DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Amendments to the specification, filed on December 2, 2025, have been fully considered. Objections to the specification have been withdrawn, with the exception noted below.
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 22, 27-30, 32-35, and 37-40 have been considered and are persuasive. Rejections of claims 22, 27-30, 32-35, and 37-40 under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
4. Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 21-40, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Li ‘628 (US 2022/0407628) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 21-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 are amended to recite “wherein the coordination information is encoded into a sequence”. However, the specification fails to show coordination information that is encoded into a sequence. Furthermore, the applicant did not provide support for the amended claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 in Remarks, nor include a disclaimer to indicate where in the original specification the support for the amended claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 is found by citing specific sections of the specification.
Claims 22-25, 27-30, 32-35, and 37-40 are rejected as being dependent of rejected claims 21, 26, 31, and 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 21, 23, 26, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358 (US 12,342,358, “He ‘358”), in view of Li ‘628 (US 2022/0407628, “Li ‘628”).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, He ‘358 discloses an apparatus (FIGS. 8 and 13, col. 13:16-30; first terminal indicates multiple resources to a second terminal; the second terminal sends to the first terminal resource availability information to indicate availability of a resource set, where the resource set is a subset of the multiple resources indicated by the first terminal; second terminal reads on an apparatus) comprising:
one or more processors (FIGS. 8 and 13, col. 13:16-30; the second terminal includes a processor) configured to:
determine coordination information, wherein the coordination information is configured to be used to assist a second terminal apparatus in determining a sidelink sending resource (FIGS. 8 and 13, col. 1:26-48, col. 12:46-59, col. 13:16-30; the second terminal sends to the first terminal resource availability information to indicate availability of a resource set for sidelink communication, where the resource set is a subset of the multiple resources indicated by the first terminal; the first terminal uses the resource availability information to select resources; thus, the second terminal determines resource availability information that is configured to be used to assist the first terminal in determining resources for sidelink communication; “the first terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “a second terminal apparatus”; resource availability information reads on coordination information); and
send the coordination information to the second terminal apparatus (FIGS. 8 and 13, col. 12:46-59, col. 13:16-30; the second terminal sends to the first terminal resource availability information),
the sequence is mapped to a first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 3 and 5, col. 4:14-23, col. 7:19-43; the resource availability information is sent on time-frequency resources located in time domain between Resource 1 and Resource 2, as shown in FIG. 5; Resource 1, 2, 3, and 4 are resources that were originally selected and indicated by the first terminal, and are part of the overall resources shown in FIG. 5; thus, the resource availability information is mapped to the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information read on a first time-frequency resource),
the first time-frequency resource is a subset of a second time-frequency resource (FIG. 5, col. 7:19-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information are a subset of the overall resources shown in FIG. 5; the overall resources read on a second-time-frequency resource), and
the second time-frequency resource and a physical sidelink feedback resource overlap in time domain, and are orthogonal in frequency domain (FIG. 5, col. 7:19-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resource, overlap a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in time domain, and are orthogonal in frequency domain).
Although He ‘358 discloses the sequence is mapped to a first time-frequency resource, He ‘358 does not specifically disclose wherein the coordination information is encoded into a sequence.
Li ‘628 teaches wherein the coordination information is encoded into a sequence (FIG. 6, para 3 and 68-72; HARQ-ACK information is encoded into a second encoded sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine He ‘358’s apparatus to be used to assist a terminal apparatus in determining a sidelink sending resource, to include Li ‘628 HARQ-ACK information that is encoded into a sequence. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for HARQ-ACK feedback (Li ‘628, para 3-7).
