DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 6 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 6 July 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 112 in the Office Action of 6 July 2026 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0340214 A1 to Turk et al. (Turk) in view of US 2010/0147704 A1 to Xiong et al. (Xiong).
As to claim 1, Turk teaches a water purifier comprising a deionization device configured to purify water with electric power, the deionization device including a plurality of individual cells, isolation rooms, each comprising an electrolytic filter and a controller electrically connected to the deionization device for operating the plurality of electric filters. Turk teaches that this operation includes choosing for each electric filter an operation mode from among a purification mode in which the electric filters are adsorption filters, a regeneration mode in which the filters are recycled, a standby mode in which the filter is ready to enter purification mode, and a waiting mode in which the filter is ready to be regenerated, Turk teaches that the controller is configured to operate any one of these modes on any number of filter units based on a plurality of inputs, including preset time (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030, 0035 and 0042). Thus a controller configured to perform the language of operate the plurality of electric filters by dividing the plurality of electric filters into a plurality of electric adsorption filters configured to adsorb ionic materials and at least one electric resting filter configured to remain in a standby state during a water purification operation and maintain a first number of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to be greater than a second number of the at least one electric resting filter during the water purification operation. The controller further configured to perform the functional language of in response to the water purification operation being stopped, i.e. the entire system being off, determine whether a restart command is input within a preset waiting time from a point in time when the water purification operation is stopped, i.e. determine that the system is needed to be turned on again at some point in time. It is important to note that the limitation “start a recycling operation to recycle the plurality of electric filters while the water purification operation remains stopped, based on the restart command not being input within the preset waiting time” is provided in the alternative with “or” language.
However, Turk fails to specifically teach the structural formation of the plurality of electric filters and thus fails to teach that the filters are formed in a housing in isolation rooms separated by a plurality of partition walls.
However, Xiong also discusses electrolytic deionization of water with a plurality of electric filters and teaches that an effective formation for the filters comprises placing them in a housing separated by a plurality of partition walls (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the deionization device of Turk as a housing in which the plurality of filters are provided in isolation rooms by a plurality of partition walls as taught by Xiong with the expectation of effectively providing the deionization device in a compact housing unit.
As to claim 2, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Turk further teaches that the purification mode is achieved by applying an adsorption voltage to the electric filters which is turned off during the standby or waiting modes (Paragraphs 0020, 0024 and 0020). Thus, a controller configured to perform the language of “stop applying an adsorption voltage to one of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to switch the electric adsorption filter to an electric resting filter at preset intervals during the water purification operation; and apply the adsorption voltage current to the at least one resting filter to switch the electric resting filter to an electric adsorption filter at the preset intervals” (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030, 0035 and 0042).
As to claim 3, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Turk further teaches that the controller determines a total operating time of the individual filter units (Paragraph 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054). Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030); however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus, a controller configured to “calculate a cumulative use time of each of the plurality of electric filers; and first operate some electric filters having a shorter cumulative use time relative to cumulative use times of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filter, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”.
As to claim 4, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a flux (flow) sensor configured to measure an amount of purified water discharged from the deionization device (Paragraphs 0010 and 0029) and a controller calculating the amount of water from each electric filter (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054). Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030); however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus, a controller configured to “calculate an amount of cumulative purified water of each of the plurality of electric filters based on a signal sent from the flux sensor; and first operate some electric filters having a smaller amount of cumulative purified water of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filer, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”.
As to claim 5, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2. As discussed above, Turk teaches that the regeneration mode recycling operation is started based on a time period, and thus, for example, a preset waiting time without an input of the restart command. Turk further teaches that the regeneration mode of operation is achieved by applying a opposite polarity recycling voltage sequentially to the plurality go electric filters during the recycling operation (Paragraph 0024).
As to claim 6, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Turk further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative use time of each of the electric filters and to recycle in order an electric filter having a longest use time and then subsequently a filter with a shorter cumulative use time than the longest one at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031).
As to claim 7, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a flux (flow) sensor configured to measure an amount of purified water discharged from the deionization device (Paragraphs 0010 and 0029) and teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative amount of purified water of each of the electric filters at least in part with information from the flow sensor and to recycle in order an electric filter having a largest amount of cumulative purified water and then subsequently a filter with a smaller amount of cumulative purified water at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031).
As to claim 8, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5. As discussed above, Turk teaches that the purification mode and recycling mode can be individually started and stopped at preset times, thus a controller configured to start purification mode before “completion” of a recycling operation.
As to claim 9, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Turk further teaches that the deionization device comprises inlets to each electric filter from a branched source pipe to lead water to each of the electric filters and outlets from each filter to a drain source, each inlet and outlet equipped with a valve configured to open and close the inlets and outlets (Paragraph 0025; Figure 3A). In combination with the housing of Xiong thus a branched pipe at least partially formed in the housing.
As to claim 10, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Xiong further teaches that the housing comprises a first partition wall (top wall) through which the inlets and thus the branched pipe of the combination pass, a plurality of walls (46) (first and second walls) perpendicular to the first wall (top wall) and parallel to each other (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5).
