DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC §101 Rejection.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC §103 Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as addressed below.
The new 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (Vol. 84 No. 4, Jan 7, 2019 pp 50-57) has been applied and the claims are deemed as being patent ineligible.
The current 35 USC 101 analysis is based on the current guidance (Federal Register vol. 79, No. 241. pp. 74618-74633). The analysis follows several steps. Step 1 determines whether the claim belongs to a valid statutory class. Step 2A prong 1 identifies whether an abstract idea is claimed. Step 2A prong 2 determines whether an abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. If the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application the claim is patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Last, step 2B determines whether the claims contain something significantly more than the abstract idea. In most cases the existence of a practical application predicates the existence of an additional element that is significantly more.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a
statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C.
101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The below claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the independent claim 1 includes abstract ideas as highlighted (using a bold font) below.
“Claim 1. A method comprising:
obtaining, from a subterranean region of interest, a rock sample having a rock type;
defining a sequence of pore pressure, confining stress (PPCS) pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes;
determining, using a computer processor, a sequence of permeabilities by subjecting the rock sample to the sequence of PPCS pairs;
determining, using the computer processor, a relationship between the sequence of PPCS pairs and the sequence of permeabilities; determining, using the computer processor, a parameter using the relationship and a permeability model, wherein the permeability model comprises the parameter; and
determining, using the computer processor, an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in the subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model, wherein the in situ rock is of the rock type.”
“Claim 15. A system comprising:
a hydrostatic permeability system configured to subject a rock sample to a sequence of pore pressure, confining stress (PPCS) pairs; and
a computer system configured to:
receive the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes, determine a sequence of permeabilities following the rock sample being subjected to the sequence of PPCS pairs using the hydrostatic permeability system, determine a relationship between the sequence of PPCS pairs and the sequence of permeabilities, determine a parameter using the relationship and a permeability model, wherein the permeability model comprises the parameter, and determine an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in a subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model, wherein the in situ rock is of a rock type.”
The highlighted steps indicated as Abstract idea are considered to be equivalent to mathematical steps and fundamental aspect of mathematics or directed to mental processes performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation and opinion).
Under step 2A prong 2,
The claims do not comprises any particular field of use and claims do not direct to any practical application.
The steps of “obtaining, from a subterranean region of interest, a rock sample having a rock type” just data obtaining, which is insignificant extra solution activity.
The Steps of “receive the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes” just insignificant additional steps of receiving data.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity.
An additional element in Claims 1 and 15 merely includes computer processor and a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea-see MPEP 2106.05(f), which is not significantly more.
As recited in the MPEP, 2106.07(b), merely adding a generic computer components (processor), or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs, v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94.
The steps of “obtaining, from a subterranean region of interest, a rock sample having a rock type” just data obtaining, which is insignificant extra solution activity.
The Steps of “receive the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes” just insignificant additional steps of receiving data.
The depended claims 2 and 3 just describes the rock sample, which is insignificant additional steps.
The depended claim 5 comprising the cutting the rock sample, drying and pre-stressing the rock sample, is well-known steps in the relevant art.
The claim 11 just additionally describes the parameter details.
The claim 16 just additionally comprising rock sample extraction tool, which is well-known tool in the similar field of use.
The claim 17 just additionally comprising more details of extraction tool, which
comprising a coring system, which is well-known tool in the similar field of use.
Claim 18 additionally describing the hydrostatic permeability system.
Claim 19 additionally emit a pressure pulse in gas pump system, which is common insignificant steps in the relevant technology.
Claim 20 additionally describe the housing of the gas pump system, which is well-known housing.
The depended claims 4-10, and 12-14 are merely extend the details of the abstract idea
of mathematical concepts, more particularly mathematical calculations or mental steps as accrued.
