DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 10-11, 15-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 16, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al (US 2008/0,214,112) in view of Liu et al (CN 107,528,906) in view of Sakoda et al (US 2012/0,020,420) in view of Tomizawa (US 2007/0177,494) in view of Xiao et al (US 2008/0,165,886) in view of Chien et al (US 7,394,870) further in view of Kleider et al (US 2010/0,172,427).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Ibrahim disclose a Bluetooth sending apparatus (2, 22) (Figs. 1, 2) and method comprising: at least one processor (50); one or more memories (52) coupled to the at least one processor (50) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (¶ [0044]) to: generate, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus (2), a first Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), wherein the first Bluetooth data frame comprises a first access code (902), a first synchronization code (906), and a first data field (908), wherein the first synchronization code (906) is located before the first data field (908) (Figs. 9A, 9B; paras. [0073]-[0080]), and wherein, when performing at least one of autocorrelation or cross-correlation, the first synchronization code provides a higher success rate of at least one of synchronization detection or data receiving than the first access code (performing autocorrelation in the first synchronization code sequence 906 is designed to have good autocorrelation with a receiver's correlator and may be utilized to estimate an optimum sampling instant, the auto correlation is performed with the synchronization correlator 1128 comprising suitable logic, circuitry, and code that may be adapted to auto correlate the expected contents of the synchronization code sequence 906 with the received contents of the sync sequence 906 based on the PSK based modulation scheme utilized for the synchronization code sequence 906 and for detecting a synchronization peak in the synchronization code sequence 906 provides a higher success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection than the FSK-based modulation scheme utilized for the access code 902 which requires a larger signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) to demodulate which results in a less success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection; paras. [0012], [0079], [0103], [0107], [0109]); sending by a transceiver (60) coupled to the at least one processor (50) of the Bluetooth sending apparatus (2, 22) (Figs. 1, 2), the first Bluetooth communication packet that may include e.g. a Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (6, 20) (paras. [0035]-[0037], [0048]; Figs. 1, 2). Ibrahim do not explicitly disclose sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Liu disclose sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (pg. 2, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the Bluetooth transmitting device to transmit the Bluetooth packet having a data frame structure to the other Bluetooth receiving device. Ibrahim and Liu do not disclose wherein a first pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Sakoda disclose a first pilot is inserted into the first data/payload field at predetermined intervals wherein the rate of the pilot insertion into the payload is controlled (¶ [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide channel estimation and waveform equalization (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda do not explicitly disclose the pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Tomizawa disclose a proportion of transmission pilot symbols that is inserted into the data field are controlled, e.g. to be an equal proportion, according to a transmission path estimation scheme and type of transmission data (¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to improve information transmission efficiency (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda and Tomizawa do not explicitly disclose the pilot has a known phase. In the same field of endeavor, Xiao disclose each of the N first pilots is a pilot with a known phase (abstract; paras. [0002], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a pilot with a known amplitude and phase reference points to estimate the rate of fading and the effects of the channel on the carrier phase and the amplitude of the transmitted signal to synchronize the carrier phase of the transmitted signal (Xiao; ¶ [0002]). Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, and Xiao do not explicitly disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences, wherein the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m-sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence. In related art, Chien disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences such as a pseudo noise code, e.g. m-sequence, a kasami sequence, and a gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a suitable synchronization code, e.g. a kasami sequence, to serve the intended synchronization purpose, e.g. kasami sequence is used in CDMA spread spectrum communications to reduce interference or in transmitter identification systems due to its low cross correlation properties. Although Chien disclose a pseudo noise code such as an m-sequence, and it is well known in the art that a pseudo noise code is a pseudo random sequence, Chien do not explicitly disclose a pseudo random sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Kleider disclose the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence (¶ [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide spectral efficiency improvements in performing synchronization (Kleider; ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 