DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-20 are presented for examination.
The claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. “Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)” (MPEP p 2100-8, c 2, I 45-48; p 2100-9, c 1, l 1-4). The Examiner has full latitude to interpret each claim in the broadest reasonable sense. The Examiner will reference prior art using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/amendment was filed on 03 October 2025.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. However, the Examiner welcomes any suggestion(s) Applicant may have on moving prosecution forward. The Examiner’s contact information is in the Conclusion of this office action.
Applicant argues:
Hendricks is directed to an electronic book security and copyright protection system for secure distribution of electronic text and graphics to subscribers and secure storage (Hendricks, Abstract). Hendricks refers to seed key generation algorithm 5201 and 5202 each generating a seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm (Hendricks, paragraph [0212]). Hendricks further discloses the seed key SK 5203 being used by key sequence generator 5204 to generate transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 (Hendricks, paragraph [0212]). However, Hendricks does not disclose securing replication rights for replicating 3D object files by receiving the seed key 5203. Hendricks further does not disclose the seed key 5203 being associated with the 3D object files or items to be replicated. Hendricks further does not disclose using the seed key 5203 as an out-of-band secret to seed the creation of the transaction symmetric key 5206. Hendricks merely discloses using a seed key generation algorithm (such as the Diffie-Hellman algorithm) to create seed key 5203 (Hendricks, paragraph [0212]), but Hendricks does not disclose how the key sequence generator 5204 uses the seed key 5203 to generate the transaction symmetric key. Furthermore, Hendricks only discloses using the DiffieHellman algorithm to generate seed key 5203, whereas the claimed embodiments disclose using the 3D replication key in a way that specifically thwarts man-in-the-middle attacks that are used on Diffie-Hellman algorithms and provides improved security (present application, paragraph [0122]).
In response, the Examiner submits:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “Hendricks further does not disclose using the seed key 5203 as an out-of-band secret to seed the creation of the transaction symmetric key 5206”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hendricks teaches “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and further teaches “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities” (Hendricks: at least ¶0293).
Out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks.
Although Hendricks discloses example of security and copyright protection for electronic book, Hendricks teaching of right protection can also be applied to other content types such as 3D objects and 3D object files. Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm are algorithms that are not limited to only electronic book.
According to Hendricks, content can be “… electronic books or other content available to the subscriber” (Hendricks: at least ¶0147).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2014/0156053 by Mahdavi et al. (“Mahdavi”) in view of US PGPUB 2013/0346740 by Mirashrafi et al. (“Mirashrafi”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2007/0201702 by Hendricks et al. (“Hendricks”).
As to Claim 1, Mahdavi teaches an authorized 3D replication system comprising: a licensor computer system with at least one processor executing replication software that allows and protects access to 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0050, 0055; "3D print farm server 43 may also be provided with a processor configured with software to convert a received 3D design"; ¶0079 further discloses "cloud computing may be used. In such embodiments, the user is able to use selected software, which is hosted remotely to the user terminal 17. For example, the software may be hosted local to the software developer's terminal 27, or it may be hosted on the service provider's server 31");
wherein the at least one processor on the licensor computer system executes the replication software to: secure replication rights for replicating the 3D object files by receiving a 3D replication key at an interface (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “receiver being arranged to receive an authentication response from the authentication server, the response enabling printing of the article from the 3D design file on the specified 3D printer, the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key”; note: user does not have to be a human user; replication is replication of 3D objects);
establish a communication path to a server containing 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; "shared communication network 23, such that data, such as 3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21" and Fig. 2 shows that entity 19 connected in real-time to service provider);
transmit the input 3D replication key to a file server (Mahdavi: at least ¶0020; “transferring the decryption key to the 3D print server to authenticate and enable the printing of the 3D article on the 3D printer”; ¶0025 also discloses “a transmitter arranged to transmit the decryption key to the 3D print server to authenticate and enable the printing of the 3D article on the 3D printer”) storing 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; “3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21”);
receive and display a list of 3D object files at the interface confirming the validity of the 3D replication key, wherein the 3D replication key is associated with the list of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0081-0082; “a list of all the associated registered 3D printers 45, and the 3D design files each 3D printer 45 is authorised to print” and “If the unique identifier associated with the present 3D design file is present in this list along with an indication that EXECUTE level access rights have been granted, then this confirms that the 3D printer is authorised to access and to print an object in accordance with the subject 3D design file”; ¶0055 also disclose “selects a preferred 3D design from the selection of available 3D designs” and “different 3D designs are all individually associated with a different unique identifier, enabling each different design to be uniquely identified”);