Therefore claims 2-14 and 16-20 are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong, Qiao “Determination of Biot’s Effective-Stress Coefficient for Permeability of Nikanassin Sandstone”, hereinafter Qiao in view of Wang “Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth”, hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1, Qiao disclose a method comprising:
obtaining, from a subterranean region of interest, a rock sample having a rock type (Page 194, Fig. 1, map showing locations where the block samples were collected);
defining a sequence of pore pressure, confining stress (PPCS) pairs (Fig. 4, Table 1, where confining stress corresponds to the 10, 20 and 30 Mpa from left column corresponds to the parameters of pore pressure for instance: confining stress 10 MPA corresponds to the 2Mpa of Pore Pressure; form the Fig. 4, where confining stress corresponds to the 10 Mpa and pore pressure -2 Mpa (pair), and (confining stress 10 Mpa and Pore pressure 2 Mpa, second pair)) such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes (“sequency of permeabilities”, permeability changes with effective stress, see page 195, left col. Line 4-6, where estimate the Biot’s coefficient alpha on V sample and H-sample, a number of permeability measurements were conducted under different combination of confining stress and pore pressure (see Table 1 where sequence of the confining stress and pore pressure) data for determination for the permeabilities, e.g., permeability changes with effective stress);
determining, using a computer processor, a sequence of permeabilities by subjecting the rock sample to the sequence of PPCS pairs (Page 195, left and column: Estimation of Biot’s Coefficient alpha for Permeability: the permeability k follows the effective-stress law (i.e., it can be expressed as a function of effective stress, which is given by:
And further for “sequency of permeabilities” see page 195, left col. Line 4-6, where estimate the Biot’s coefficient alpha on V sample and H-sample, a number of permeability measurements were conducted under different combination of confining stress and pore pressure (see Table 1 where sequence of the confining stress and pore pressure) data for determination for the permeabilities, e.g.,
permeability changes with effective stress).
determining, using the computer processor, a relationship between the sequence of PPCS pairs and the sequence of permeabilities (Fig. 4, Table 1, Page 195, right col. Lines 22-28, where second test run which refers the variation in permeability with respect to the change in confining pressure only, can be deduced from equation 2, as follows:
);
determining, using the computer processor, a parameter using the relationship and a permeability model, wherein the permeability model comprises the parameter (Page 193, Summary: where effective-stress lay us defined as s eff=sc-as
Where sc , sp are total confining stress and fluid pore pressure, K is permeability).
Qiao does not disclose:
determining, using the computer processor, an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in the subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model, wherein the in situ rock is of the rock type.
Wang disclose determining, using the computer processor, an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in the subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model (Page 4716, right col. where change of permeability k with respect to changes in confining pressure Pc and pore pressure Pp:
where effective stress coefficient k for permeability:
e.g., the effective stress is parameter) wherein the in situ rock is of the rock type (Page 9, Fig. 7, where Permeability as a function of confining pressure for three different pore pressures for (a) Leltha, (b) Thala, (c) Purbeck).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in a subterranean region, as taught by Wang into Qiao in order to more efficiently and faster analyze geographic properties with different effective stress behavior.
Regarding Claim 2, Qian and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further Quin disclose wherein the rock sample comprises source rock (Page 193, col. Right, Testing and Measuring Method: where Nikanassin sandstone samples).
Regarding Claim 3, Qian and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further Qian disclose wherein the rock type comprises shale (page 193, right col. Experimental Investigation: Nikanassian formation ranges from very fine to coarse litharenite to quarztarenite…shale).
Regarding Claim 11, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further Qiao disclose wherein the parameter comprises a Biot coefficient (Page 195, left and column: Estimation of Biot’s Coefficient alpha for Permeability).