16, Ibrahim disclose a Bluetooth communication method, comprising: receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (6, 20; Figs. 1, 2) , a first Bluetooth communication packet that may include e.g. a Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), from a Bluetooth sending apparatus (22) (paras. [0035]-[0037], [0048]; Figs. 1A-1C); wherein the first Bluetooth data frame comprises a first access code (902), a first synchronization code (906), and a first data field (908), wherein the first synchronization code (906) is located before the first data field (908) (Figs. 9A, 9B; paras. [0073]-[0080]), and wherein, when performing at least one of autocorrelation or cross-correlation, the first synchronization code provides a higher success rate of at least one of synchronization detection or data receiving than the first access code (performing autocorrelation in the first synchronization code sequence 906 is designed to have good autocorrelation with a receiver's correlator and may be utilized to estimate an optimum sampling instant, the auto correlation is performed with the synchronization correlator 1128 comprising suitable logic, circuitry, and code that may be adapted to auto correlate the expected contents of the synchronization code sequence 906 with the received contents of the sync sequence 906 based on the PSK based modulation scheme utilized for the synchronization code sequence 906 and for detecting a synchronization peak in the synchronization code sequence 906 provides a higher success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection than the FSK-based modulation scheme utilized for the access code 902 which requires a larger signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) to demodulate which results in a less success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection; paras. [0012], [0079], [0103], [0107], [0109]); and
performing, by the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, synchronization detection based on the first synchronization code (paras. [0109], pg. 13, col 2, lines 3-12). Ibrahim do not explicitly disclose receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus a first Bluetooth data frame from a Bluetooth sending apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Liu disclose receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (pg. 2, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the Bluetooth transmitting device to transmit the Bluetooth packet having a data frame structure to the other Bluetooth receiving device. Ibrahim and Liu do not disclose wherein a first pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Sakoda disclose a first pilot is inserted into the first data/payload field at predetermined intervals wherein the rate of the pilot insertion into the payload is controlled (¶ [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide channel estimation and waveform equalization (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda do not explicitly disclose the pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Tomizawa disclose a proportion of transmission pilot symbols that is inserted into the data field are controlled, e.g. to be an equal proportion, according to a transmission path estimation scheme and type of transmission data (¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to improve information transmission efficiency according to a transmission path estimation scheme (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda and Tomizawa do not explicitly disclose the pilot has a known phase. In the same field of endeavor, Xiao disclose each of the N first pilots is a pilot with a known phase (abstract; paras. [0002], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a pilot with a known amplitude and phase reference points to estimate the rate of fading and the effects of the channel on the carrier phase and the amplitude of the transmitted signal to synchronize the carrier phase of the transmitted signal (Xiao; ¶ [0002]). Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, and Xiao do not explicitly disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences, wherein the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m-sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence. In related art, Chien disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences such as a pseudo noise code such as an m-sequence, a kasami sequence, and a gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a suitable synchronization code e.g. a kasami sequence, to serve the intended synchronization purpose, e.g. a kasami sequence is used in CDMA spread spectrum communications to reduce interference or in transmitter identification systems due to its low cross correlation properties. Although Chien disclose a pseudo noise code such as an m-sequence, and it is well known in the art that a pseudo noise code is a pseudo random sequence, Chien do not explicitly disclose a pseudo random sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Kleider disclose the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence (¶ [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide spectral efficiency improvements in performing synchronization (Kleider;
¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Chien further disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the m-sequence, the gold sequence, or the kasami sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Regarding claim 10 and 18, Xiao further disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1 and 16 respectively, wherein the first Bluetooth data frame further comprises N first pilots, each of the N first pilots is a pilot with a known phase, and N is a positive integer (Xiao; abstract; paras. [0002], [0017]).
