DETAILED ACTION
Response to Applicant Reply
This office action is in response to Applicant’s reply of 1 June 2026. Applicant’s remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance.
Note: The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 June 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 8 January 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered, initialed, and attached hereto.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 are pending and under examination.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15-17, 19-21, and 23 were amended in the claims filed 1 June 2026.
Claims 3 and 6-7 are canceled.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objection to the drawings in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 is withdrawn in view of the replacement drawings filed 1 June 2026.
All objections to claims in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026.
Except for the maintained rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), all other rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026.
The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026.
The rejections of claims 11, 14-15, and 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 and Applicant’s arguments in the reply filed 1 June 2026 (see Response to Arguments subsection of the Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(a) - New Matter section below).
The rejections of claims 2, 4-5, 8, 17, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the office action mailed 8 January 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 (see Discussion of Withdrawn and New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section below).
Specification
SUBSTITUTE SPECIFICATION NOT ENTERED
The substitute specification filed 1 June 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a marked-up copy of the substitute specification with markings showing all changes has not been supplied (in addition to the clean copy). 37 CFR 1.125(c) states: “A substitute specification submitted under this section must be submitted with markings showing all the changes relative to the immediate prior version of the specification of record” (emphasis added). Applicant stated on page 10 of the Remarks filed 1 June 2026 “Addressed but not tracked in the replacement specification are number of corrections to typographical errors, such as spelling errors and misplaced hyphens” (emphasis added).
Claim Interpretation
Maintained
In Claim 21, lines 2-3, the phrase “cancer activating mutations in DNA” is interpreted to not be limited to strictly point mutations, but also insertions, deletions, copy number gains, and rearrangements of a DNA that lead to a cancer activating effect.
New
In view of the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026, the Claim Interpretation section has been updated to clarify how claims 2, 4-5, and 8 are interpreted.
Claim 2, dependent upon claim 1, recites “a number of consecutive cycles of the steps in the order A1), B1), C), D), E) and F) repeated at least three consecutive times and then A2), B2), C), D), E) and F) repeated at least three consecutive times”. Note that step F) of claim 1 recites “Performing at least three (3) further cycles comprising steps B1) to E) […] wherein in particular the last cycle may stop with step D)”. Claim 2 is therefore interpreted as requiring the performance of step A1), B1), C), D), E), followed by, due to F), steps B1), B2), C), D), E) being performed at least 3 more times (does not have to include E) in the last cycle), then followed by the performance of A1), B1), C), D), E), and F) as described above at least 2 more times, followed by the performance of step A2), B2), C), D), E), followed by, due to F), steps B1), B2), C), D), E) being performed at least 3 more times (does not have to include E) in the last cycle), then followed by the performance of A2), B2), C), D), E), and F) as described above at least 2 more times. Notably, (1) this requires step A1) and A2) each being performed at least 3 times on the sample, and (2), this requires both B1) and B2) to be performed in each cycle caused by step F) because F) now recites “steps B1) to E)”.
Claim 8, dependent upon claim 1, recites “a number of interwoven cycles of the steps in the order A1), A2), B1), B2), C), D), E) and F) repeated n times, wherein n is the number of interwoven cycles and is at least 3”. Note that step F) of claim 1 recites “Performing at least three (3) further cycles comprising steps B1) to E) […] wherein in particular the last cycle may stop with step D)”. Claim 8 is therefore interpreted as requiring the performance of steps A1), A2), B1), B2), C), D), E), followed by, due to F), steps B1), B2), C), D), E) being performed at least 3 more times (does not have to include E) in the last cycle), then followed by the performance of A1), A2), B1), B2), C), D), E), and F) as described above at least 2 more times. Notably, this requires steps A1) and A2) each being performed at least 3 times.
Claims 4 and 5 now recite “wherein the sample is selected for […] diagnosis of a disease”, followed by a list of diseases. These are recitations of intended use of the method and they do not structurally limit any elements of the claimed method and do not recite any additional steps of the claimed method. Therefore, the recited intended uses in claims 4 and 5 are interpreted as non-limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Maintained - Modified as Necessitated by Amendment
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the first number of targets” in line 33 and “the second number of targets” in lines 34-35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, targets is interpreted as referring to the analytes that the analyte-specific probes of a set interact with. Claims 2, 4-5, and 8-23 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1, thereby inheriting this limitation that has insufficient antecedent basis.
New - Necessitated by Amendment
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “transcript plexity” in claim 17’s recitation “wherein the high abundance analyte is present at an amount corresponding to a transcript plexity of at least 10x greater than that of the low abundance analyte” added in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 is used by the claim to mean “an amount of an analyte,” while the accepted meaning is “the number of different transcript analytes in an assay” (ex: a FISH assay using probes for 1 transcript analyte has a transcript plexity of 1, a fish assay using probes for 2 transcripts has a transcript plexity of 2, etc.). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The recitation of transcript plexity in the specification (see page 6 lines 4-7 of the specification filed 28 November 2023) refers to the standard definition of transcript plexity by referring to the number of probes or targets of a set of probes, rather than claim 17’s usage of transcript plexity that appears to refer to the amount of an analyte. Therefore, the apparent definition used in claim 17 is contradictory to the definition in the art and in the specification, making the metes and bounds of claim 17 unclear to one ordinary skill in the art.
The term “substantial” in claim 19 line 3 and claim 20 line 3 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “substantial” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The relative frequency of spatial overlap is therefore rendered indefinite. Claim 20 is also rejected based on its dependency on claim 19, thereby inheriting the indefinite limitation.
Response to Arguments Re: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 21-28 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to all 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections except for the above maintained rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is made of claims 17, 19, and 20 as necessitated by the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 22-23 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the above modified 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 1 and claims 2, 4-5, and 8-23 due to their dependency on claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments applicant identifies provide antecedent basis for a first number and a second number of different analytes, whereas the rejection identifies targets as lacking antecedent basis. Therefore, the rejection is maintained, and is modified as necessitated by the amendment filed 1 June 2026 now distinguishing a first number and second number of targets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
New - Necessitated by Amendment
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 recites “wherein the first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes encodes at least 10x more analytes than does the second set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes” and claim 1, upon which claim 9 depends, recites in lines 33-36 “wherein the first number of targets of the first set of analyte-specific probes according to step A1) is at least 10 times higher than the second number of targets of the second set of analyte-specific probes according to step A2)”. Though the exact language differs, these recitations in claims 1 and 9 are equivalent, since they both limit the scope of the claims by requiring that the first set of analyte-specific probes has 10 times more targets/analytes than the second set of analyte-specific probes. Therefore, claim 9 fails to further limit the scope of claim 1 upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 recites “wherein the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes and the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the second set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes are drawn from the same set of signal oligonucleotides”, and claim 1, upon which claim 11 depends, recites in lines 70-71 “wherein the signal oligonucleotides are drawn from a common pool”. This recitation in claim 1 necessitates that the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the first and second sets of analyte-specific probes are drawn from the same pool or set (equivalent language) of signal nucleotides. Therefore, claim 11 fails to further limit the scope of claim 1 upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments Re: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 28-29 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment of claim 15 to depend from claim 14 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), which is necessitated by the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 because the amendment makes the limitation in claim 1 lines 33-36 no longer optional (see office action mailed 8 January 2026, rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for reciting “wherein (optionally)” in line 33, stating that for the purpose of examination the limitation following “wherein (optionally)” was interpreted as being optional and therefore non-limiting) and claim 9 recites an equivalent limitation of claim 1 to the no-longer-optional limitation in claims 33-36 of claim 1. Additionally, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), which is necessitated by the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 because the amendment adds the limitation in claim 1 lines 70-71 that causes claim 11 to no longer further limit the scope of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Written Description
Maintained - Modified as Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, lines 1-3 of claim 12 add new matter by combining the signal generated from the two sets of analyte-specific probes into a single image. The original disclosure does not disclose combining the signals into an image. The closest disclosure is on page 4 line 32 and page 54 line 14 of the specification filed on 28 November 2023, which both read “both runs generate independent datasets that can be combined in-silico afterwards”. However, while this discloses the combining being performed in silico, as claimed in claim 13, it only discloses that datasets are combined which would imply that the resulting combination would be a dataset, not an image. Claim 13 is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement because of its dependency on claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, lines 4-5 add new matter by stating that the first and second analyte-specific probes are expected to co-localize in a disease sample. Though the original disclosure discloses “disease samples” on page 21 lines 21-24 of the specification filed 29 June 2023, the original disclosure does not disclose a disease sample wherein the probes are expected to co-localize. The closest disclosure is on page 14 lines 5-7 of the specification filed on 28 November 2023, which disclose that a colocalization of signals may indicate activated promotors in genes associated with cancer. However, though this discloses an association between a colocalization and a potential cancer condition, but it does not disclose that there is an expectation of colocalization in a disease sample for the particular disease of cancer or the extrapolation of cancer to any disease.
