DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the power control observation signal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 appears to be properly depending on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman (US 20160099733 A1) in view of Rimini (US 20140301498 A1).
For claim 1. Weissman discloses ([0028], [0121], [0122], figures 7-8) A mobile device comprising: a cellular front end system including a cellular signal path for a cellular transmit signal (figure 8, main transmitter), an antenna switch ([0063], figure 8, switch LB ASM) along the cellular signal path, a first directional coupler (coupler 406) along the cellular signal path before the antenna switch, a second directional coupler (coupler 506) along the cellular signal path after the antenna switch, and a first observation switch (switch 408) having a first input configured to receive a first sensed radio frequency signal from the first directional coupler, a second input configured to receive a second sensed radio frequency signal from the second directional coupler, and an output configured to output a radio frequency cellular observation signal (figure 8, output 410); a cellular transceiver configured to process the radio frequency cellular observation signal to generate digital cellular observation data ([0081] converts these coupled signals to digital values).
Weissman fails to disclose a wireless local area network transceiver configured to receive a radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal and the digital cellular observation data.
In the same field of endeavor, Rimini discloses a wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver configured to receive a radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal and the digital cellular observation data (Abstract, figure 4, [0005] a victim transceiver of a WiFi radio; [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050], digital cellular observation data 248).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 2. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1, Rimini discloses wherein the wireless local area network transceiver is configured to generate a digital wireless local area network receive signal based on processing the radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal, and to compensate the digital wireless local area network receive signal for radio frequency signal leakage based on the digital cellular observation data (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 3. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1 Rimini discloses wherein the digital cellular observation data reflects an amount of direct transmit leakage present in the cellular transmit signal (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 4. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1 Weissman discloses wherein the cellular front end system further includes a power amplifier configured to amplify the cellular transmit signal, the first directional coupler coupled to an output of the power amplifier (figure 8).
For claim 5. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 4 Weissman discloses further comprising an antenna, the second directional coupler coupled between the antenna switch and the antenna (figure 8).
For claim 6. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 4 Weissman discloses further comprising a duplexer coupled between the first directional coupler and the antenna switch (figure 8).
For claim 7. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1 Weissman discloses further comprising a second observation switch coupled between the second input of the first observation switch and the second directional coupler (figure 9, switch 920, and output of the transmitter is constantly monitored).
For claim 9. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1 Rimini discloses further comprising a wireless local area network front end system configured to provide the radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal to the wireless local area network transceiver (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 10. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 9 Rimini discloses further comprising a first antenna coupled to the wireless local area network front end system, and a second antenna coupled to the cellular front end system (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 11. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 1 Rimini discloses wherein the wireless local area network transceiver is a WiFi transceiver (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 12. Weissman discloses ([0028], [0121], [0122], figures 7-8) A method of coexistence management in a mobile device, the method comprising: providing a cellular transmit signal along a cellular signal path through a cellular front end system (figure 8, main transmitter), the cellular signal path including an antenna switch ([0063], figure 8, switch LB ASM), a first directional coupler (coupler 406) along the cellular signal path before the antenna switch, and a second directional coupler (coupler 506) along the cellular signal path after the antenna switch; outputting a radio frequency cellular observation signal from an output of a first observation switch (switch 408), the first observation switch having a first input receiving a first sensed radio frequency signal from the first directional coupler and a second input receiving a second sensed radio frequency signal from the second directional coupler (figure 8, switch 408); processing the radio frequency cellular observation signal to generate digital cellular observation data using a cellular transceiver ([0081] converts these coupled signals to digital values).
Weissman fails to disclose receiving a radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal and the digital cellular observation data as inputs to a wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Rimini discloses a wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver configured to receive a radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal and the digital cellular observation data (Abstract, figure 4, [0005] a victim transceiver of a WiFi radio; [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050], digital cellular observation data 248).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 13. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12 Weissman discloses further comprising amplifying the cellular transmit signal using a power amplifier, the first directional coupler coupled to an output of the power amplifier (figure 8).
For claim 14. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 13 Weissman discloses further comprising transmitting the cellular transmit signal on an antenna, the second directional coupler coupled between the antenna switch and the antenna (figure 8).
For claim 15. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12, Weissman discloses further comprising outputting a power control observation signal from a second observation switch that is coupled between the second input of the first observation switch and the second directional coupler (figure 9, switch 920, and output of the transmitter is constantly monitored).
For claim 16. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12, but fails to mention further comprising controlling a transmit power of the cellular transmit signal based on the power control observation signal using the cellular transceiver.
Official notice is taken that this teaching is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve transmit signal.
For claim 17. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12 Rimini discloses further comprising processing the radio frequency cellular observation signal to generate a digital observation signal, and sampling the digital observation signal to generate the digital cellular observation data (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 18. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12 Rimini discloses wherein the digital cellular observation data reflects an amount of direct transmit leakage present in the cellular transmit signal (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 19. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12 Rimini discloses further comprising generating a digital wireless local area network receive signal based on processing the radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal using the wireless local area network transceiver, and compensating the digital wireless local area network receive signal for radio frequency signal leakage based on the digital cellular observation data (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
For claim 20. Weissman in combination with Rimini substantially teaches the method of claim 12 Rimini discloses further comprising receiving the radio frequency wireless local area network receive signal on a first antenna, and transmitting the cellular transmit signal on a second antenna (figure 4, [0005], [0029], [0037], [0038], [0049], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rimini into the art of Weissman as modified by Rimini as to improve WLAN receive signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious wherein the cellular transceiver is configured control a transmit power of the cellular transmit signal based on a power control observation signal from the second observation switch.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
December 15, 2025
/JINSONG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643