Response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of Request for Continued Examination (RCE), dated on 06/09/2026.This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 05/20/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4,11,14, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al.
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are Cancelled.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses 1. A measurement method, comprising: 20. (Currently Amended) A terminal device, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor [0146] the electronic device 100 includes the processor 103 may perform the above-described channel measurement method by executing a program stored in the memory 102) to:
determine whether a measurement gap is involved when each of plurality measurement objects is measured in a first bandwidth part (BWP) group [0039] discloses determine the usage of the measurement gap according to settings of the BWP on the carrier configured by the user. The method also provides a scheme for sharing the measurement gap between multiple measurement objects in combination with the network characteristics), and [0090]-[0104]
S210: For the UE in the connected state, determining whether there are a plurality of the measurement objects, and the UE needs to configure a measurement gap for the measurement object according to the process shown in FIG. 5. If there are at least two such measurement objects, the network should configure a RRC signaling X with a length of 2 bits for the UE, indicating up to four different possibilities. In this case, the UE needs to share the configured measurement gap in a plurality of measurement objects. For example, X=01, at least or at most Y1% (such as Y1=25) of the measurement gap is allocated to the intra-frequency measurement of the UE, and the remaining of the measurement gap is allocated to the other measurement objects to be measured by the UE and required to receive the synchronization signal block within the measurement gap; wherein the first BWP group comprises an active BWP of one or more serving cells of the terminal device perform measurement-gap-based measurement or non-measurement-gap-based measurement based on the determination (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap. Conversely, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE;
performing, by the terminal device, non- measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality measurement objects in response to determining that none of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap [0065]the intra-frequency measurement may obtain the reference signals of the measurement objects without adjusting the radio frequency receiving point, and therefore the intra-frequency measurement does not require the measurement gap and wherein (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap; and
performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality measurement objects in response to determining on plurality measurement objects involves the measurement (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE.
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses a scheduling method, comprising: determining, by a first network device, whether a measurement gap is involved when a terminal device measures each of plurality measurement objects in a first bandwidth part (BWP} group, [0039] discloses determine the usage of the measurement gap according to settings of the BWP on the carrier configured by the user. The method also provides a scheme for sharing the measurement gap between multiple measurement objects in combination with the network characteristics), and [0090]-[0104]
S210: For the UE in the connected state, determining whether there are a plurality of the measurement objects, and the UE needs to configure a measurement gap for the measurement object according to the process shown in FIG. 5. If there are at least two such measurement objects, the network should configure a RRC signaling X with a length of 2 bits for the UE, indicating up to four different possibilities. In this case, the UE needs to share the configured measurement gap in a plurality of measurement objects. For example, X=01, at least or at most Y1% (such as Y1=25) of the measurement gap is allocated to the intra-frequency measurement of the UE, and the remaining of the measurement gap is allocated to the other measurement objects to be measured by the UE and required to receive the synchronization signal block within the measurement gap;
performing, by the first network device, non-measurement-gap-based scheduling on the terminal device for measuring the plurality of measurement objects in response to determining that none of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap[0065]the intra-frequency measurement may obtain the reference signals of the measurement objects without adjusting the radio frequency receiving point, and therefore the intra-frequency measurement does not require the measurement gap and wherein (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap;
performing, by the first network device, measurement-gap-based scheduling on the terminal device for measuring the plurality of measurement objects in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of measurement objects involves the measurement gap(fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1 and 21,respectively.
ZHANG further discloses wherein the performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement in response to determining that at least one of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap comprises:
in response to determining that the at least one of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap, determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects; and performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement based on the first measurement gap pattern, and performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement based on the first measurement gap pattern [0066] –[0069] discloses measurement gap comprising the measurement gap parameter which include a period of the measurement gap, a time length of the measurement gap , a starting time of the measurement gap within one period, and an ending time of the measurement gap within one period. wherein the period of the measurement gap may be a period of the gap configured between measurements. the period of the measurement gap may refer to a period that the terminal device performs cell measurement. The terminal device may perform cell measurement within the measurement gap, where the time length of the measurement gap is 1.5 ms, and The terminal device may perform the measurement every 4ms ( i.e. a first measurement gap pattern).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 11.