As to claim 11, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a connection pipe connecting the outlets to a post filter (114), a discharge valve (120) configured to open or close an outlet of the power filter, a drain pipe branched from the connection pipe and connected to a drain interconnected with the valving network and thus considered a drain valve to open or close the drain (Paragraphs 0021 and 0037; Figure 2).
As to claim 12, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Turk further teaches that the controller operates all valves (Paragraph 0024) and is thus configured to “control the discharge valve and the drain valve to open the outlet of the post filter and close the drain during the water purification operation; and control the discharge valve and the drain valve to close the outlet of the post filter and open the drain during the recycling operation”.
As to claim 13, Turk teaches a method of controlling a water purifier comprising a deionization device configured to purify water with electric power, the deionization device including a plurality of individual cells, isolation rooms, each comprising an electrolytic filter, operating the deionization device via a controller. Turk teaches that this control operation includes choosing for each electric filter an operation mode from among a purification mode in which the electric filters are adsorption filters, a regeneration mode in which the filters are recycled, a standby mode in which the filter is ready to enter purification mode, and a waiting mode in which the filter is ready to be regenerated, Turk teaches that the controller is configured to operate any one of these modes on any number of filter units based on a plurality of inputs, including preset time (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030, 0035 and 0042). Thus an embodiment of the method comprising “operating, by a controller, the plurality of electric filters by dividing the plurality of electric filters into a plurality of electric adsorption filters configured to adsorb ionic materials and at least one electric resting filter configured to remain in a standby state during a water purification operation” and “maintaining, by the controller, a first number of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to be greater than a second number of the at least one electric resting filter”. Thus, also an embodiment wherein, in response to the water purification operation being stopped, i.e. the entire system being off, determining whether a restart command is input within a preset waiting time from a point in time when the water purification operation is stopped, i.e. determining that the system is needed to be turned on again at some point in time. It is important to note that the limitation “starting, by the controller, a recycling operation to recycle the plurality of electric filters while the water purification operation remains stopped, based on the restart command not being input within the preset waiting time” is provided in the alternative with “or” language.
However, Turk fails to specifically teach the structural formation of the plurality of electric filters and thus fails to teach that the filters are formed in a housing.
However, Xiong also discusses electrolytic deionization of water with a plurality of electric filters and teaches that an effective formation for the filters comprises placing them in a housing separated by a plurality of partition walls (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the deionization device of Turk as a housing in which the plurality of filters are provided in isolation rooms by a plurality of partition walls as taught by Xiong with the expectation of effectively providing the deionization device in a compact housing unit.
As to claim 14, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 13. Turk further teaches that the purification mode is achieved by applying an adsorption voltage to the electric filters which is turned off during the standby or waiting modes (Paragraphs 0020, 0024 and 0020). Thus, an embodiment of the method comprising “stopping applying an adsorption voltage to one of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to switch the electric adsorption filter to an electric resting filter at preset intervals during the water purification operation; and applying the adsorption voltage current to the at least one resting filter to switch the electric resting filter to an electric adsorption filter at the preset intervals” (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030, 0035 and 0042).
As to claim 15, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 14. . Turk further teaches that the controller determines a total operating time of the individual filter units (Paragraph 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054). Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030); however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus, a controller configured to “calculate a cumulative use time of each of the plurality of electric filers; and first operate some electric filters having a shorter cumulative use time relative to cumulative use times of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filter, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”.
As to claim 16, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 14. Turk further teaches that the controller calculates the amount of water from each electric filter (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054). Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030); however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus, a controller configured to “calculate an amount of cumulative purified water of each of the plurality of electric filters based on a signal sent from the flux sensor; and first operate some electric filters having a smaller amount of cumulative purified water of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filer, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”.
As to claim 17, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 14. As discussed above, Turk teaches that the regeneration mode recycling operation is started based on a time period, and thus, for example, a preset waiting time without an input of the restart command. Turk further teaches that the regeneration mode of operation is achieved by applying a opposite polarity recycling voltage sequentially to the plurality go electric filters during the recycling operation (Paragraph 0024).
As to claim 18, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 17. Turk further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative use time of each of the electric filters and to recycle in order an electric filter having a longest use time and then subsequently a filter with a shorter cumulative use time than the longest one at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031).
As to claim 19, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 17. Turk further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative amount of purified water of each of the electric filters at least in part with information from the flow sensor and to recycle in order an electric filter having a largest amount of cumulative purified water and then subsequently a filter with a smaller amount of cumulative purified water at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031).
As to claim 20, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 17. As discussed above, Turk teaches that the purification mode and recycling mode can be individually started and stopped at preset times, thus a controller configured to start purification mode before “completion” of a recycling operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the new limitations are not taught by Turk; however, the Examiner disagrees, as discussed above, particularly in view of the alternative language present in the claims. Applicants argue that Turk never stops operation and thus does not have to make a choice between restarting and regenerating after a period of stopped operation. However, the Examiner maintains that the claim limitations do not require this choice and that it would be obvious that at some points in time Turk system will be off, i.e. time periods when water treatment is not needed or power disruptions, and that at some point in time the system would then be restarted. Thus, the Examiner maintains the claim rejections absent the active inclusion of this choice as a requirement or a narrowing of “preset waiting time”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794