Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/26 have been considered. Please see the 103 rejection below integrating Chen (2003/018765) and Xu (EventCap: Monocular 3D Capture of High-Speed Human Motions using an Event Camera).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (20180174323) in view of Xu (EventCap: Monocular 3D Capture of High-Speed Human Motions using an Event Camera) in further view of Chen (2003018765).
Regarding claim 1, Ji teaches and the first event image comprises an image indicating a movement trajectory that is of a target object and that is generated when the target object moves in a detection range of a motion sensor (see the abstract and par. 24);
determining integration time of the first event image (par. 25);
and pose estimation (par. 20).
Xu teaches pose estimation method, comprising: obtaining a first event image and a first target image, wherein the first event image is aligned with the first target image in time sequence, the first target image comprises a red green blue (RGB) image or a depth image (see section 1, “we design a hybrid and ….”).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Ji the ability to use both event information and conventional frame images as taught by Xu. The reason is to allow multiple sources.
Ji teaches pose estimation using the event frames In par. 20.
Chen teaches in response to the integration time being less than a first threshold, based on the first event image rather than the first target (see the abstract and claim 1, which teaches a threshold driven integration time control technique).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Ji and Xu the ability use thresholds to control a mode selection as taught by Chen. The reason is to allow the system to use thresholds in order to determine which frame to choose so that processing is saved.
Regarding claim 2, see par. 32 of Ji, sync times.
Regarding claim 3-4, see par. 25 of Ji, associating frames.
Regarding claim 5, see par. 34 of Ji, short window even only.
Regarding claim 6, see pars. 32-33 of Ji.
Regarding claim 7, see par. 31 of Ji, each integration time stream is processed independently. The long window will yield pose when the short window is absent.
Regarding claims 19-20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Xu in further view of Chen in further view of Qi (20190259170).
Regarding claim 8, Qi teaches wherein the method further comprises: performing loopback detection based on the first event image and a dictionary, wherein the dictionary comprises a dictionary constructed based on event images (see par. 5, bag of words reads on dictionary).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Ji, Xu and Chen the ability to use a dictionary as taught by Qi in order to better identify events.
Regarding claim 9, see par. 5 of Qi that outputs landmarks.
Regarding claim 10, see pars. 90-92 of Qi, detect features.
Regarding claims 11-12, see pars. 71 of Qi, key frames based on quality. Ji computes confidence in par. 28.
Regarding claims 13-14, see par. 9 of Qi, SLAM uses RGB. Ji teaches depth in par. 6.
Regarding claim 15, Ji teaches multiscale correction in par. 34 and 28. Qi chooses the key frame with a stable mask in pars. 88-89.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676