confirm replication capabilities required to replicate the 3D object corresponding to selected 3D object files of the list of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0059; “each manufacturer's database record 37 comprises a full listing of each individual 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer, along with the printing capabilities of each printer 45. In this way, information comprised within a manufacturer's database record 37 may be used by the server 31 to determine not only which manufacturer 19 is best suited to print the 3D object, but also which specific 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer is best suited”; note: suitability based on printing capabilities; ¶0060 further discloses “forward the 3D design file to the appropriate manufacture and/or 3D printer”);
permit download of and limit access to the selected 3D object files for permitted usage of each of the selected 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0080; "limit the number of objects printed by a manufacturer in accordance with a user-selected 3D design file"; ¶0084 also discloses" that the 3D printer 45 is authorised to print the subject 3D design file, at step 99, then the server 31 can determine from the identifier database record 37 the number of remaining prints that the 3D printer is authorised to print");
wherein the replication software: track and report replication activities of one or more 3D replication components (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0015, 0019; “once the predetermined number of authorised articles have been printed, the authentication serve is notified. In this way, the authentication server is able to monitor the number of articles that have been printed in accordance with the 3D design file” and “the system is arranged to notify the authentication server when a predetermined number of prints of an article have been made from a single authenticated 3D design file”; note: track all successful printing stage – each successful print results increase in “number of prints of an article”);
protect the downloaded 3D object files using a shared encryption key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0046; “manage access rights to the encrypted content of 3D design files” and “upon receipt of the encrypted 3D design file 47”; ¶0057 further discloses “3D design file 47 is subsequently encrypted using one or more encryption keys provided”; note: encryption as data protection), wherein the shared encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key; note: replication key(s) used to access encrypted content are different from encryption key(s));
monitor access of the selected 3D object files during the permitted usage on the licensee computer system (Mahdavi: at least ¶0088; “monitor the number of remaining objects that may be printed by the specific 3D printer in accordance with the 3D design file”); transmit feedback on all usage to the file server containing the 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0015, 0019; “once the predetermined number of authorised articles have been printed, the authentication serve is notified. In this way, the authentication server is able to monitor the number of articles that have been printed in accordance with the 3D design file” and “the system is arranged to notify the authentication server when a predetermined number of prints of an article have been made from a single authenticated 3D design file”; note: notification as feedback; track all successful printing stage – each successful print results increase in “number of prints of an article”).
Mahdavi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirashrafi discloses communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073; "transmit an encrypted object ... to the electronic device" and "the electronic device operatively coupled to the server and comprising a processor registered with the server to create a secured communication link between the processor and the server").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mirashrafi’s feature of communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073) with the
established communication path in the system disclosed by Mahdavi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for
communication over a network based on "proprietary security standards or protocols to
generate secure communication links and secure sessions over the network 106" (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0019).
Mahdavi and Mirashrafi do not explicitly disclose, but Hendricks discloses protect the downloaded 3D object files using a new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) and decrypt one or more portions of the downloaded 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “… uses the transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 and decryption process D.sub.SKTi 5209 to decrypt the encrypted content E.sub.SKTi[EBC] 5206), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”; ¶0293 further discloses “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities”; note: out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hendricks’ features of protect the downloaded 3D object files using a new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and decrypt one or more portions of the downloaded 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0212, 0293), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi and Mirashrafi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized content access and “support copyright protection” (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0365).
As to Claim 2, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the authorized 3D replication system of claim 1 wherein the interface lists all the 3D object files that correspond to a 3D replication key to allow the licensor to make a limited selection from a list of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0081-0082; “a list of all the associated registered 3D printers 45, and the 3D design files each 3D printer 45 is authorised to print” and “If the unique identifier associated with the present 3D design file is present in this list along with an indication that EXECUTE level access rights have been granted, then this confirms that the 3D printer is authorised to access and to print an object in accordance with the subject 3D design file”; ¶0055 also disclose “selects a preferred 3D design from the selection of available 3D designs” and “different 3D designs are all individually associated with a different unique identifier, enabling each different design to be uniquely identified”).
As to Claim 4, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the authorized 3D replication system of claim 1 wherein the replication software provides two-factor authentication for the download and use of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0048; “authentication request is used by the service provider to determine if the requesting entity is authorised to access the contents of the 3D design file”; ¶0089 further discloses “decryption key can be used until the number of authorised prints has been exhausted”).