Regarding claim 21, Chien further disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Regarding claim 22, Chien further disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the kasami sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Claims 1, 3, 16, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al (US 2008/0,214,112; hereinafter Ibrahim) in view of Liu et al (CN 107,528,906; hereinafter Liu) in view of Sakoda et al (US 2012/0,020,420; hereinafter Sakoda) in view of Tomizawa (US 2007/0177,494) in view of Abeta et al (US 2002/0,136,176) in view of Chien et al (US 7,394,870) further in view of Kleider et al (US 2010/0,172,427).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Ibrahim disclose a Bluetooth sending apparatus (2, 22) (Figs. 1, 2) and method comprising: at least one processor (50); one or more memories (52) coupled to the at least one processor (50) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (¶ [0044]) to:
generate, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus (2), a first Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), wherein the first Bluetooth data frame comprises a first access code (902), a first synchronization code (906), and a first data field (908), wherein the first synchronization code (906) is located before the first data field (908) (Figs. 9A, 9B; paras. [0073]-[0080]), and wherein, when performing at least one of autocorrelation or cross-correlation, the first synchronization code provides a higher success rate of at least one of synchronization detection or data receiving than the first access code (performing autocorrelation in the first synchronization code sequence 906 is designed to have good autocorrelation with a receiver's correlator and may be utilized to estimate an optimum sampling instant, the auto correlation is performed with the synchronization correlator 1128 comprising suitable logic, circuitry, and code that may be adapted to auto correlate the expected contents of the synchronization code sequence 906 with the received contents of the sync sequence 906 based on the PSK based modulation scheme utilized for the synchronization code sequence 906 and for detecting a synchronization peak in the synchronization code sequence 906 provides a higher success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection than the FSK-based modulation scheme utilized for the access code 902 which requires a larger signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) to demodulate which results in a less success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection; paras. [0012], [0079], [0103], [0107], [0109]); sending by a transceiver (60) coupled to the at least one processor (50) of the Bluetooth sending apparatus (2, 22) (Figs. 1, 2), the first Bluetooth communication packet that may include e.g. a Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (6, 20) (paras. [0035]-[0037], [0048]; Figs. 1, 2). Ibrahim do not explicitly disclose sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Liu disclose sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (pg. 2, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the Bluetooth transmitting device to transmit the Bluetooth packet having a data frame structure to the other Bluetooth receiving device. Ibrahim and Liu do not disclose wherein a first pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Sakoda disclose a first pilot is inserted into the first data/payload field at predetermined intervals wherein the rate of the pilot insertion into the payload is controlled (¶ [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide channel estimation and waveform equalization (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda do not explicitly disclose the pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Tomizawa disclose a proportion of transmission pilot symbols that is inserted into the data field are controlled, e.g. to be an equal proportion, according to a transmission path estimation scheme and type of transmission data (¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to improve information transmission efficiency (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda and Tomizawa do not explicitly disclose the pilot has a known phase. In the same field of endeavor, Abeta disclose inserting pilot symbols of known phase at regular intervals (paras. [0004], [0039]; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to estimate and correct fading distortion (Abeta;
¶ [0004]). Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, and Abeta do not explicitly disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences, wherein the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m-sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence. In related art, Chien disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences such as a pseudo noise code, e.g. m-sequence, a kasami sequence, and a gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a suitable synchronization code, e.g. a kasami sequence, to serve the intended synchronization purpose, e.g. kasami sequence is used in CDMA spread spectrum communications to reduce interference or in transmitter identification systems due to its low cross correlation properties. Although Chien disclose a pseudo noise code such as an m-sequence, and it is well known in the art that a pseudo noise code is a pseudo random sequence, Chien do not explicitly disclose a pseudo random sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Kleider disclose the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence (¶ [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide spectral efficiency improvements in performing synchronization (Kleider; ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 16, Ibrahim disclose a Bluetooth communication method, comprising: receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (6, 20; Figs. 1, 2), a first Bluetooth communication packet that may include e.g. a Bluetooth data frame (Fig. 9), from a Bluetooth sending apparatus (22) (paras. [0035]-[0037], [0048]; Figs. 1A-1C); wherein the first Bluetooth data frame comprises a first access code (902), a first synchronization code (906), and a first data field (908), wherein the first synchronization code (906) is located before the first data field (908) (Figs. 9A, 9B; paras. [0073]-[0080]), and
