Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements submitted on 6/29/2023 and 10/22/2025 are being considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 15, 20, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,502,806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see below claim comparison.
Instant Application Claims
US Patent 12,502,806
1. A machine for processing a stone or stone-like slab, comprising:
a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis;
a bridge extending across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails;
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes;
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms;
a machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A axis rotation, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto, said spindle configured to mount a finger bit for routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab;
a first actuator carried by the carriage and connected to the machine yoke and configured to rotate the machine yoke about the C axis when routing or cutting on the slab; and
a controller connected to the spindle drive and first actuator and configured to rotate the machine yoke and maintain a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A axis when routing or cutting on the slab.
1. A slab processing machine, comprising:
a work table;
(claim 6):
a frame having guide rails, a bridge mounted for movement on the guide rails over the work table along an X and Y coordinate axis, and a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis, said machining head being supported by a lower end of said carriage.
(claim 7):
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, said machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation for bevel cutting.
(claim 1):
a machining head and at least one drive mechanism connected thereto configured to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation, said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone or stone-like slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods;
(claim 1)
a controller connected to the machining head and at least one drive mechanism, said controller configured to operate the machining head to rotate the machining head on the A-axis and bevel cut the slab while positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods.
10. A machine for processing a stone or stone-like slab having a top polished face, comprising:
a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis;
a work table positioned at the slab processing area, said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface;
vacuum pods positioned on the work surface of the work table, said vacuum pods being configured to support the top polished face of the slab for upside down routing or cutting;
a bridge extending across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails; (see bridge limitation in patent claim 6)
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes;
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms and at least one shaft supported by at least one of the support arms and axial with the A axis;
a machining head connected to said at least one shaft and rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A axis rotation about the shaft, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto, said spindle configured to mount a finger bit for routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab;
a first actuator carried by the carriage and connected to the machine yoke and configured to rotate the machine yoke about the C axis when routing or cutting on the slab; and
a controller connected to the spindle drive and first actuator and configured to rotate the machine yoke and maintain a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A axis when routing or cutting on the slab.
(claim 6):
a frame having guide rails, a bridge mounted for movement on the guide rails over the work table along an X and Y coordinate axis, and a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis, said machining head being supported by a lower end of said carriage.
(claim 1):
a work table;
a stone or stone-like slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods;
(claim 7):
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, said machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation for bevel cutting.
(claim 1):
a machining head and at least one drive mechanism connected thereto configured to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation, said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone or stone-like slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods;
(claim 1)
a controller connected to the machining head and at least one drive mechanism, said controller configured to operate the machining head to rotate the machining head on the A-axis and bevel cut the slab while positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods.
16. A method of processing a stone or stone-like slab, comprising:
providing a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis; (see patent claim 20)
moving a bridge across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails; (see patent claim 20)
moving a carriage on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes; (see patent claim 20)
rotating a machine yoke at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms;(see patent claim 21)
moving a machining head between the support arms and configured for A axis rotation, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto; (see patent claim 15)
mounting a finger bit to the spindle;
routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab using the finger bit; and
rotating the machine yoke about the C axis and maintaining a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A axis when routing or cutting on the slab.
15. A method of operating a slab processing machine having a work table, a machining head, at least one drive mechanism connected thereto, and a controller connected to the at least one drive mechanism, the method comprising:
positioning a stone or stone-like slab upside down on vacuum pods on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on the vacuum pods;
mounting a circular saw blade within the machining head;
controlling the at least one drive mechanism to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation;
rotating the machining head on the A-axis into a predetermined bevel angle; and
bevel cutting the slab while the slab is positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods.
20. The method of claim 15 comprising forming a frame having guide rails, a bridge mounted for movement on the guide rails over the work table along an X and Y coordinate axis, a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis, and the machining head supported at a lower end of the carriage.