As to Claim 5, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the authorized 3D replication system of claim 1 wherein the replication software tracks (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0015, 0019; “once the predetermined number of authorised articles have been printed, the authentication serve is notified. In this way, the authentication server is able to monitor the number of articles that have been printed in accordance with the 3D design file” and “the system is arranged to notify the authentication server when a predetermined number of prints of an article have been made from a single authenticated 3D design file”; note: track all successful printing stage – each successful print results increase in “number of prints of an article”) and provides limited modification of the selected 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0051; “access rights come in one of three flavours, namely either READ, WRITE, or EXECUTE. This defines the type of access an authorised entity may have to encrypted content. For example, a READ access right means that the authorised entity is only authorised to read the associated content, whilst WRITE access rights provide the authorised entity with the ability to both read and edit content”).
As to Claim 8, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the authorized 3D replication system of claim 1 wherein material for replication is validated before the replication begins (Mahdavi: at least ¶0017; "a plurality of 3D printers, each printer having a different set of capabilities for printing out the 3D article from the 3D design file" and "the system is able to cater for a variety of different printing requirements, since different printers will have different performance characteristics. For example, different printers may be used to print with different materials"; ¶0057 further discloses "user may define the physical dimensions of the object" and "user may define rigidity, tensile strength, material, or any other physical characteristic of the desired 3D object" and ¶0059 discloses "determine, on the basis of the user-defined physical specifications, which operatively connected manufacturer/3D print farm 19 is most suitable for manufacturing the 3D object").
As to Claim 9, Mahdavi teaches a method for authorized 3D replication, the method comprising: executing, a licensor computer system with at least one processor, replication software that allows and protects access to 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0050, 0055; "3D print farm server 43 may also be provided with a processor configured with software to convert a received 3D design"; ¶0079 further discloses "cloud computing may be used. In such embodiments, the user is able to use selected software, which is hosted remotely to the user terminal 17. For example, the software may be hosted local to the software developer's terminal 27, or it may be hosted on the service provider's server 31");
secure replication rights for replicating the 3D object files by receiving a 3D replication key at an interface (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “receiver being arranged to receive an authentication response from the authentication server, the response enabling printing of the article from the 3D design file on the specified 3D printer, the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key”; note: user does not have to be a human user; replication is replication of 3D objects);
establishing a communication path to a server containing 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; "shared communication network 23, such that data, such as 3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21" and Fig. 2 shows that entity 19 connected in real-time to service provider);
transmitting the input 3D replication key to a server (Mahdavi: at least ¶0020; “transferring the decryption key to the 3D print server to authenticate and enable the printing of the 3D article on the 3D printer”; ¶0025 also discloses “a transmitter arranged to transmit the decryption key to the 3D print server to authenticate and enable the printing of the 3D article on the 3D printer”) storing 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; “3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21”);
receiving and displaying a list of 3D object files at the interface confirming the validity of the 3D replication key, wherein the 3D replication key is associated with the list of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0081-0082; “a list of all the associated registered 3D printers 45, and the 3D design files each 3D printer 45 is authorised to print” and “If the unique identifier associated with the present 3D design file is present in this list along with an indication that EXECUTE level access rights have been granted, then this confirms that the 3D printer is authorised to access and to print an object in accordance with the subject 3D design file”; ¶0055 also disclose “selects a preferred 3D design from the selection of available 3D designs” and “different 3D designs are all individually associated with a different unique identifier, enabling each different design to be uniquely identified”);
confirming replication capabilities required to replicate the 3D object corresponding to selected 3D object files of the list of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0059; "each manufacturer's database record 37 comprises a full listing of each individual 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer, along with the printing capabilities of each printer 45. In this way, information comprised within a manufacturer's database record 37 may be used by the server 31 to determine not only which manufacturer 19 is best suited to print the 3D object, but also which specific 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer is best suited"; note: suitability based on printing capabilities; ¶0060 further discloses "forward the 3D design file to the appropriate manufacture and/or 3D printer");
permitting download of and limit access to the selected 3D object files for permitted usage of each of the selected 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0080; "limit the number of objects printed by a manufacturer in accordance with a user-selected 3D design file"; ¶0084 also discloses" that the 3D printer 45 is authorised to print the subject 3D design file, at step 99, then the server 31 can determine from the identifier database record 37 the number of remaining prints that the 3D printer is authorised to print");
tracking and reporting replication activities of one or more 3D replication components using the 3D replication software (Mahdavi: at least ¶0015; "monitors the number of articles printed and compares this with the authorised number of articles"; note: printing activities as replication activities of 3D replication machines);
protecting the downloaded 3D object files using the shared encryption key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0046; “manage access rights to the encrypted content of 3D design files” and “upon receipt of the encrypted 3D design file 47”; ¶0057 further discloses “3D design file 47 is subsequently encrypted using one or more encryption keys provided”; note: encryption as data protection), wherein the shared encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key; note: replication key(s) used to access encrypted content are different from encryption key(s));
monitoring access of the selected 3D object files during the permitted usage on the licensee computer system (Mahdavi: at least ¶0088; “monitor the number of remaining objects that may be printed by the specific 3D printer in accordance with the 3D design file”); transmitting feedback on all usage to the server containing the 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0015, 0019; “once the predetermined number of authorised articles have been printed, the authentication serve is notified. In this way, the authentication server is able to monitor the number of articles that have been printed in accordance with the 3D design file” and “the system is arranged to notify the authentication server when a predetermined number of prints of an article have been made from a single authenticated 3D design file”; note: notification as feedback; track all successful printing stage – each successful print results increase in “number of prints of an article”).
