DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On pages 13-15 applicant argues that Nayarasi fails to disclose the first field comprising a number of types of information being requested. While the applicant’s points are understood, the examiner respectfully disagrees. See for example Nayarasi figure 4.13. There Nayarasi discloses an action field and element field. The action field as indicated on bottom of page 1 represents different actions. The element field adds additional information specific to the action. Since the action field has different actions the element field would have more than a single piece of information each specific to the particular action. Hence, the element field has a number of types of information as claimed. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Praneeth “SA Query Request/Response Encryption/Decryption/Verification in WPA3/WPA2-PMF (802.11w)” in view of Nayarasi “802.11 Mgmt: Action Frames”.
Regarding claim 1, Praneeth teaches a first device comprising:
a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device (see Page 2 lines 13-14: Now the AP sends the SAQuery Request (i.e. at least one frame) to the Client (i.e. the second device)), the frame comprising a category field indicating an action frame type indicating a security association query (see Pages 1 and 3, Fig. 2 and line 1-2: The below figure is the SA Query Frame Request Frame format. It is a Management Action Frame – Category: 8 (SA Query Procedure) (i.e. action frame type), an action field indicating a response or request (see Page 3 Fig. 2: Action: 0 (SA Query request) (i.e. Action: 0 identifies a request to be performed)).
However, the Praneeth reference does not explicitly teach a system wherein the frame comprise:
a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested;
a second field comprising a set of numbers, wherein each of the set of numbers indicates each type of information being requested, wherein each type of information is one of timing information, load information, occupancy level information, target channel information, signal power information, sequence information, neighborhood access point information, or unicast information.
In the same field of endeavor as the Praneeth’s art, Nayarasi teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system configured to provide at least one frame comprising:
a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested (see Page 1 Fig. 4.13: “Element” field in the Action frame format and line 21: Element – Adds additional information specific to the action (i.e. the number of type of information requested))
a second field comprising a set of numbers, wherein each of the set of numbers indicates each type of information being requested (see Page 5 lines 4: Below shows a ADDBA Request action frame witch action code of 0, and lines 21-26: BlockAck Param Set: %0001000000000010 (i.e. %0001000000000010 indicates that BlockAck action is requested)), wherein each type of information is one of timing information (see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0), sequence information (see Page 5 lines 27-29: BA Starting Sequence Control: %0000011000000000, starting Seq Number: 96, etc.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to append the additional fields suggested by the Nayarasi art, namely a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested and a second field comprising a set of numbers indicating each type of information being requested to the Management Action frame taught by Praneeth to establish a communication channel between a first device and a second device as requested by the invention. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide additional information specific to the action being requested so that the automation framework is aware what to act upon, and provide outputs specific to the requested action and its associated parameters.
Regarding claim 2, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising circuitry arranged to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device. Nayarasi further teaches a first device wherein the frame is provided according to an 802.11 protocol (see Page 6 lines 4-5: Below shows a Neighbor Report Request action frame with action code value of 4. (typically used with802.11k)). Furthermore, Praneeth also teaches a first device wherein the connection is established by using an association or authentication operation (see Page 2, Fig. 1: association operation and validating security association (i.e. authentication)).
Regarding claim 3, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi discloses the limitations of claim as applied above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system wherein the frame comprises a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a first device wherein one of the type of information comprises information comprises the timing information (Nayarasi – see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0).
Regarding claim 4, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi discloses the limitations of claim as applied above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system wherein the frame comprises a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a first device wherein the action field, category field and first field are each two byte fields (see Page 4 lines 5-10: SA Query Category, SA Query Action, SA Query Transaction ID: 2 byte).
Regarding claim 5, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi discloses the limitations of claim as applied above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system wherein the frame comprises an action field indicating a response or request. Furthermore, Nayarasi teaches a system wherein the action field indicates a get data request or a get data response (see Page 3 lines 1-4: QoS action frames has different code values with below description of that action - 0: ADDTS Request; 1: ADDTS Response).
Regarding claim 6, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 1 examined. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device, the frame comprising a second field comprising a set of numbers, wherein each of the set of numbers indicates each type of information being requested. Furthermore, Nayarasi teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system wherein timing information, sequence information, neighborhood access point information, and unicast information is requested in the second field (see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0; lines 27-29: BA Starting Sequence Control: %0000011000000000, starting Seq Number: 96, etc.; see Page 6 lines 4-25: Below shows a Neighbor Report Request action frame with action code value of 4. (typically used with802.11k) ... SSID: MRN-EAP).
Regarding claim 9, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 1 examined. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device, the frame comprising a first field comprising identification of requested information from the second device. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a first device wherein the circuit is configured to receive at least one frame across the connection from the second device (see Fig. 1: SA Query Response Frame. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a system wherein the frame from the second device comprising a first field comprising a length field (see Page 4, Fig. 3 “Length” field with value 12) and a value field, the value field comprising the requested information (see Page 4, Fig. 3 “Info” field).
