Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 11 – 19 have been canceled. Claims 1 – 10 are pending and under examination.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1 – 10 in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, phrases “substantive internal discontinuities” and “substantive internal cracks” are indefinite. The term “substantive” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, the claims do not provide a standard for how to measure/or determine whether a discontinuity/crack is “substantive” or not. Moreover, a review of the specification also does not appear to provide a standard for determining whether discontinuities/cracks are “substantive” or not. “Claim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained, subjective opinion of a particular individual purported to be practicing the invention. Datamize LLC v. Plumtree Software, Inc., 417 F.3d 1342, 1350, 75 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2005)” (MPEP 2173.05(b))
Claims 2 – 5 and 7 – 10 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (US 11,167,346) in view of Posson (US 6,427,599) and Ataman (“EBS Wax”, NPL)
Regarding claim 1, Sanderson teaches a method of producing a pyrotechnic material through combining a first, second, and third powder through tubes into a mixer [Fig 1]. The first, second and third powders are a metal powder, a fluoropolymer, and a binder powder [Col 5, line 1 – 7]. The mixed components are passed to an extruder [Fig 1], meeting the claimed limitation of passing the uniform powder mixture through an extrusion die to form an extrudate.
The extrusion process would have pressure applied and Sanderson teaches that elevated temperatures can be used [Col 4, line 36 – 38], meeting the claimed limitations of applying elevated temperature and pressure.
Sanderson does not expressly teach a fourth tube for transporting a fourth component of the pyrotechnic compositon or that a wax powder is included.
Posson teaches a method of producing pyrotechnic material including for a flare or decoy [Abstract]. Posson teaches a particular example including an MTV mixture [Fig 8]. Posson teaches that the composition can be produced by extrusion [Col 17, line 46 – 47] and suggests that the presence of a lubricant can aid in the manufacturing process [Col 17, line 55 – 57]. In particular, Posson teaches that the composition can include a mold release agent such as Acrawax C [Col 19, line 55 – 57] (which is Ethylene bis(stearamide) wax).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Sanderson to include a lubricant/mold release agent component in the composition, in particular Acrawax C, as disclosed by Posson. Posson is directed to the powder metallurgical production of flare/pyrotechnic compositions, including MTV, and as such, is in the same filed of endeavor as Sanderson. Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings of Posson to be pertinent to the method of Sanderson and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying them to Sanderson. Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply them because lubricants/mold release agents reduce interparticle friction as well as friction between the apparatus walls and material.
To this, Ataman discusses Ethylene bis(stearamide) wax (EBS WAX) [Title]. Ataman states that EBS is used in various industries as both an internal/external lubricant and mold release agent [Page 2]. Ataman states that one such industry is powder metallurgy [Page 2] wherein the compound serves to reduce inter-particle friction as well as die-wall friction [Page 3]. EBS wax is commercially available and is supplied as fine granules or powder [page 1], meeting the claimed limitation of wax powder.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used/selected EBS wax powder (Acrawax C) in the method of Sanderson as-modified because of its friction reducing benefits as well as because of its commercial availability.
Sanderson teaches that the extrusion method includes heating to over 120°F [Col 6, line 10 – 12] and as evidenced by Ataman, EBS has a melting point of ~144-146°C [Page 1], which is above the temperature of the extrusion process of Sanderson.
While Sanderson as-modified does not expressly state that a fourth transportation tube is included in the apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of Sanderson to include a fourth transportation tube to accommodate a fourth powder component. Sanderson suggests in both the figures and description that the extrusion device contains a separate tube for each functional component powder and Sanderson also explicitly states that the system can have additional components/configurations [Col 3, line 14 – 16]. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan possessing ordinary creativity would have reasonably inferred that an additional tube should be provided to accommodate an additional component powder such as the lubricant/mold release agent of Posson/Ataman. Moreover, given the teachings in Sanderson that the system can have additional components/configuration, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (MPEP 2141.03 I)
Lastly, given that the combination of prior art uses a wax powder as a lubricant/release agent of the same composition as claims 7 and 8 in an extrusion process, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that the prior art combination would naturally result in attaining an extrudate that did not contain substantive internal discontinuities, absent evidence to the contrary.
Persion Pharms. LLC v. Alvogen Malta Operations LTD., 945 F.3d 1184, 1191, 2019 USPQ2d 494084 (Fed. Cir. 2019), where the court stated that a proper finding of inherency does not require that all limitations are taught in a single reference, and that inherency may meet a missing claim limitation when the limitation is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." (emphasis in original) "In relying upon the theory of inherency, the examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art." Ex parte Levy, 17 USPQ2d 1461, 1464 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (emphasis in original) (MPEP 2112 IV)
Regarding claims 2 – 3, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Posson teaches that the mold release agent/Acrwax C can be included in the composition in a range of 0.05 – 2 wt% of the composition [Col 19, line 54 – 56, 62 – 65], which overlaps with the claimed range of claim 2 and the claimed value of claim 3.
With regards to the overlapping ranges taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected overlapping ranges as disclosed. Selection of overlapping ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, absent evidence of unexpected results or criticality (See MPEP § 2144.05 I). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”
Regarding claim 5, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson teaches that the extrusion method includes heating to over 120°F [Col 6, line 10 – 12] and as evidenced by Ataman, EBS has a melting point of ~144-146°C [Page 1], which is above the temperature of the extrusion process of Sanderson. As such, it would be reasonably expected that the wax would not be melted during the extrusion process.
