DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the communication filed on June 29, 2023. Claims 1-20 were originally received for consideration. No preliminary amendments for the claims have been received.
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS (form 1449), received on 6/29/23, 8/2/24, 9/9/24, 9/12/24, 10/2/24, 10/11/24, 12/6/24, 1/13/25, 2/4/25, 3/22/25, 4/8/25, 4/21/25, 5/21/25, 6/20/25, 8/12/25, 9/17/25, and 10/13/25, are attached to this Office Action.,
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 2-5, 12-15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/343,955 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application ‘955 discloses the substantially same subject matter of the claims of the present application and the claims anticipate the independent claims of the present application. Claim 1 of the reference application discloses obtaining data comprising a populated field and unpopulated field, the unpopulated field lacking information, making a determination whether a first inference model can predict the unpopulated field with a sufficient degree of reliability, and in an instance of the determination in which the first inference model can predict at least the unpopulated field, generating an inference using the first inference model, and populating the unpopulated field using the inference to obtain the supplemental data and providing the supplemental data to a downstream consumer. The only difference in the claim is the reference patent application discloses a “sufficient degree of reliability” and the present application discloses a “reliability range.” These statements are analogous as a reliability range would compass a degree of reliability. Therefore the independent claims are see as anticipated by the reference application. The dependent claims disclose substantially similar subject matter (see claim 2 of both applications disclosing a second inference model).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 2013/0226838) in view of Achin et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 2018/0046926).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses:
A method of managing operation of a data pipeline, the method comprising:
A method of managing operation of a data pipeline, the method comprising:
obtaining data comprising a populated field and an unpopulated field, the unpopulated field lacking information due to limitations on information collection (paragraph 0041: the missing value imputation system 110 uses only the target variable to impute missing values in predictor variables. Thus only univariate and bivariate statistics between the target variable and a predictor variable with missing values are used to build imputation models, regardless of their measurement levels, and those statistics can be computed for all predictor variables within each Mapper or data source independently);
making a determination regarding whether a first inference model can predict at least the unpopulated field within a reliability range, the reliability range ensuring that inferences generated by the first inference model comply with the limitations (paragraphs 0034-0035: In block 304, the missing value imputation system 110, for each of the one or more predictor variables, evaluates the imputation models based on the global validation sample and selecting a top number (i.e., a top K) of the imputation models to form an ensemble model. Block 304 represents a second map reduce job. In block 304, a global validation sample is scored by each Mapper to evaluate the accuracy of an imputation model. The Reducer selects the top K imputation models out of N possible imputation models based on some accuracy measures as the final ensemble model for each of the one or more predictor variables with missing values);
in an instance of the determination in which the first inference model can predict the at least the unpopulated field (paragraphs 0074-0076: missing value will be imputed):
generating an inference using the first inference model (paragraphs 0035, 0068-0077: missing value imputation system imputes the missing value for each of the predictor variables using data from the multiple data sources, one or more formed ensemble models, and a selected imputation strategy);
populating the unpopulated field using the inference to obtain supplemented data (paragraphs 0031, 0035-0036, 0083: The missing value imputation system 110 uses one or more imputation models to generate one set of values for inputs with missing values);
populating the unpopulated field using the inference to obtain supplemented data; and providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer (paragraphs 0031, 0035-0036, 0083: The missing value imputation system 110 uses one or more imputation models to generate one set of values for inputs with missing values); and
Chu does not explicitly disclose providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer. Chu does generally disclose providing the predictive models to end users (paragraphs 0035, 0041, 0118-0119: completed data set is provided to consumers to build predictive models and workload layers including the predictive models with missing value imputation). In an analogous art, Achin discloses communicating the output of the predictive modeling module to the client (paragraph 0283). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the data to a consumer so they can have access to the modeling techniques and oversee the execution (Achin: paragraph 0283).
Claim 6 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Achin discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein making the determination comprises:
identifying a type of the unpopulated field (paragraph 0015-0017: values of targets to be predicted); and
identifying that the type of the unpopulated field is one of the types of the unpopulated fields for which the inferences are generated by the first inference model (paragraphs 0015-0017: values of targets to be predicted).
Claim 7 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 6. Furthermore, Achin discloses:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first inference model is based on qualified training data, the qualified training data comprising a subset of all available training data, the subset of the all available training data being selected based on a second inference model (Figure 11A and associated text: perform a second-order predictive modeling procedure on the first-order model).
Claim 8 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 7. Furthermore, Achin discloses:
The method of claim 7, wherein the subset of the all available training data is also selected based on the reliability range (Figure 10 and associated test: determining accuracy scores for each fitted predictive model).
Claim 9 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 8. Furthermore, Achin discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the subset of the all available training data comprises a set of features that prevents perfect prediction of labels of the training data by the first inference model (paragraph 0027: cross-validation of the predictive models includes generating second training data and fitting the predictive model to the second training data to obtain a second fitted model).