Regarding claim 10, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 1 examined above. The combination of Praneeth and Nayarasi further teaches a system wherein the second device comprises an access point (Praneeth – Page 2, Fig. 1: Access point device “AP”).
Regarding claim 11, Praneeth teaches a first device comprising:
a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device (see Page 2 lines 13-14: Now the AP sends the SAQuery Request (i.e. at least one frame) to the Client (i.e. the second device)), the frame comprising a category field indicating an action frame type (see Page 3, Fig. 2 and line 1-2: The below figure is the SA Query Frame Request Frame format. It is a Management Action Frame – Category: 8 (SA Query Procedure) (i.e. action frame type), an action field indicating a response or request (see Page 3 Fig. 2: Action: 0 (SA Query request) (i.e. Action: 0 identifies a request to be performed)).
However, the Praneeth reference does not explicitly teach a system wherein the frame comprise:
a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested;
a second field comprising a set of numbers, wherein each of the set of numbers indicates each type of information being requested, wherein each type of information is one of timing information, load information, occupancy level information, target channel information, signal power information, sequence information, neighborhood access point information, or unicast information.
In the same field of endeavor as the Praneeth’s art, Nayarasi teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system configured to provide at least one frame comprising:
a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested (see Page 1 Fig. 4.13: “Element” field in the Action frame format and line 21: Element – Adds additional information specific to the action (i.e. the number of type of information requested))
a second field comprising a set of numbers, wherein each of the set of numbers indicates each type of information being requested (see Page 5 lines 4: Below shows a ADDBA Request action frame witch action code of 0, and lines 21-26: BlockAck Param Set: %0001000000000010 (i.e. %0001000000000010 indicates that BlockAck action is requested)), wherein each type of information is one of timing information (see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0), sequence information (see Page 5 lines 27-29: BA Starting Sequence Control: %0000011000000000, starting Seq Number: 96, etc.); and
a third field comprising the requested information (see Page 3 lines 17-21: TPC report when the action code is 3 and the action type is a TPC Report Action; see also Page 4 line 63: WMM ID=221 WMM Len=61 OUI=00-50-F2 MIRCROSOFT CORP. OUI Type=2 Subtype=2 TSPEC Version = 1 in a ADDTS Response action frame with action code of 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to append the additional fields suggested by the Nayarasi art, namely a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested and a second field comprising a set of numbers indicating each type of information being requested to the Management Action frame taught by Praneeth to establish a communication channel between a first device and a second device as requested by the invention. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide additional information specific to the action being requested so that the automation framework is aware what to act upon, and provide outputs specific to the requested action and its associated parameters.
Regarding claim 12, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system wherein the action field indicates a type of response (see Page 6, Fig. 6: SA Query Response frame including the field “Type/Subtype: Action (0x000d)).
Regarding claim 13, it teaches the same limitations as claim 4 examined above. Therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applied.
Regarding claim 14, Praneeth is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a system wherein length is related to the number of types of information requested by the second device (see Page 4, Fig. 3 “Length” field with value 12).
Regarding claim 15, it teaches the same limitations as claim 2 examined above. Therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applied.
Regarding claim 16, Praneeth teaches a method comprising:
providing a first frame across a connection from a first device to a second device (see Page 2 lines 13-14: Now the AP sends the SAQuery Request (i.e. at least one frame) to the Client (i.e. the second device)), the first frame comprising a first field for indicating two types of requests and two types of responses (see Page 2 Fig. 1: Association Request and SA Query Request, and Association Response and SA query response);
receiving a second frame from the second device at the first device (see Page 2 Fig. 1: SA Query response from STA to AP; see also Page 2 lines 13-14: The client gives SA Query Response).
However, the Praneeth reference does not explicitly teach a method adapted to:
provide a first frame comprising a second field comprising a number of types of information being requested, and
provide a first frame comprising a third field indicating types of the requested information from the second device, wherein each type of information is one of timing information, load information, occupancy level information, target channel information, signal power information, sequence information, neighborhood access point information, or unicast information; and
receive a second frame, the second frame comprising a first field comprising indicating the types of the requested information from the second device and a second field indicating the requested information.