wherein, when performing at least one of autocorrelation or cross-correlation, the first synchronization code provides a higher success rate of at least one of synchronization detection or data receiving than the first access code (performing autocorrelation in the first synchronization code sequence 906 is designed to have good autocorrelation with a receiver's correlator and may be utilized to estimate an optimum sampling instant, the auto correlation is performed with the synchronization correlator 1128 comprising suitable logic, circuitry, and code that may be adapted to auto correlate the expected contents of the synchronization code sequence 906 with the received contents of the sync sequence 906 based on the PSK based modulation scheme utilized for the synchronization code sequence 906 and for detecting a synchronization peak in the synchronization code sequence 906 provides a higher success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection than the FSK-based modulation scheme utilized for the access code 902 which requires a larger signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) to demodulate which results in a less success rate of data receiving or synchronization detection; paras. [0012], [0079], [0103], [0107], [0109]); and
performing, by the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, synchronization detection based on the first synchronization code (paras. [0109], pg. 13, col 2, lines 3-12). Ibrahim do not explicitly disclose receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus a first Bluetooth data frame from a Bluetooth sending apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Liu disclose receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, the first Bluetooth data frame to a Bluetooth receiving apparatus (pg. 2, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the Bluetooth transmitting device to transmit the Bluetooth packet having a data frame structure to the other Bluetooth receiving device. Ibrahim and Liu do not disclose wherein a first pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Sakoda disclose a first pilot is inserted into the first data/payload field at predetermined intervals wherein the rate of the pilot insertion into the payload is controlled (¶ [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide channel estimation and waveform equalization (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda do not explicitly disclose the pilot is inserted into the first data field in an equal proportion. In the same field of endeavor, Tomizawa disclose a proportion of transmission pilot symbols that is inserted into the data field are controlled, e.g. to be an equal proportion, according to a transmission path estimation scheme and type of transmission data (¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to improve information transmission efficiency according to a transmission path estimation scheme (Sakoda; para. [0135]). Sakoda and Tomizawa do not explicitly disclose the pilot has a known phase. In the same field of endeavor, Abeta disclose inserting pilot symbols of known phase at regular intervals (paras. [0004], [0039]; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to estimate and correct fading distortion (Abeta;
¶ [0004]). Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, and Abeta do not explicitly disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences, wherein the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m-sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence. In related art, Chien disclose the first synchronization code is one of a plurality of sequences such as a pseudo noise code, e.g. m-sequence, a kasami sequence, and a gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a suitable synchronization code, e.g. a kasami sequence, to serve the intended synchronization purpose, e.g. kasami sequence is used in CDMA spread spectrum communications to reduce interference or in transmitter identification systems due to its low correlation properties. Although Chien disclose a pseudo noise code such as an m-sequence, and it is well known in the art that a pseudo noise code is a pseudo random sequence, Chien do not explicitly disclose a pseudo random sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Kleider disclose the plurality of sequences include a pseudo-random sequence, an m sequence, a gold sequence, and a kasami sequence (¶ [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide spectral efficiency improvements in performing synchronization (Kleider; ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Chien further disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the m-sequence, the gold sequence, or the kasami sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Regarding claim 21, Chien further disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the gold sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Regarding claim 22, Chien further disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronization code is the kasami sequence (col 6, line 60 – col 7, line 3, claim 43, claim 47).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al (US 2008/0,214,112) in view of Liu et al (CN 107,528,906) in view of Sakoda et al (US 2012/0,020,420) in view of Tomizawa (US 2007/0177,494) in view of Abeta et al (US 2002/0,136,176) in view of Chien et al (US 7,394,870) in view of Kleider et al (US 2010/0,172,427) further in view of Xiao et al (US 2008/0,165,886).