Claim 10 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 7. Furthermore, Achin discloses:
The method of claim 7, wherein the second inference model is a self-supervised learning inference model, and the first inference model being a supervised learning inference model (Figure 11A and associated text: perform a second-order predictive modeling procedure on the first-order model).
Regarding claim 11, Chu discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing operation of a data pipeline, the operations comprising:
obtaining data comprising a populated field and an unpopulated field, the unpopulated field lacking information due to limitations on information collection (paragraph 0041: the missing value imputation system 110 uses only the target variable to impute missing values in predictor variables. Thus only univariate and bivariate statistics between the target variable and a predictor variable with missing values are used to build imputation models, regardless of their measurement levels, and those statistics can be computed for all predictor variables within each Mapper or data source independently);
making a determination regarding whether a first inference model can predict at least the unpopulated field within a reliability range, the reliability range ensuring that inferences generated by the first inference model comply with the limitations (paragraphs 0034-0035: In block 304, the missing value imputation system 110, for each of the one or more predictor variables, evaluates the imputation models based on the global validation sample and selecting a top number (i.e., a top K) of the imputation models to form an ensemble model. Block 304 represents a second map reduce job. In block 304, a global validation sample is scored by each Mapper to evaluate the accuracy of an imputation model. The Reducer selects the top K imputation models out of N possible imputation models based on some accuracy measures as the final ensemble model for each of the one or more predictor variables with missing values);
in an instance of the determination in which the first inference model can predict the at least the unpopulated field (paragraphs 0074-0076: missing value will be imputed):
generating an inference using the first inference model (paragraphs 0035, 0068-0077: missing value imputation system imputes the missing value for each of the predictor variables using data from the multiple data sources, one or more formed ensemble models, and a selected imputation strategy);
populating the unpopulated field using the inference to obtain supplemented data; and providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer (paragraphs 0031, 0035-0036, 0083: The missing value imputation system 110 uses one or more imputation models to generate one set of values for inputs with missing values); and
Chu does not explicitly disclose providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer. Chu does generally disclose providing the predictive models to end users (paragraphs 0035, 0041, 0118-0119: completed data set is provided to consumers to build predictive models and workload layers including the predictive models with missing value imputation). In an analogous art, Achin discloses communicating the output of the predictive modeling module to the client (paragraph 0283). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the data to a consumer so they can have access to the modeling techniques and oversee the execution (Achin: paragraph 0283).
Regarding claim 16, Chu discloses:
A data processing system, comprising:
a processor (paragraph 0107: processor); and
a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor (paragraph 0107: memory), cause the processor to perform operations for managing operation of a data pipeline, the operations comprising:
obtaining data comprising a populated field and an unpopulated field, the unpopulated field lacking information due to limitations on information collection (paragraph 0041: the missing value imputation system 110 uses only the target variable to impute missing values in predictor variables. Thus only univariate and bivariate statistics between the target variable and a predictor variable with missing values are used to build imputation models, regardless of their measurement levels, and those statistics can be computed for all predictor variables within each Mapper or data source independently);
making a determination regarding whether a first inference model can predict at least the unpopulated field within a reliability range, the reliability range ensuring that inferences generated by the first inference model comply with the limitations (paragraphs 0034-0035: In block 304, the missing value imputation system 110, for each of the one or more predictor variables, evaluates the imputation models based on the global validation sample and selecting a top number (i.e., a top K) of the imputation models to form an ensemble model. Block 304 represents a second map reduce job. In block 304, a global validation sample is scored by each Mapper to evaluate the accuracy of an imputation model. The Reducer selects the top K imputation models out of N possible imputation models based on some accuracy measures as the final ensemble model for each of the one or more predictor variables with missing values);
in an instance of the determination in which the first inference model can predict the at least the unpopulated field (paragraphs 0074-0076: missing value will be imputed):
generating an inference using the first inference model (paragraphs 0035, 0068-0077: missing value imputation system imputes the missing value for each of the predictor variables using data from the multiple data sources, one or more formed ensemble models, and a selected imputation strategy);
populating the unpopulated field using the inference to obtain supplemented data; and providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer (paragraphs 0031, 0035-0036, 0083: The missing value imputation system 110 uses one or more imputation models to generate one set of values for inputs with missing values); and
Chu does not explicitly disclose providing the supplemented data to a downstream consumer. Chu does generally disclose providing the predictive models to end users (paragraphs 0035, 0041, 0118-0119: completed data set is provided to consumers to build predictive models and workload layers including the predictive models with missing value imputation). In an analogous art, Achin discloses communicating the output of the predictive modeling module to the client (paragraph 0283). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the data to a consumer so they can have access to the modeling techniques and oversee the execution (Achin: paragraph 0283).
Conclusion
/KAVEH ABRISHAMKAR/
02/11/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494