Regarding claim 23, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the coordination information further comprises second information, the second information indicates that a first reserved resource of the second terminal apparatus collides with a reserved resource of another terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; the first terminal indicates occupied resources to the second terminal; the second terminal evaluates the availability of the resources by determining whether the resources are used by other user devices; the second terminal sends resource availability information for a subset of the originally indicated resources – Resource 2, based on the determination that resources collide with resources used by other user devices; thus, the resource availability information indicates that a resource of the first terminal collides with resources used by other user devices; “the first terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “the second terminal apparatus”, Resource 2 reads on a first reserved resource),
the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot, and the first slot is for a physical sidelink channel of second terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; Resource 2 is one of the indicated resources occupied by the first terminal, and is the closest to time period t1 of Resource 1, where Resource 1 is used for PSCCH transmission).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, He ‘358 discloses an apparatus (FIGS. 8 and 12, col. 12:46-59; first terminal indicates multiple resources to a second terminal; the second terminal sends to the first terminal resource availability information to indicate availability of a resource set, where the resource set is a subset of the multiple resources indicated by the first terminal; first terminal reads on an apparatus) comprising:
one or more processors (FIGS. 8 and 12, col. 12:46-59; the first terminal includes a processor) configured to:
receive coordination information from a first terminal apparatus (FIGS. 8 and 12, col. 1:26-48, col. 12:46-59, col. 13:16-30; the first terminal receives from the second terminal resource availability information that indicate availability of a resource set for sidelink communication, where the resource set is a subset of the multiple resources indicated by the first terminal; “the second terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “a first terminal apparatus”; resource availability information reads on coordination information),
the sequence is mapped to a first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 3 and 5, col. 4:14-23, col. 7:19-43; the resource availability information is sent on time-frequency resources located in time domain between Resource 1 and Resource 2, as shown in FIG. 5; Resource 1, 2, 3, and 4 are resources that were originally selected and indicated by the first terminal, and are part of the overall resources shown in FIG. 5; thus, the resource availability information is mapped to the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information read on a first time-frequency resource)
the first time-frequency resource is a subset of a second time-frequency resource (FIG. 5, col. 7:19-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information are a subset of the overall resources shown in FIG. 5; the overall resources read on a second-time-frequency resource), and
the second time-frequency resource and a physical sidelink feedback resource overlap in time domain, and are orthogonal in frequency domain (FIG. 5, col. 7:19-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resource, overlap a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) in time domain, and are orthogonal in frequency domain); and
determine a sidelink sending resource based on the coordination information (FIGS. 8 and 12, col. 1:26-48, col. 12:46-59, col. 13:16-30; the first terminal uses the resource availability information to determine resources for sidelink communication).
Although He ‘358 discloses the sequence is mapped to a first time-frequency resource, He ‘358 does not specifically disclose wherein the coordination information is encoded into a sequence.
Li ‘628 teaches wherein the coordination information is encoded into a sequence (FIG. 6, para 3 and 68-72; HARQ-ACK information is encoded into a second encoded sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine He ‘358’s apparatus that receives coordination information, to include Li ‘628 HARQ-ACK information that is encoded into a sequence. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for HARQ-ACK feedback (Li ‘628, para 3-7).
8. Claims 22 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504 (US 2022/0256504, “Lin ‘504”), and further in view of Nimbalker ‘167 (US 2023/0189167, “Nimbalker ‘167”).
Regarding claim 22, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after a first slot, and a gap is greater than K1 slots (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold; the resource allocation indication time period reads on a slot; time period t1 reads on a first slot), and
the slot includes a first physical sidelink feedback resource (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the resource allocation indication period is also the time period for PSFCH), and
K1 is a minimum time gap (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses the slot is a slot which has a gap greater than K1 from the first slot, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose the slot is a slot which has a gap greater than K1 slots from the last symbol of the first slot.
Lin ‘504 teaches a gap from a last symbol of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots (FIG. 1, para 5-6; PSFCH in a last symbol of a slot carries feedback for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) slot; there is a gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH, to allow for a receiving UE to process the received PSSCH and respond with the PSFCH; the gap is at least 2 slots; thus, the slot that contains the PSFCH has a gap greater than 2 slots from the last symbol of the PSSCH slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include Lin ‘504’s gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a UE for HARQ reporting, which provides high reliability (Lin ‘504, para 9).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 discloses K1 is a minimum time gap, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 does not specifically disclose K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Nimbalker ‘167 teaches K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information (para 152; a minimum delay is configured for a UE by higher layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358, Li ‘628, and Lin ‘504, to include Nimbalker ‘167’s minimum delay that is configured for a UE by higher layers. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system performance by improving coverage and data rate (Nimbalker ‘167, para 19).