Mahdavi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirashrafi discloses communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073; "transmit an encrypted object ... to the electronic device" and "the electronic device operatively coupled to the server and comprising a processor registered with the server to create a secured communication link between the processor and the server").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mirashraffs feature of communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073) with the
established communication path in the method disclosed by Mahdavi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for
communication over a network based on "proprietary security standards or protocols to
generate secure communication links and secure sessions over the network 106" (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0019).
Mahdavi and Mirashrafi do not explicitly disclose, but Hendricks discloses generating a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”);
protecting the downloaded 3D object files using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) and decrypt one or more portions of the downloaded 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “… uses the transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 and decryption process D.sub.SKTi 5209 to decrypt the encrypted content E.sub.SKTi[EBC] 5206), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”; ¶0293 further discloses “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities”; note: out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hendricks’ features of generating a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212);
protecting the downloaded 3D object files using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and decrypt one or more portions of the downloaded 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0212, 0293), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) with the method disclosed by Mahdavi and Mirashrafi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized content access and “support copyright protection” (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0365).
As to Claim 10, Mahdavi teaches an authorized 3D replication system at an interface that uses a 3D replication key to grant replication rights for one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0024 “obtaining a decryption key associated with the received identifiers in response to the authentication signal”; ¶0048 further discloses “authentication request is used by the service provider to determine if the requesting entity is authorised to access the contents of the 3D design file”), the system comprising: a data storage device storing 3D replication software (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0050, 0055; "3D print farm server 43 may also be provided with a processor configured with software to convert a received 3D design"; ¶0079 further discloses "cloud computing may be used. In such embodiments, the user is able to use selected software, which is hosted remotely to the user terminal 17. For example, the software may be hosted local to the software developer's terminal 27, or it may be hosted on the service provider's server 31");
a processor coupled to the data storage device, wherein the processor executes the 3D replication software to: secure replication rights for replicating a 3D object corresponding to one or more 3D object files by receiving a 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “receiver being arranged to receive an authentication response from the authentication server, the response enabling printing of the article from the 3D design file on the specified 3D printer, the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key”) over a communication path from an interface (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; "shared communication network 23, such that data, such as 3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21" and Fig. 2 shows that entity 19 connected in real-time to service provider);
confirm the replication rights of the licensee to replicate the 3D object by validating the 3D replication key corresponding to replication rights of the licensee to access the one or more 3D object files corresponding to the 3D object, wherein the 3D replication key is associated with the one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0054; "a request for the decryption key is forwarded to the service provider 31, along with the requesting entities' identifier" and "if the requesting entity is authorised to use the subject secure 3D design file, and secondly which types of data access rights have been granted. The service provider 21 subsequently forwards the relevant one or more decryption keys to the requesting entity"; note: key validated to be used by an entity; ¶0084 further discloses "decryption key that may be validly used only once");
verify capabilities required to access and replicate the 3D object using the selected 3D object files according to licensor replication requirements (Mahdavi: at least ¶0059; "each manufacturer's database record 37 comprises a full listing of each individual 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer, along with the printing capabilities of each printer 45. In this way, information comprised within a manufacturer's database record 37 may be used by the server 31 to determine not only which manufacturer 19 is best suited to print the 3D object, but also which specific 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer is best suited"; note: suitability based on printing capabilities; ¶0060 further discloses "forward the 3D design file to the appropriate manufacture and/or 3D printer");
protect selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using a shared encryption key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0046; "manage access rights to the encrypted content of 3D design files" and "upon receipt of the encrypted 3D design file 47"; ¶0057 further discloses "3D design file 47 is subsequently encrypted using one or more encryption keys provided"; note: encryption as data protection), wherein the shared encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; "the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file" and "a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file"; ¶0013 further discloses "the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key; note: replication key(s) used to access encrypted content is different from encryption key(s));
permit limited access by the licensee device to the selected one or more 3D object files to initiate a replication process of the selected one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0080; "limit the number of objects printed by a manufacturer in accordance with a user-selected 3D design file"; ¶0084 also discloses" that the 3D printer 45 is authorised to print the subject 3D design file, at step 99, then the server 31 can determine from the identifier database record 37 the number of remaining prints that the 3D printer is authorised to print"); and
track and report replication activities by any of the one or more 3D replication components within a licensor system (Mahdavi: at least ¶0015; "monitors the number of articles printed and compares this with the authorised number of articles"; note: printing activities as replication activities of 3D replication machines).