Regarding Claim 12, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further Qiao disclose wherein determining the relationship and determining the parameter comprises:
for each unique pore pressure (-2Mpa, 3 MPA, 5 MPa) among the sequence of PPCS pairs (Fig. 4, for each pore pressure (for 3 Mpa pore pressure the 10MPA, 20Mpa of the confining Stress and for 15 Mpa pressure corresponds(20Mpa and 30 Mpa pairs)):
fitting a linear line to confining stresses(see Fig. 4 linear line of confining stress) versus a natural logarithm of the sequence of permeabilities associated to each unique pore pressure, and determining a slope from the linear line (Fig. 3, where linearly representation sigma c=10,20 and 30MP corresponds to the a natural logarithm of sequence of permeability’s: [-3], [-2.4], [-2.1], [-1.4],[ -1], [Log, k] and pore pressure);
determining the parameter as an average slope from a plurality of the determined slopes (Figs.5 and 6, Page 196, left col., lines 21-22, where average Boit’s coefficient alpha for H-sample was 0.174).
Regarding Claim 13, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further Qiao disclose wherein determining the relationship and the parameter comprises:
or each unique PPCS difference among the sequence of PPCS pairs (Fig. 4, where confining stress represents 3 linear pairs and one of three values, each difference is unique):
Qiao does not disclose:
fitting a linear line to pore pressures versus a natural logarithm of the sequence of permeabilities associated to each unique PPCS difference, and determining an intercept from the linear line;
fitting a new linear line to each unique PPCS difference and the intercept for a plurality of the unique PPCS differences; and
determining the parameter as a slope of the new linear line.
Wang disclose:
each unique PPCS difference among the sequence of PPCS pairs (Fig. 7(a), where Pc in 7-11Mpa, 11-13Mpa for Pp= 2.6Mpa corresponds to the difference in sequency or PPCS pairs also see for Pp=3.6Mpa, where Pc= 8-10Mpa and so on…, e.g., each PPCS is unique difference, also see values for Fig. 7, (b-d)).
fitting a linear line to pore pressures versus a natural logarithm of the sequence of permeabilities associated to each unique PPCS difference, and determining an intercept from the linear line (See Fig. 7 (a-d) where permeabilities as a versus a natural logarithm of the sequence associated to each unique PPCS difference);
fitting a new linear line to each unique PPCS difference and the intercept for a plurality of the unique PPCS differences (Fig. 7, (a), where intercept for Pc =]7-11] MPa for pressure 2.6 Mpa intercept with Pc=[8-10]MPa, for pressure Pp=3.6 MPa); and
determining the parameter as a slope of the new linear line (page 4716, right col., lines 5-10, where change of permeability k with respect to changes in confining pressure PC and pore pressure Pp can be written as
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to fitting a new linear line to each unique PPCS difference, as taught by Wang Journal in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to visually represented the hydromechanical data for faster analyze geographic properties in different locations and different type of limestones.
Regarding Claim 14, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, but do not disclose wherein determining the relationship and the parameter comprises:
assuming a first parameter;
fitting an exponential line to the sequence of effective stresses and the sequence of permeabilities; and
determining a second parameter from the exponential line.
Wang Journal disclose:
assuming a first parameter line (page 4716, right col. , lines 5-10, where change of permeability k with respect to changes in confining pressure PC and pore pressure Pp can be written as
Where the effective stress coefficient k for permeability is given by
).
fitting an exponential line to the sequence of effective stresses and the sequence of permeabilities (Fig. 8. (a-d), where exponential line, where K=0.22, 0.31, for b) k=4.9,5.4, 7.8 is effective stresses coefficient and permeability, see wright col. lines 23-28, where slope to increase with decreasing permeability and increasing Terzaghi effective stress and Fig. 9a; and
determining a second parameter from the exponential line ( Where the effective stress coefficient k for permeability is given by
).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to fitting an exponential line to the sequence of effective stresses, as taught by Wang in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to visually represented the hydromechanical data for faster analyze geographic properties with different effective stress behavior.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong, in view of Qiao, as applied above and further in view of Zang et al (US Pub.20230168173A1), hereinafter Zang and Karimi Vajargah et al., (US Pub.20190292908A1), hereinafter Vajargah.
Regarding Claim 4, Qian and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, but do not disclose further comprising:
determining a hydrocarbon production rate based, at least in part, on the in situ permeability; and
determining a production management plan based, at least in part, on the hydrocarbon production rate.