Regarding claim 37, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 36, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to send a physical sidelink channel in a first slot, wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after the first slot, a gap is greater than K1 slots (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold; time period t1 is used for PSCCH transmission; the resource allocation indication time period reads on a slot; time period t1 reads on a first slot), and
the slot includes a first physical sidelink feedback resource (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the resource allocation indication period is also the time period for PSFCH), and
K1 is a minimum time gap (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses the slot is a slot which has a gap greater than K1 from the first slot, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose the slot is a slot which has a gap greater than K1 slots from the last symbol of the first slot.
Lin ‘504 teaches a gap from a last symbol of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots (FIG. 1, para 5-6; PSFCH in a last symbol of a slot carries feedback for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) slot; there is a gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH, to allow for a receiving UE to process the received PSSCH and respond with the PSFCH; the gap is at least 2 slots; thus, the slot that contains the PSFCH has a gap greater than 2 slots from the last symbol of the PSSCH slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include Lin ‘504’s gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a UE for HARQ reporting, which provides high reliability (Lin ‘504, para 3 and 9).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 discloses K1 is a minimum time gap, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 does not specifically disclose K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Nimbalker ‘167 teaches K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information (para 152; a minimum delay is configured for a UE by higher layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358, Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504, to include Nimbalker ‘167’s minimum delay that is configured for a UE by higher layers. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system performance by improving coverage and data rate (Nimbalker ‘167, para 19).
Regarding claim 38, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 37, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the coordination information further comprises second information, the second information indicates that first reserved resource of a second terminal apparatus collides with a reserved resource of another terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; the first terminal indicates occupied resources to the second terminal; the second terminal evaluates the availability of the resources by determining whether the resources are used by other user devices; the second terminal sends resource availability information for a subset of the originally indicated resources – Resource 2, based on the determination that resources collide with resources used by other user devices; thus, the resource availability information indicates that a resource of the first terminal collides with resources used by other user devices; “the first terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “the second terminal apparatus”; Resource 2 reads on first reserved resource), and
the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; Resource 2 is one of the indicated resources occupied by the first terminal, and is the closest to time period t1 of Resource 1, where Resource 1 is used for PSCCH transmission).
9. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, and further in view of Hwang ‘849 (US 2023/0254849, “Huang ‘849”).
Regarding claim 24, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 23, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus in a next period.
Hwang ‘849 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or
the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus in a next period (para 136; UE transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include Hwang ‘849’s UE that transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for determining a resource for wireless communication in NR V2X and a device (Hwang ‘849, para 2-3 and 8).
10. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, further in view of Li ‘628, and further in view of 3GPP ‘817 (Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer HHI, " NR Sidelink Resource Allocation for UE Power Saving ", R1-2008817, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e, e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020, “3GPP ‘817”).
Regarding claim 25, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 23, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus.
3GPP ‘817 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus (Section 3.1.2; TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) indicates retransmission resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include 3GPP ‘817’s TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates retransmission resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption for UEs in NR sidelink communication (3GPP ‘817, Introduction).
11. Claims 27-28 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504, and further in view of Nimbalker ‘167.
Regarding claim 27, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 26, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches further comprising: sending a physical sidelink channel in a first slot, wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after the first slot, a gap is greater than K1 slots (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold; time period t1 is used for PSCCH transmission; the resource allocation indication time period reads on a slot; time period t1 reads on a first slot), and
the slot includes a first physical sidelink feedback resource (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the resource allocation indication period is also the time period for PSFCH), and
K1 is a minimum time gap (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold); or
the slot in which the second time-frequency resource is located is before a second slot, the first physical sidelink feedback resource is located in the slot, a gap between a first symbol in the second slot and the slot is greater than K2 slots, a first reserved resource of the second terminal apparatus is located in the second slot, the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot; and K2 is the minimum time gap configured by the higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Examiner notes the use of alternative language. For rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art.
