DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims and Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 9, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 19, and 21-39 are pending. Claims 3, 4, 12-18, and 20 are cancelled. Note: previously withdrawn claims (i.e., claims 14-18) as a result of a restriction requirement (dated October 24, 2025) are now cancelled.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
Applicant is notified that any outstanding rejection/objection that is not expressly maintained in this office action has been withdrawn or rendered moot in view of applicant's amendments and/or remarks.
Status of Priority
The present application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/356,670, filed on June 29, 2022.
Specification - Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For consistency and to avoid 112 issues, in claims 23 and 28:
“…substituted with C1-3 alkyl or (C1-3 alkylene)OH” should read“…substituted with 1 or 2 groups selected, independently, from C1-3 alkyl
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 10, 23, 28, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 recites the following compound:
“
” wherein R1 of this compound is Et (i.e., a C2 alkyl). Claim 10 is dependent on claim 2 which specifically states that “R1 is H, F, Cl, Br, or C3-7 cycloalkyl.” According to claim 2, R1 cannot be a C2 alkyl group. Therefore, claim 10 is in improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends and, instead, broadens the scope of claim 2.
Regarding claims 23 and 28:
Claims 23 and 28 state that R2 can be a C3-4 heteroaryl comprising, independently, one or two heteroatoms independently selected from O, S, or N and substituted with C1-3 alkyl or (C1-3 alkylene)OH. Claims 23 and 28 are dependent on claims 22 and 27, respectively, which specifically states that R2 can be a C2-5 heteroaryl comprising, independently, one or two heteroatoms independently selected from O, S, or N and substituted with 1 or 2 groups selected, independently from C1-6 alkyl. Claims 22 and 27 do not state that the substituent(s) can be a (C1-3 alkylene)OH. Therefore, claims 23 and 28 are in improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends and, instead, broadens the scope of claims 22 and 27, respectively.
Regarding claim 38:
Claim 38 states that R1 is CH3 or CH2CH3. Claim 38 is dependent on claim 1 which explicitly states that R1 is H, CN, halogen, O-(C1-6 alkyl), or C3-7 cycloalkyl. Claim 1 does not state that R1 can be C1-2 alkyl. Therefore, claim 38 is in improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends and, instead, broadens the scope of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Note on 35 USC § 102 and § 103 Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rejection Part 1:
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Cai et al. (Cai) (WO 2009/152325 A1; published December 17, 2009).
Cai discloses diamino-pyridine, pyrimidine and pyridazine compounds which may be used as H4 receptor modulators (abstract). One of the compounds disclosed by Cai is the following compound:
(see Cai, pg. 242, lines 14-15) which is encompassed by instant claims 1 and 5 wherein:
R1 = R4 = R5 = H
R2 = unsubstituted C5 heterocyclyl (i.e., tetrahydropyranyl)
R3 = NH(C1-6 alkyl) (i.e., NHMe).
Rejection Part 2:
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Ellis et al. (Ellis) (WO 2023/279105 A1; filed on July 1, 2022; published January 5, 2023; claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/217,607, filed on July 1, 2021 – Effective filing date of prior art is July 1, 2021).
Ellis discloses compounds that are useful as inhibitors of kinases, including JAK proteins (para. 0009). One of the compounds disclosed by Ellis has the following structure (herein, referred to as compound E166; pg. 75, last compound of table):
.
Compound E166 is encompassed by instant claims 1, 5-7, 11, and 21 wherein:
R1 = C3 cycloalkyl (i.e., cyclopropyl)
R2 = C3 heterocyclyl (i.e., isothiazolyl) substituted with one C1 alkyl group
R3 = (C1-3 alkylene)-CN (i.e., CH2CN)
R4 = R5 = H.
Rejection Part 3:
Claims 31, 33, 34, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Ellis et al. (Ellis) (WO 2023/279105 A1; filed on July 1, 2022; published January 5, 2023; claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/217,607, filed on July 1, 2021 – Effective filing date of prior art is July 1, 2021).
Ellis discloses compounds that are useful as inhibitors of kinases, including JAK proteins (para. 0009). One of the compounds disclosed by Ellis has the following structure (herein, referred to as compound E6; pg. 26, first compound of table):
.
Compound E6 is encompassed by instant claims 31, 33, 34, and 38 wherein:
R1 = C1 alkyl (i.e., Me)
R2 = C3 heterocyclyl (i.e., isothiazolyl) substituted with one C1 alkyl group
R3 = (C1-3 alkylene)-CN (i.e., CH2CN)
R4 = R5 = H.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Part 1:
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Ellis et al. (Ellis) (WO 2023/279105 A1; filed on July 1, 2022; published January 5, 2023; claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/217,607, filed on July 1, 2021 – Effective filing date of prior art is July 1, 2021).