Mahdavi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirashrafi discloses communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073; "transmit an encrypted object ... to the electronic device" and "the electronic device operatively coupled to the server and comprising a processor registered with the server to create a secured communication link between the processor and the server").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mirashraffs feature of communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073) with the
established communication path in the system disclosed by Mahdavi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for
communication over a network based on "proprietary security standards or protocols to
generate secure communication links and secure sessions over the network 106" (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0019).
Mahdavi and Mirashrafi do not explicitly disclose, but Hendricks discloses protect selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using a new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected one or more 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “… uses the transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 and decryption process D.sub.SKTi 5209 to decrypt the encrypted content E.sub.SKTi[EBC] 5206), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”; ¶0293 further discloses “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities”; note: out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hendricks’ features of protect selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using a new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected one or more 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0212, 0293), wherein the new shared symmetrical encryption key is different from the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi and Mirashrafi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized content access and “support copyright protection” (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0365).
As to Claim 11, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 10 wherein the interface lists all the 3D object files that correspond to a 3D replication key to allow the licensor to enable selection of the selected one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0081-0082; “a list of all the associated registered 3D printers 45, and the 3D design files each 3D printer 45 is authorised to print” and “If the unique identifier associated with the present 3D design file is present in this list along with an indication that EXECUTE level access rights have been granted, then this confirms that the 3D printer is authorised to access and to print an object in accordance with the subject 3D design file”; ¶0055 also disclose “selects a preferred 3D design from the selection of available 3D designs” and “different 3D designs are all individually associated with a different unique identifier, enabling each different design to be uniquely identified”).
As to Claim 13, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 10 wherein the replication software provides two-factor authentication for the download and use of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0048; “authentication request is used by the service provider to determine if the requesting entity is authorised to access the contents of the 3D design file”; ¶0089 further discloses “decryption key can be used until the number of authorised prints has been exhausted”).
As to Claim 14, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 10 wherein the replication software tracks (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0015, 0019; “once the predetermined number of authorised articles have been printed, the authentication serve is notified. In this way, the authentication server is able to monitor the number of articles that have been printed in accordance with the 3D design file” and “the system is arranged to notify the authentication server when a predetermined number of prints of an article have been made from a single authenticated 3D design file”; note: track all successful printing stage – each successful print results increase in “number of prints of an article”) and provides limited modification of the selected 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0051; “access rights come in one of three flavours, namely either READ, WRITE, or EXECUTE. This defines the type of access an authorised entity may have to encrypted content. For example, a READ access right means that the authorised entity is only authorised to read the associated content, whilst WRITE access rights provide the authorised entity with the ability to both read and edit content”).
