DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 1-12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1, the c laim recites the limitation " the deionization ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As to claims 3 and 4, the claim recites the limitation “some electric filters”; however, a plurality of electric filters have already been introduce d . Therefore, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to some or all of the earlier limitations or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations. Further as to claims 3 and 4, the claim recites the limitation “the electric adsorption filter”. However, claims 1 and 2 upon which claims 3 and 4 are dependent, introduce a plurality of instances of electric adsorption filters and therefore it is unclear as to which limitation in intended to be referred back to. Further as to claim 3 and 4, the claim recites the limitation “a restart command”. However, this limitation is already present in claim 1, upon which claims 3 and 4 are dependent. Therefore, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to the earlier introduced limitation or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations. As to claims 15 and 16 , the claim recites the limitation “some electric filters”; however, a plurality of electric filters have already been introduce d . Therefore, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to some or all of the earlier limitations or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations. Further as to claims 15 and 16 , the claim recites the limitation “the electric adsorption filter”. However, claims 1 3 and 14 upon which claims 15 and 16 are dependent, introduce a plurality of instances of electric adsorption filters and therefore it is unclear as to which limitation in intended to be referred back to. Further as to claim 15 and 16 , the claim recites the limitation “a restart command”. However, this limitation is already present in claim 1 3 , upon which claims 15 and 16 are dependent. Therefore, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to the earlier introduced limitation or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0340214 A1 to Turk et al. (Turk) in view of US 2010/0147704 A1 to Xiong et al. (Xiong) . As to claim 1, Turk teaches a water purifier comprising a deionization device configured to purify water with electric power, the deionization device including a plurality of individual cells, isolation rooms, each comprising an electrolytic filter and a controller electrically connected to the deionization device for operating the plurality of electric filters. Turk teaches that this operation includes choosing for each electric filter an operation mode from among a purification mode in which the electric filters are adsorption filters, a regeneration mode in which the filters are recycled, a standby mode in which the filter is ready to enter purification mode, and a waiting mode in which the filter is ready to be regenerated, Turk teaches that the controller is configured to operate any one of these modes on any number of filter units based on a plurality of inputs, including preset time (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030 , 0035 and 0042 ) . Thus a controller configured to perform the language of “operate the plurality of electric filters by dividing the plurality of electric filters into a plurality of electric adsorption filters configured to adsorb ionic materials and at least one electric resting filter configured to remain in a standby state during a water purification operation; restart the water purification operation of perform a recycling operation to recycle the plurality of electric filters, depending on whether a restart command for the water purification operation is input within a preset waiting time from a point in time when the water purification operation is stopped; and maintain a first number of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to be greater than a second number of the at least one electric resting filter during the water purification operation”. However, Turk fails to specifically teach the structural formation of the plurality of electric filters and thus fails to teach that the filters are formed in a housing in isolation rooms separated by a plurality of partition walls. However, Xiong also discusses electrolytic deionization of water with a plurality of electric filters and teaches that an effective formation for the filters comprises placing them in a housing separated by a plurality of partition walls (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the deionization device of Turk as a housing in which the plurality of filters are provided in isolation rooms by a plurality of partition walls as taught by Xiong with the expectation of effectively providing the deionization device in a compact housing unit. As to claim 2, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Turk further teaches that the purification mode is achieved by applying an adsorption voltage to the electric filters which is turned off during the standby or waiting modes (Paragraphs 0020, 0024 and 0020) . Thus a controller configured to perform the language of “stop applying an adsorption voltage to one of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to switch the electric adsorption filter to an electric resting filter at preset intervals during the water purification operation; and apply the adsorption voltage current to the at least one resting filter to switch the electric resting filter to an electric adsorption filter at the preset intervals” (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030 , 0035 and 0042 ) . As to claim 3, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2 . Turk further teaches that the controller determines a total operating time of the individual filter units (Paragraph 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life ( Paragraphs 0053 and 0054) . Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030) ; however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus a controller configured to “calculate a cumulative use time of each of the plurality of electric filers; and first operate some electric filters having a shorter cumulative use time relative to cumulative use times of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filter, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”. As to claim 4, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2 . Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a flux (flow) sensor configured to measure an amount of purified water discharged from the deionization device (Paragraphs 0010 and 0029) and a controller calculating the amount o f water from each electric filter (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054) . Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030) ; however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus a controller configured to “calculate an amount of cumulative purified water of each of the plurality of electric filters based on a signal sent from the flux sensor; and first operate some electric filters having a smaller amount of cumulative purified water of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filer, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”. As to claim 5, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 2 . As discussed above, Turk teaches that the regeneration mode recycling operation is started based on a time period, and thus, for example, a preset waiting time without an input of the restart command. Turk further teaches that the regeneration mode of operation is achieved by applying a opposite polarity recycling voltage sequentially to the plurality go electric filters during the recycling operation (Paragraph 0024) . As to claim 6, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5 . Tu r k further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative use time of each of the electric filters and to recycle in order an electric filter having a longest use time and then subsequently a filter with a shorter cumulative use time than the longest one at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031) . As to claim 7, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5 . Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a flux (flow) sensor configured to measure an amount of purified water discharged from the deionization device (Paragraphs 0010 and 0029) and teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative amount of purified water of each of the electric filters at least in part with information from the flow sensor and to recycle in order an electric filter having a largest amount of cumulative purified water and then subsequently a filter with a smaller amount of cumulative purified water at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031) . As to claim 8, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 5 . As discussed above, Turk teaches that the purification mode and recycling mode can be individually started and stopped at preset times, thus a controller configured to start purification mode before “completion” of a recycling operation. As to claim 9, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Turk further teaches that the deionization device comprises inlets to each electric filter from a branched source pipe to lead water to each of the electric filters and outlets from each filter to a drain source, each inlet and outlet equipped with a valve configured to open and close the inlets and outlets (Paragraph 0025; Figure 3A) . In combination with the housing of Xiong thus a branched pipe at least partially formed in the housing. As to claim 10, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9 . Xiong further teaches that the housing comprises a first partition wall (top wall) through which the inlets and thus the branched pipe of the combination pass, a plurality of walls (46) (first and second walls) perpendicular to the first wall (top wall) and parallel to each other (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5) . As to claim 11, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 9 . Turk further teaches that the apparatus comprises a connection pipe connecting the outlets to a post filter (114) , a discharge valve (120) configured to open or close an outlet of the power filter, a drain pipe branched from the connection pipe and connected to a drain interconnected with the valving network and thus considered a drain valve to open or close the drain (Paragraphs 0021 and 0037; Figure 2) . As to claim 12, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1 1 . Turk further teaches that the controller operates all valves (Paragraph 0024) and is thus configured to “control the discharge valve and the drain valve to open the outlet of the post filter and close the drain during the water purification operation; and control the discharge valve and the drain valve to close the outlet of the post filter and open the drain during the recycling operation”. As to claim 13, Turk teaches a method of controlling a water purifier comprising a deionization device configured to purify water with electric power, the deionization device including a plurality of individual cells, isolation rooms, each comprising an electrolytic filter , operating the deionization device via a controller . Turk teaches that this control operation includes choosing for each electric filter an operation mode from among a purification mode in which the electric filters are adsorption filters, a regeneration mode in which the filters are recycled, a standby mode in which the filter is ready to enter purification mode, and a waiting mode in which the filter is ready to be regenerated, Turk teaches that the controller is configured to operate any one of these modes on any number of filter units based on a plurality of inputs, including preset time (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030 , 0035 and 0042 ) . Thus a n embodiment of the method comprising “operat ing, by a controller, the plurality of electric filters by dividing the plurality of electric filters into a plurality of electric adsorption filters configured to adsorb ionic materials and at least one electric resting filter configured to remain in a standby state during a water purification operation; restart the water purification