Zang determining a hydrocarbon production rate based, at least in part, on the in situ permeability (para 0084, where the permeability (e.g., stress-dependent permeability) is determined for the core sample 106, a hydrocarbon production rate from a reservoir from which the sample 106 came can be predicted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide hydrocarbon production rate, as taught by Zang in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to enhance recovery efficiency and increase flow rate.
Vajargah disclose determining a production management plan based, at least in part, on the hydrocarbon production rate (para [0039], where and reservoir management, assign a global drilling and completion score to a well which considers parameters such as wellbore placement, days to drill and complete, hydrocarbon production rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determining a production management plan, as taught by Vajargah in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to provide operational, economic, and strategic benefits and reduce operational costs.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, as applied above and further in view of Liu (CN114323910A), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 5, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the rock sample, but does not disclose further comprises:
cutting the rock sample;
drying the rock sample; and
pre-stressing the rock sample.
Liu disclose cutting the rock sample (Page 2, lines 12-14, where the structural surface sample edge in the cutting sliding process, which will cause the test result is difficult to quantize);
drying the rock sample (Page 3, lines, 36-39, Step1, where collecting the fault mud sample, weighing a part of the fault mud sample, weighing and putting into a drying box, drying for 24h and then weighing, obtaining the water content of the fault mud sample according to the obtained difference, the water content in the example is 16 %, then drying); and
pre-stressing the rock sample (Page 3, lines 1-5, where setting the loading rate as the fixed displacement loading, converting the h6 into the time t0 applied by the pre-stress, controlling the thickness of the soft interlayer of the test piece after the pre-stress loading by the control time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide cutting, drying, and pre-stressing the rock sample, as taught by Liu in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to more efficiently inspect and characterize the material and protect sample sticking.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, as applied above and further in view of Santagati et al., (US Pub.20210010922A1), hereinafter Santagati.
Regarding Claim 6, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the rock sample is subjected to the sequence of PPCS pairs using a hydrostatic permeability system.
Santagati disclose the rock sample is subjected to the sequence of PPCS pairs using a hydrostatic permeability system (para [0051], where sample was then loaded to the first one of the required states of stress (hydrostatic or triaxial) and the permeability (k) is measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to comparing the determined probability to a threshold probability as taught by Santagati in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to more accurately detect the location data for the particular area/region.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, as applied above and further in view of Chen et., al (US Pub.20190234859A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 7, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs are selected to minimize Knudsen diffusion.
Chen disclose wherein pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs are selected to minimize Knudsen diffusion (Abstract, where lower pore pressure the permeability is impacted by both mechanical deformation of the rock and the Knudsen diffusion. by subtracting the permeability with higher pore pressure from the one with lower pore pressure, the impact of Knudsen diffusion and the mechanical deformation of the rock can be determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs are selected to minimize Knudsen diffusion as taught by Chen in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to improve accuracy of permeability measurements and accurate characterization of tight/shale formation.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, and Chen, as applied above and further in view of Wang (CN 104535472A), hereinafter Wang “472 and Guo (CN110470585A), hereinafter Guo.
Regarding Claim 8, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs are greater than 10 megapascals.
Wang “472 disclose the pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs are in megapascals (para [0053], where confining pressure and pore pressure which is capable of obtaining rock stress difference A, Ao = -, O is the confining pressure, is the pore pressure, the unit is MPa).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide pore pressures among the sequence of PPCS pairs, as taught by Wang ‘472 in combination of Qiao and Wang and Cheng in order to provide better understanding the subsurface pressure regime, and optimization extraction process and avoiding hazard.
Guo disclose the effective stress/(pore pressures) are greater than 10 megapascals (determine the experimental maximum horizontal well effective principal stress 25.5MPa, effective minimum horizontal principal stress 17.5MPa, the vertical effective stress is 21.5MPa), e.g., effective stress inversely corresponds to the difference between sequence of PPCS pairs and pore pressure, the effective stress decreases the pore pressure increase.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the effective stress above 10 megapascals, as taught by Guo in combination of Qiao and Wang and Cheng in order to more safety and stability of test and increasing energy absorption capacity, and stabilizing structures.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, as applied above and further in view of Yang “A modified pressure-pulse decay method for determining permeabilities of tight reservoir cores”, hereinafter Yang.
