode electrodes including an anode current collector (number of electrodes wherein an electrical insulator is arranged between the electrodes [0007] as it’s known one electrode on one side is negative, electrode foils [0048]), an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector (active material layer arranged on foils [0044, 0047]), and an external tab extending from the anode current collector (projecting flags 7 [0048]); and S separators (electrical insulator arranged between pair of electrodes [0007] and with multiple pairs of electrodes [Figure 3] for multiple separators), where C, S and A are integers greater than one (multiple anodes, cathodes, and separators as disclosed above), wherein a stack of the external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes is laser welded to the terminal (joined flags via welded joints 17 are joined to terminal 9 [0052, 0048, Figure 3]), and wherein a laser weld between the stack of external tabs of one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes and the terminal includes W weld segments in each of L weld locations, where W and L are integers greater than one (multiple welded joints 17 are provided on flags [0052, Figure 3] via welding method [0054], multiple joints 17 are provided across the whole of the flags [0052, Figure 3], so in an unobstructed view of full width of flags [Figure 3], pairs of flags are provided across multiple locations, multiple joints 17 and location pairs are as disclosed above). Considering Claim 15 , Russ discloses that for each of the L weld locations, the W weld segments are arranged parallel to one another in at least one of a first diagonal direction and a second diagonal direction (welded joints 17 are parallel and at one diagonal [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 16 , Russ discloses that for reach of the L weld locations, the W weld segment are arranged parallel to one another in a first direction at least one of parallel and perpendicular to an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes and the A anode electrodes (parallel joints 17 that can be parallel or perpendicular based on chosen edge of flags 7 [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 17 , Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and spaced from an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel middle joint locations spaced away from end edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 18 , Russ discloses that the L weld locations are arranged in a row located parallel to and overlapping an outer edge of the stack including the external tabs (row of parallel end joint locations that overlap end edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 19 , Russ discloses that the stack of external tabs is trimmed at an acute angle to form a sloped edge, and the L weld locations are arranged in a row along the sloped edge (flags are cut and oriented at angle α toward the terminal to form an angled edge [0048, Figure 3], L weld locations are along angled edge [Figure 3]). Considering Claim 20 , Russ discloses that at least one of the anode current collector of the A anode electrodes and the cathode current collector of the C cathode electrodes is made of foil (electrodes are foils [0048]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russ et al. (PGPub 2018/0175336) . Considering Claims 10 and 11 , Russ discloses that the L weld locations are created on the stack of external tabs in a predetermined sequence without sequentially welding immediately adjacent ones of the L weld locations, including laser welding outer ones of the L weld locations before laser welding inner ones of the L weld locations (laser beam welding of joints [0054], direction of welding laser is optimized such that localized input of heat to the energy store and heat-sensitive components is minimized, so routinely experimenting with and coming up with outer welding before sequential inner welding so as to protect heat to energy store and heat-sensitive components would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE whose telephone number is (571)270-7582. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-4:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Basia Ridley can be reached at (571)272-1453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/343,482 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725