21. The method of claim 20 comprising forming a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, and rotatably mounting the machining head between the support arms for A-axis rotation and bevel cutting.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/469,595 (US PG Pub 20250091250). Please see the below claim comparison, noting the specific obviousness type rejections of the claims below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application Claims
U.S. Patent Application 18/469,595
(US PG Pub 2025/0091250A1)
1. A machine for processing a stone or stone-like slab, comprising:
a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis;
a bridge extending across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails;
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes;
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms;
a machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A axis rotation, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto, said spindle configured to mount a finger bit for routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab; (see machining head recited in claim 9 of copending application)
a first actuator carried by the carriage and connected to the machine yoke and configured to rotate the machine yoke about the C axis when routing or cutting on the slab; and
a controller connected to the spindle drive and first actuator and configured to rotate the machine yoke and maintain a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A axis when routing or cutting on the slab.
9. A slab processing machine, comprising:
a work table;
a frame having guide rails;
a bridge mounted for movement on the guide rails over the work table along an X and Y coordinate axis;
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis;
a machining head supported by a lower end of the carriage;
(claim 16):
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, said machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation for bevel cutting.
(Claim 9):
at least one drive mechanism connected to the bridge, carriage and machining head and configured to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation, said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods; and
a controller connected to the machining head and the at least one drive mechanism, said controller configured to operate the machining head to rotate the machining head on the A-axis and bevel cut in the slab a sink hole for a farm sink while the slab is positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods; and
a laser projector connected to said controller,
wherein said controller is configured to project a first slab cut layout from the laser projector onto the work table to aid in positioning the slab upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods positioned on the work table, wherein the slab is oriented finished face down based upon a first mirror imaged slab cut layout that is projected from the laser projector.
2. The machine of Claim 1 wherein said controller is configured to periodically rotate the machine yoke 180 degrees so that the other support arm is leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit when routing or cutting on the slab.
Claim 16:
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, said machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation for bevel cutting.
(wherein the ability to rotate 180 degrees is considered obvious, and wherein the rotation imparts the ability to change leading arms)
3. The machine of Claim 1 comprising at least one shaft connected to the machining head and axial with the A axis and supported by at least one of the support arms of the machine yoke.
Claim 9:
rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation (…)
said controller configured to operate the machining head to rotate the machining head on the A-axis…
4. The machine of Claim 3 comprising a second actuator connected to the at least one shaft and controller, said second actuator configured to rotate the machining head along the A axis into a bevel routing or cutting position on the slab.
Claim 9:
at least one drive mechanism connected to the bridge, carriage and machining head and configured to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation, said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods; and
a controller connected to the machining head and the at least one drive mechanism, said controller configured to operate the machining head to rotate the machining head on the A-axis and bevel cut in the slab a sink hole for a farm sink while the slab is positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods
Claim 16:
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms, said machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation for bevel cutting
5. The machine of Claim 1 comprising a third actuator supported by the frame and connected to the bridge and carriage and said controller, said third actuator configured to drive the bridge and carriage during routing or cutting on the slab.
Claim 9:
a bridge mounted for movement on the guide rails over the work table along an X and Y coordinate axis;
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis;
at least one drive mechanism connected to the bridge, carriage and machining head and configured to drive the machining head over the work table in an X, Y, Z coordinate axis and rotate the machining head for C-axis rotation and A-axis rotation, said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods
6. The machine of Claim 5 wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge.
Please refer to the obviousness rejection provided below in view of Guazzoni regarding the motor limitations, as well as co-pending claims 9 and 16.
7. The machine of Claim 1 comprising a work table positioned at the slab processing area, and vacuum pods positioned on the work table, said vacuum pods being configured to support a top polished face of a slab for upside down routing or cutting.
Claim 9:
a work table;
(…)
cutting of a stone slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods
(…)
the slab is positioned upside down with the finished face down on the vacuum pods
8. The machine of Claim 7 wherein said work table comprises a milled and polished work surface.
Please refer to the rejection provided below regarding Poseidon 2 teaching of the quartz work table.
9. The machine of Claim 1 wherein said spindle at said machining head is configured to mount a circular saw blade, said machining head being configured to be rotated up to 90 degrees along the A axis to permit circular saw blade cutting.
Claim 9:
said machining head configured to mount a circular saw blade for respective cutting of a stone slab positioned on the work table with a finished face of the slab down on vacuum pods,
wherein the degree of rotation of 90 degrees is considered obvious, i.e. rotation within a range.