ZHANG further discloses wherein the performing, by the first network device, measurement-gap-based scheduling on the terminal device in response to determining that at least one of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap comprises: in response to determining that the at least one of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap, determining, by the first network device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for scheduling the plurality measurement objects; and performing, by the first network device, measurement-gap-based scheduling on the terminal device based on the first measurement gap pattern [0066] –[0069] discloses measurement gap comprising the measurement gap parameter which include a period of the measurement gap, a time length of the measurement gap , a starting time of the measurement gap within one period, and an ending time of the measurement gap within one period. wherein the period of the measurement gap may be a period of the gap configured between measurements. the period of the measurement gap may refer to a period that the terminal device performs cell measurement. The terminal device may perform cell measurement within the measurement gap, where the time length of the measurement gap is 1.5 ms, and the terminal device may perform the measurement every 4ms (i.e., a first measurement gap pattern).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 5-7,15-17 and 22-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al in view of FUTAKI US 2019/0182000 Al in view of Hu US 2023/0047684 Al.
Regarding claims 5,15 and 22, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claims 4 ,14 and 21, respectively.
ZHANG further discloses wherein the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects comprises a measurement gap length {MGL} and a measurement gap repetition period {MGRP} of each of the plurality measurement objects, and the first measurement gap pattern comprises a first MGL and a first MGRP [0066] –[0069] discloses measurement gap comprising the measurement gap parameter which include a period of the measurement gap, a time length of the measurement gap , a starting time of the measurement gap within one period, and an ending time of the measurement gap within one period. wherein the period of the measurement gap may be a period of the gap configured between measurements. the period of the measurement gap may refer to a period that the terminal device performs cell measurement. The terminal device may perform cell measurement within the measurement gap, where the time length of the measurement gap is 1.5 ms (i.e., first MGL {MGL}), and the terminal device may perform the measurement every 4ms (i.e., a first MGRP) (i.e. a first measurement gap pattern).
ZHANG does not disclose wherein in response to determining that measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns,
the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the one or more measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first MGL based on the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects; and
determining the first MGRP based on the MGRP corresponding to the one or more measurement objects.
FUTAKI US 2019/0182000 Al discloses wherein in response to determining that measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns [0144]-[0145]For example, when one BWP group includes first and second BWPs, the RAN node 11 provides the UE 12, via RRC signaling ( e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message), with a first measurement configuration to be used when the first BWP is the active BWP and a second measurement configuration to be used when the second BWP is the active BWP. The UE 12 selects the first measurement configuration when the active BWP is the first BWP, and uses it for measurements ( e.g., RLM measurement, RRM measurement, and CSI measurement). Further, in response to switching of the active BWP from the first BWP to the second
BWP, the UE 12 autonomously switches measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration. Then, the UE 12 uses,for measurements, the second measurement configuration corresponding to the active BWP after switching ,[0222]wherein the measurement gap configuration indicates at least one of: presence or absence of the measurement gap; a length of the measurement gap; and a pattern of the measurement gap ( see also [0162]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG by including wherein in response to determining that measurement of the one or more measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns, as taught by FUTAKI, in order to switch measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration and perform measurement (see FUTAKI [0144]-[0145]).
The combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI does not discloses the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first MGL based on the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects; and determining the first MGRP based on the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects.
Hu US 2023/0047684 A1 discloses the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first MGL based on the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects; and determining the first MGRP based on the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects [0117]-[0123] measurement configuration information transmitted by a network device is obtained. The measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap, gap sharing information, and at least one measurement object, where The measurement configuration information include the measurement gap; the measurement gap may include, for example, the MGL, MGRP, gap offset, wherein measurement is performed on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap based on the gap sharing information, wherein [0069]-[0073] the measurement GAP can be configured for the terminal device, where the parameters for the measurement GAP can include GAP pattern identification (GAP pattern id), measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap offset (gap offset). Referring to FIG. 5, taking the measurement GAP in which the gap pattern identification is 1 as an example, MGL is 6 ms and MGRP with a value of 40 ms . As MGL represents the length of the measurement GAP and MGRP represents the repetition period of the measurement gap, this means the terminal device needs to perform the intra-frequency measurement or the inter-frequency measurement within 6 ms, wherein the measurement gap occurs every 40 ms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI, by including the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first MGL based on the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects; and
determining the first MGRP based on the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, as taught by Hu, in order to perform measurement on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap (see Hu [0117]- [0123]).
Regarding claim 6 ,16and 23, combination of ZHANG, FUTAKI and Hu discloses all features with respect to claims 5,15 and 21, respectively.
The combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI does not disclose wherein the first MGL is a largest value in the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects and the first MGRP is a smallest value in the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects.
