DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 12/2/25.
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 18-19 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-12, 116 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ukil, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2018/0220294 A1.
As to claim 1, Ukil teaches a method, comprising:
establishing, for a user equipment (UE) device, a data session via a network (Ukil, page 6, paragraph 70; page 7, paragraph 79; i.e., [0070] The architecture may be defined that support fronthauling solutions across different deployment types. For example, the architecture may be based on transmit network capabilities ( e.g., bandwidth, latency, and/or jitter); [0079] The UL portion may refer to the communication resources utilized to communicate UL data from the subordinate entity (e.g., UE) to the scheduling entity (e.g., UE or BS));
determining whether the network is at least one of congested or overloaded (Ukil, page 8, paragraph 85; i.e., [0085] UE categories may use less power than activities performed according to higher UE categories. Idle mode activities may drain power, even for lower UE categories (e.g., CAT 1) mobile devices); and
instructing the UE device to re-register for a Category M1 (Cat-M1) data session, in response to determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded (Ukil, page 9, paragraph 97; i.e., [0097] if the network ( e.g., cell, BS 1104) supports the lower UE-category, such as Cat-M1 mode of operation, at 1114, the UE 1102 may switch UE category and, at 1116, re-register as the lower UE Category with the network. Based on the registration for the lower UE-category);
monitoring, at a first time and after determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded, whether the network remains at least one of congested or overloaded (Ukil, page 2, paragraph 31; page 6, paragraph 70; page 7, paragraph 79; page 9, paragraph 96; i.e., [0031] dynamic UE -Category switching for enhanced idle mode power savings. For example, if the cell supports a lower UE-category, such Cat-Ml, the UE may dynamically switch to the lower UE -category (equating to whether network is congested or overloaded) when the UE moves to the idle mode or after the VE is in the idle mode for a duration; [0070] The architecture may be defined that support fronthauling solutions across different deployment types. For example, the architecture may be based on transmit network capabilities ( e.g., bandwidth, latency, and/or jitter); [0096] the UE may enter an idle mode. At 1114, the idle mode UE 1102 may dynamically switch to a lower UE-CAT in order to enhance power savings during the idle mode (e.g., based on the determination that the BS 1104 supports CAT M1)).
As to claim 2, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1, further comprising:
instructing the UE device, in response to determining that the network does not remain at least one of congested or overloaded, to re-register for the data session using a reduced capability radio access type (RAT) (Ukil, page 9, paragraph 96; i.e., [0096] the UE may enter an idle mode. At 1114, the idle mode UE 1102 may dynamically switch to a lower UE-CAT in order to enhance power savings during the idle mode (e.g., based on the determination that the BS 1104 supports CAT M1)).
As to claim 9, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1, wherein dynamically switching between a reduced capability data session mode and a Cat-M1 data session mode for the UE device based on network load conditions (Ukil, page 8, paragraph 93; i.e., [0093] the UE 1102 may support a low UE-category, such as Cat-M1 mode of operation. The UE 1102 may operate according to a first UE Category, which may be a regular UE-CAT ( e.g., CAT 1 or beyond)).
Claim(s) 11 & 18 is/are directed to a system and computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 11 & 18 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 12, 16 & 19, 20 is/are directed to a system and computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2, 9. Therefore, claim(s) 12, 16 & 19, 20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 2, 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 10, 13-15 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Ukil, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2018/0220294 A1, and further in view of Sharma, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0298252 A1.
As to claim 3, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1. But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein requesting information, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), from a network data analytics function (NWDAF).
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein requesting information, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) (Sharma, page 6, paragraph 57; i.e., [0057] AMF and NWDAF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 4, Ukil-Sharma teaches the method as recited claim 3. But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving by the AMF, and from the NWDAF, information associated with network load conditions, and determining whether the network is at least one of congested or overloaded based on the information received from the NWDAF.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein receiving by the AMF, and from the NWDAF, information associated with network load conditions, and determining whether the network is at least one of congested or overloaded based on the information received from the NWDAF (Sharma, page 5, table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 5, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1. But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the data session corresponds to a reduced capability data session.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein the data session corresponds to a reduced capability data session (Sharma, page 4, paragraph 43-44; i.e., [0043] first AMF/UPF 230 is allocated for RedCap devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 6, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1. But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining whether the UE device is located in an area that supports a reduced capability RAT, and wherein the establishing a data session comprises: establishing a reduced capability data session, in response to determining that the UE device is located in an area that supports the reduced capability RAT.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein determining whether the UE device is located in an area that supports a reduced capability RAT, and wherein the establishing a data session comprises: establishing a reduced capability data session, in response to determining that the UE device is located in an area that supports the reduced capability RAT (Sharma, page 4, paragraph 43-44; i.e., [0043] first AMF/UPF 230 is allocated for RedCap devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 7, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1, wherein determining, by the AMF and in response to determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded, whether the UE device is capable of reduced capability communications and Cat-M1 communications (Ukil, page 8, paragraph 91; i.e., [0091] the BS may receive registration information registering the UE as the second UE category when the UE moves to the idle mode)).