Regarding claim 17, lines 1-4 add new matter by limiting the first set of analyte-specific probes to comprising a high abundance analyte-specific probe and limiting the second set of analyte-specific probes to comprising a low abundance analyte-specific probe. The original disclosure does not disclose a high abundance analyte-specific probe or a low abundance analyte-specific probe. The closest disclosure is on page 55 lines 2-3 of the specification filed on 29 June 2023, which disclose that the method allows transcripts with higher expression levels to be analyzed because the “signal spread” of the high number of abundant signals vs. the detection of other lowly expressed genes is improved. However, this does not disclose probes specific to high abundance analytes and probes specific to low abundance analytes, and further fails to disclose that the high abundance analytes are detected by the first probe set while the low abundance analytes are detected by the second probe set.
New - Necessitated by Amendment
Regarding claim 17, lines 4-6 add new matter by reciting “wherein the high abundance analyte is present at an amount corresponding to a transcript plexity of at least 10x greater than that of the low abundance analyte”. In the amendment introducing this recitation Applicant identifies page 10 lines 27-29 of the specification filed on 29 June 2023 as part of the original disclosure supporting this amendment, those lines read: “a first set of analyte-specific probes accord to step A1 (the transcript plexity of A1), which is at least 10 times higher in numbers than the number of probes and/or targets of the second set of analyte-specific probes according to step A2 (the transcript plexity of A2)”. The same specification on page 6 lines 4-7 similarly recites “the number of probes and/or targets of first set of analyte-specific probes according to step A1 (the transcript plexity of A1) is at least 10 times higher than the number of probes and/or targets of the second set of analyte-specific probes according to step A2 (the transcript plexity of A2)”. However, neither of these recitations in the specification provide support for the claim amendment. The amendment claims the method such that analytes are present at amounts corresponding to various transcript plexities, such that the high abundance and low abundance analytes are defined by a difference in their transcript plexity. This contrasts to the recitations in the specification where it is the number of probes in a set or the number of targets of probes in a set that is a transcript plexity. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand this recitation to teach an individual analyte having a transcript plexity corresponding to the amount of the analyte, since the disclosure is only for the transcript plexity of a set of probes/analytes/targets and the plexity of a multiplex assay is generally understood in the art to refer to the amount of different analytes/targets being analyzed in an assay, like how it is described in the specification, rather than as a property corresponding to the amount of a single analyte. Therefore, the originally filed disclosure does not provide sufficient written description to support the recited amendment.
Response to Arguments Re: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Written Description
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 29-30 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 11 as lacking written description have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment to claim 11 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026. The rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 31-33 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 14-15 as lacking written description have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand a cancer fusion gene to comprise a fusion of a first analyte and a second analyte and that these would be analytes of the method disclosed based on the disclosure, on page 54, that detection of spatially overlapping transcripts allows for detection of cancer fusion genes and in view of the amendment to claim 15 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026. The rejections of claims 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 34-36 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 21-23 as lacking written description have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment of claim 21 to recite “cancer activating mutations in DNA promoter sequence” and claim 23 to recite “probes directed to genes associated with cancer” in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 and in view of Applicant’s arguments that these claims as amended are supported by the original disclosure and Applicant’s argument that claim 23’s subject matter of “probes directed to transcripts associated with cancer” is supported by the recitation on page 54 of the original disclosure. The rejections of claims 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
Regarding the response to arguments not found persuasive below, Examiner notes that claims are examined for compliance with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as described in the following quotation from MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(b) (emphasis added):
To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386, each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure. When an explicit limitation in a claim "is not present in the written description whose benefit is sought it must be shown that a person of ordinary skill would have understood, at the time the patent application was filed, that the description requires that limitation." Hyatt v. Boone, 146 F.3d 1348, 1353, 47 USPQ2d 1128, 1131 (Fed. Cir. 1998)
Applicant's arguments, see pages 30-31 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 12-13 as lacking written description have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the disclosure relates in part to generating images from datasets, identifying page 54 as reciting data generation referred to as “imaging”, page 39 as reciting the assignment of an analyte to a position in an image, and Figs. 10-12 as each presenting images resultant from in silico combination of datasets gathered through the technology of the disclosure. Regarding the recitation on page 54, this is not persuasive because it only discloses imaging as a means of the accomplishing the detection step of the disclosure, as claimed in step D) of claim 1, but does not recite or implicitly or inherently require combining images or generating images from datasets. Regarding the recitation on page 39, this is not persuasive because it only discloses the assignment of an analyte to a position in an image, which is at most the processing of an image into a dataset, but does not recite or implicitly or inherently require combining images or generating images from datasets. Regarding the Figs. 10-12, this is not persuasive because they are only described in the initially filed specification, filed on 29 June 2023, on page 11 lines 27-29 as “Fig. 10: Comparison of intercellular distribution of signals. Fig. 11: Comparison of intracellular distribution of signals. Fig. 12: Distribution pattern of different cell cycle dependent transcripts”, and there is no further discussion of Figs. 10-12 in the specification nor labeling of the figures themselves, so the description provided in the originally filed disclosure does not allow one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain that Figs. 10-12 are resultant from the in silico combination of datasets as argued by Applicant. As none of the provided evidence by Applicant teaches the combination of images or the generation of images from datasets (only generation of datasets from images on page 39, not vice versa), Applicant’s assertion that “viewing the specification as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that combining datasets in silico will result in combined datasets that may be used to generate images reflecting the data in the combined datasets” is not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see page 33 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 16 as lacking written description have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendment of claim 16 to recite a ‘disease sample’ rather than a patient condition in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 cures the defect identified in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 16. Though ‘disease sample’ itself is recited in the original disclosure, the claimed expectation of colocalization in a disease sample, like the previously claimed patient condition, is not recited in the original disclosure. Therefore, the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is maintained and modified as necessitated by the amendment filed 1 June 2026.