Instant claim 10 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 1, with the addition of the below limitations:
a work table positioned at the slab processing area, said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface;
vacuum pods positioned on the work surface of the work table, said vacuum pods being configured to support the top polished face of the slab for upside down routing or cutting;
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms and at least one shaft supported by at least one of the support arms and axial with the A axis;
Wherein claims 9 and 16, in combination with Poseidon 2 for the milled and polished work table, teach instant independent claim 10.
11. The machine of Claim 10 wherein said controller is configured to periodically rotate the machine yoke 180 degrees so that the other support arm is leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit when routing or cutting on the slab.
Instant claim 11 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 2, and thus claim 11 is rejected as provided above.
12. The machine of Claim 10 comprising a second actuator supported by the machine yoke and connected to the at least one shaft and controller, said second actuator configured to rotate the machining head along the A axis into a bevel routing or cutting position on the slab.
Instant claim 12 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 4, with the addition of the machine yoke (which is within co-pending claim 16) and thus claim 12 is rejected as provided above.
13. The machine of Claim 10 comprising a third actuator supported by the frame and connected to the bridge and carriage and said controller, said third actuator configured to drive the carriage during routing or cutting on the slab.
Instant claim 13 recites the same subject matter as contained within instant claim 3, and thus claim 13 is rejected as provided above.
14. The machine of Claim 13 wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge.
(claim 6 verbatim)
Instant claim 14 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 6 verbatim, and thus claim 14 is rejected as provided above.
15. The machine of Claim 10 wherein said spindle at said machining head is configured to mount a circular saw blade, said machining head being configured to be rotated up to 90 degrees along the A axis to permit circular saw blade cutting.
(claim 9 verbatim)
Instant claim 15 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 9 verbatim, and thus claim 15 is rejected as provided above.
Claim 16 recites the same subject matter contained within instant claim 1, with the exclusion of a few limitations, i.e. instant claim 16 is rejected using the same rationale as provided for instant claim 1 above.
Instant independent claim 1 recites all of the subject matter recited in instant claim 16; thus, independent instant claim 16 is rejected as provided by the rejection of instant claim 1 above.
Claim 17 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 2 and instant claim 11.
Please see corresponding rejections provided above.
Claim 18 recites the same subject matter as instant claims 3, and subject matter contained within instant claim 10.
Claim 19 recites the same subject matter as claim 12 verbatim, and same subject matter as instant claim 4.
(claim 12 verbatim)
Claim 20 recites the same subject matter as instant claim 13 with the addition of “the bridge”, as well as the subject matter of instant claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, the limitation reciting “a carriage…configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y, and Z coordinate axes” renders the claimed invention indefinite. Within the context of the claimed invention, two axes of movements (vertical and horizontal) are defined, wherein horizontal movement is recited in singular form. However, three axes of movement are then recited, i.e. X, Y, and Z coordinate axes. While the specification supports the three axes of movement, it is unclear if Applicant intended to recite a broader scope in the context of the independent claims (i.e. two axes of movement), or if the limitation misrepresents Applicant’s intention. Please amend the claim to clearly reflect that the carriage is configured for moment along three axes of movement if intended; the claimed invention is being interpreted as such.
Further regarding claims 1, 10, and 16:
“the path of advancement” does not have antecedent basis.
“a slab” is recited twice; please amend the second recitations of “a slab” to reflect “the slab” or “said slab”.
Each of the claims recite “opposing support arms”, “the support arms”, and “a support arm leading…”. In the latter limitation, please amend the claims to reflect proper antecedent basis, such as relying on the previously established support arms, or amend the claim to differentiate the latter support arm from the former opposing support arms.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites “a second actuator connected to the at least one shaft and controller”. It is unclear if the controller recited in dependent claim 4 relies upon the controller of claim 1, or if the controller of claim 4 is additional to the controller of claim 1. Examiner points out that in other dependent claims (claims 2, 5, and 6) recite “the controller” or “said controller”, which is different from the language recited in claim 4, i.e. without an article (said, the). Out of an abundance of caution, Examiner has pointed out the discrepancy and issue with antecedent basis. This issue is replicated in dependent claim 12 reciting the same limitation as claim 4. Please amend both claims to reflect Applicant’s intent.