But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), a registration request from a user equipment (UE) device.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein receiving, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), a registration request from a user equipment (UE) device (Sharma, page 6, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] overload status received from AMF, and AMF capacity information received over N2 interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 8, Ukil-Sharma teaches the method as recited claim 7. But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein obtaining, from a unified data management (UDM) device or a unified data repository (UDR), subscriber-related information associated with the UE device, wherein the subscriber-related information indicates whether the UE device is capable of Cat-M1 communications.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein obtaining, from a unified data management (UDM) device or a unified data repository (UDR), subscriber-related information associated with the UE device, wherein the subscriber-related information indicates whether the UE device is capable of Cat-M1 communications (Sharma, page 4, paragraph 40; i.e., [0040] UDM and UDR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
As to claim 10, Ukil teaches the method as recited claim 1, wherein determining whether to instruct the UE device to re-register for a Cat-M1 data session based on the data usage (Ukil, page 9, paragraph 97; i.e., [0097] if the network ( e.g., cell, BS 1104) supports the lower UE-category, such as Cat-M1 mode of operation, at 1114, the UE 1102 may switch UE category and, at 1116, re-register as the lower UE Category with the network. Based on the registration for the lower UE-category).
But Ukil failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining data usage by the UE device.
However, Sharma teaches the limitation wherein determining data usage by the UE device (Sharma, page 6, paragraph 58; i.e., [0058] dynamically balance usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ukil to substitute DPF from Sharma for C plane from Ukil enabled services isolation for greater flexibility, programmability, reliability, and quality of service (Sharma, page 1, paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 13, 14, 15, 17 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, 10. Therefore, claim(s) 13, 14, 15, 17 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed 12/2/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that: A) with respect to claims 1, 11 & 18; Ukil cannot further disclose or suggest instructing the UE device to re-register for a Cat-MI data session, in response to determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded. Ukil at paragraph 97 describes that the UE may switch UE category and re-register as the lower UE category. Ukil, however, does not disclose or suggest that the re-registering is in response to determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded. In fact, Ukil does not determine anything associated with whether the network is congested or overloaded. Ukil, however, do not disclose or suggest monitoring, at a first time and after determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded, whether the network remains at least one of congested or overloaded, as recited in claim 1. In contrast, this portion of Ukil merely discloses switching to a lower UE category when the UE is in an idle mode. In addition, as discussed above, Ukil does not determine anything associated with whether the network is congested or overloaded, much less remains congested or overloaded. (page 9-10).
In response to A); Ukil discloses the claim limitation wherein monitoring, at a first time and after determining that the network is at least one of congested or overloaded, whether the network remains at least one of congested or overloaded (Ukil, page 2, paragraph 31; page 6, paragraph 70; page 7, paragraph 79; page 9, paragraph 96; i.e., [0031] dynamic UE -Category switching for enhanced idle mode power savings. For example, if the cell supports a lower UE-category, such Cat-Ml, the UE may dynamically switch to the lower UE -category (equating to whether network is congested or overloaded) when the UE moves to the idle mode or after the UE is in the idle mode for a duration; [0070] The architecture may be defined that support fronthauling solutions across different deployment types. For example, the architecture may be based on transmit network capabilities ( e.g., bandwidth, latency, and/or jitter); [0096] the UE may enter an idle mode. At 1114, the idle mode UE 1102 may dynamically switch to a lower UE-CAT in order to enhance power savings during the idle mode (e.g., based on the determination that the BS 1104 supports CAT M1)). Clearly, determine whether the UE is in the idle mode or jitter or latency is equating to congested or overloaded. Moreover, switching to the higher enhanced idle mode or lower UE-CAT is equating to “whether remains at least one of congested or overloaded”. Therefore, Ukil meets the claim limitation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Huang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210068005 A1 discloses congestion and registration the CAT-M1 mode.
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 10841791 B1 discloses communication network and registration of the CAT-M1 mode.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416