Applicant's arguments, see page 34 of the reply, filed 1 June 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 17 as lacking written description have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendment of claim 17 to recite in part that “the high abundance analyte is present at an amount corresponding to a transcript plexity of at least 10x greater than that of the low abundance analyte” in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 cures the defect identified in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 17. However, the presented limitation on the definition of high abundance and low abundance analytes does not limit the claimed high abundance analyte-specific probe or low abundance analyte-specific probe such they are explicitly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure, since the originally filed disclosure does not provide a teaching of the first set of analyte-specific probes comprising probes specific for high abundance analytes as described in the claim or the second set of analyte-specific probes comprising probes specific for low abundance analytes as described in the claim. Examiner further notes that the new limitation identified by Applicant defining the high and low abundance analytes targeted by these probes also fails to provide written description for the probes because the new limitation itself lacks written description, see the new ground of rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maintained and New - Modified as Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Eng et al. (Non-patent Literature Document Cite No 8 in IDS filed 24 January 2024)("Transcriptome-scale super-resolved imaging in tissues by RNA seqFISH+", Nature 568, 235-239 (2019)), herein Eng.
Regarding claim 1, Geipel teaches a multiplex method for detecting different analytes in a sample (method for specific detection of many different analytes in parallel [0068]) by sequential signal-encoding of said analytes ([0001]) and steps A1) and A2) in the following teachings. Geipel teaches contacting the sample with a first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding a first number of different analytes (page 38, D: each target-specific probe set was added to the mixture), each set of analyte specific probes interacting with a different analyte (page 34, Table 2, target transcript column lists different analytes, such as DDX5), wherein if the analyte is a nucleic acid each set of analyte-specific probes comprises analyte-specific probes which specifically interact with different sub-structures of the same analyte (SEQ ID No. 1, from 5’ to 3’, consists of 24 bases that have 100% identity with the DDX5 mRNA transcript variant 2 [see BLAST Alignment 1 below], followed by the spacer sequence ‘gtaac’ and the unique identifier sequence ‘gattaccgacttatcc’ and SEQ ID No. 2, from 5’ to 3’, consists of 21 bases that have 100% identity with the DDX5 mRNA transcript variant 2 [see BLAST Alignment 2 below] followed by the spacer sequence ‘gtaac’ and the unique identifier sequence ‘gattaccgacttatcc’ – SEQ ID Nos. 1 and 2 are defined in [00123] and the sequence listing).
BLAST Alignment 1: Query is first 24 bases of Geipel’s SEQ ID No. 1
BLAST Alignment 2: Query is first 21 bases of Geipel’s SEQ ID No. 2
Giepel further teaches that each analyte-specific probe comprises (aa) a binding element (S) that specifically interacts with one of the different analytes to be encoded ([0073-0074]; Fig. 3 views 1-3) and (bb) an identifier element (T) comprising a nucleotide sequence which is unique to the analyte to be encoded (unique identifier sequence) ([0073-0074]; Fig. 3 views 1-3), wherein the analyte-specific probes of a particular set of analyte-specific probes (Fig. 5 view 2, probes on nucleic acid sequence A) differ from the analyte-specific probes of another set of analyte-specific probes (Fig. 5 view 2, probes on nucleic acid sequence B) in the nucleotide sequence of the identifier element (T) ([0092]; Fig. 5 view 2, distinguished as T1 and T2), wherein the analyte-specific probes in each set of analyte-specific probes binds to the same analyte and comprises the same nucleotide sequence of the identifier element (T) which is unique to said analyte (Fig. 5 view 2). Step A2) recites nearly identical language to A1) with the difference being that the sample is contacted with a second set of analyte-specific probes. Geipel teaches step A2) because in Experiments 1 and 2 they use 50 different target specific probe sets ([00115]; pages 34-37 Tables 2 and 3).
Geipel further teaches steps B1) and B2) in the following teachings. Geipel teaches contacting the sample with decoding oligonucleotides for the sets of analyte-specific probes of steps A1) and A2) wherein each decoding oligonucleotide comprise (aa) an identifier connector element (t) comprising a nucleotide sequence which is essentially complementary to at least a section of the unique identifier sequence of the identifier element (T) of the corresponding analyte-specific probe set of either step A1) or A2), and (bb) a translator element (c) comprising a nucleotide sequence allowing a specific hybridization of a signal oligonucleotide ([0076-0077], [00115]; page 34-36 Table 2; page 39 E.; Fig. 3 views 4-6 and Fig. 5 view 3), wherein the decoding oligonucleotides of a set for an individual analyte differ from the decoding oligonucleotides of another set for a different analyte in the first connector element (t) (Fig. 5 view 3, t1-t3 are specific to the analyte nucleic acid sequences A-C).
Geipel further teaches contacting the sample with at least a set of signal oligonucleotides, each signal oligonucleotide comprising (aa) a translator connector element (C) comprising a nucleotide sequence which is essentially complementary to at least a section of the nucleotide sequence of a translator element (c) of a decoding oligonucleotide, and (bb) a signal element ([0079-0080]; page 39 F.; Fig. 3 views 7-9, F is the signal element); detecting a signal caused by the signal element ([0082]; pages 39-40 G.; Fig. 3 view 10); selectively removing the decoding oligonucleotides and signal oligonucleotides from the sample ([0084]; page 40 H.; Fig. 3 views 11-12); and performing at least three further cycles comprising steps (B1), (B2), (C) to generate an encoding scheme with a code word per analyte wherein the last cycle stops at step (D) ([00117], 4 additional rounds are performed), wherein the signal oligonucleotides are drawn from a common pool (page 39 F. “signal oligonucleotide hybridization mixture was the same for all rounds of experiments 1 to 4” and each experiment included multiple analyte-specific probe sets, see Tables 2 and 3 on pages 34-37).
However, regarding claim 1, Geipel does not disclose the use of this method for detecting different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by sequential signal-encoding. This deficiency is provided for in Eng.
Regarding claim 1, Eng teaches a method of detection of analytes beyond the diffraction limit (Main Body paragraph 4: “super-resolution imaging”, “allows each mRNA dot to be localized below the diffraction limit”) through sequential signal-encoding (Main Body paragraph 4: “sequential hybridizations”). Eng accomplishes this detection using 60 “pseudocolors” in 3 channels wherein analyte-specific probes are bound to analytes and then labels that only apply to a subset of the analyte-specific probes are hybridized, detected, removed, and then the process is repeated with new labels that apply to a different subset of analyte-specific probes, such that there are 20 sets of analyte-specific probes that are imaged separately and sequentially (Main Body paragraph 4, Figure 1a). By combining the images, analytes closer than the diffraction limit can be distinguished due to being labeled by in different detection rounds. This is analogous to the division of sets of analyte-specific probes between A1) and A2) in the instant application that are detected by the series of steps B1), C), D) and B2), C), D) separately which are then combined to identify analytes of A1) and A2) that are closer than the diffraction limit would normally allow. This method is also combined with barcoding. Eng also teaches that previous barcoding-based methods of multiplexed in situ analyte detection have a major challenge because each mRNA occupies a diffraction limited spot in an image, leading to optical crowding that prevents some mRNAs from being resolved (Main Body paragraph 2). Eng teaches that their method of modifying the seqFISH multiplex RNA in situ detection technique with pseudocolors solves this challenge while also not having the flaws of existing super-resolution localization microscopy techniques that rely on the detection of single dye molecules and only work robustly in optically thin samples (Main Body paragraphs 2 and 4).