Regarding Claim 9, Qiao and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein determining the sequence of permeabilities comprises a pressure pulse decay method.
Yang disclose determining the sequence of permeabilities comprises a pressure pulse decay method (Abstract, where determining permeabilities of tight reservoir cores; modified pressure-pulse decay (PPD) method is proposed and tested for permeability measurement of tight cores see Page 240, right col. Para 4, Determining of permeability from experimental data, further see 4.1 Application of the OC-PPD method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the sequence of permeabilities comprises a pressure pulse decay, as taught by Yang in combination of Qiao and Wang in order to reduce the error in measurements and more efficiently provide the measurements.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Wang, and Yang, as applied above and further in view of Georgi et al., (US Pub.20180364142A1), hereinafter Georgi.
Regarding Claim 10, Qiao and Wang and Yang disclose the method of claim 9, further Qiao disclose wherein the pressure pulse decay method comprises:
obtaining a permeability-pressure model(Page 4716, right col. where change of permeability k with respect to changes in confining pressure Pc and pore pressure Pp:
where effective stress coefficient k for permeability:
e.g., the effective stress is parameter) wherein the in situ rock is of the rock type (Page 9, Fig. 7, where Permeability as a function of confining pressure for three different pore pressures for (a) Leltha, (b) Thala, (c) Purbeck )
subjecting a test sample to a PPCS pair (See Fig. 4, where pore pressure and confining Stress, page 196, left col. Where permeability values.., the pore-pressure and confining-pressure data were plotted).
Qiao and Wang and Yang do not disclose:
generating a pressure pulse;
determining a first transient pressure due to the pressure pulse;
determining a second transient pressure due to the pressure pulse; and
determining a permeability by fitting, in part, the first transient pressure and the second transient pressure to the permeability-pressure model.
Georgi disclose generating a pressure pulse (para [005], where a pulse-decay permeability (PDP) experiment is performed on a core sample retrieved from a formation. The PDP experiment includes flowing fluid through the core sample in a sealed enclosure. In response to flowing the fluid through the core sample, a change in fluid pressure is measured over time, e.g., a pulse-decay permeability the same technique as a generating a pressure pulse. Pulse decay permeability is method used to measure permeability by generating a pressure pulse (a sudden increase in pressure) e.g., a pulse-decay permeability the same technique as a generating a pressure pulse. Pulse decay permeability is method used to measure permeability by generating a pressure pulse (a sudden increase in pressure));
determining a first transient pressure due to the pressure pulse(Fig. 2B, # 205 (downstream) para [0012], where experimental pressure difference between the upstream and downstream reservoirs can be determined based on the pressure transient curves);
determining a second transient pressure due to the pressure pulse (Fig. 2B, # 203 (upstream), para [0012], where experimental pressure difference between the upstream and downstream reservoirs can be determined based on the pressure transient curves); and
determining a permeability by fitting, in part, the first transient pressure and the second transient pressure to the permeability-pressure model (para [0032], where FIG. 2C shows a dual-permeability system of matrix 201B and fracture 301, and FIG. 2D shows the corresponding pressure transient curves and para [0066], where FIG. 7B shows the logarithm of the normalized pressure transient curve against time at various gas leakage rates (refer to Eq. 41), and FIG. 7C shows the first derivative curves of the curves shown on FIG. 7B… calculate the apparent matrix permeability at various gas leakage rates. FIG. 7B shows that as gas leakage rate increases, the larger the bias in estimating the matrix permeability..).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide permeability-pressure model, as taught by Georgi in combination of Qiao and Wang and Yang in order predict a reservoir's productivity and profitability.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong, Qiao in view of Wang and Heller” Experimental investigation of matrix permeability of gas shales”, hereinafter Heller.