Regarding claim 7, “a slab” is recited, however, claim 1 establishes antecedent basis for the slab. Please amend the claim to reflect proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 10, “the A-axis” does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites “said controller”. Neither claim 20 nor claim 16, from which claim 20 depends, recite “a controller”, and thus the recitation of claim 20 lacks antecedent basis.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table” as evidenced by: YouTube video of (1) Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table is Changing the Industry! (hereafter “Poseidon 1) and YouTube video of (2) Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table Fab Process 5 Axis Stone CNC Center (hereafter “Poseidon 2”).
Examiner’s Note: Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2 are YouTube videos showing clips of the same apparatus, i.e. the Poseidon T Rex Model S. The apparatus features shown within both videos are pointed out below and differentiated by stating ‘Poseidon 1’ or ‘Poseidon 2’.
Regarding claim 1, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose a machine for processing a stone or stone-like slab (see Reference Drawing 1, which is an annotated screen grab from 1:26 of the Poseidon 1 YouTube video), comprising:
a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis (see Reference Drawing 1 regarding the vertical supports and guide rails of the frame);
a bridge extending across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails (Poseidon 1: see bridge in Reference Drawing 1 as well as 0:15-0:18);
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes (Poseidon 1: see at least the carriage and X, Y, and Z axes in Reference Drawing 1; see also 0:15-0:18 regarding movement in the X and Y axes, wherein 0:22 also shows X, Y, Z, A, and C axes of movement; see also 0:56-1:13 regarding movement in the respective directions; see also 1:25-1:33);
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1 for the labelled machine yoke, support arms);
a machining head rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto, said spindle configured to mount a finger bit for routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see machining head in Reference Drawing 1; wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft; see 0:48 regarding the spindle and spindle drive; see 1:31-2:12 regarding the finger bits; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows rotation of the machining head about the A-axis in 0:09-0:11; wherein Poseidon 2 describes the bits as “high speed finger bit for sink cutting” in 0:39);
a first actuator carried by the carriage and connected to the machine yoke and configured to rotate the machine yoke about the C-axis when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 1:35-1:52, 2:00-2:46); and
a controller connected to the spindle drive and first actuator and configured to rotate the machine yoke and maintain a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A-axis when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Reference Drawing 1, annotated screen grab of Poseidon 1 at 1:26
Regarding claim 2, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose wherein said controller is configured to periodically rotate the machine yoke 180 degrees so that the other support arm is leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Regarding claim 3, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose comprising at least one shaft connected to the machining head and axial with the A-axis and supported by at least one of the support arms of the machine yoke (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1 for the labelled machine yoke, support arms, and shaft).
Regarding claim 4, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose comprising a second actuator connected to the at least one shaft and controller, said second actuator configured to rotate the machining head along the A axis into a bevel routing or cutting position on the slab (Poseidon 2: see at least 0:09-0:11 regarding an actuator connected to the shaft and controller to rotate the machining head, wherein cutting also takes place when rotated, see also Poseidon 1: wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft).
Regarding claim 5, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose comprising a third actuator supported by the frame and connected to the bridge and carriage and said controller, said third actuator configured to drive the bridge and carriage during routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see at least 0:13-0:22 regarding movement of the bridge and carriage by an actuator in combination with the controller, see also 0:50-1:13, 1:24-1:33).
Regarding claim 9, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose wherein said spindle at said machining head is configured to mount a circular saw blade, said machining head being configured to be rotated up to 90 degrees along the A-axis to permit circular saw blade cutting (Poseidon 1: see 0:47-0:52 regarding the circular saw blade being first mounted such that the rotational axis of the saw blade is parallel to the vertical direction, wherein 0:55-1:04 show the blade in action such that the saw blade rotational axis is now parallel to a horizontal direction, i.e. the saw blade has been rotated 90 degrees so as to permit cutting; Poseidon 2: see at least 0:09-0:11 regarding an actuator connected to the shaft and controller to rotate the machining head, wherein cutting also takes place when rotated).
