DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, theis not supported by the specification or any of Applicant’s originally filed disclosure. Applicants’ remarks filed 17 June 2026 do not sufficiently provide for where support for the amendment may be found.
Claims 2-4 and 9-13 are rejected for their incorporation of the above due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walter (US 20250079616 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Walter is directed to a battery module consisting of a plurality of battery
cells arranged in a first direction (multiplicity of prismatic battery cells combined in succession, with
main face to main face (¶ 0018, 0048)), with each of the plurality of battery cells including a housing
having a gas-discharge valve and an electrode terminal provided on the housing (each battery cell has a
safety valve between the electrical contacts (¶ 0049)). The battery module has a cover member that
includes a first region and a second region, the first region is located above at least one of the electrode
terminals, and the second region is located above at least one of the gas-discharge valves (an outer
module cover lies on the side of the module with the electrical contacts (on top of the battery cells) and
has a region with rupture cut-outs positioned above the safety valves, with each safety valve associated
with a corresponding rupture cut-out (¶ 0049 - 0050). Each rupture cut-out is closed with a rupture disc
that is sufficiently thin that it opens when acted upon by the temperature and pressure of hot gas (¶
0023, 0060 - 0062). The first region and the second region also comprise a same material, with the first region (outer module cover) comprising fiber-reinforced material with glass fibers (¶ 0028) and the second region (rupture discs) comprising fiber-reinforced material with glass silk (¶ 0039 – 0040).
Regarding claim 2, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the second region extends in the direction of the battery cells because the battery cells are stacked main face to main face (¶ 0018, 0048), lining up the safety valves, and the rupture cut-outs are positioned above the safety valves, with each rupture cut-out corresponds to a safety valve (¶ 0049 - 0050).
Regarding claim 3, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the second region has rupture cut-outs, and each rupture cut-out is closed with a rupture disc that is sufficiently thin that it opens when acted upon by the temperature and pressure of hot gas (¶ 0023, 0060 – 0062), corresponding to the limitation of claim 3 of the second region being provided with a thin portion formed in the cover member.
Regarding claim 4, the features in claim 4 are outlined in claims 2 and 3 above.
Regarding claim 9, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein in the second region, each rupture cut-out is closed with a rupture disc that is sufficiently thin that it opens when acted upon by the temperature and pressure of hot gas (¶ 0023, 0060 - 0062), which allows the gas to escape and prevent contact with other electrically conducting components elsewhere on the module (¶ 0058), such as first region, the area without the rupture discs.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 3, wherein the second region is provided with a thin portion, the rupture cut-outs and rupture discs (¶ 0023, 0060 – 0062), and thus the limitations drawn to a notch portion and a groove portion are necessarily met.
Regarding claim 12, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the outer cover enables the exiting hot gas flow containing electrically conductive particles to be discharged rapidly from the module (at the second region) without the conductive gas coming into contact with adjacent electrically conducting components such as busbars, cell connectors, module connectors, etc. (located below the first region)(¶ 0058, 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (US 20250079616 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, Walter teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not teach a plate member placed on the plurality of battery cells, wherein the cover member is provided on the plate member. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to provide a second outer cover between the first and the battery module, and the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.
Response to Arguments
Examiner clarifies that the Walter reference was meant to be applied under U.S.C. 102(a)(2) instead of U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Appropriate correction has been made.
Applicant's arguments, see remarks pages 4-5, filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed as follows:
Applicant asserts that Walter fails to disclose the limitation “wherein the first region and the second region comprise a same material.” Based on a thorough interpretation of applicant’s limitation and the applied prior art, this is not persuasive because Paragraph 28 of Walter sets forth that the outer module, corresponding to the first region, can be a layer structure consisting of layers of fiber-reinforced material, with the fibers being exemplified as glass fibers, and Paragraph 39 and 40 of Walter set forth that the rupture discs, corresponding to the second region, can be likewise made of a fiber-reinforced material, with the fibers being exemplified as glass silk. Thus, the first region and the second region both comprise a same material of glass.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784