Regarding Claim 15, Qiao disclose a system comprising:
a hydrostatic permeability system configured to subject a rock sample to a sequence of pore pressure, confining stress (PPCS) pairs (Table 1, combination of confining stress and pore pressure, Table 2- results of the permeability measurements at confining and pore pressure); and
a computer system configured to:
determine a sequence of permeabilities following the rock sample being subjected to the sequence of PPCS pairs using the hydrostatic permeability system(Page 195, left and column: Estimation of Biot’s Coefficient alpha for Permeability: the permeability k follows the effective-stress law (i.e., it can be expressed as a function of effective stress, which is given by:
And further for “sequency of permeabilities” see page 195, left col. Line 4-6, where estimate the Biot’s coefficient alpha on V sample and H-sample, a number of permeability measurements were conducted under different combination of confining stress and pore pressure (see Table 1 where sequence of the confining stress and pore pressure) data for determination for the permeabilities, e.g.,
permeability changes with effective stress),
determine a relationship between the sequence of PPCS pairs and the sequence of permeabilities Fig. 4, Table 1, Page 195, right col. Lines 22-28, where second test run which refers the variation in permeability with respect to the change in confining pressure only, can be deduced from equation 2, as follows:
),
determine a parameter using the relationship and a permeability model, wherein the permeability model comprises the parameter (Page 193, Summary: where effective-stress lay us defined as s eff=sc-as
Where sc , sp are total confining stress and fluid pore pressure, K is permeability).
Qiao does not disclose: receive the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes,
determine an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in a subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model, wherein the in situ rock is of a rock type.
Heller disclose receive the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes (Fig. 7, where permeability versus simple effective stress, (effective stress monotonically decreasing), see Page 983, plug Permeability Measurements, for all six samples studied, permeability was measured at pore pressures from 1000-4000 psi (6.9 to 27.6 MPa) , confining pressures from 2000 to 8000 psi( 13.8 to 55 Mpa) and simple effective stresses ranging from 1000 to 4000psi (6.9 to 27.6 Mpa, e.g., the pore pressure is monotonically changes (increase)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the sequence of PPCS pairs such that a sequence of effective stresses monotonically changes, as taught by Heller into Qiao in order to more efficiently and faster analyze geographic properties with different effective stress behavior.
Wang “Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth” disclose
determine an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in a subterranean region of interest using, at least in part, the parameter and the permeability model, wherein the in situ rock is of a rock type(Page 4716, right col. where change of permeability k with respect to changes in confining pressure Pc and pore pressure Pp:
where effective stress coefficient k for permeability:
e.g., the effective stress is parameter) wherein the in situ rock is of the rock type (Page 9, Fig. 7, where Permeability as a function of confining pressure for three different pore pressures for (a) Leltha, (b) Thala, (c) Purbeck).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine an in situ permeability for an in situ rock in a subterranean region, as taught by Wang in the Qiao in order to more efficiently and faster analyze geographic properties with different effective stress behavior.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao, in view of Wang and Heller, as applied above and further in view of Suryadi et al., (US Pub.20200104544A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Qiao and Wang and Heller disclose the system of claim 15, but does not disclose further comprising a rock sample extraction tool configured to but do not disclose obtain the rock sample from the subterranean region of interest, wherein the rock sample is of the rock type.
Suryadi disclose comprising a rock sample extraction tool configured to obtain the rock sample from the subterranean region of interest, wherein the rock sample is of the rock type (para [0138], where the framework 600 (e.g., specific bit selection based on hole size, rock type, rock hardness, steering objectives).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide rock sample extraction tool, as taught by Suryadi in combination of Qiao and Wang and Heller in order to more effectively obtain the specific rock type sample.
Regarding Claim 17, Qiao and Wang and Suryadi and Heller disclose the system of claim 16, Qiao and Wang and Heller do not disclose wherein the rock sample extraction tool comprises a coring system.
