DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Akselrod et al. (US Pub. 20190285798, Akselrod) teaches
As per claim 7, Akselrod teaches a dynamically tunable resonant structure (“adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguide”), comprising: a planar layer of a first conductive material (an outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) to form an outer shell; a cavity (region inside the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) formed in the first conductive material that extends through the first conductive material between a first planar surface of the first conductive material (upper surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) and a second, opposing planar surface of the first conductive material (lower surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54); a second conductive material (a second curved elongated metal rail which forms a smaller concentric ring, see paragraph 54) that is placed within the cavity and extends between the first planar surface and second, opposing planar surface of the first conductive material; and liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63) deposited within the cavity, wherein a refractive index of the liquid crystal changes in response to changes in an applied voltage differential between a coaxial core of the second conductive material and the first conductive material (paragraphs 34, 54, 60, and 63) wherein the cavity formed in the first conductive material is cylindrical, wherein the second conductive material is a cylinder that is coaxial with the cylindrical cavity (paragraph 54), wherein the length between the first planar surface and the opposing, second planar surface of the first conductive material is between 50 and 500 nanometers (400 nm see paragraph 49),
However, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing wherein a dynamically tunable resonant structure in which radius of the cavity is between 25 and 225 nanometers, and wherein the second conductive material cylinder has a radius that is less than the radius of the cavity and is between 24 nanometers and 224 nanometers in combination with the other required elements of claim 7 and claim 1 from which claim 7 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, and 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akselrod et al. (US Pub. 20190285798, Akselrod).
As per claim 1, Akselrod teaches a dynamically tunable resonant structure (“adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguide”), comprising: a planar layer of a first conductive material (an outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) to form an outer shell; a cavity (region inside the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) formed in the first conductive material that extends through the first conductive material between a first planar surface of the first conductive material (upper surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) and a second, opposing planar surface of the first conductive material (lower surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54); a second conductive material (a second curved elongated metal rail which forms a smaller concentric ring, see paragraph 54) that is placed within the cavity and extends between the first planar surface and second, opposing planar surface of the first conductive material; and liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63) deposited within the cavity, wherein a refractive index of the liquid crystal changes in response to changes in an applied voltage differential between a coaxial core of the second conductive material and the first conductive material (paragraphs 34, 54, 60, and 63).
As per claim 2, Akselrod teaches that the first conductive material and the second conductive material are the same conductive material (paragraph 38).
As per claim 3, Akselrod teaches that the first conductive material and the second conductive material each comprise at least one metal selected from a group of metals that includes copper, tin, gold, silver, titanium, aluminum, zinc, nickel, platinum, beryllium, rhodium, magnesium, and iridium (paragraph 38).
As per claim 4, Akselrod teaches that the cavity formed in the first conductive material is cylindrical (paragraph 54), and wherein the second conductive material is a cylinder (paragraph 54), and wherein the cylinder has an axis aligned perpendicular to the first planar surface of the first conductive material (see paragraph 54 and figures 1B which shows that rails are formed with flat upper and lower surfaces).
As per claim 5, Akselrod teaches that the cavity is ring-shaped, and wherein the second conductive material is coaxial with the ring-shaped cavity (paragraph 54).
As per claim 6, Akselrod teaches that a length between the first planar surface and the opposing, second planar surface of the first conductive material is between 50 and 500 nanometers (400 nm see paragraph 49).
As per claim 8, Akselrod teaches comprising an optical isolation structure (layer of copper which is optically reflective, see paragraph 42) on the second, opposing planar surface that prevents optical radiation from passing through the cavity.
As per claim 9, Akselrod teaches a metasurface (arrangement of adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguides, see paragraph 45), comprising: a plurality of dynamically tunable resonant structures (adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguides), wherein each dynamically tunable resonant structure comprises: a first conductive material (an outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) to form an outer shell, a cavity (region inside the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) formed in the first conductive material that extends through the first conductive material between a first surface of the first conductive material (upper surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) and a second, opposing surface of the first conductive material (lower surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54), a second conductive material (a second curved elongated metal rail which forms a smaller concentric ring, see paragraph 54) with an axis parallel to an axis of the cavity and extending between the first surface and second, opposing surface of the first conductive material (paragraph 54), and liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63) deposited within the cavity, wherein a refractive index of the liquid crystal changes in response to changes in an applied voltage differential between the second conductive material and the first conductive material (paragraphs 34, 54, 60, and 63); and a controller to: identify a pattern of surface currents to generate on the metasurface to achieve a target field within a region of space proximate to the metasurface, and selectively apply a pattern of distinct voltages to the second conductive material of at least some of the of the dynamically tunable resonant structures to generate the identified pattern of surface currents to produce the target field within the region of space proximate the metasurface (paragraph 41, 54, and 61-62).
As per claim 10, Akselrod teaches that the first conductive material and the second conductive material of each dynamically tunable resonant structure are the same material (paragraph 38).
As per claim 11, Akselrod teaches that the first conductive material and the second conductive material of each dynamically tunable resonant structure each comprises at least one metal selected from a group of metals that includes copper, tin, gold, silver, titanium, aluminum, zinc, nickel, platinum, beryllium, rhodium, magnesium, and iridium (paragraph 38).
As per claim 12, Akselrod teaches a tunable resonant structure (adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguides), comprising: a first resonant layer that includes: a conductive outer shell (an outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54), a cavity (region inside the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) formed in the conductive outer shell that is filled with liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63), and a conductive core material (a second curved elongated metal rail which forms a smaller concentric ring, see paragraph 54) within the cavity and with an axis parallel to an axis of the cavity (paragraph 54); and a second, optical isolation layer (reflective layer/copper and an insulating layer/ non-conductive layer, see paragraphs 42 and 44) comprising a dielectric that at least partially overlaps the liquid crystal in the cavity (paragraph 44).
