DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong (US 2003/0072964 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-13, Kwong teach organometallic materials including generic Formula III (GFIII) (page 9):
Above Kwong teaches various substituents which are viewed independently as functionally equivalent whereby upon selection give rise to obvious variants of GFIII, absent unexpected results.
One such variant reads on applicants’ Formula 1 wherein R3 and R4 are fused to form a phenyl ring resulting in a naphthyl group. R10 = CF3; remaining R(s) = H. One way to view the above variant is a modification of Compound 13 (page 11):
wherein R3 and R4 are fused to form a phenyl ring resulting in a naphthyl group and R7 = CF3; M = Ir; A1 and A2 bi dentate ligand; n =2, m=3; X1 = N, X2 = C; CY2 = naphthyl.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of CFIII by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1-4, 6).
CFIII shows applicants’ 1-32 wherein X1 = C; R11 = CF3; R14 and R15 = H (per claim 5).
CFIII shows applicants’ 2-3 wherein one X2 = C; X23 = CR3, R3 = H; and X24 = CR24, r24 = CF3; CY25 = phenyl, R25 = H (per claim 7).
CFIII shows applicants’ 2A-3 wherein one R25 = H; X2 = C; R23 = H; R24 = CF3 (per claim 8).
CFIII shows applicants’ 2A-19 wherein Z25 = H; Z23 = H; Z24 = CF3; X2 = C (per claim 9)
CFIII shows R3 and R4 are fused to form a phenyl group;
CFIII shows applicants’ R1 = H; R2 = CF3; R31 and R33 = methyl; R32 = H (per claims 10-11).
CFIII shows applicants’ 3-3 wherein R11-R15 = H or another substituent shown above; R24 = CF3; R23-R26 = H or another substituent shown above; R31 and R33 = methyl; R32 = H; M1 = Ir (per claims 12-13).
Regarding Claim 14, Kwong also teaches Formula I (CFI) (page 11):
CFI is treated in an analogous fashion to CFIII wherein the substituent groups are viewed as functionally equivalent, absent unexpected results. R3 and R4 are fused to form a phenyl ring; R5-R9 = H; R10 = CF3; R1 and R2 = H. The fused cyclic group can be substituted X which includes R12 which includes the X substituent which includes alkyl C1-C20, C3 as isopropyl (paragraph 149 and 151, above). The above variant reads on applicants’ Compound 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of CFI by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 14).
Regarding Claims 15-17, 19, Kwong teaches OLEDs with one or more layers are sandwiched between a hole injecting anode layer and an electron injecting cathode layer which includes inventive compounds CFI and CFIII in an emissive layer. The devices can include any one or more hole blocking layers, electron blocking layers, exciton blocking layers, hole transporting layers, electron transporting layers, hole injection layers, or electron injection layers (paragraph 180-181) (per claims 15-16).
The emissive layer can comprise host material doped with CFI or CFIII present at 1 to about 20 wt % of the emissive layer (paragraph 85). The office views this as showing the host in present in the greater amount (per claim 17).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong (US 2003/0072964 A1) as evidenced by Chen (Molecules 2022, 27, 286).
Regarding Claim 18, Kwong teaches the metal complex of claim 1 but fails to mention the emission wavelength.
Chen teaches that iridium complexes emit in the entire visible region with a wavelength range from 470 nm to 660 nm (page 2 of 15).
The office takes the position that the iridium complexes of Kwong would also emit in the typical range which would have included the overlapping portion of the range taught by Chen, absent unexpected results (per claim 18).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong (US 2003/0072964 A1) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claim 18, Kwong teaches the OLED of claim 15 but fails to mention usage in an apparatus.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50).
As both Song and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Kwong in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 20).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786