However, regarding claim 1, neither Geipel nor Eng teach that the first number of analytes of the first set of analyte-specific probes according to step A1) is at least 10 times higher than the second number of analytes of the second set of analyte-specific probes according to step A2). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in the same set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Geipel and Eng this limitation would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for in vitro diagnosis of a disease selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Eng teach the method of claim 4. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 4 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for in vitro diagnosis of a disease including diseases due to a viral or bacterial infection ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for in vitro diagnosis, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Eng teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for diagnosis of a disease in plants selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Eng teach the method of claim 5. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 5 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for diagnosis of a disease in plants including diseases caused by infectious origin ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for diagnosis in plants, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Eng teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, neither Geipel nor Eng teach the first set of analyte-specific probes encoding at least 10x more analytes than the second set of analyte-specific probes encode. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in a set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 10, Geipel teaches using a fluorophore as the signal element ([0029], [00115]).
Regarding claim 11, Geipel teaches the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the first and second sets of analyte-specific probes are drawn from the same set of signal oligonucleotides (page 39 F. “signal oligonucleotide hybridization mixture was the same for all rounds of experiments 1 to 4” and each experiment included multiple analyte-specific probe sets, see Tables 2 and 3 on pages 34-37).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Eng teaches combining the signal generated from one set of analyte-specific probes with the signal generated from another set of analyte-specific probes into a single image (Main Body paragraph 4: “recombining the images to reconstruct a super-resolution image”, Methods, seqFISH+ encoding strategy paragraph 3: “all of the genes are sampled every 20 rounds of readout hybridization [i.e. are split between 20 sets of analyte-specific probes] and collapsed into super-resolved images”) and teaches performing this combining step in silico (Methods, Image analysis: “all image analysis was performed in Matlab”).
Regarding claim 18, Geipel teaches that in a single embodiment one set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a protein-specific probe (probe set binds specifically to the protein analyte) and another set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a nucleic acid-specific probe (probe set binds to the nucleic acid sequence) ([0071]).
In view of Eng’s teaching that splitting analyte detection with their pseudocolor system obtains the advantage of allowing multiplexed RNA in situ detection assays to detect different mRNAs in a sample beyond the diffraction limit with the further advantage of not being limited to the detection of single dye molecules or optically thin samples, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Geipel by splitting the detection of sets of analyte-specific probes to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Eng teaches that their method is advantageous for multiplexed RNA in situ detection assays and Geipel teaches a method of performing a flexible multiplexed in situ detection assay wherein nucleic acids such as RNA are potential analytes. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Walch et al. ("Sequential Multilocus Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Can Detect Complex Patterns of Increased Gene Dosage at the Single Cell Level in Tissue Sections", Lab Invest 81, 1457-1459 (2001)), herein Walch.
Regarding claim 1, the teachings of Geipel are set forth above in the prior 103 rejection. However, Geipel does not disclose the use of this method for detecting different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by sequential signal-encoding. This deficiency is provided for in Walch.
Regarding claim 1, Walch teaches a method of detecting different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction the limit (when limited optical resolution can result in complex signal overlays, paragraph 4). This is accomplished by sequentially applying fluorescently labeled probes one at a time, detecting and then removing a probe before adding the next probe (paragraph 2). Walch also teaches an advantage to using their sequential detection approach instead of a simultaneous detection approach is that the simultaneous detection approach results in complex signal overlays in multiple scenarios that confound interpretation, while their sequential detection approach avoids this problem by detecting only one target at a time.
However, regarding claim 1, neither Geipel nor Walch teach that the first number of analytes of the first set of analyte-specific probes according to step A1) is at least 10 times higher than the second number of analytes of the second set of analyte-specific probes according to step A2). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in the same set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Geipel and Walch this limitation would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for in vitro diagnosis of a disease selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Walch teach the method of claim 4. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 4 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for in vitro diagnosis of a disease including diseases due to a viral or bacterial infection ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for in vitro diagnosis, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Walch teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for diagnosis of a disease in plants selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Walch teach the method of claim 5. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 5 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for diagnosis of a disease in plants including diseases caused by infectious origin ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for diagnosis in plants, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Walch teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, neither Geipel nor Walch teach the first set of analyte-specific probes encoding at least 10x more analytes than the second set of analyte-specific probes encode. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in a set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 10, Geipel teaches using a fluorophore as the signal element ([0029], [00115]).
Regarding claim 11, Geipel teaches the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the first and second sets of analyte-specific probes are drawn from the same set of signal oligonucleotides (page 39 F. “signal oligonucleotide hybridization mixture was the same for all rounds of experiments 1 to 4” and each experiment included multiple analyte-specific probe sets, see Tables 2 and 3 on pages 34-37).
Regarding claim 18, Geipel teaches that in a single embodiment one set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a protein-specific probe (probe set binds specifically to the protein analyte) and another set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a nucleic acid-specific probe (probe set binds to the nucleic acid sequence) ([0071]).
In view of Walch’s teaching that splitting detection of multiple analytes sequentially obtains the advantage of allowing the detection of different analytes for which their nearness would otherwise confound simultaneous detection due to the optical resolution, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Geipel by splitting the detection of sets of analyte-specific probes that are likely to overlap into the two sets of analyte-specific probes of steps (A1) and (A2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Walch teaches using their method in an RNA in situ detection assay and Geipel teaches a method of performing an in situ detection assay wherein nucleic acids such as RNA are potential analytes. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Zhuang et al. (WO 2021138078, published 08 July 2021), herein Zhuang.
Regarding claim 1, the teachings of Geipel are set forth above in the prior 103 rejection. However, Geipel does not disclose the use of this method for detecting different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by sequential signal-encoding. This deficiency is provided for in Zhuang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhuang teaches a method of multiplexed fluorescence in situ hybridization (combinatorial FISH; page 68 lines 18-32) wherein different analytes in a sample are detected beyond the diffraction limit by sequential signal encoding (“Schematic of chromatin tracing of whole chromosomes by sequential hybridization and imaging. When the target chromatin structure is comparable to or smaller than the diffraction limited resolution, a single chromatin locus is imaged in each color channel per imaging round”; page 84 lines 2-8, Fig. 17A). This is accomplished by contacting a sample with a first set of analyte-specific probes (probes for genomic loci, analogous to those of step (A1); page 68 lines 5-12) and sequentially contacting those analyte-specific probes with signal oligonucleotides (readout probes, analogous to those of step (C); page 72 lines 7-15, page 72-73 lines 34-11), the signal oligonucleotides are detected by imaging and then removed before the next cycle (round) of applying new signal oligonucleotides for detection as it proceeds through at least 3 further cycles (50 rounds of hybridization, analogous to steps (D), (E), and (F); page 73 lines 23-25 and 27-28). Zhuang further teaches contacting the same sample with a second set of analyte-specific probes (probes for nascent RNA transcripts, analogous to those of step (A2); page 68 lines 13-17) and sequentially contacting those analyte-specific probes with signal oligonucleotides (readout probes, analogous to those of step (C); page 72 lines 7-15, page 73 lines 12-22), the signal oligonucleotides are detected by imaging and then removed before the next cycle (round) of applying new signal oligonucleotides for detection as it proceeds through at least 3 further cycles (18 rounds of hybridization, analogous to steps (D), (E), and (F); page 73 lines 23-25 and 29-30). Because the probe encoding is optimized for the largest genomic distance between targets with barcodes that result in them being detected in the same detection step (page 68 lines 18-32), signals that would be within the diffraction limit of each other are separated into detection steps that are performed sequentially, allowing the analytes encoded by the signals to be distinguished beyond the diffraction limit.
