DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment 01/27/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 3 recite(s) “122” at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant(s) argue(s) with respect to claims 1 and 5 in pages 10 - 11:
“Somani's "negative node 118" is merely a negative node, but is not obtained by inverting and is not an inverting input voltage.
…Somani's 116/118 is not an inverted voltage, and Somani's 108/109 is an inverted output rather than inverted input. As such, Somani fails to disclose any terminal that constantly carries an inverted input voltage, and necessarily cannot disclose at least the above-referenced limitations”
In response, Somani discloses that negative node 118 is -Vin or ground, e.g. paragraph 020 recites “A second line (or ground) 116 runs from a negative node 118 (or ground) of the voltage source input 102 to a second node 120 (or ground) of the first voltage output 108”. Somani explicitly discloses that the node 118 is a negative node corresponding to -Vin line. A voltage measurement at the voltage at node 118, inverting the measuring device across the input (-/+) voltage source (104), is equal to the inverted input voltage (-Vin). Node 118 does constantly carry an inverted input voltage -Vin, as stated above in Somani’s paragraph 020. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2021/0391794; (hereinafter Somani).
Regarding claim 1, Somani [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a buck-boost converter comprising: a first switch [e.g. S1] connected between an input terminal [e.g. 112] to which an input voltage [e.g. +Vin] is input and a first terminal of an inductor [e.g. L+]; a second switch [e.g. S7] connected between the first terminal of the inductor and an output terminal [e.g. 108] that outputs an output voltage [e.g. VOUT1_POS or VOUT1_NEG]; a third switch [e.g. S3] connected between a second terminal of the inductor [e.g. L-] and a ground terminal [e.g. 118], wherein the third switch receives a voltage substantially equal to the voltage at the ground terminal [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “a second line (or ground) 116 runs from a negative node 118 (or ground) of the voltage source input 102 to a second node 120 (or ground) of the first voltage output 108”]; and a fourth switch [e.g. S6] connected between the second terminal of the inductor and an inverting input terminal [e.g. 116/118] to which an inverted input voltage [e.g. -Vin] obtained by inverting the input voltage is input [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “The second node 126 of the second voltage output 109 also connects to the second line 116 due to common ground”];
wherein the output voltage is generated according to the input voltage, the inverted input voltage, and status of the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, and the fourth switch [e.g. the output voltage at 108 depends on the input voltage Vin, -Vin at line 116/118 and operation of each of the switches S1, S3, S6, S7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somani in view of US Patent No. 9,595,871; (hereinafter Bayer)
Regarding claim 5, Somani [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a buck-boost converter comprising: a first switch [e.g. S1] connected between an input terminal [e.g. 112] to which an input voltage [e.g. +Vin] is input and a first terminal of an inductor [e.g. L+]; a second switch [e.g. S7] connected between the first terminal of the inductor and an output terminal [e.g. 108] that outputs an output voltage [e.g. VOUT1_POS or VOUT1_NEG]; a third switch [e.g. S3] connected between a second terminal of the inductor [e.g. L-] and a ground terminal [e.g. 118], wherein the third switch receives a voltage substantially equal to the voltage at the ground terminal [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “a second line (or ground) 116 runs from a negative node 118 (or ground) of the voltage source input 102 to a second node 120 (or ground) of the first voltage output 108”]; a fourth switch [e.g. S6] connected between the second terminal of the inductor and an inverting input terminal [e.g. 116/118] to which an inverted input voltage [e.g. -Vin] obtained by inverting the input voltage is input [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “The second node 126 of the second voltage output 109 also connects to the second line 116 due to common ground”]; wherein the output voltage is generated according to the input voltage, the inverted input voltage, and status of the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, and the fourth switch [e.g. the output voltage at 108 depends on the input voltage Vin, -Vin at line 116/118 and operation of each of the switches S1, S3, S6, S7].
Somani fails to disclose a controller configured to control a rising slope and a falling slope of an inductor current by adjusting operating timings of the third switch and the fourth switch according to a comparison result of the input voltage and an absolute value of the output voltage.