Suryadi disclose the rock sample extraction tool comprises a coring system (para [0171], where after coring, while drilling abrasive formations, when a PDC bit is run after a roller cone bit, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide coring system, as taught by Suryadi in combination of Qiao and Wang and Heller in order to more effectively and easily analyze the specific rock sample.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao, in view of Wang and Heller, as applied above and further in view of Liu (US Pub.20220214262A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 18, Qiao and Wang and Heller disclose the system of claim 15, but do not disclose wherein the hydrostatic permeability system comprises:
a pressure generator configured to apply a confining stress to the rock sample; and
a gas pump system configured to apply a pore pressure to the rock sample, wherein the gas pump system comprises:
an upstream reservoir, and a downstream reservoir.
Liu disclose wherein the hydrostatic permeability (para [0001], where evolution of reservoir permeability owing to the stress change is used for predicting the hydrocarbon production from an unconventional reservoir and for managing the reservoir) system comprises:
a pressure generator configured to apply a confining stress to the rock sample (para [005], where a downstream pump connected to the downstream reservoir, a confining pump connected to the core container, a flow meter positioned upstream of the inlet, an inlet pressure sensor positioned proximate the inlet of the core sample); (para [006], where flow of gas from an upstream reservoir in the testing apparatus along an axial direction through the pressurized core sample into a downstream reservoir in the testing apparatus. During the steady-state flow, an inlet pressure at an inlet to the core sample, an outlet pressure at an outlet of the core sample); and
a gas pump system (Fig.1, # 32 and #42, para [0016], where an upstream pump 32; a downstream pump 42) configured to apply a pore pressure to the rock sample (para [0017], where upstream pump 32 and the downstream pump 42 may together be used to control fluid flow through the core sample 11, including the pressure and flow rate of the fluid through the core sample 11); (see para [0029], where flow of gas may be generated using an upstream pump in the testing apparatus to pump the gas from the upstream reservoir into the inlet of the core sample and a downstream pump in the testing apparatus to pump the gas from the outlet of the core sample to the downstream reservoir), wherein the gas pump system (Fig. 1) comprises:
an upstream reservoir, and a downstream reservoir (para [006], where flow of gas from an upstream reservoir in the testing apparatus along an axial direction through the pressurized core sample into a downstream reservoir in the testing apparatus. During the steady-state flow, an inlet pressure at an inlet to the core sample, an outlet pressure at an outlet of the core sample).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide gas pump system, as taught by Liu in combination of Qiao and Wang and Heller in order to increasing measurement efficiency.
Regarding Claim 20, Qiao and Wang and Heller and Liu disclose the system of claim 18, further Qiao disclose wherein the gas pump system houses helium (Fig. 2, Page 193, right Col, where sandstone samples using helium gas, The sandstone samples was placed inside a coreholder……cylindrical vessel that was connected to a helium-gas tank).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao, in view of Wang and Heller and Liu, as applied above and further in view of Georgi.
Regarding Claim 19, Qiao and Wang and Heller and Liu disclose the system of claim 18, but do not disclose wherein the gas pump system is configured to emit a pressure pulse.
Georgi disclose the gas pump system is configured to emit a pressure pulse
(para [005], where a pulse-decay permeability (PDP) experiment is performed on a core sample retrieved from a formation. The PDP experiment includes flowing fluid through the core sample in a sealed enclosure. In response to flowing the fluid through the core sample, a change in fluid pressure is measured over time, e.g., a pulse-decay permeability the same technique as a generating a pressure pulse. Pulse decay permeability is method used to measure permeability by generating a pressure pulse (a sudden increase in pressure) e.g., a pulse-decay permeability the same technique as a generating a pressure pulse. Pulse decay permeability is method used to measure permeability by generating a pressure pulse (a sudden increase in pressure)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide pressure pulse, as taught by Georgi in combination of Qiao and Wang in order protect system flow from damage, and provide the smoothing flow, reducing vibrations/noise.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857