Regarding claim 6, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches performing extrusion of flare material with EBS as applied in claim 1. Given that the combination of prior art uses a wax powder as a lubricant/release agent of the same composition as claims 7 and 8 in an extrusion process, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that the prior art combination would naturally result in attaining an extrudate that did not contain substantive internal cracks spart apart from the external surface, absent evidence to the contrary.
“inherency may meet a missing claim limitation when the limitation is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." (MPEP 2112 IV)(see above)
Regarding claims 7 – 8, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson teaches that the metal powder can be magnesium, the fluoropolymer powder can be polytetrafluoroethylene powder, the binder powder can be a composite of polytetrafluoroethylene and a copolymer including vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene monomers [Col 3, line 30 – 36], meeting the claimed limitations of claim 7.
Ataman teaches EBS wax particulate as a lubricant [Page 1], which meets the claimed limitations of “amide wax” in claim 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 9, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches performing extrusion of flare material with EBS as a lubricant material as applied in claim 1. Given that the combination of prior art uses a wax powder as a lubricant of the same composition as claims 7 and 8 in an extrusion process, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that the lubricant of the prior art combination would reduce shear force accumulation during the process, absent evidence to the contrary.
“inherency may meet a missing claim limitation when the limitation is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." (MPEP 2112 IV)(see above)
Regarding claim 10, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson teaches that shearing of the binder to increase content between an adhesive material in the binder and the metal powder [Claim 1].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (US 11,167,346) in view of Posson (US 6,427,599) and Ataman (“EBS Wax”, NPL), as applied in claim 1, in further view of Griffith (US 3,265,778)
Regarding claim 4, Sanderson in view of Posson and Ataman teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Sanderson as-modified does not expressly teach including the wax powder composition (specifically EBS wax) as a layer along the surface of the extrusion die.
Griffith teaches a method of extruding explosive material [title]. Griffith teaches that the extruder comprises a means from supplying a film of lubricant between the extruding material and the walls of the extruder block [Col 2, line 50 – 55]. Given that the material is a “lubricant”, it is implied that it reduces friction of the material with the wall and thereby velocity gradient of the extrudate exiting the die. Moreover, Ataman expressly recognizes that EBS wax is beneficial for reducing die-wall friction with the material [Page 3].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Sanderson with the teachings of Griffith of providing a means for lubricating between the extruding material and die walls. Griffith is directed to the extrusion of explosive material and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings pertinent to the method of Sanderson. Moreover, given that Sanderson also uses an extrusion process, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the teachings of Griffith to Sanderson. Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand that a lubricant reduces friction and as such, would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Griffith to the method of Sanderson to attain said benefit. As discussed in Ataman, EBS wax is beneficial for reducing die-wall friction with the material [Page 3] which would provide further motivation in using this composition as the die-wall lubricant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 – 15, 21 – 22, 29 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,167,346 (henceforth US ‘346) in view of Posson (US 6,427,599) and Ataman (“EBS Wax”, NPL).
Regarding claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 10, US ‘346 claims a method of producing a pyrotechnic material through combining a first, second, and third powder through tubes into a mixer [claim 14, 15]. The first, second and third powders are a metal powder, a fluoropolymer, and a binder powder [claim 8]. The mixed components are passed to an extruder [claim 8], meeting the claimed limitation of passing the uniform powder mixture through an extrusion die to form an extrudate.
The extrusion process would have pressure applied and US ‘346 claims that elevated temperatures can be used [claim 29], meeting the claimed limitations of applying elevated temperature and pressure.
US ‘346 claims that the metal powder can be magnesium, the fluoropolymer powder can be polytetrafluoroethylene powder, the binder powder can be a composite of polytetrafluoroethylene and a copolymer including vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene monomers [Claim 13, claim 22], meeting the claimed limitations of claim 7.
US ‘346 claims shearing a binder powder with an adhesive material [claim 9].
For the reasons discussed above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the prior art of Posson and Ataman (in addition to the claims of US ‘346) render the claims (1 – 3 and 5 – 10) obvious prima facie. Posson/Ataman reasonably suggests that an amide wax (claim 7, 8) powder can be included with the composition (in an amount that overlaps claims 1 and 2) and the prior art combination reasonably suggests that a fourth tube would be included with the combination as an additional configuration.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 – 15, 21 – 22, 29 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,167,346 in view of Posson (US 6,427,599), Ataman (“EBS Wax”, NPL), and Griffith (US 3,265,778)
For the reasons discussed above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the prior art of Griffith (in addition to the claims of US ‘346, Posson, and Ataman) render the claims obvious prima facie. Griffith reasonably suggests using a lubricating agent on the area between the extruding material and extruding die wall.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,173,944 – extrudable flare composition similar to MTV with other additive additions such ESD modifiers or surfactant
US 6,312,625 – extrudable flare composition similar to MTV with other additive additions
US 4,145,328 – Forming a mixture of titanium powder with organic resins and PTFE
US 6,485,586 – Use of paraffin wax as binder in incendiary composition which improves ESD sensitivity
US2391988 – Use of paraffin wax and mixtures of waxes in formation of combustibles including flares
ATK Thiokol (NPL) – Disclosure of the use of carnauba wax as a binder in extrusion of MTV flares
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738