Bayer [e.g. Figs. 2 - 3] teaches a controller configured to control a rising slope and a falling slope of an inductor current [e.g. Fig. 3; IL] by adjusting operating timings of the third switch [e.g. Figs. 2-3; S3] and the fourth switch [e.g. Figs. 2-3; S4] according to a comparison result of the input voltage and an absolute value of the output voltage [e.g. col. 6, lines 2 – 6 recite “the control circuit 120 compares an absolute value of the FBC output voltage signal with the input voltage signal via FBA to determine whether the output voltage amplitude (|VO|) exceeds the input voltage signal VI”; col. 6, line 21 – 42 recite “The control circuit 120 operates in the first mode OP-MODE-1 when |VO| is less than VTH (e.g., less than VI) to turn off the switches S3 and S4 of the second converter stage 102, and provides pulse width modulated switching control signals SC1 and SC2 on lines 121 and 122 to the switches S1 and S2 in alternating fashion to regulate the output voltage signal VO according to a setpoint signal SP. In the second mode OP-MODE-2 when |VO| is greater than the threshold VTH (e.g., greater than VI) the control circuit 120 turns off the second switch S2 (e.g., sets SC2 low) and provides pulse width modulated switching control signals SC1, SC3 and SC4 to switches S1, S3 and S4 to regulate VO according to the setpoint signal SP. In the illustrated example, moreover, the control circuit 120 operates in the second mode OP-MODE-2 to provide the switching control signals to S1, S3 and S4 in alternating first and second states. In the first state of the second mode OP-MODE-2, the control circuit 120 turns off S2 and S4, and turns on S1 and S3 to charge the capacitor CF. In the second state of the second mode OP-MODE-2, the control circuit 120 turns off S1-S3 and turns S4 on in order to couple CF in series with the inductor L between GND and VO”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Somani by a controller configured to control a rising slope and a falling slope of an inductor current by adjusting operating timings of the third switch and the fourth switch according to a comparison result of the input voltage and an absolute value of the output voltage as taught by Bayer in order of being able to reduce inductor losses and converter switching losses.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 14 are allowed.
Claims 2 – 4 and 6 – 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 2 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein during a first time, an inductor current in the inductor gradually rises, when the first switch and the third switch are turned on, the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off, a voltage of the first terminal of the inductor rises to the input voltage, and a voltage of the second terminal of the inductor is maintained at a ground level, and during a second time following the first time, the inductor current gradually falls, when the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on, the first switch and the third switch are turned off, the voltage of the first terminal of the inductor falls to the output voltage, and the voltage of the second terminal of the inductor falls to the inverted input voltage”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 6 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the controller comprises: a comparator configured to output a comparison result signal of the input voltage and an absolute value of the output voltage, an OR operation device configured to output a value, obtained by performing an OR operation of a control signal of the first switch and the comparison result signal, as a control signal of the third switch, and an AND operation device configured to output a value, obtained by performing an AND operation of a control signal of the second switch and an inverted comparison result signal obtained by inverting the comparison result signal, as a control signal of the fourth switch”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 9 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein when the input voltage is greater than the absolute value of the output voltage, during a third time, the inductor current gradually rises, when the controller turns on the first switch and the third switch and turns off the second switch and the fourth switch, a voltage of the first terminal of the inductor rises to the input voltage, and a voltage of the second terminal of the inductor is maintained at a ground level, and during a fourth time following the third time, the inductor current gradually falls, when the controller turns on the second switch and the third switch and turns off the first switch and the fourth switch, the voltage of the first terminal of the inductor falls to the output voltage, and the voltage of the second terminal of the inductor is maintained at a ground level”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 10 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein when the input voltage is less than the absolute value of the output voltage, during a fifth time, the inductor current gradually rises, when the controller turns on the first switch and the third switch and turns off the second switch and the fourth switch, a voltage of the first terminal of the inductor rises to the input voltage, and a voltage of the second terminal of the inductor rises to a ground level, and during a sixth time following the fifth time, the inductor current gradually falls, when the controller turns on the second switch and the fourth switch and turns off the first switch and the third switch, the voltage of the first terminal of the inductor falls to the output voltage, and the voltage of the second terminal of the inductor falls to the inverted input voltage”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 11 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “a buck-boost converter comprising: a first switch connected between an input terminal that receives an input voltage and a first terminal of an inductor; a second switch connected between the first terminal of the inductor and an output terminal that outputs an output voltage; a third switch and a fourth switch connected in series between the input terminal and a ground terminal; a charge pump capacitor connected between a third terminal, which is positioned between the third switch and the fourth switch, and a second terminal of the inductor; a charge pump switch connected between the second terminal of the inductor and a ground terminal; and a controller configured to control a rising slope and a falling slope of an inductor current by adjusting operating timings of the third switch, the fourth switch, and the charge pump capacitor according to a comparison result of the input voltage and an absolute value of the output voltage”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838