Regarding claim 16, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose a method of processing a stone or stone-like slab, comprising:
providing a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis (see Reference Drawing 1, which is an annotated screen grab from 1:26 of the YouTube video of Poseidon 1, regarding the vertical supports and guide rails of the frame);
moving a bridge across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails (Poseidon 1: see bridge in Reference Drawing 1 as well as 0:15-0:18);
moving a carriage on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes (Poseidon 1: see at least the carriage and X, Y, and Z axes in Reference Drawing 1; see also 0:15-0:18 regarding movement in the X and Y axes, wherein 0:22 also shows X, Y, Z, A, and C axes of movement; see also 0:56-1:13 regarding movement in the respective directions; see also 1:25-1:33);
rotating a machine yoke at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1 for the labelled machine yoke and support arms; see also 1:25-1:33);
moving a machining head between the support arms and configured for A axis rotation, said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto (Poseidon 1: see machining head in Reference Drawing 1; wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft; see 0:48 regarding the spindle and spindle drive;);
mounting a finger bit to the spindle (Poseidon 1: see 1:31-2:12 regarding the finger bits);
routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab using the finger bit (see 1:39-1:57 of Poseidon 1; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows rotation of the machining head about the A-axis in 0:09-0:11; wherein Poseidon 2 describes the bits as “high speed finger bit for sink cutting” in 0:39); and
rotating the machine yoke about the C axis and maintaining a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A axis when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 1:35-1:52, 2:00-2:46; 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Regarding claim 17, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose comprising periodically rotating the machine yoke 180 degrees so that the other support arm is leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Regarding claim 18, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose wherein at least one shaft is connected to the machining head, said shaft being axial with the A axis and supported by at least one of the support arms of the machine yoke (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1 for the labelled machine yoke, support arms, and shaft).
Regarding claim 19, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose a second actuator supported by the machine yoke and connected to the at least one shaft and controller, said second actuator configured to rotate the machining head along the A axis into a bevel routing or cutting position on the slab (Poseidon 2: see at least 0:09-0:11 regarding an actuator connected to the shaft and controller to rotate the machining head, wherein cutting also takes place when rotated, see also Poseidon 1: wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft).
Regarding claim 20, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose a third actuator supported by the frame and connected to the bridge and carriage and said controller, said third actuator configured to drive the bridge and carriage during routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see at least 0:13-0:22 regarding movement of the bridge and carriage by an actuator in combination with the controller, see also 0:50-1:13, 1:24-1:33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table”, i.e. Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2, in view of Guazonni (US 10,675,780).
Regarding claim 6, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above. However, it is not explicitly clear that the actuator element(s) shown within Poseidon 1 and 2 comprise motors, i.e. Poseidon 1 and 2 do not explicitly teach wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of slab machining devices, Guazzoni teaches of an actuator system comprising motors, i.e. wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge (see Figures 2 and 6, as well as Col. 19 lines 24-55; second motor: wherein motorized carriage 18 has electric motor 20 (see Figures 2 and 6), wherein the motorized carriage is moved on bridge 16 in parallel to X axis by the actuator device 19 comprising motor 20; first motor: In turn and in an equally conventional manner not shown in the figures, the bridge 16 is movable along runways 82, 83 supported by the vertical supporting structures 17a, 17b perpendicularly to the bridge thanks to the action of an actuator device, conventional per se and not shown, configured to move the bridge 16 in parallel to the axis Y).
Guazzoni teaches of a similar slab machining device which includes a tool displaceable along the X, Y, and Z axes, and comprising a carriage (18) displaceable along a bridge (16) for performing the machining. Poseidon 1&2 clearly show actuating elements for providing movement along the respective axes, but do not explicitly show motor(s). Guazzoni provides specific motor structures for the actuators described, i.e. Guazzoni resolves the silence of Poseidon 1&2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated motors into the slab machining apparatus of Poseidon 1&2, as taught by Guazzoni. One would be motivated to do so because the motorized system of Guazzoni is described as having advantageously precise movements (Col. 19, lines 40-49). This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. motors for displacement, to improve a similar slab machining bridge translation device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table”, i.e. Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2 (see notation above regarding YouTube videos and titles), in view of the YouTube video of (3) T Rex 5 Axis CNC Stone Center and CNC Bridge Saw- The Real Fabrication Center (herein after “Poseidon 3).
Regarding claim 7, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Poseidon 1 and 2 further disclose a work table positioned at the slab processing area (see at least Reference Drawing 1), and pods positioned on the work table, said pods being configured to support a top polished face of a slab for upside down routing or cutting (see 1:14-1:21 regarding the elements connected to the hosing system, wherein the slab shown in the cited portion is upside down, and wherein routing or cutting is performed from 1:28-1:54; see also 0:23 regarding the pressure source connected to the labeled pods).