Hu US 2023/0047684 A1 discloses wherein the first MGL is a largest value in the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects and the first MGRP is a smallest value in the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects. wherein [0069]-[0073] the measurement GAP can be configured for the terminal device, where the parameters for the measurement GAP can include GAP pattern identification (GAP pattern id), measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap offset (gap offset). Referring to FIG. 5, taking the measurement GAP in which the gap pattern identification is 4, wherein MGL is 6 ms (i.e., largest MGL) and MGRP with a value of 20 ms (i.e., smallest MGL) . As MGL represents the length of the measurement GAP and MGRP represents the repetition period of the measurement gap , this means the terminal device needs to perform the intra-frequency measurement or the inter-frequency measurement within 6 ms, wherein the measurement gap occurs every 20 ms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI, by including the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first MGL based on the MGL corresponding to the plurality measurement objects; and
determining the first MGRP based on the MGRP corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, as taught by Hu, in order to perform measurement on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap (see Hu [0117]-[0123]).
Regarding claims 7,17 and 24, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claims 4 , 14 and 21, respectively.
ZHANG further discloses wherein the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects comprises a measurement gap pattern of the plurality measurement objects [0066] –[0069] discloses measurement gap comprising the measurement gap parameter which include a period of the measurement gap, a time length of the measurement gap , a starting time of the measurement gap within one period, and an ending time of the measurement gap within one period. wherein the period of the measurement gap may be a period of the gap configured between measurements. the period of the measurement gap may refer to a period that the terminal device performs cell measurement. The terminal device may perform cell measurement within the measurement gap, where the time length of the measurement gap is 1.5 ms ( i.e., first MGL {MGL}), and The terminal device may perform the measurement every 4ms (i.e.,a first MGRP) ( i.e. a first measurement gap pattern).
ZHANG does not disclose wherein in response to determining that measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-gap-based and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern,
the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the one or more measurement objects comprises:
determining, by the terminal device based on the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, that the first measurement gap pattern is the measurement gap pattern in the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects.
FUTAKI US 2019/0182000 Al discloses wherein in response to determining that measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-gap-based and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern [0144]-[0145]For example, when one BWP group includes first and second BWPs, the RAN node 11 provides the UE 12, via RRC signaling ( e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message), with a first measurement configuration to be used when the first BWP is the active BWP and a second measurement configuration to be used when the second BWP is the active BWP. The UE 12 selects the first measurement configuration when the active BWP is the first BWP, and uses it for measurements ( e.g., RLM measurement, RRM measurement, and CSI measurement). Further, in response to switching of the active BWP from the first BWP to the secondBWP, the UE 12 autonomously switches measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration. Then, the UE 12 uses,for measurements, the second measurement configuration corresponding to the active BWP after switching ,[0222]wherein the measurement gap configuration indicates at least one of: presence or absence of the measurement gap; a length of the measurement gap; and a pattern of the measurement gap( see also [0162]) wherein (fig. 14c, and [0126] discloses the indication indicating that it needs a measurement gaps for measurement of BWP #2while it does not need a measurement gap for measurement of BWP #1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG by including wherein in response to determining that measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-gap-based and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern, as taught by FUTAKI, in order to switch measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration and perform measurement (see FUTAKI [0144]-[0145]).
The combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI does not discloses the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device based on the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, that the first measurement gap pattern is the measurement gap pattern in the measurement gap information corresponding to the one or more measurement objects.
Hu US 2023/0047684 A1 discloses the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects comprises:
determining, by the terminal device based on the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, that the first measurement gap pattern is the measurement gap pattern in the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects [0117]-[0123] measurement configuration information transmitted by a network device is obtained. The measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap, gap sharing information, and at least one measurement object, where The measurement configuration information include the measurement gap; the measurement gap may include, for example, the MGL, MGRP, gap offset, wherein measurement is performed on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap based on the gap sharing information, wherein [0069]-[0073] the measurement GAP can be configured for the terminal device, where the parameters for the measurement GAP can include GAP pattern identification (GAP pattern id), measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap offset (gap offset). Referring to FIG. 5, taking the measurement GAP in which the gap pattern identification is 1 as an example, MGL is 6 ms and MGRP with a value of 40 ms . As MGL represents the length of the measurement GAP and MGRP represents the repetition period of the measurement gap, this means the terminal device needs to perform the intra-frequency measurement or the inter-frequency measurement within 6 ms, wherein the measurement gap occurs every 40 ms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of ZHANG and FUTAKI, by including the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the one or more measurement objects comprises: determining, by the terminal device based on the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, that the first measurement gap pattern is the measurement gap pattern in the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, as taught by Hu, in order to perform measurement on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap (see Hu [0117]-[0123]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al in view of FUTAKI US 2019/0182000.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claims 4 and 14, respectively.