As per claim 16, Akselrod teaches that the conductive outer shell and the conductive core comprise copper (paragraph 38).
As per claim 17, Akselrod teaches that application of a voltage differential between the conductive core and the conductive outer shell causes the liquid crystal to rotate within the cavity, and wherein rotation of the liquid crystal within the ring-shaped cavity changes resonance properties of the tunable resonant structure, such that variations in the applied voltage differential correspond to variations in the resonance properties of the tunable resonant structure (see paragraphs 34, 63, and 66).
As per claim 18, Akselrod teaches a bicoaxial resonator structure, comprising: an outer conductive shell (an outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) with an aperture (region inside the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) formed therethrough that extends from a first surface of the outer conductive shell (upper surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) to a second, opposing surface of the outer conductive shell (lower surface of the outermost curved elongated metal rail which forms the largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54); a core (curved elongated metal rail which forms the 3ed largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) having a first radius, R1, that extends though the aperture from the first surface to the second, opposing surface of the outer conductive shell; a first ring-shaped resonant cavity (cavity formed between the curved elongated metal rail which forms the 3ed largest concentric ring and the curved elongated metal rail which forms the 2ed largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) that extends through the aperture and has a width defined by the first radius, R1, to a second radius, R2, wherein the first ring-shaped resonant cavity is filled with liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63) and is coaxial with the core (see paragraph 54); a ring-shaped conductor (curved elongated metal rail which forms the 2ed largest concentric ring, see paragraph 54) that extends through the aperture and has a width defined by the second radius, R2, to a third radius, R3, wherein the ring-shaped conductor is coaxial with the core; and a second, ring-shaped resonant cavity that extends through the aperture and has a width defined by the third radius, R3, to a radius of the aperture of the outer conductive shell, wherein the second ring-shaped resonant cavity is filled with liquid crystal (liquid crystal electrically-adjustable dielectric, see paragraphs 40 and 63) and is coaxial with the ring-shaped conductor (see paragraph 54).
As per claim 19, Akselrod teaches that the core is one of: cylindrical, wherein the first ring-shaped resonant cavity, the ring-shaped conductor, and the second ring-shaped resonant cavity comprise concentric circular ring-shapes (paragraph 54), and rectangular, wherein the first ring-shaped resonant cavity, the ring-shaped conductor, and the second ring-shaped resonant cavity comprise concentric rectangular ring-shapes.
As per claim 20, Akselrod teaches that the cavities and conductors are related by a homeomorphism to the bicoaxial resonator structure (paragraph 54).
As per claim 21, Akselrod teaches that the core, the outer conductive shell, and the ring-shaped conductor each comprises a metal (paragraph 38).
As per claim 22, Akselrod teaches that the core and the ring-shaped conductor are formed via removal of material to form the first and second ring-shaped resonant cavities (paragraphs 31, 56, and 86).
As per claim 23, Akselrod teaches a substrate (substrate, see paragraph 42) on which each of the core, the outer conductive shell, and the ring-shaped conductor are positioned (see paragraph 42).
As per claim 24, Akselrod teaches an optical isolation structure (layer of copper which is optically reflective, see paragraph 42) that prevents optical radiation from passing through the bicoaxial resonator structure via the first and second ring-shaped resonant cavities filled with liquid crystal.
As per claim 25, Akselrod teaches a voltage controller to apply a first voltage to the core and a second voltage to the ring-shaped conductor, such that a refractive index of the liquid crystal within the first ring-shaped resonant cavity is modified to be different than a refractive index of the liquid crystal within the second ring-shaped resonant cavity (paragraph 41, 54, and 61-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod et al. (US Pub. 20190285798, Akselrod).
As per claim 13, Akselrod teaches that the cavity is ring-shaped (see paragraphs 40 and 54).
Akselrod does not specifically teach that the dielectric of the second, optical isolation layer is ring-shaped.
However, Akselrod teaches in another embodiment (shown in figures 3A-3B) forming the dielectric (insulator 390) of the second, optical isolation layer (insulator 390 and reflector 397) to have the same shape as the channel region by providing a notch (393) in the reflective portion of the optical isolation layer which has the same shape as the channel region (paragraph 96) which is filled with the insulator in order to minimize coupling between adjacent waveguides (paragraph 99).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the optical isolation layer such that the dielectric of the optical isolation layer is ring-shaped in order to minimize coupling between adjacent waveguides.
As per claim 14, Akselrod teaches that the ring-shaped dielectric of the second, optical isolation layer has a larger radius than the ring-shaped cavity and is coaxial with the ring-shaped cavity, such that a portion of the ring-shaped dielectric overlaps the conductive outer shell, and another portion of the ring-shaped dielectric overlaps the liquid crystal in the ring-shaped cavity (see paragraphs 54 and 96).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod et al. (US Pub. 20190285798, Akselrod) as applied to claim 12 above and in further view of Akselrod et al. (US Pub. 20200303827, Akselrod’827).
As per claim 15, Akselrod does not teach a bias layer that is electrically coupled to the conductive core through a conductive portion of the second, optical isolation layer.
However, Akselrod’827 teaches (in figure 4B) providing a bias layer (“insulated through-bores” paragraph 56) that is electrically coupled to the conductive rails (430) through a conductive portion (reflective surface 410) of the second, optical isolation layer (reflective surface 410 and oxide layer 420) in order to electrically connect the rails to the voltage controller (461) (paragraph 56).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the bias layer from Akselrod’827 in the device of Akselrod in order to provide a means of supplying voltages to the conductive rails.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871