DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11, 15-18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (EP 2182022 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11, Cho teaches an organometallic material represented by Compound 2 (page 40):
Compound 2 reads on applicants’ wherein n1 = 2; n1 = 1; X1 = C; X2 = N; R1 and R2 = H; R31 and R32 = methyl; R33 = H (per claims 1-4, 8-9, 11)
Compound 2 contains 1-1X1 = C (per claim 5) and 2-1 Z21 and Z22 = h (per claim 7).
Regarding Claims 15-17, 19, Cho teaches an organic electronic device which is comprised of a first electrode; a second electrode; and at least one organic layer(s) interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode; wherein the organic layer comprises one or more organic compound(s) for electronic material represented by Chemical Formula (1) (Compound 2) (paragraph 0034). used as a dopant for an electroluminescent layer (paragraph (0095) (per claims 15-16).
The electroluminescent layer consisting of a mixture of host-dopant (paragraph (0042); electroluminescent dopant in an amount of 0.01 to 10% by weight, and one or more host(s) [host in greater amount) (paragraph 0035) (per claim 17).
The detailed OLED contains a Transparent electrode 2, Hole injecting layer 3, Hole transport layer 4, Electroluminescent layer 5, Electron transport layer 6, Electron injecting layer 7 and Al cathode 8 (paragraph (0013) (per claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (EP 2182022 A1).
Regarding Claims 7, 10 Cho teaches Compound 2, above, which derived from generic CF6 (page 7):
Compound 2 shows R13 and R14 = H.
Cho teaches that substituents R11-R14 are represented by a finite set of options:
The above substituent options are viewed as functionally equivalent and readily exchangeable whereby upon selection give rise to obvious variant of generic CF6. One such variant reading on the instant limitations can be view as exchanging 2-2 or 2-3 for 2-1 (present in Compound 2) wherein R21 or R22, respectively are represented alkyl group C1-C60 (encompassing 9-1 to 9-7 and 5-1 per claims 7, 10 )
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (EP 2182022 A1) as evidenced by Chen (Molecules 2022, 27(1), 286)
Regarding Claim 18, Cho teaches the OLED emits a red when using an iridium complex (Compound 2) (paragraph 007) but fails to mention the maximum emission wavelength.
Chen teaches the most prominent class of molecular phosphors, the luminescent cyclometalated iridium (III) complex system has demonstrated almost perfect EL performance in terms of its luminance, efficiency, and color emission from the blue (λmax ≈ 470 nm) to saturated red (λmax ≈ 650 nm) regions (introduction).
As Compound 2 is a cyclometalated iridium (III) complex system emitting a red color, the office takes the position that said iridium complex would also emit in range of λmax ≈ 650 nm, absent unexpected results (per claim 18).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (EP 2182022 A1) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claim 20, Cho teaches the OLED of claim 15 but fails to mention an apparatus.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50).
As both Cho and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Cho in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 20).
Allowable Subject Matter I
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims the invention of claims 12-13.
The prior art fails to show the invention of Formula 5-1. The closest prior art is represented by Cho. Cho fails to show an isoquinoline group in the iridium complex.
Claims 12-13 allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter II
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to show the compounds. The closest prior art is represented by Cho. Cho fails to show an isoquinoline group in the iridium complex.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786