ZHANG does not disclose wherein before the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the one or more measurement objects, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns,
or
indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-gap-based measurement and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern.
FUTAKI US 2019/0182000 Al discloses wherein before the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns [0144]-[0145]For example, when one BWP group includes first and second BWPs, the RAN node 11 provides the UE 12, via RRC signaling ( e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message), with a first measurement configuration to be used when the first BWP is the active BWP and a second measurement configuration to be used when the second BWP is the active BWP. The UE 12 selects the first measurement configuration when the active BWP is the first BWP, and uses it for measurements ( e.g., RLM measurement, RRM measurement, and CSI measurement). Further, in response to switching of the active BWP from the first BWP to the second BWP, the UE 12 autonomously switches measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration. Then, the UE 12 uses,for measurements, the second measurement configuration corresponding to the active BWP after switching ,[0222]wherein the measurement gap configuration indicates at least one of: presence or absence of the measurement gap; a length of the measurement gap; and a pattern of the measurement gap( see also [0162]),
or
indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-dap-based measurement and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern [0144]-[0145]For example, when one BWP group includes first and second BWPs, the RAN node 11 provides the UE 12, via RRC signaling ( e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message), with a first measurement configuration to be used when the first BWP is the active BWP and a second measurement configuration to be used when the second BWP is the active BWP. The UE 12 selects the first measurement configuration when the active BWP is the first BWP, and uses it for measurements ( e.g., RLM measurement, RRM measurement, and CSI measurement). Further, in response to switching of the active BWP from the first BWP to the second BWP, the UE 12 autonomously switches measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration. Then, the UE 12 uses,for measurements, the second measurement configuration corresponding to the active BWP after switching ,[0222]wherein the measurement gap configuration indicates at least one of: presence or absence of the measurement gap; a length of the measurement gap; and a pattern of the measurement gap( see also [0162]) wherein (fig. 14c, and [0126] discloses the indication indicating that it needs a measurement gaps for measurement of BWP #2while it does not need a measurement gap for measurement of BWP #1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG by including wherein before the determining, by the terminal device based on measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, a first measurement gap pattern for measuring the plurality measurement objects, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports switching between at least two measurement gap patterns, or indicates that the measurement of the plurality measurement objects supports only switching between the non-measurement-dap-based measurement and the measurement-gap-based measurement that is performed based on a measurement gap pattern, as taught by FUTAKI, in order to switch measurement configuration from the first measurement configuration to the second measurement configuration and perform measurement (see FUTAKI [0144]-[0145]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al in view of Hu US 2023/0047684 A1.
Regarding claim 9 and 19, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claims 4 and, 13respectively.
ZHANG does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects.
Hu US 2023/0047684 A1 discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects [0117]-[0123] measurement configuration information transmitted by a network device is obtained. The measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap, gap sharing information, and at least one measurement object, where The measurement configuration information include the measurement gap; the measurement gap may include, for example, the MGL, MGRP, gap offset, wherein measurement is performed on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap based on the gap sharing information, wherein [0069]-[0073] the measurement GAP can be configured for the terminal device, where the parameters for the measurement GAP can include GAP pattern identification (GAP pattern id), measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap offset (gap offset). Referring to FIG. 5, taking the measurement GAP in which the gap pattern identification is 1 as an example, MGL is 6 ms and MGRP with a value of 40 ms . As MGL represents the length of the measurement GAP and MGRP represents the repetition period of the measurement gap, this means the terminal device needs to perform the intra-frequency measurement or the inter-frequency measurement within 6 ms, wherein the measurement gap occurs every 40 ms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG , by including wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information sent by a first network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the measurement gap information corresponding to the plurality measurement objects, as taught by Hu, in order to perform measurement on the at least one measurement object in the measurement gap (see Hu [0117]-[0123]).
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al in view of CHEN et al. US20220070713A1.
Regarding claim10, ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1 and, 13respectively.