operation of perform a recycling operation to recycle the plurality of electric filters, depending on whether a restart command for the water purification operation is input within a preset waiting time from a point in time when the water purification operation is stopped; and maintain a first number of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to be greater than a second number of the at least one electric resting filter”. However, Turk fails to specifically teach the structural formation of the plurality of electric filters and thus fails to teach that the filters are formed in a housing. However, Xiong also discusses electrolytic deionization of water with a plurality of electric filters and teaches that an effective formation for the filters comprises placing them in a housing separated by a plurality of partition walls (Paragraph 0034; Figure 5) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the deionization device of Turk as a housing in which the plurality of filters are provided in isolation rooms by a plurality of partition walls as taught by Xiong with the expectation of effectively providing the deionization device in a compact housing unit. As to claim 14, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 3 . Turk further teaches that the purification mode is achieved by applying an adsorption voltage to the electric filters which is turned off during the standby or waiting modes (Paragraphs 0020, 0024 and 0020) . Thus a n embodiment of the method comprising “stop ping applying an adsorption voltage to one of the plurality of electric adsorption filters to switch the electric adsorption filter to an electric resting filter at preset intervals during the water purification operation; and apply ing the adsorption voltage current to the at least one resting filter to switch the electric resting filter to an electric adsorption filter at the preset intervals” (Paragraphs 0020, 0024, 0030 , 0035 and 0042 ) . As to claim 15, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 4 . . Turk further teaches that the controller determines a total operating time of the individual filter units (Paragraph 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054) . Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030) ; however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus a controller configured to “calculate a cumulative use time of each of the plurality of electric filers; and first operate some electric filters having a shorter cumulative use time relative to cumulative use times of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filter, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”. As to claim 16, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 4 . Turk further teaches that the controller calculat es the amount of water from each electric filter (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029) and that the main focus of the controller is to balance and equal the use and regeneration of each filter and optimize replacement life (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054) . Turk fails to specifically teach how standby filters are chosen to specifically rejoin purification mode during the embodiment wherein standby filters are utilized (Paragraph 0030) ; however, given that the priority is to equal and balance the cells it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to operate the apparatus, and thus configure the controller to perform the operation, such that lower use cells were brought back to usage prior to higher use cells in order to maintain this desired balance. Thus a controller configured to “calculate an amount of cumulative purified water of each of the plurality of electric filters based on a signal sent from the flux sensor; and first operate some electric filters having a smaller amount of cumulative purified water of the plurality of electric filters as the electric adsorption filer, based on a restart command for the water purification operation input within the preset waiting time”. As to claim 17, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 4 . As discussed above, Turk teaches that the regeneration mode recycling operation is started based on a time period, and thus, for example, a preset waiting time without an input of the restart command. Turk further teaches that the regeneration mode of operation is achieved by applying a opposite polarity recycling voltage sequentially to the plurality go electric filters during the recycling operation (Paragraph 0024) . As to claim 18, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 7 . Turk further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative use time of each of the electric filters and to recycle in order an electric filter having a longest use time and then subsequently a filter with a shorter cumulative use time than the longest one at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031) . As to claim 19, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 7 . Turk further teaches that the controller is configured to calculate a cumulative amount of purified water of each of the electric filters at least in part with information from the flow sensor and to recycle in order an electric filter having a largest amount of cumulative purified water and then subsequently a filter with a smaller amount of cumulative purified water at that same instance of time (Paragraphs 0029-0031) . As to claim 20, the combination of Turk and Xiong teaches the method of claim 1 7 . As discussed above, Turk teaches that the purification mode and recycling mode can be individually started and stopped at preset times, thus a controller configured to start purification mode before “completion” of a recycling operation. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CIEL P Contreras whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7946 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9 AM to 4 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT James Lin can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8902 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CIEL P CONTRERAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794