Poseidon 1 shows pods for holding a slab workpiece, however, it is unclear as to what pressure is being applied to the labeled pods, i.e. Poseidon 1 is silent regarding the pressure provided to create a vacuum pod.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of stone fabrication shops, Poseidon 3 teaches that the elements shown in both Poseidon 1 and 2, i.e. the labeled ‘pods’ in Reference Drawing 1, are vacuum pods (1:56-2:01 show negative pressure being applied, i.e. the pods are ‘vacuum’ pods).
Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 3 provide apparatuses configured to perform fabrication techniques on slabs of stone, wherein Poseidon 1 is silent on the features of the shown ‘pods’. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the pressure controller/vacuum device as taught by Poseidon 3 into the apparatus of Poseidon 1/Poseidon 2, i.e. the T Rex Model S Dual Table. Examiner notes that the Poseidon 1 is silent regarding the pressure being applied using the labeled pods, however, the pods of both Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 3 are being used to support a slab workpiece. Poseidon 3 also shows that the pressure can be in the range of -30 psi to 30 psi, i.e. both a positive and negative pressure. The negative pressure would serve to hold the slab workpiece while being operated on by the machinery, and wherein the positive pressure would enable a user to release the slab from the gripping vacuum pods, and also allow easier displacement/positioning of the slab as a result of decreased friction. Thus, one would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Poseidon 3 into the apparatus of Poseidon 1, i.e. the T Rex Model S Dual Table. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. pressurized holders for slabs, to improve a similar slab fabrication apparatus in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Examiner’s note: The claimed invention as applied to the above is rejected as unpatentable over the apparatus shown within the YouTube videos of Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2, in view of Poseidon 3. In Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2, two different work tables are shown, i.e. the quartz work table of Poseidon 2 is different from the work table shown in Poseidon 1, and thus Examiner has addressed the difference by providing an obviousness type rejection for selecting one of the two work table types.
Regarding claim 8, Poseidon 1 and 2 in view of Poseidon 3 teach the claimed invention as applied to the rejection of claim 7 above.
Poseidon 1 shows a first type of work surface, wherein Poseidon 2 shows a different type of work surface, and thus the combination of Poseidon 1 and 2 in view of Poseidon 3 does not explicitly comprise the embodiment of said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface.
However, Poseidon 2 teaches said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface (0:08 teaches of a “table surface made of quartz”).
Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2 disclose the same apparatus, i.e. the Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table assembly, wherein Poseidon 2 shows an alternative work table type. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used/selected the quartz work table with the Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, as taught by Poseidon 2. Poseidon 2 clearly suggests an alternative work table to the work table described by Poseidon 1, wherein one would be motivated to select the alternative work table based on personal preference and specifically because the references suggest using either. This modification would provide predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success, as Poseidon 2 clearly shows the quartz work table surface is usable with the T Rex Model S.
Regarding claim 10, Poseidon 1 and 2 disclose a machine for processing a stone or stone-like slab having a top polished face (see at least Reference Drawing 1), comprising:
a frame having vertical supports and guide rails, the frame defining a slab processing area in which a slab to be processed extends along an X and Y coordinate axis (Poseidon 1: see Reference Drawing 1, which is an annotated screen grab from 1:26 of the YouTube video, regarding the vertical supports and guide rails of the frame);
a work table positioned at the slab processing area (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1);
pods positioned on the work surface of the work table, said pods being configured to support the top polished face of the slab for upside down routing or cutting (Poseidon 1: see 1:14-1:21 regarding the elements connected to the hosing system, wherein the slab shown in the cited portion is upside down, and wherein routing or cutting is performed from 1:28-1:54; see also 0:23 regarding the pressure source connected to the labeled pods);
a bridge extending across the slab processing area and mounted for movement along the guide rails (Poseidon 1: see bridge in Reference Drawing 1 as well as 0:15-0:18);
a carriage mounted on the bridge and configured for vertical movement along a Z coordinate axis and horizontal movement on the bridge to define movement of a lower end of the carriage along the X, Y and Z coordinate axes (Poseidon 1: see at least the carriage and X, Y, and Z axes in Reference Drawing 1; see also 0:15-0:18 regarding movement in the X and Y axes, wherein 0:22 also shows X, Y, Z, A, and C axes of movement; see also 0:56-1:13 regarding movement in the respective directions; see also 1:25-1:33);