As to Claim 17, Mahdavi teaches a method for an authorized 3D replication system at an interface that uses a 3D replication key to grant replication rights for one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0024 “obtaining a decryption key associated with the received identifiers in response to the authentication signal”; ¶0048 further discloses “authentication request is used by the service provider to determine if the requesting entity is authorised to access the contents of the 3D design file”), the method comprising:
securing replication rights for replicating a 3D object corresponding to ione or more 3D object files by receiving a 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “receiver being arranged to receive an authentication response from the authentication server, the response enabling printing of the article from the 3D design file on the specified 3D printer, the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key”) over a communication path from an interface (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; "shared communication network 23, such that data, such as 3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21" and Fig. 2 shows that entity 19 connected in real-time to service provider);
confirming the replication rights of the licensee to replicate the 3D object by validating the 3D replication key corresponding to replication rights of the licensee to access the one or more 3D object files corresponding to the 3D object, wherein the 3D replication key is associated with the one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0054; "a request for the decryption key is forwarded to the service provider 31, along with the requesting entities' identifier" and "if the requesting entity is authorised to use the subject secure 3D design file, and secondly which types of data access rights have been granted. The service provider 21 subsequently forwards the relevant one or more decryption keys to the requesting entity"; note: key validated to be used by an entity; ¶0084 further discloses "decryption key that may be validly used only once");
verifying capabilities required to access and replicate the 3D object using the selected 3D object files according to licensor replication requirements (Mahdavi: at least ¶0059; "each manufacturer's database record 37 comprises a full listing of each individual 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer, along with the printing capabilities of each printer 45. In this way, information comprised within a manufacturer's database record 37 may be used by the server 31 to determine not only which manufacturer 19 is best suited to print the 3D object, but also which specific 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer is best suited"; note: suitability based on printing capabilities; ¶0060 further discloses "forward the 3D design file to the appropriate manufacture and/or 3D printer");
protecting selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using the shared encryption key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0046; "manage access rights to the encrypted content of 3D design files" and "upon receipt of the encrypted 3D design file 47"; ¶0057 further discloses "3D design file 47 is subsequently encrypted using one or more encryption keys provided"; note: encryption as data protection), the shared encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; "the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file" and "a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file"; ¶0013 further discloses "the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key; note: replication key(s) used to access encrypted content is different than encryption key(s));
permitting limited access by the licensee device to the selected one or more 3D object files to initiate a replication process of the selected one or more 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0080; "limit the number of objects printed by a manufacturer in accordance with a user-selected 3D design file"; ¶0084 also discloses" that the 3D printer 45 is authorised to print the subject 3D design file, at step 99, then the server 31 can determine from the identifier database record 37 the number of remaining prints that the 3D printer is authorised to print"); and
tracking and reporting replication activities by any of the one or more 3D replication components within a licensor system (Mahdavi: at least ¶0015; "monitors the number of articles printed and compares this with the authorised number of articles"; note: printing activities as replication activities of 3D replication machines).
Mahdavi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirashrafi discloses communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073; "transmit an encrypted object ... to the electronic device" and "the electronic device operatively coupled to the server and comprising a processor registered with the server to create a secured communication link between the processor and the server").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mirashraffs feature of communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073) with the
established communication path in the method disclosed by Mahdavi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for
communication over a network based on "proprietary security standards or protocols to
generate secure communication links and secure sessions over the network 106" (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0019).
Mahdavi and Mirashrafi do not explicitly disclose, but Hendricks discloses generating a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”);
protecting selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected one or more 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “… uses the transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 and decryption process D.sub.SKTi 5209 to decrypt the encrypted content E.sub.SKTi[EBC] 5206), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”; ¶0293 further discloses “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities”; note: out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks), the new shared symmetrical encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hendricks’ features of generating a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212);
protecting selected one or more 3D object files on a licensee device using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected one or more 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0212, 0293), the new shared symmetrical encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) with the method disclosed by Mahdavi and Mirashrafi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized content access and “support copyright protection” (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0365).
As to Claim 18, Mahdavi teaches an authorized 3D replication system at an interface that grants replication rights for a 3D object using a 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0024 “obtaining a decryption key associated with the received identifiers in response to the authentication signal”; ¶0048 further discloses “authentication request is used by the service provider to determine if the requesting entity is authorised to access the contents of the 3D design file”), the system comprising: a data storage device storing 3D replication software (Mahdavi: at least ¶¶0050, 0055; "3D print farm server 43 may also be provided with a processor configured with software to convert a received 3D design"; ¶0079 further discloses "cloud computing may be used. In such embodiments, the user is able to use selected software, which is hosted remotely to the user terminal 17. For example, the software may be hosted local to the software developer's terminal 27, or it may be hosted on the service provider's server 31");