In the same field of endeavor as the Praneeth’s art, Nayarasi teaches a method in accordance with the present invention, the method configured to:
provide a first frame comprising a second field comprising a number of types of information being requested (see Page 1 Fig. 4.13: “Element” field in the Action frame format and line 21: Element – Adds additional information specific to the action (i.e. the number of type of information requested))
provide a first frame comprising a third field indicating types of the requested information from the second device (see Page 5 lines 4: Below shows a ADDBA Request action frame witch action code of 0, and lines 21-26: BlockAck Param Set: %0001000000000010 (i.e. %0001000000000010 indicates that BlockAck action is requested), wherein each type of information is one of timing information (see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0), sequence information (see Page 5 lines 27-29: BA Starting Sequence Control: %0000011000000000, starting Seq Number: 96, etc.); and
receive a second frame (see Page 4 ADDTS Response action frame with action code of 1), the second frame comprising a first field comprising indicating the types of the requested information from the second device (see Page 4 line 57: Category code 17: WMM) and a second field indicating the requested information (see Page 3 lines 17-21: TPC report when the action code is 3 and the action type is a TPC Report Action; see also Page 4 line 63: WMM ID=221 WMM Len=61 OUI=00-50-F2 MIRCROSOFT CORP. OUI Type=2 Subtype=2 TSPEC Version = 1 in a ADDTS Response action frame with action code of 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to append the additional fields suggested by the Nayarasi art, namely a first field comprising a number of types of information being requested and a second field comprising a set of numbers indicating each type of information being requested to the Management Action frame taught by Praneeth to establish a communication channel between a first device and a second device as requested by the invention. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide additional information specific to the action being requested so that the automation framework is aware what to act upon, and provide outputs specific to the requested action and its associated parameters.
Regarding claim 17, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 16 examined above. The combination of Praneeth and Nayarasi teaches a method comprising receiving a second frame from the second device at the first device, the second frame comprising a first field comprising indicating the types of the requested information from the second device. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a method wherein the second frame comprises a third field for indicating the two types of requests and the two types of responses (Praneeth – see Page 6 and Figs. 6 and 7: SA Query Response Frame).
Regarding claim 20, Praneeth is applied as disclosed in claim 16 examined above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device. Furthermore, Praneeth teaches a system wherein the first frame comprises a fourth field for a value indicating a length (see Page 4, Fig. 3 “Length” field with value 12).
Claims 7, 8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Praneeth “SA Query Request/Response Encryption/Decryption/Verification in WPA3/WPA2-PMF (802.11w)” in view of Nayarasi “802.11 Mgmt: Action Frames”, in further view of Seok (US 20170006526).
Regarding claim 7, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as examined above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit configured to provide at least one frame across a connection to a second device, the frame comprising a category field indicating an action frame type and an action field indicating a response or request. The combination of Praneeth and Nayarasi teaches a system wherein the requested information comprises the timing information (Nayarasi - see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0). However, the Praneeth-Nayarasi combination fails to explicitly teach a system wherein each type of information comprises a low time synchronization function (TSF), a next target beacon transmission time (TBTT), or a next delivery traffic information map (DTIM) TBTT.
In the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system wherein each type of information comprises a next delivery traffic information map (DTIM) TBTT (see [0104]: Referring to FIG. 6, AP 210 transmits a beacon frame to STAs present in the BSS at intervals of a predetermined time period in steps (S211, S212, S213, S214, S215, S216). The beacon frame includes a TIM information element. The TIM information element includes buffered traffic regarding STAs associated with the AP 210, and includes specific information indicating that a frame is to be transmitted. The TIM information element includes a TIM for indicating a unicast frame and a Delivery Traffic Indication Map (DTIM) for indicating a multicast or broadcast frame).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Seok suggesting a first device wherein each type of information comprises a next delivery traffic information map (DTIM) TBTT into the system taught by the Praneeth-Nayarasi combination in order to arrive at the claimed invention. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide a system configured to indicate to the client devices whether the access point has buffered broadcast or multicast data waiting for them, thereby increasing throughput.
Regarding claim 8, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi is applied as disclosed in claim 1 examined above. The Praneeth-Nayarasi combination teaches a system comprising a circuit for providing at least one frame across a connection to a second device, the frame comprising a first field comprising identification information of requested information from the second device. However, the combination of Praneeth and Nayarasi does not explicitly teach a system wherein each type of information comprises unicast information and the unicast information comprises a number of pending unicast frames.
In the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches a system in accordance with the present invention, the system wherein the requested information comprises unicast information and the unicast information comprises a number of pending unicast frames (see [0104]: Referring to FIG. 6, AP 210 transmits a beacon frame to STAs present in the BSS at intervals of a predetermined time period in steps (S211, S212, S213, S214, S215, S216). The beacon frame includes a TIM information element. The TIM information element includes buffered traffic regarding STAs associated with the AP 210, and includes specific information indicating that a frame is to be transmitted. The TIM information element includes a TIM for indicating a unicast frame).
Regarding claim 18, it recites the same limitations as claim 7 examined above. Therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applied.
Regarding claim 19, Praneeth in view of Nayarasi, in further view of Seok is applied as disclosed in claim 18 examined above. Furthermore, Nayarasi teaches a method wherein the request information from the second device can indicate any of the timing information (see Page 5 line 26: BlockAck Timeout Value: 0), sequence information (see Page 5 lines 27-29: BA Starting Sequence Control: %0000011000000000, starting Seq Number: 96, etc.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dave Czekaj/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487