a machine yoke rotatably mounted at the lower end of the carriage and configured for C-axis rotation, said machine yoke comprising opposing support arms and at least one shaft supported by at least one of the support arms and axial with the A-axis (Poseidon 1: see at least Reference Drawing 1 for the labelled machine yoke, support arms, and shaft);
a machining head connected to said at least one shaft (Poseidon 1: see machining head in Reference Drawing 1) and rotatably mounted between the support arms and configured for A-axis rotation about the shaft (Poseidon 1: wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft), said machining head comprising a spindle drive and spindle connected thereto (Poseidon 1: see 0:48 regarding the spindle and spindle drive), said spindle configured to mount a finger bit for routing a sink hole or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 1:31-2:12 regarding the finger bits; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows rotation of the machining head about the A-axis in 0:09-0:11; wherein Poseidon 2 describes the bits as “high speed finger bit for sink cutting” in 0:39);
a first actuator carried by the carriage and connected to the machine yoke and configured to rotate the machine yoke about the C-axis when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 1:35-1:52, 2:00-2:46); and
a controller connected to the spindle drive and first actuator and configured to rotate the machine yoke and maintain a support arm leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit to relieve stress on the A-axis when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Poseidon 1 shows a first type of work surface, wherein Poseidon 2 shows a different type of work surface, and thus the embodiment of said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface is not explicitly shown in the annotated Reference Drawing 1 of the apparatus. Furthermore, within Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2, it is unclear as to what pressure is being applied to the labeled pods, i.e. Poseidon 1 and 2 are silent regarding the pressure provided to create a vacuum pod.
However, Poseidon 2 teaches said work table comprising a milled and polished work surface (0:08 teaches of a “table surface made of quartz”).
Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2 disclose the same apparatus, i.e. the Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table assembly, wherein Poseidon 2 shows an alternative work table type. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used/selected the quartz work table with the Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, as taught by Poseidon 2. Poseidon 2 clearly suggests an alternative work table to the work table described by Poseidon 1, wherein one would be motivated to select the alternative work table based on personal preference and specifically because the references suggest using either. This modification would provide predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success, as Poseidon 2 clearly shows the quartz work table surface is usable with the T Rex Model S.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of slab fabrication shops, Poseidon 3 teaches that the elements shown in both Poseidon 1 and 2, i.e. the labeled ‘pods’ in Reference Drawing 1, are vacuum pods (Poseidon 3: see 1:56-2:01 showing negative pressure being applied, i.e. the pods are ‘vacuum’ pods).
Poseidon 1&2, as well as Poseidon 3, provide apparatuses configured to perform fabrication techniques on slabs of stone, wherein Poseidon 1&2 is silent on the features of the shown ‘pods’. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the pressure controller/vacuum device as taught by Poseidon 3 into the apparatus of Poseidon 1/Poseidon 2, i.e. the T Rex Model S Dual Table. Examiner notes that Poseidon 1&2 is silent regarding the pressure being applied using the labeled pods, however, the pods of both Poseidon 1&2 and Poseidon 3 are being used to support a slab workpiece in a similar manner. Poseidon 3 also shows that the pressure can be in the range of -30 psi to 30 psi, i.e. both a positive and negative pressure. The negative pressure would serve to hold the slab workpiece while being operated on by the machinery, and wherein the positive pressure would enable easier release of the slab from the gripping vacuum pods, and also allow easier displacement/positioning of the slab as a result of decreased friction. Thus, one would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Poseidon 3 into the apparatus of Poseidon 1, i.e. the T Rex Model S Dual Table. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. pressurized holders for slabs, to improve a similar slab fabrication apparatus in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Poseidon 1 and 2 as modified above teaches the claimed invention, wherein modified Poseidon 1 and 2 further teaches wherein said controller is configured to periodically rotate the machine yoke 180 degrees so that the other support arm is leading along the path of advancement of the finger bit when routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see 0:19-0:23; 0:51-0:59; 1:20-1:25; 1:54; 3:06-3:10 regarding the controller and actuator; see 1:35-1:52 regarding leading one of the support arms along a path of advancement; wherein the rotation shown in the cited portions above provide a stress relief by switching; wherein Poseidon 2, showing the same T Rex Model S Dual Table apparatus, shows that one support arm adjacent the video camera is ‘leading’ during 0:42-1:00, and wherein the opposite arm is ‘leading’ along the path of advancement in 1:05-1:15).