a processor coupled to the data storage device, wherein the processor executes the 3D replication software to: secure replication rights for replicating the 3D object by receiving a 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “receiver being arranged to receive an authentication response from the authentication server, the response enabling printing of the article from the 3D design file on the specified 3D printer, the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key”) over a communication path from an interface (Mahdavi: at least ¶0042; "shared communication network 23, such that data, such as 3D design files, may be transferred between any one of the aforementioned connected entities 17, 19, 21" and Fig. 2 shows that entity 19 connected in real-time to service provider);
confirm the replication rights of the licensee to replicate the 3D object files by validating the 3D replication key corresponding to replication rights of the licensee to access an authorized set of 3D object files, wherein the 3D replication key is associated with the authorized set of 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0054; "a request for the decryption key is forwarded to the service provider 31, along with the requesting entities' identifier" and "if the requesting entity is authorised to use the subject secure 3D design file, and secondly which types of data access rights have been granted. The service provider 21 subsequently forwards the relevant one or more decryption keys to the requesting entity"; note: key validated to be used by an entity; ¶0084 further discloses "decryption key that may be validly used only once");
verify of capabilities of the licensee to access and replicate the 3D object using selected 3D object files of the authorized set of 3D object files according to licensor replication requirements (Mahdavi: at least ¶0059; "each manufacturer's database record 37 comprises a full listing of each individual 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer, along with the printing capabilities of each printer 45. In this way, information comprised within a manufacturer's database record 37 may be used by the server 31 to determine not only which manufacturer 19 is best suited to print the 3D object, but also which specific 3D printer 45 available to the manufacturer is best suited"; note: suitability based on printing capabilities; ¶0060 further discloses "forward the 3D design file to the appropriate manufacture and/or 3D printer");
protect the selected 3D object files using the shared encryption key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0046; “manage access rights to the encrypted content of 3D design files” and “upon receipt of the encrypted 3D design file 47”; ¶0057 further discloses “3D design file 47 is subsequently encrypted using one or more encryption keys provided”; note: encryption as data protection), the shared encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Mahdavi: at least ¶0016; “the response comprising a decryption key arranged to decrypt the encrypted 3D design file” and “a decryption module arranged to use the decryption key to decrypt the received encrypted 3D design file”; ¶0013 further discloses “the decryption key may be one-time user decryption key; note: replication key(s) used to access encrypted content are different from encryption key(s));
permit limited access by the licensee device to the selected one or more 3D object files to initiate a replication process of the selected 3D object files (Mahdavi: at least ¶0080; "limit the number of objects printed by a manufacturer in accordance with a user-selected 3D design file"; ¶0084 also discloses" that the 3D printer 45 is authorised to print the subject 3D design file, at step 99, then the server 31 can determine from the identifier database record 37 the number of remaining prints that the 3D printer is authorised to print"); and
track and report replication activities by any of the one or more 3D replication components within the licensee's system upon (Mahdavi: at least ¶0015; "monitors the number of articles printed and compares this with the authorised number of articles"; note: printing activities as replication activities of 3D replication machines).
Mahdavi does not explicitly disclose, but Mirashrafi discloses communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073; "transmit an encrypted object ... to the electronic device" and "the electronic device operatively coupled to the server and comprising a processor registered with the server to create a secured communication link between the processor and the server").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mirashraffs feature of communication
path that is a secure communication path (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0073) with the
established communication path in the system disclosed by Mahdavi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow for
communication over a network based on "proprietary security standards or protocols to
generate secure communication links and secure sessions over the network 106" (Mirashrafi: at least ¶0019).
Mahdavi and Mirashrafi do not explicitly disclose, but Hendricks discloses generate a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”), and protect the selected 3D object files using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206” and “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100”; ¶0011 also discloses “prevent unauthorized access to the electronic books”; ¶0147 further discloses “electronic books or other content”) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “… uses the transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206 and decryption process D.sub.SKTi 5209 to decrypt the encrypted content E.sub.SKTi[EBC] 5206), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “the seed key generation algorithm 5201 at the publisher 282 and the seed key generation algorithm 5202 at the operations center 250 each generate seed key SK 5203 using, for example, the Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,200,700” and “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”; ¶0293 further discloses “exchanging encryption key information between the operations center 250 and home system 258 may be done using communication networks. Alternatively, encryption key distribution may be accomplished by storing the encryption key information on a smart card, PCMCIA card device, CD ROM, or other portable memory storage device and delivering the device to the appropriate location for retrieval and use in future encryption and decryption activities”; note: out-of-band can mean communications made outside of the usual networks), the new shared symmetrical encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hendricks’ features of generate a new shared symmetrical encryption key using the 3D replication key as a seed value (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212), and protect the selected 3D object files using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0147, 0212) to encrypt (Hendricks: at least ¶0212) and decrypt one or more portions of the selected 3D object files (Hendricks: at least ¶0212), wherein the 3D replication key is used as an out-of band secret to seed creation of the new shared symmetric encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0212, 0293), the new shared symmetrical encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi and Mirashrafi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized content access and “support copyright protection” (Hendricks: at least ¶¶0011, 0365).
As to Claim 19, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 18 wherein the 3D replication software protects the selected 3D object files using the new shared symmetrical encryption key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “encrypts the electronic book content EBC 5100 using encryption process E.sub.SKTi 5207 and the shared transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”), the new shared symmetrical encryption key being different than the 3D replication key (Hendricks: at least ¶0212; “seed key SK 5203 is then used by key sequence generator 5204 at the publisher 282 to generate the first in a sequence of keys, transaction symmetric key SKTi 5206”).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2014/0156053 by Mahdavi et al. (“Mahdavi”) in view of US PGPUB 2013/0346740 by Mirashrafi et al. (“Mirashrafi”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2007/0201702 by Hendricks et al. (“Hendricks”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2017/0072637 by Yanazume et al. (“Yanazume”).