Zhuang also teaches that there is demand for methods that allow genome-scale measurements of both chromatin organization and transcriptional activity in the same cells, which their multiplexing method achieves by being able to distinguish different targets beyond the diffraction limit by splitting the detection of sets of analytes with sequential hybridization and imaging, because it is important to understand how chromatin organization regulates transcription and how transcription in turn impacts chromatin organization (pages 1-2 lines 33-3).
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for in vitro diagnosis of a disease selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Zhuang teach the method of claim 4. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 4 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for in vitro diagnosis of a disease including diseases due to a viral or bacterial infection ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for in vitro diagnosis, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Zhuang teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the limitation “wherein the sample is selected for diagnosis of a disease in plants selected from the group comprising” followed by a list of diseases is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. Therefore, the combination of Geipel and Zhuang teach the method of claim 5. Furthermore, even if the intended use of claim 5 were interpreted as limiting, Geipel teaches that the method wherein the sample is capable of being used for diagnosis of a disease in plants including diseases caused by infectious origin ([0041]). While Geipel does not specifically state that this is for diagnosis in plants, an intended use limitation only requires that the prior art teach a structure or method capable of fulfilling the intended use (MPEP §2111.01(II): “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”), so the combination of Geipel and Zhuang teach a method capable of the intended use limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, neither Geipel nor Zhuang teach the first set of analyte-specific probes encoding at least 10x more analytes than the second set of analyte-specific probes encode. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in a set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 10, Geipel teaches using a fluorophore as the signal element ([0029], [00115]).
Regarding claim 11, Geipel teaches the signal oligonucleotides used to detect the first and second sets of analyte-specific probes are drawn from the same set of signal oligonucleotides (page 39 F. “signal oligonucleotide hybridization mixture was the same for all rounds of experiments 1 to 4” and each experiment included multiple analyte-specific probe sets, see Tables 2 and 3 on pages 34-37).
Regarding claim 18, Geipel teaches that in a single embodiment one set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a protein-specific probe (probe set binds specifically to the protein analyte) and another set of analyte-specific probes may comprise a nucleic acid-specific probe (probe set binds to the nucleic acid sequence) ([0071]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Zhuang teaches a method of multiplex fluorescence in situ hybridization, of a which in a specific embodiment (page 68, Example 5) a first set of analyte-specific probes comprises probes directed to a first subgroup of targets which do not show a substantial spatial overlap among one another (probes were made for target genomic loci that were chosen in each chromosome and assigned barcodes for sequential imaging rounds – the barcodes were optimized for the largest minimal genomic distance between loci that are imaged simultaneously [i.e. so that they usually would not show a high spatial overlap]; page 68 lines 5-12 and 18-32; these probes were hybridized with the sample; page 71 lines 16-19; and sequentially imaged; page 73 lines 27-28). Zhuang further teaches in the same embodiment a second set of analyte-specific probes comprises probes directed to a subgroup of targets which show a substantial spatial overlap with the first subgroup of targets (nascent RNA transcript targets were chosen for genes that completely or partially overlap [i.e. usually show a high spatial overlap] the targeted genomic loci [the first subgroup of targets]; page 68 lines 13-17; these probes were hybridized with the sample; page 71 lines 16-19; and sequentially imaged separately from the first set of probes; page 73 lines 29-30).
In view of Zhuang’s teaching that their method of multiplexed fluorescence in situ hybridization fulfills the need for a method that allows genome-scale measurements of both chromatin organization and transcriptional activity in the same cells by splitting the detection of sets of analyte-specific probes to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Geipel by splitting the detection of sets of analyte-specific probes to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Zhuang teaches that their method is advantageous for multiplexed RNA in situ detection assays and Geipel teaches a method of performing a flexible multiplexed in situ detection assay wherein nucleic acids such as RNA are potential analytes. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Eng et al. (Non-patent Literature Document Cite No 8 in IDS filed 24 January 2024)("Transcriptome-scale super-resolved imaging in tissues by RNA seqFISH+", Nature 568, 235-239 (2019)), herein Eng, as applied to claims 1, 8-13, and 18 above, and further in view of Markey et al. ("Fusion FISH Imaging: Single-Molecule Detection of Gene Fusion Transcripts In Situ", PLoS One 9(3): e93488 (2014)), herein Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Geipel in view of Eng does not teach the method according to claim 1 wherein the first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene first portion and the second set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene second portion. This deficiency is provided for in Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Markey teaches a method of fluorescence in situ hybridization wherein one probe set targets exon 11 of mRNA of the Abelson (ABL) gene (cancer fusion gene first portion) and a second probe set targets exon 1 of the Breakpoint Cluster Region (BCR) gene (cancer fusion gene second portion), which are brought together in a well-characterized gene fusion that occurs in chronic myeloid leukemia (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1). In addition, Markey teaches that the method they disclose has the advantage of providing improvements to cancer diagnosis (“cancer cells identified by Fusion FISH will be displayed in a different color than normal cells. These digital views will greatly improve cancer diagnosis” Discussion paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 15, Markey teaches detection of colocalization of the cancer fusion gene first portion (ABL gene) and the cancer fusion gene second portion (BCR gene) indicates presence of the cancer fusion gene (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 16, Markey teaches that the a first and a second analyte specific probes would be expected to co-localize in a disease sample (employing Fusion FISH imaging to detect fusion transcripts [i.e. co-localization of probes] in the serum of Ewing’s sarcoma patients [i.e. a disease sample] to enable sensitive diagnosis) (Discussion paragraph 3).