Regarding claim 10 and 18, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Kleider, Chien, and Abeta disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1 and 16 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the first Bluetooth data frame further comprises N first pilots, each of the N first pilots is a pilot with a known phase, and N is a positive integer. In the same field of endeavor, Xiao disclose the first Bluetooth data frame further comprises N first pilots, each of the N first pilots is a pilot with a known phase, and N is a positive integer (abstract; paras. [0002], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to insert pilot symbols into the data frame to provide known amplitude and phase reference points to estimate the rate of fading and the effects of the channel on the carrier phase and the amplitude of the transmitted signal to synchronize the carrier phase of the transmitted signal (Xiao; ¶ [0002]).
7. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al (US 2008/0,214,112) in view of Liu et al (CN 107,528,906) in view of Sakoda et al (US 2012/0,020,420) in view of Tomizawa (US 2007/0177,494) in view of Xiao et al (US 2008/0,165,886)/Abeta et al (US 20020136176) in view of Chien et al (US 7,394,870) in view of Kleider et al (US 2010/0,172,427) further in view of Malladi et al (US 2008/0,305,788).
Regarding claim 2, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Chien, Kleider, and Xiao/Abeta disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein they do not specifically disclose the first synchronization code is a pseudo-random sequence. In the same field of endeavor, Malladi disclose a synchronization code corresponds to a pseudo-random sequence (a synchronization code, SSC, maps to a pseudo random sequence, PRS; ¶ [0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide transmitting a known bit sequence that appears to be random that the receiver can detect and use to align its timing and phase with the sender for accurate data transmission in spread spectrum technology.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al (US 2008/0,214,112; hereinafter Ibrahim) in view of Liu et al (CN 107,528,906; hereinafter Liu) in view of Sakoda et al (US 2012/0,020,420) in view of Tomizawa (US 2007/0177,494) in view of Xiao et al (US 2008/0,165,886)/Abeta et al (US 20020136176) in view of Chien et al (US 7,394,870) in view of Kleider et al (US 2010/0,172,427) further in view of Yu et al (WO 2020/107,396; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 15, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien, Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein they do not disclose before the generating, by a Bluetooth sending apparatus, a first Bluetooth data frame, the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a second Bluetooth data frame to the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, wherein the second Bluetooth data frame is different from the first Bluetooth data frame; and negotiating, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus with the Bluetooth receiving apparatus based on a third parameter, a frame format of the second Bluetooth data frame transmitted between the Bluetooth receiving apparatus and the Bluetooth sending apparatus, wherein the third parameter indicates a signal quality of the second Bluetooth data frame or a signal strength of an interference signal of the second Bluetooth data frame. In the same field of endeavor, Yu disclose sending, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a second Bluetooth data frame to the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, wherein the second Bluetooth data frame is different from the first Bluetooth data frame; and negotiating, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus with the Bluetooth receiving apparatus based on a third parameter, a frame format of the second Bluetooth data frame transmitted between the Bluetooth receiving apparatus and the Bluetooth sending apparatus, wherein the third parameter indicates a signal quality of the second Bluetooth data frame or a signal strength of an interference signal of the second Bluetooth data frame (when the signal quality satisfies the preset condition, the first Bluetooth transmitting device may switch the frame format and use the second frame format to send the data to the second Bluetooth receiving device, the second frame format includes the first subframe and a second Bluetooth data frame that has undergone encoding processing that is different from a first Bluetooth data frame; pg. 2, line 19 - pg. 3, line 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to improve the demodulation sensitivity of the protocol data unit which improves the Bluetooth positioning efficiency (Yu; pg. 2, lines 17-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 12-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien, and Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: obtaining, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a first parameter, wherein the first parameter indicates at least one of a requirement of a Bluetooth service or a parameter of Bluetooth communication; and determining, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a length of the first synchronization code based on the first parameter, wherein the length of the first synchronization code is related to the autocorrelation or the cross-correlation of the first synchronization code.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 4, wherein: when the first parameter is greater than or equal to a preset first threshold, the length of the first synchronization code is greater than or equal to a first length; and when the first parameter is less than or equal to a preset second threshold, the length of the first synchronization code is less than or equal to a second length, wherein the first parameter indicates one of the following parameters: a data retransmission rate, a data reliability required by the Bluetooth service, a transmission distance of the first Bluetooth data frame, or a signal strength of an interference signal received by the Bluetooth receiving apparatus.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 4, wherein: when the first parameter is less than or equal to a first threshold, the length of the first synchronization code is greater than or equal to a first length; and when the first parameter is greater than or equal to a preset second threshold, the length of the first synchronization code is less than or equal to a second length, wherein the first parameter indicates one of the following parameters: a data delay required by the Bluetooth service, a transmit power used by the Bluetooth sending apparatus to send the first Bluetooth data frame, or a signal-to-noise ratio of a channel for transmitting the first Bluetooth data frame.