As to Claim 6, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach authorized 3D replication the system of claim 1.
Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks do not explicitly disclose, but Yanazume discloses wherein the replication software is a print driver within the operating system of the licensee's system (Yanazume: at least ¶0055; “the 3D printer driver 130 is a software module for operating the 3D printer 2 through the PC 1, and generates a job for operating the 3D printer 2 based on the slice data and the projection data generated by the 3D data conversion processor 120 and transmits the job to the 3D printer 2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yanazume’s feature of wherein the replication software is a print driver within the operating system of the licensee's system (Yanazume: at least ¶0055) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “… provides a function for the PC 1 to control the 3D printer 2” (Yanazume: at least ¶0051).
As to Claim 15, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 10.
Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks do not explicitly disclose, but Yanazume discloses wherein the replication software is a print driver within the operating system of the licensee's device (Yanazume: at least ¶0055; “the 3D printer driver 130 is a software module for operating the 3D printer 2 through the PC 1, and generates a job for operating the 3D printer 2 based on the slice data and the projection data generated by the 3D data conversion processor 120 and transmits the job to the 3D printer 2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yanazume’s feature of wherein the replication software is a print driver within the operating system of the licensee's device (Yanazume: at least ¶0055) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “… provides a function for the PC 1 to control the 3D printer 2” (Yanazume: at least ¶0051).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2014/0156053 by Mahdavi et al. (“Mahdavi”) in view of US PGPUB 2013/0346740 by Mirashrafi et al. (“Mirashrafi”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2007/0201702 by Hendricks et al. (“Hendricks”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2016/0263832 by Bui et al. (“Bui”).
As to Claim 7, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the authorized 3D replication system of claim 1.
Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks do not explicitly disclose, but Bui discloses wherein the replication software is a firmware built directly into the 3D replication machine of the licensee's system (Bui: at least ¶0030; “such a controller 124 may include at least one processor that is operative responsive to software and/or firmware stored in the 3D printer to control the hardware components of the 3D printer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectivefiling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bui’s feature of wherein the replication software is a firmware built directly into the 3D replication machine of the licensee's system (Bui: at least ¶0030) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “actuate the hardware components (e.g., motors, electrical circuits and other components) of the 3D printer in order to selectively move the deposition head and/or the build plate in order to deposit material in the various patterns” (Bui: at least ¶0029).
As to Claim 16, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 10.
Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks do not explicitly disclose, but Bui discloses wherein the replication software is a firmware built directly into the 3D replication machine of the licensee's system (Bui: at least ¶0030; “such a controller 124 may include at least one processor that is operative responsive to software and/or firmware stored in the 3D printer to control the hardware components of the 3D printer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectivefiling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bui’s feature of wherein the replication software is a firmware built directly into the 3D replication machine of the licensee's system (Bui: at least ¶0030) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “actuate the hardware components (e.g., motors, electrical circuits and other components) of the 3D printer in order to selectively move the deposition head and/or the build plate in order to deposit material in the various patterns” (Bui: at least ¶0029).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2014/0156053 by Mahdavi et al. (“Mahdavi”) in view of US PGPUB 2013/0346740 by Mirashrafi et al. (“Mirashrafi”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2007/0201702 by Hendricks et al. (“Hendricks”), and further in view of US PGPUB 2014/0252684 by Swanson et al. (“Swanson”).
As to Claim 20, Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks teach the system of claim 18.
Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks do not explicitly disclose, but Swanson discloses wherein the verification of the capabilities includes determining if there is enough replication material in the 3D replication machine to complete a complete copy of the 3D object (Swanson: at least ¶0068; “computer 50 may also compute the amount of part or support material required to print the given layer of purge tower 24 to ensure that consumable assemblies 12 still have enough supplies of the part or support materials to complete the printing operation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectivefiling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Swanson’s feature of wherein the verification of the capabilities includes determining if there is enough replication material in the 3D replication machine to complete a complete copy of the 3D object (Swanson: at least ¶0068) with the system disclosed by Mahdavi, Mirashrafi and Hendricks.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that sufficient “supplies of the part or support materials to complete the printing operation” (Swanson: at least ¶0068).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Huen Wong whose telephone number is (571) 270-3426. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday (10:30AM EST - 6:30PM EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Charles Rones can be reached on (571) 272-4085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300 for regular communications and after final communications.
/H .W./
Examiner, AU 2168
09 January 2026
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168