Ellis discloses compounds that are useful as inhibitors of kinases, including JAK proteins (para. 0009). One of the compounds disclosed by Ellis has the following structure (herein, referred to as compound E246; see pg. 118, 2nd to last row, 1st compound):
. E246 is very similar to the structure of a species encompassed by instant claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 19, and 21 as shown below:
wherein:
R1 = Cl,
R2 = C3 heterocyclyl (i.e., pyrazolyl) substituted with a C1 alkyl group,
R3 = a C7 heterocycloalkyl (i.e.,
),
R4 = (C1-6 alkylene)CN (i.e., CH2CN), and
R5 = H.
The main difference between the two structures is that the -CH2CN group in compound E246 is geminal to the C7 heterocyclic group whereas in the instant species, the -CH2CN group is bonded to the carbon atom that is adjacent to the carbon atom that is bonded to the same C7 heterocyclic group.
Compound E246 and the instant species are position isomers of each other.
According to MPEP 2144.09:
I. REJECTION BASED ON CLOSE STRUCTURAL SIMILARITY IS FOUNDED ON THE EXPECTATION THAT COMPOUNDS SIMILAR IN STRUCTURE WILL HAVE SIMILAR PROPERTIES
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
II. HOMOLOGY AND ISOMERISM ARE FACTS WHICH MUST BE CONSIDERED WITH ALL OTHER RELEVANT FACTS IN DETERMINING OBVIOUSNESS
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.).
The instant specification does not provide any in vitro or in vivo data demonstrating that the claimed compounds exhibit properties that are unexpected relative to the structurally similar position isomers disclosed in Ellis. The instant specification only provides a general reaction scheme (see instant Figure 1) and a general procedure for how to conduct ROCK and JAK assays (see instant Example 1). In the absence of evidence indicating unpredictability or a demonstrated difference in activity, it is reasonable to presume that the claimed compounds would be expected to exhibit properties similar to their corresponding position isomers disclosed in Ellis, thus motivating a POSITA to explore such position isomers as disclosed in the instant case. Hence, instant claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 19, and 21 are considered obvious.
Rejection Part 2:
Claims 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Ellis et al. (Ellis) (WO 2023/279105 A1; filed on July 1, 2022; published January 5, 2023; claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/217,607, filed on July 1, 2021 – Effective filing date of prior art is July 1, 2021).
Ellis discloses compounds that are useful as inhibitors of kinases, including JAK proteins (para. 0009). One of the compounds disclosed by Ellis has the following structure (herein, referred to as compound E111a; see pg. 95):
. Ellis demonstrates that compound E111a can inhibit TYK2 and JAK1 with an IC50 of less than 10 nM for both. The structure of compound E111a is very similar to the structure of the compound of instant claim 37):
. The main difference between the two structures is that the -CH2CN group in compound E111a is geminal to the heterocyclic group whereas in the compound of instant claim 37, the -CH2CN group is bonded to the carbon atom that is adjacent to the carbon atom that is bonded to the same heterocyclic group.
Compound E111a and the compound of instant claim 37 are position isomers of each other.
According to MPEP 2144.09:
I. REJECTION BASED ON CLOSE STRUCTURAL SIMILARITY IS FOUNDED ON THE EXPECTATION THAT COMPOUNDS SIMILAR IN STRUCTURE WILL HAVE SIMILAR PROPERTIES
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
II. HOMOLOGY AND ISOMERISM ARE FACTS WHICH MUST BE CONSIDERED WITH ALL OTHER RELEVANT FACTS IN DETERMINING OBVIOUSNESS
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.).
The instant specification does not provide any in vitro or in vivo data demonstrating that the claimed compounds exhibit properties that are unexpected relative to the structurally similar position isomers disclosed in Ellis. The instant specification only provides a general reaction scheme (see instant Figure 1) and a general procedure for how to conduct ROCK and JAK assays (see instant Example 1). In the absence of evidence indicating unpredictability or a demonstrated difference in activity, it is reasonable to presume that the claimed compounds would be expected to exhibit properties similar to their corresponding position isomers disclosed in Ellis, thus motivating a POSITA to explore such position isomers as disclosed in the instant case. Hence, instant claims 31-39 are considered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 19, 21, and 31-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, 28-32 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/573,305 (‘305)
Note: ‘305 claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/217,607, filed on July 1, 2021, which is the same U.S. Provisional Application No. that Ellis [reference cited in 102 and 103 rejections above] claims priority to.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because there is:
overlap between the instant claims and the claim set from the co-pending application (see “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Rejection Parts 2 and 3” for an example of a compound encompassed by both claim sets) and
the compounds claimed in the co-pending application are obvious homologs of the compounds claimed in the present application (see “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Rejection Parts 1 and 2” for details).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 22, 24-27, 29, and 30 are allowed.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 19, 21, 23, 28 and 31-39 are rejected. Claims 22, 24-27, 29, and 30 are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN W ROMERO/Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624