ZHANG discloses wherein dual connections are established between the terminal device and both a first network device and a second network device [0053]-[0055] discloses when the user equipment is in a dual connection state NE-DC in which the user equipment is simultaneously connected to NR base station as a master cell group and LTE base station as the secondary cell group and the type of configured measurement gap of the user equipment is a user equipment-specific measurement gap or a band-specific measurement gap , and the method further comprises:
WHILE ZHANG further discloses wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the network device [0090]-[0115] For the UE in the connected state, determining whether there are a plurality of the measurement objects, and whether the UE needs to configure a measurement gap for the measurement object, wherein the UE is configured with measurement gap is allocated to the intra-frequency measurement of the UE, and where the measurement gap is allocated to the measurement objects to be measured by the UE and required to receive the synchronization signal block within the measurement gap, and
the measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement object group comprises that measurement of the measurement object in the measurement object group does not involve the measurement gap, or comprises measurement gap information corresponding to the measurement object in the measurement object group(fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap. Conversely, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose sending, by the terminal device, measurement gap configuration information corresponding to a measurement object group to the first network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device.
CHEN et al. US20220070713A1 discloses sending, by the terminal device, measurement gap configuration information corresponding to a measurement object group to the first network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device(Fig.1 and [0037]-[0040] discloses UE is dual connected with first node and second node, wherein The first node may be the master node or the slave node, the measurement gap may be configured directly by the first node , the configuration content of the measurement gap may be transmitted to the UE so that the UE may report the configuration content of the measurement gap to the second node). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG , by including sending, by the terminal device, measurement gap configuration information corresponding to a measurement object group to the first network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device, wherein a measurement object in the measurement object group is configured by the second network device, as taught by CHEN, in order to provide a measurement gap configuration (see CHEN [0015]).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument:
Applicant argued that the references cited do not disclose “determining, by a terminal device, whether a measurement gap is involved when each of a plurality of measurement objects is measured, wherein the terminal device works in a first bandwidth part (BWP) group, and
wherein the first BWP group comprises one or more active BWPs of one or more serving cells of the terminal device; performing, by the terminal device, non-measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality of measurement objects in response to determining that none of the plurality of measurement objects involves the measurement gap; and
performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality of measurement objects in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of measurement objects involves the measurement gap” as cited in claim 1.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
the reference ZHANG et al. US 2021/0306893 Al teaches the same inventive concept of the limitation as follow:
- “determine whether a measurement gap is involved when each of plurality measurement objects is measured in a first bandwidth part (BWP) group” [0039] discloses determine the usage of the measurement gap according to settings of the BWP on the carrier configured by the user. The method also provides a scheme for sharing the measurement gap between multiple measurement objects in combination with the network characteristics), and [0090]-[0104]
S210: For the UE in the connected state, determining whether there are a plurality of the measurement objects, and the UE needs to configure a measurement gap for the measurement object according to the process shown in FIG. 5. If there are at least two such measurement objects, the network should configure a RRC signaling X with a length of 2 bits for the UE, indicating up to four different possibilities. In this case, the UE needs to share the configured measurement gap in a plurality of measurement objects. For example, X=01, at least or at most Y1% (such as Y1=25) of the measurement gap is allocated to the intra-frequency measurement of the UE, and the remaining of the measurement gap is allocated to the other measurement objects to be measured by the UE and required to receive the synchronization signal block within the measurement gap; “wherein the first BWP group comprises an active BWP of one or more serving cells of the terminal device perform measurement-gap-based measurement or non-measurement-gap-based measurement based on the determination” (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap. Conversely, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE;
“performing, by the terminal device, non- measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality measurement objects in response to determining that none of the plurality measurement objects involves the measurement gap” [0065]the intra-frequency measurement may obtain the reference signals of the measurement objects without adjusting the radio frequency receiving point, and therefore the intra-frequency measurement does not require the measurement gap and wherein (fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, the currently active BWP completely contains the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, at this time, when the UE performs the measurement it is not required to configure the measure gap; and
-“performing, by the terminal device, measurement-gap-based measurement on the plurality measurement objects in response to determining on plurality measurement objects involves the measurement”(fig. 1 and [0067] discloses a channel measurement method, including: determining, by the user equipment, that the intra-frequency measurement is to be performed; determining whether a measurement gap is required according to a relationship between a bandwidth part configured by the user equipment and a synchronization signal block( i.e., measurement object(see[0055])) required for the intra-frequency measurement, performing a channel measurement based on the determined result; and [0074] discloses in all the BWPs configured by the UE, if the currently active BWP does not completely contain the SSB used in the intra-frequency measurement on the frequency resource, the measurement gap is required for the measurement performed by the UE.
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the limitation of the independent claim 1, as argued by applicants. The other Independent Claims, recite features analogous to those of Claim 1, the cited passages teach the other independent claims, as well. Furthermore, the cited passages teach dependent claims, as well.
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478