Regarding claim 12, Poseidon 1 and 2 as modified above teaches the claimed invention, wherein modified Poseidon 1 and 2 further teaches a second actuator supported by the machine yoke and connected to the at least one shaft and controller, said second actuator configured to rotate the machining head along the A axis into a bevel routing or cutting position on the slab (Poseidon 2: see at least 0:09-0:11 regarding an actuator connected to the shaft and controller to rotate the machining head, wherein cutting also takes place when rotated, see also Poseidon 1: wherein as can be seen in 0:48-0:52, the machining head is in one configuration, and wherein as can be seen in 0:57-1:12, the machining head has rotated about the shaft).
Regarding claim 13, Poseidon 1 and 2 as modified above teaches the claimed invention, wherein modified Poseidon 1 and 2 further teaches a third actuator supported by the frame and connected to the bridge and carriage and said controller, said third actuator configured to drive the carriage during routing or cutting on the slab (Poseidon 1: see at least 0:13-0:22 regarding movement of the bridge and carriage by an actuator in combination with the controller, see also 0:50-1:13, 1:24-1:33).
Regarding claim 15, Poseidon 1 and 2 as modified above teaches the claimed invention, wherein modified Poseidon 1 and 2 further teaches wherein said spindle at said machining head is configured to mount a circular saw blade, said machining head being configured to be rotated up to 90 degrees along the A axis to permit circular saw blade cutting (Poseidon 1: see 0:47-0:52 regarding the circular saw blade being first mounted such that the rotational axis of the saw blade is parallel to the vertical direction, wherein 0:55-1:04 show the blade in action such that the saw blade rotational axis is now parallel to a horizontal direction, i.e. the saw blade has been rotated 90 degrees so as to permit cutting; Poseidon 2: see at least 0:09-0:11 regarding an actuator connected to the shaft and controller to rotate the machining head, wherein cutting also takes place when rotated).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Poseidon T Rex Model S Dual Table”, i.e. Poseidon 1 and Poseidon 2, in view of Poseidon 3 as applied above, and in further view of Guazonni (US 10,675,780).
Regarding claim 14, Poseidon 1 and 2 as modified in view of Poseidon 3 above teaches the claimed invention. However, it is not explicitly clear that the actuator element(s) shown within modified Poseidon 1 and 2 comprise motors, i.e. modified Poseidon 1 and 2 do not explicitly teach wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of slab machining devices, Guazzoni teaches of an actuator system comprising motors, i.e. wherein said third actuator comprises a first motor supported by the frame and connected to the controller and bridge and configured to drive bridge movement on the frame, and a second motor supported by the bridge and connected to the controller and carriage and configured to drive carriage movement on the bridge (see Figures 2 and 6, as well as Col. 19 lines 24-55; second motor: wherein motorized carriage 18 has electric motor 20 (see Figures 2 and 6), wherein the motorized carriage is moved on bridge 16 in parallel to X axis by the actuator device 19 comprising motor 20; first motor: In turn and in an equally conventional manner not shown in the figures, the bridge 16 is movable along runways 82, 83 supported by the vertical supporting structures 17a, 17b perpendicularly to the bridge thanks to the action of an actuator device, conventional per se and not shown, configured to move the bridge 16 in parallel to the axis Y).
Guazzoni teaches of a similar slab machining device which includes a tool displaceable along the X, Y, and Z axes, and comprising a carriage (18) displaceable along a bridge (16) for performing the machining. Poseidon 1&2 clearly show actuating elements for providing movement along the respective axes, but do not explicitly show motor(s). Guazzoni provides specific motor structures for the actuators described, i.e. Guazzoni resolves the silence of modified Poseidon 1&2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated motors into the slab machining apparatus of Poseidon 1&2, as taught by Guazzoni. One would be motivated to do so because the motorized system of Guazzoni is described as having advantageously precise movements (Col. 19, lines 40-49). This modification would be recognized as using a known structure, i.e. motors for displacement, to improve a similar slab machining bridge translation device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guazzoni (US 20130055550), see [0068] and Figure 1.
Traini (US 20170252946) see [0033-0035] and Abstract.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723