DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimini (US 2014/0301498) in view of Staszewski (US 2003/0083035).
As to claim 1, Rimini discloses a mobile device (see device 102 in figure 1, or device in figure 4) comprising: a cellular front end system 214 (see figure 4; see also paragraph [0005] which discloses that “Similarly, a victim transceiver of a WiFi radio implementing NLIC may be paired to an aggressor transceiver of a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) radio to cancel co-channel interference on the Rx WiFi signal due to the harmonics on the LTE signal”; therefore, the front end system 214 is a cellular front end system as claimed) configured to generate a radio frequency observation signal (see output signal from direct coupler coupling to output of PA 220) based on observing a cellular transmit signal 224; a cellular transceiver (see paragraph [0005] which discloses that “Similarly, a victim transceiver of a WiFi radio implementing NLIC may be paired to an aggressor transceiver of a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) radio to cancel co-channel interference on the Rx WiFi signal due to the harmonics on the LTE signal) configured to process the radio frequency observation signal to generate digital observation data 248; and a wireless local area network transceiver 240 (see paragraph [0005] which discloses that “Similarly, a victim transceiver of a WiFi radio implementing NLIC may be paired to an aggressor transceiver of a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) radio to cancel co-channel interference on the Rx WiFi signal due to the harmonics on the LTE signal) configured to generate a digital wireless local area network receive signal 252 based on processing a radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal 228, the wireless local area network transceiver including a cancellation circuit 250, 256 (see figure 4) configured to compensate the digital wireless local area network receive signal 252 for radio frequency signal leakage based on the digital observation data 248 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038]).
Rimini fails to disclose that the interference cancellation circuit is a discrete time interference cancellation circuit. Staszewski discloses a discrete time interference cancellation circuit (see at least paragraph [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Staszewski to Rimini, in order to yield predictable results such as implementation flexibility via software, precise digital control, and efficient use of linear algebra for complex computations.
As to claims 2, 11, the combination of Rimini and Staszewski discloses generating a digital observation signal 248 (see Rimini, figure 4) based on the radio frequency observation signal, and to sample the digital observation signal to generate the digital observation data (see Rimini, paragraphs [0044], [0045]). See also Staszewski, paragraph [0016].
As to claims 3, 12, 20, the combination of Rimini and Staszewski discloses that the digital observation data reflects an amount of direct transmit leakage present in the cellular transmit signal (see Rimini, paragraph [0038]).
As to claims 4, 13, Rimini discloses that the cellular front end system includes a directional coupler (see Rimini, paragraph [0049]; see also figure 4 which shows a directional coupler coupled to output of the PA 220) configured to generate the radio frequency observation signal based on sensing the cellular transmit signal.
As to claims 5, 14, Rimini discloses an antenna 222 (see figure 4), the directional coupler further configured to generate the radio frequency observation signal 224 based on a forward coupled path to the antenna 222.
As to claims 6, 15, Rimini discloses a wireless local area network front end system 234 configured to provide the radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal 228 to the wireless local area network transceiver 240.
As to claims 7, 16, Rimini discloses a first antenna (see antenna coupled to filter 230 in figure 4) coupled to the wireless local area network front end system 234.
As to claims 8, 17, Rimini discloses a second antenna 222 (see figure 4) coupled to the cellular front end system 214.
As to claims 9, 18, Rimini discloses that the wireless local area network transceiver is a WiFi transceiver. See paragraph [0005].
As to claim 10, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 19, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sahota (US 2014/0269650), Robert (US 2007/0184804), Smadi (US 2014/0243042) disclose coexistence management in order to cancel leakage signals in mobile devices.
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646