In view of Markey’s teaching that the identification of cancer cells based on gene fusions detected by fluorescence in situ hybridization will greatly improve cancer diagnosis, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Geipel in view of Eng with Markey in order to use the method of detecting analytes in situ of Geipel in view of Eng for detecting cancer fusion genes and diagnosing cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Markey teaches the use of a fluorescence in situ hybridization method and Geipel in view of Eng teaches a fluorescence in situ hybridization method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Walch et al. ("Sequential Multilocus Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Can Detect Complex Patterns of Increased Gene Dosage at the Single Cell Level in Tissue Sections", Lab Invest 81, 1457-1459 (2001)), herein Walch, as applied to claims 1-2, 9-11, and 18 above, and further in view of Markey et al. ("Fusion FISH Imaging: Single-Molecule Detection of Gene Fusion Transcripts In Situ", PLoS One 9(3): e93488 (2014)), herein Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Geipel in view of Walch does not teach the method according to claim 1 wherein the first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene first portion and the second set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene second portion. This deficiency is provided for in Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Markey teaches a method of fluorescence in situ hybridization wherein one probe set targets exon 11 of mRNA of the Abelson (ABL) gene (cancer fusion gene first portion) and a second probe set targets exon 1 of the Breakpoint Cluster Region (BCR) gene (cancer fusion gene second portion), which are brought together in a well-characterized gene fusion that occurs in chronic myeloid leukemia (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1). In addition, Markey teaches that the method they disclose has the advantage of providing improvements to cancer diagnosis (“cancer cells identified by Fusion FISH will be displayed in a different color than normal cells. These digital views will greatly improve cancer diagnosis” Discussion paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 15, Markey teaches detection of colocalization of the cancer fusion gene first portion (ABL gene) and the cancer fusion gene second portion (BCR gene) indicates presence of the cancer fusion gene (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 16, Markey teaches that the a first and a second analyte specific probes would be expected to co-localize in a disease sample (employing Fusion FISH imaging to detect fusion transcripts [i.e. co-localization of probes] in the serum of Ewing’s sarcoma patients [i.e. a disease sample] to enable sensitive diagnosis) (Discussion paragraph 3).
In view of Markey’s teaching that the identification of cancer cells based on gene fusions detected by fluorescence in situ hybridization will greatly improve cancer diagnosis, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Geipel in view of Walch with Markey in order to use the method of detecting analytes in situ of Geipel in view of Walch for detecting cancer fusion genes and diagnosing cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Markey teaches the use of a fluorescence in situ hybridization method and Geipel in view of Walch teaches a fluorescence in situ hybridization method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Zhuang et al. (WO 2021138078, published 08 July 2021), herein Zhuang, as applied to claims 1, 8-11, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Markey et al. ("Fusion FISH Imaging: Single-Molecule Detection of Gene Fusion Transcripts In Situ", PLoS One 9(3): e93488 (2014)), herein Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Geipel in view of Zhuang does not teach the method according to claim 1 wherein the first set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene first portion and the second set of analyte-specific probes for encoding different analytes comprises a cancer fusion gene second portion. This deficiency is provided for in Markey.
Regarding claim 14, Markey teaches a method of fluorescence in situ hybridization wherein one probe set targets exon 11 of mRNA of the Abelson (ABL) gene (cancer fusion gene first portion) and a second probe set targets exon 1 of the Breakpoint Cluster Region (BCR) gene (cancer fusion gene second portion), which are brought together in a well-characterized gene fusion that occurs in chronic myeloid leukemia (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1). In addition, Markey teaches that the method they disclose has the advantage of providing improvements to cancer diagnosis (“cancer cells identified by Fusion FISH will be displayed in a different color than normal cells. These digital views will greatly improve cancer diagnosis” Discussion paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 15, Markey teaches detection of colocalization of the cancer fusion gene first portion (ABL gene) and the cancer fusion gene second portion (BCR gene) indicates presence of the cancer fusion gene (Results, Detection of BCR-ABL transcripts in chronic myeloid leukemia, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 16, Markey teaches that the a first and a second analyte specific probes would be expected to co-localize in a disease sample (employing Fusion FISH imaging to detect fusion transcripts [i.e. co-localization of probes] in the serum of Ewing’s sarcoma patients [i.e. a disease sample] to enable sensitive diagnosis) (Discussion paragraph 3).
In view of Markey’s teaching that the identification of cancer cells based on gene fusions detected by fluorescence in situ hybridization will greatly improve cancer diagnosis, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Geipel in view of Zhuang with Markey in order to use the method of detecting analytes in situ of Geipel in view of Zhuang for detecting cancer fusion genes and diagnosing cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Markey teaches the use of a fluorescence in situ hybridization method and Geipel in view of Zhuang teaches a fluorescence in situ hybridization method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Eng et al. (Non-patent Literature Document Cite No 8 in IDS filed 24 January 2024)("Transcriptome-scale super-resolved imaging in tissues by RNA seqFISH+", Nature 568, 235-239 (2019)), herein Eng, as applied to claims 1, 8-13, and 18 above, and further in view of Onozato et al. ("Highly Multiplexed Fluorescence in Situ Hybridization for in Situ Genomics" J Mol Diagn. 21(3), 390-407 (2019)), herein Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Geipel in view of Eng does not teach probes directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA. This deficiency is provided for in Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Onozato teaches using fluorescence in situ hybridization probes to that are directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA promoter sequences (probes designed for “five important cancer genes” PDGFRA, MET, EGFR, MYC, and RET; Results, Probe Development, paragraph 1; used the probes to detect the copy number of these and other cancer genes; Results, Validation, paragraphs 1-2, Figure 6B-G; note that BAC RP11-23F4 in Table 2 is upstream of the EGFR gene, so it encompasses the promoter region of EGFR). Onozato also teaches that “the assessment of gene copy number is important in the management of cancer patients and is standard of care for the ERBB2 gene in breast and esophagogastric tumors”, as well as that a robust and reproducible multiplex fluorescence in situ hybridization assay has the potential to be clinically useful and therapeutically informative (Discussion, paragraph 1).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Eng teaches a probe directed toward the transcript of EGFR (Supplementary Table 1), which Onozato teaches is a cancer-associated gene (Results, Probe Development, paragraph 1). Note that claim 23’s recitation “probes directed to genes associated with cancer” encompasses probes that interact with any of the gene, a transcript product of the gene, or a protein product of the gene for any gene associated with cancer. Because Eng teaches using the pseudocolor system to separate sets of analyte-specific probes that may overlap in order to detect the respective analytes beyond the diffraction limit as discussed above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the EGFR copy number analyte-specific probe of Onozato and the EGFR transcript analyte-specific probe of Eng in separate sets because a transcript that is captured by the assay in the process of transcription or immediately after would be localized near to the EGFR gene, resulting in the two probes having potentially overlapping signals.
In view of Onozato’s teaching that multiplex fluorescence in situ assays will be useful for management of cancer patients and will be therapeutically informative, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the targeting of probes toward the cancer activating copy number gains taught by Onozato with the robust multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Eng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because this combination applies a probe target for a multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Onozato with a similar multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Eng. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Walch et al. ("Sequential Multilocus Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Can Detect Complex Patterns of Increased Gene Dosage at the Single Cell Level in Tissue Sections", Lab Invest 81, 1457-1459 (2001)), herein Walch, as applied to claims 1-2, 9-11, and 18 above, and further in view of Onozato et al. ("Highly Multiplexed Fluorescence in Situ Hybridization for in Situ Genomics" J Mol Diagn. 21(3), 390-407 (2019)), herein Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Geipel in view of Walch does not teach probes directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA. This deficiency is provided for in Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Onozato teaches using fluorescence in situ hybridization probes to that are directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA promoter sequences (probes designed for “five important cancer genes” PDGFRA, MET, EGFR, MYC, and RET; Results, Probe Development, paragraph 1; used the probes to detect the copy number of these and other cancer genes; Results, Validation, paragraphs 1-2, Figure 6B-G; note that BAC RP11-23F4 in Table 2 is upstream of the EGFR gene, so it encompasses the promoter region of EGFR). Onozato also teaches that “the assessment of gene copy number is important in the management of cancer patients and is standard of care for the ERBB2 gene in breast and esophagogastric tumors”, as well as that a robust and reproducible multiplex fluorescence in situ hybridization assay has the potential to be clinically useful and therapeutically informative (Discussion, paragraph 1).