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses sending a physical sidelink channel in a first slot, wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after a first slot, a gap is greater than K1 slots, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose a gap from a last symbol of the slot of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots.
Lin ‘504 teaches a gap from a last symbol of the slot of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots (FIG. 1, para 5-6; PSFCH in a last symbol of a slot carries feedback for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) slot; there is a gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH, to allow for a receiving UE to process the received PSSCH and respond with the PSFCH; the gap is at least 2 slots; thus, the slot that contains the PSFCH has a gap greater than 2 slots from the last symbol of the PSSCH slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include Lin ‘504’s gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a UE for HARQ reporting, which provides high reliability (Lin ‘504, para 9).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 discloses K1 is a minimum time gap, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 does not specifically disclose K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Nimbalker ‘167 teaches K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information (para 152; a minimum delay is configured for a UE by higher layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358, Li ‘628, and Lin ‘504, to include Nimbalker ‘167’s minimum delay that is configured for a UE by higher layers. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system performance by improving coverage and data rate (Nimbalker ‘167, para 19).
Regarding claim 28, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 27, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the coordination information further comprises second information, the second information indicates that the first reserved resource of the second terminal apparatus collides with a reserved resource of another terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; the first terminal indicates occupied resources to the second terminal; the second terminal evaluates the availability of the resources by determining whether the resources are used by other user devices; the second terminal sends resource availability information for a subset of the originally indicated resources – Resource 2, based on the determination that resources collide with resources used by other user devices; thus, the resource availability information indicates that a resource of the first terminal collides with resources used by other user devices; “the first terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “the second terminal apparatus”; Resource 2 reads on a first reserved resource),
the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot, and the first slot is for sending the physical sidelink channel (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; Resource 2 is one of the indicated resources occupied by the first terminal, and is the closest to time period t1 of Resource 1, where Resource 1 is used for PSCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 32, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 31, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after a first slot, and a gap is greater than K1 slots (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold; the resource allocation indication time period reads on a slot; time period t1 reads on a first slot; a threshold reads on a minimum time gap; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art), and
the slot includes a first physical sidelink feedback resource (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the resource allocation indication period is also the time period for PSFCH), and
K1 is a minimum time gap (FIGS. 5 and 6, col. 6:35-67, col. 7:1-43; the time-frequency resources used to send the resource availability information, as part of the overall resources, are located in a resource availability indication period, in time domain, after a time period t1; there is a time gap T1 between the time period t1 and the resource availability indication period, where the time gap T1 is greater than a threshold); or
the slot in which the second time-frequency resource is located is before a second slot, the first physical sidelink feedback resource is located in the slot, a gap between a first symbol in the second slot and the slot is greater than K2 slots, a first reserved resource of the second terminal apparatus is located in the second slot, the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot; and K2 is the minimum time gap configured by the higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 discloses wherein the second time-frequency resource is located in a slot, the slot is after a first slot, and a gap is greater than K1 slots, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 does not specifically disclose a gap from a last symbol of the slot of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots.
Lin ‘504 teaches a gap from a last symbol of the slot of the first slot to the slot is greater than K1 slots (FIG. 1, para 5-6; PSFCH in a last symbol of a slot carries feedback for a PSSCH slot; there is a gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH, to allow for a receiving UE to process the received PSSCH and respond with the PSFCH; the gap is at least 2 slots; thus, the slot that contains the PSFCH has a gap greater than 2 slots from the last symbol of the PSSCH slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358 and Li ‘628, to include Lin ‘504’s gap between the PSSCH slot and the PSFCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a UE for HARQ reporting, which provides high reliability (Lin ‘504, para 9).
Although He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 discloses K1 is a minimum time gap, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628 and Lin ‘504 does not specifically disclose K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information.