Regarding claim 7, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien and Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest before the generating, by a Bluetooth sending apparatus, a first Bluetooth data frame, the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: negotiating, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a first random number with the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, wherein the first random number is used for determining the first synchronization code in a first synchronization code set, and the first synchronization code set comprises at least one synchronization code.
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 7, wherein a quantity of Bluetooth apparatuses around, within a predetermined range, the Bluetooth sending apparatus is greater than or equal to a preset first value, and a quantity of synchronization codes in the first synchronization code set is greater than or equal to a preset second value.
Regarding claim 9, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien and Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest before the generating, by a Bluetooth sending apparatus, a first Bluetooth data frame, the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: negotiating, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a second random number with the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, wherein the second random number is used for determining a first time interval, and the first time interval is a time interval for updating a synchronization code in a Bluetooth data frame transmitted between the Bluetooth receiving apparatus and the Bluetooth sending apparatus.
Regarding claim 12, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien and Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 10, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: obtaining, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a second parameter, wherein the second parameter indicates at least one of a requirement of a Bluetooth service or a parameter of Bluetooth communication; and determining, by the Bluetooth sending apparatus, a proportion of a first pilot in the first Bluetooth data frame based on the second parameter.
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 12, wherein: when the second parameter is greater than or equal to a preset fifth threshold, the proportion of the first pilot in the first Bluetooth data frame is greater than or equal to a third proportion; and when the second parameter is less than or equal to a preset sixth threshold, the proportion of the first pilot in the first Bluetooth data frame is less than or equal to a fourth proportion, wherein the second parameter indicates one of the following parameters: a channel phase change speed of a channel for transmitting the first Bluetooth data frame, a data retransmission rate, a data reliability required by the Bluetooth service, a transmission distance of the first Bluetooth data frame, or a signal strength of an interference signal received by the Bluetooth receiving apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 12, wherein: when the second parameter is less than or equal to a preset fifth threshold, the proportion of the first pilot in the first Bluetooth data frame is greater than or equal to a third proportion; and when the second parameter is greater than or equal to a preset sixth threshold, the proportion of the first pilot in the first Bluetooth data frame is less than or equal to a fourth proportion, wherein the second parameter indicates one of the following parameters: a data delay required by the Bluetooth service, a transmit power used by the Bluetooth sending apparatus to send the first Bluetooth data frame, a signal-to-noise ratio of a channel for transmitting the first Bluetooth data frame, or an error correction capability of a coding scheme of the first Bluetooth data frame.
Regarding claim 17, Ibrahim, Liu, Sakoda, Tomizawa, Xiao/Abeta, Chien and Kleider disclose the Bluetooth communication method according to claim 16, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest before the receiving, by a Bluetooth receiving apparatus, a first Bluetooth data frame from a Bluetooth sending apparatus, the Bluetooth communication method further comprises: negotiating, by the Bluetooth receiving apparatus, a second random number with the Bluetooth sending apparatus, wherein the second random number is used for determining a first time interval, and the first time interval is a time interval for updating a synchronization code in a Bluetooth data frame transmitted between the Bluetooth receiving apparatus and the Bluetooth sending apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648