In view of Onozato’s teaching that multiplex fluorescence in situ assays will be useful for management of cancer patients and will be therapeutically informative, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the targeting of probes toward the cancer activating copy number gains taught by Onozato with the robust multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Walch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because this combination applies a probe target for a multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Onozato with a similar multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Walch. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geipel et al. (WO 2020254519, published 24 December 2020), herein Geipel, in view of Zhuang et al. (WO 2021138078, published 08 July 2021), herein Zhuang, as applied to claims 1, 8-11, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Onozato et al. ("Highly Multiplexed Fluorescence in Situ Hybridization for in Situ Genomics" J Mol Diagn. 21(3), 390-407 (2019)), herein Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Geipel in view of Zhuang does not teach probes directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA. This deficiency is provided for in Onozato.
Regarding claim 21, Onozato teaches using fluorescence in situ hybridization probes to that are directed to cancer activating mutations in DNA promoter sequences (probes designed for “five important cancer genes” PDGFRA, MET, EGFR, MYC, and RET; Results, Probe Development, paragraph 1; used the probes to detect the copy number of these and other cancer genes; Results, Validation, paragraphs 1-2, Figure 6B-G; note that BAC RP11-23F4 in Table 2 is upstream of the EGFR gene, so it encompasses the promoter region of EGFR). Onozato also teaches that “the assessment of gene copy number is important in the management of cancer patients and is standard of care for the ERBB2 gene in breast and esophagogastric tumors”, as well as that a robust and reproducible multiplex fluorescence in situ hybridization assay has the potential to be clinically useful and therapeutically informative (Discussion, paragraph 1).
In view of Onozato’s teaching that multiplex fluorescence in situ assays will be useful for management of cancer patients and will be therapeutically informative, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the targeting of probes toward the cancer activating copy number gains taught by Onozato with the robust multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Zhuang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because this combination applies a probe target for a multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Onozato with a similar multiplex fluorescence in situ assay taught by Geipel in view of Zhuang. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Discussion of Withdrawn and New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejections of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and Eng or over the teachings of Geipel and Zhuang are withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 8 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 8 to require that steps A1) and A2) of contacting the sample with the first and second sets of analyte-specific probes are repeated in each of the at least 3 interwoven cycles (see Claim Interpretation section above clarifying the interpretation of claim 8). None of Geipel, Eng, or Zhuang teach repeated steps of contacting a sample with the same set of analyte-specific probes.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and Walch is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 2 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 2 to require that first step A1) of contacting the sample with the first set of analyte-specific probes is repeated in each of at least 3 consecutive cycles and then step A2) of contacting the sample with the second set of analyte-specific probes is repeated in each of at least 3 consecutive cycles (see Claim Interpretation section above clarifying the interpretation of claim 2). Neither Geipel nor Walch teach repeated steps of contacting a sample with the same set of analyte-specific probes.
The rejections of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and any one of Eng, Walch, or Zhuang and further in view of Markey are withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 4 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 4 to recite an intended use of the sample of the method. As this intended use is interpreted as non-limiting and, furthermore, the combination of Geipel and any one of Eng, Walch, or Zhuang is capable of fulfilling the intended use, the Markey reference is not necessary to teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Therefore, upon consideration of the amendment to claim 4, a new ground of rejection of claim 4 is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of each of Geipel and Eng, Geipel and Walch, and Geipel and Zhuang as necessitated by the amendment to claim 4.
The rejections of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and any one of Eng, Walch, or Zhuang and further in view of Fang are withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 5 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 5 to recite an intended use of the sample of the method. As this intended use is interpreted as non-limiting and, furthermore, the combination of Geipel and any one of Eng, Walch, or Zhuang is capable of fulfilling the intended use, the Fang reference is not necessary to teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Therefore, upon consideration of the amendment to claim 5, a new ground of rejection of claim 5 is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of each of Geipel and Eng, Geipel and Walch, and Geipel and Zhuang as necessitated by the amendment to claim 5.
The rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and Eng as evidenced by Shah 1 and Shah 2 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 17 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 17 to define high and low abundance analytes such that high abundance analytes are present at an amount corresponding to a transcript plexity at least 10x greater than that of the low abundance analyte. Though Shah 1 and Shah 2, as discussed in the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the office action mailed 8 January 2026, provide evidence that Sox2 is present at amounts at least 10x greater than Abca9 (roughly 1600+ counts/cell for Sox2 and <200 counts/cell for Abca9, Figure S3A of Shah 2), which are analytes targeted by different sets of analyte-specific probes in Eng, these teachings are with regard to the amount of these analytes, rather than a transcript plexity of these analytes. The referenced art does not teach a transcript plexity of any analyte and one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize the taught amount of the analytes to correspond to a transcript plexity of the analytes, so the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn.
The rejections of claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel and any one of Eng, Walch, or Zhuang and further in view of Onozato, and Shangguan are withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 23 in the amendment to the claims filed 1 June 2026 amending claim 23 to recite probes directed to genes associated with cancer. As the amended recitation is broader than the previous recitation “probes directed to proteins associated with cancer”, now encompassing probes that interact with the DNA, transcript, or protein of any gene associated with cancer, all limitations of claim 23 are taught by the combination of Geipel, Eng, and Onozato, so the Shangguan reference is not necessary to teach all of the limitations of claim 23. Therefore, upon consideration of the amendment to claim 23, a new ground of rejection of claim 23 is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the teachings of Geipel, Eng, and Onozato as necessitated by the amendment to claim 23.
Response to Arguments Re: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments in the reply filed 1 June 2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. On pages 36-39 of the reply, Applicant reviews teachings of the prior art, which are used in the following discussed arguments.
On page 40 of the reply, Applicant argues that the combinations of Geipel with Eng and Geipel with Zhuang are not obvious because each of Eng and Zhuang would render Geipel unsuitable for its intended purpose. Applicant supports this argument by asserting that the method of Geipel has the benefit of a dramatic increase in encoding capacity by decoupling dependency between the analyte-specific oligonucleotides and the signal oligonucleotides by using decoding oligonucleotides to mediate their interaction, whereas Eng and Zhuang function by coupling the analyte specific oligonucleotide and the signal oligonucleotide, and stating that a proposed modification or combination cannot render a prior art reference unsuitable for its intended purpose.
This argument is not persuasive because the relevant teachings of Eng and Zhuang in the combinations of Geipel with Eng and Geipel with Zhuang are not the direct interaction of the analyte specific oligonucleotide and the signal oligonucleotide, but rather the teaching that splitting potentially overlapping analytes into sets that are imaged sequentially allows for distinguishing between analytes that are closer to each other than the diffraction limit (in Eng this is the splitting of probes into the 20 sets that are sequentially detected in the pseudocolor imaging rounds, in Zhuang this is the splitting of the probes between the first set of probes for genomic loci that are first detected and the second set of probes for nascent RNA transcripts that are detected after the first set). These teachings of Eng and Zhuang are able to be combined with Geipel without preventing Geipel from working because Eng and Zhuang teach doing the detection (which in Geipel comprises contacting with both the relevant decoding oligonucleotides and signal oligonucleotides) of the different sets of analyte specific probes taught by Geipel sequentially, thereby maintaining the advantages of the decoding oligonucleotide taught by Geipel and enabling detection of analytes beyond the diffraction limit by sequential detection taught by Eng and Zhuang.