Nimbalker ‘167 teaches K1 is a minimum time gap configured by a higher layer for sending the coordination information (para 152; a minimum delay is configured for a UE by higher layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358, Li ‘628, and Lin ‘504, to include Nimbalker ‘167’s minimum delay that is configured for a UE by higher layers. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system performance by improving coverage and data rate (Nimbalker ‘167, para 19).
Regarding claim 33, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 32, as outlined above.
Further, He ‘358 teaches wherein the coordination information further comprises second information, the second information indicates that the first reserved resource of the second terminal apparatus collides with a reserved resource of another terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; the first terminal indicates occupied resources to the second terminal; the second terminal evaluates the availability of the resources by determining whether the resources are used by other user devices; the second terminal sends resource availability information for a subset of the originally indicated resources – Resource 2, based on the determination that resources collide with resources used by other user devices; thus, the resource availability information indicates that a resource of the first terminal collides with resources used by other user devices; “the first terminal” of He ‘358 reads on claimed “the second terminal apparatus”; Resource 2 reads on a first reserved resource),
the first reserved resource is a reserved resource closest to the first slot, and the first slot is for a physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus (FIGS. 5 and 8, col. 7:19-43 and 66-67, col. 8:1-36; Resource 2 is one of the indicated resources occupied by the first terminal, and is the closest to time period t1 of Resource 1, where Resource 1 is used for PSCCH transmission).
12. Claims 29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504, further in view of Nimbalker ‘167, and further in view of Hwang ‘849.
Regarding claim 29, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel; or the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel in a next period.
Hwang ‘849 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel; or
the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel in a next period (para 136; UE transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include Hwang ‘849’s UE that transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for determining a resource for wireless communication in NR V2X and a device (Hwang ‘849, para 2-3 and 8).
Regarding claim 34, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 33, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus in a next period.
Hwang ‘849 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or
the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus in a next period (para 136; UE transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include Hwang ‘849’s UE that transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for determining a resource for wireless communication in NR V2X and a device (Hwang ‘849, para 2-3 and 8).
13. Claims 30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504, further in view of Nimbalker ‘167, and further in view of 3GPP ‘817.
Regarding claim 30, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel; or the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel.
3GPP ‘817 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel (Section 3.1.2; TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) indicates retransmission resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include 3GPP ‘817’s TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates retransmission resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption for UEs in NR sidelink communication (3GPP ‘817, Introduction).
Regarding claim 35, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 33, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus; or the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus.
3GPP ‘817 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus (Section 3.1.2; TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) indicates retransmission resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel of the second terminal apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include 3GPP ‘817’s TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates retransmission resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption for UEs in NR sidelink communication (3GPP ‘817, Introduction).
14. Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504, further in view of Nimbalker ‘167, and further in view of Hwang ‘849.
Regarding claim 39, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 38, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel; or the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel in a next period.
Hwang ‘849 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is used for retransmission of a first transport block (TB) on the physical sidelink channel; or
the first reserved resource is used for new transmission of a service to which a second TB belongs on the physical sidelink channel in a next period (para 136; UE transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include Hwang ‘849’s UE that transmits PSSCH for a new transport block using indicated resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for determining a resource for wireless communication in NR V2X and a device (Hwang ‘849, para 2-3 and 8).
15. Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He ‘358, in view of Li ‘628, further in view of Lin ‘504, further in view of Nimbalker ‘167, and further in view of 3GPP ‘817.
Regarding claim 40, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 37, as outlined above.
However, He ‘358 in combination with Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167 does not specifically disclose the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel; or the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel.
3GPP ‘817 teaches wherein: the first reserved resource is indicated by a time resource indicator value (TRIV) on the physical sidelink channel (Section 3.1.2; TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) indicates retransmission resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
the first reserved resource is indicated by a resource reservation period on the physical sidelink channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of He ‘358, Li ‘628, Lin ‘504, and Nimbalker ‘167, to include 3GPP ‘817’s TRIV parameter in the sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates retransmission resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption for UEs in NR sidelink communication (3GPP ‘817, Introduction).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474