On page 40 of the reply, Applicant argues that the combination of Geipel with Walch is not obvious because Walch teaches away from the combination. Applicant supports this argument by asserting that Walch’s observation that “a simultaneous approach applying multiple DNA probes might be hampered by the presence of hundreds of signals” is a teaching against using multiple DNA probes as disclosed in Geipel.
This argument is not persuasive. Firstly, Examiner notes that Geipel does not express a requirement for a minimum number of DNA probes and thus encompasses an embodiment with two sets of analyte-specific probes each having set having probes for a single analyte. Considering this embodiment, the quoted observation of Walch does not teach away from combining Walch with Geipel but rather provides motivation for modifying Geipel with Walch’s sequential labeling (i.e. doing steps A1), B1), C), D), E), F) followed by A2), B2), C), D), E), F)) to be able to distinguish the two analytes in cases where they are close enough for their observation to be diffraction limited. Secondly, the quoted observation of Walch is a suggestion by Walch of an outcome that “might” occur when multiple DNA probes are simultaneously applied, as in more complex embodiments of Geipel, which one of ordinary skill would understand to represent caution about the possibility of overlapping analytes but it does not rise to the level of a criticizing, discrediting, or otherwise disparaging the combination to overcome the advantage of being able to distinguish different analytes beyond the diffraction limit that would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Geipel’s method of multiplex fluorescence in situ hybridization with Walch’s approach of sequential detection in order to distinguish analytes of fluorescence in situ hybridization beyond the diffraction limit.
Double Patenting
Maintained - Modified as Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 9, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 75 of copending Application No. 18/292,537 in view of any one of Eng et al. (Non-patent Literature Document Cite No 8 in IDS filed 24 January 2024)("Transcriptome-scale super-resolved imaging in tissues by RNA seqFISH+", Nature 568, 235-239 (2019)), herein Eng, Walch et al. ("Sequential Multilocus Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Can Detect Complex Patterns of Increased Gene Dosage at the Single Cell Level in Tissue Sections", Lab Invest 81, 1457-1459 (2001)), herein Walch, or Zhuang et al. (WO 2021138078, published 08 July 2021), herein Zhuang.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 75 of ‘537 claims a multiplex method for detecting different analytes by sequential signal-encoding of said analytes, comprising contacting the sample with at least 20 different sets of analyte-specific probes that are not patentably distinct from the first and second set of analyte-specific probes claimed in steps (A1) and (A2) of instant claim 1. The differences are that claim 75 of ‘537 claims at least 20 sets of analyte-specific probes whereas instant claim 1 only claims at least the 2 sets of analyte-specific probes recited in steps (A1) and (A2), and that claim 75 of ‘537 recites “if the analyte is a nucleic acid each set of analyte-specific probes comprises at least five (5) analyte-specific probes which specifically interact with different sub-structures of the same analyte” whereas the instant claim 1 lacks the language “at least five (5)”. Because both of these differences merely further limit the language of instant claim 1, the descriptions of the analyte-specific probes are not patentably distinct. Claim 75 of ‘537 further claims contacting the sample with at least one set of decoding oligonucleotides per analyte (which means at least 20 sets of decoding oligonucleotides), which possess the same structural limitations as the decoding oligonucleotides of steps (B1) and (B2) in the instant claim 1. Claim 75 of ‘537 further claims steps (C), (D), (E), and (F) in identical language to instant claim 1. The only limitations of instant claim 1 that claim 75 of ‘537 does not explicitly teach are that the method is for detecting the different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit and that the first number of analytes of the first set of analyte-specific probes is at least 10 times higher than the second number of analytes of the second set of analyte-specific probes. The first deficiency is provided for in Eng as described in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections above. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Eng with ‘537 for the same reasons given in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections above that Eng would be obvious to combine with Geipel, because, like Geipel, claim 75 of ‘537 teaches a method of multiplex method of in situ analyte detection. Regarding the second deficiency, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the number of analytes encoded in either set of analyte-specific probes can be changed and the effect of the method to detect different analytes in a sample beyond the diffraction limit by signal encoding would be maintained so long as the analytes encoded for in the same set of analyte-specific probes do not usually spatially overlap. This limitation is a change in size/proportion of the sets of analyte-specific probes that is common practice for one ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04 IV. A.). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Eng, the invention as a whole of claim 1 would be a prima facie obvious variation of claim 75 of ‘537.
Instant claims 9 and 12-13 are obvious variants of claim 75 of ‘537 in view of Eng based on the further teachings of Eng, as described in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments Re: Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments in the reply filed 1 June 2026 regarding the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection of claims 1, 9, and 12-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of Eng, Zhuang, or Walch would be obvious to combine with the application 18/292,537 for the similar reasoning provided in the arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. This is not persuasive because the arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive, see the discussion of them above.
Applicant also observes that amendments to the claims in prosecution may render the rejections moot and according requests that the rejection on this ground be held in abeyance until outstanding issues are resolved. MPEP §804(I)(B)(1) states that “Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.” As a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is not an objection or requirement as to form, the rejection on this ground cannot be held in abeyance, despite Applicant’s correct observation that amendments to the claims during prosecution may render the double patenting rejection moot.
Claims Free of the Prior Art
Claims 2, 8, and 17 are free of the prior art.
Claims 2 and 8 are free of the prior art because each claim recites a method according to claim 1 that require that the steps A1) and A2) of contacting the sample with a first or second set of analyte-specific probes, respectively, are both performed at least 3 times (see Claim Interpretation section above for how claims 2 and 8 are interpreted as having this requirement). Though multiple combinations of the nearest prior art references of Geipel, Eng, Walch, and Zhuang teach the method of claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claim 1 above), none of these reference teach or suggest contacting the sample the same primary probe set multiple times. In Geipel, Eng, and Zhuang, the sample is contacted with the primary probes and they stay bound during the detection rounds. In Walch, while a primary probe is removed and replaced, it is replaced by a different primary probe so that the signals of the multiple primary probes are not detected simultaneously, rather than being replaced with the same primary probe. Therefore, the nearest primary art does not teach alone or in combination claims 2 and 8.
Claim 17 is free of the prior art because it defines the high and low abundance analytes in the phrase “wherein the high abundance analyte is present at an amount corresponding to a transcript plexity of at least 10x greater than that of the low abundance analyte”. Though the nearest prior art of Geipel in view of Eng and as evidenced by Shah 1 and Shah 2, as discussed in the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the office action mailed 8 January 2026, provide evidence that Sox2 is present at amounts at least 10x greater than Abca9 (roughly 1600+ counts/cell for Sox2 and <200 counts/cell for Abca9, Figure S3A of Shah 2), which are analytes targeted by different sets of analyte-specific probes in Eng, these teachings are with regard to the amount of these analytes, rather than a transcript plexity of these analytes. Therefore, the nearest prior art does not teach alone or in combination claim 17.
Note that, though free of the prior art, claims 2, 8, and 17 stand rejected under other statutes in this office action.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-23 are rejected. Claims 3 and 6-7 are canceled.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY BELLAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683