DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman (U.S. Patent No. 11,431,114). Regarding Claim 1, Newman discloses an attachable, armor-piercing shunting device (210) comprising: an enclosure body (220, 230) configured to receive a cable (12), the enclosure body comprising: a first enclosure section (220) reversibly engaged to a second enclosure section (230), wherein the first enclosure section and the second enclosure section define an enclosure aperture (211a) when engaged; at least one piercing element (254B, 252B) configured to penetrate an outer layer (Fig. 13) of the cable, wherein a first piercing element (254B) of the at least one piercing element is further configured to extend through the enclosure body into the enclosure aperture.
Regarding Claim 2, Newman discloses a cable retention element (272), wherein the cable retention element being configured to extend through the enclosure body into the enclosure aperture, wherein the cable retention element has a substantially blunted contact end (272B).
Regarding Claim 3, Newman discloses the first enclosure section and the section enclosure section being pivotably coupled at a pivot point and reversibly engaged via a locking mechanism (272).
Regarding Claim 4, Newman discloses the locking mechanism being a spring pin (272).
Regarding Claim 5, Newman discloses the first enclosure section and the second enclosure section being substantially L-shaped (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 6, Newman discloses the first piercing element extending through a first side (Fig. 16) of the first enclosure section, wherein a second piercing element (252B) of the at least one piercing element extends through a second side (Fig. 16) of the first enclosure section, and wherein a third piercing element (254C) of the at least one piercing element extends through a first side of the second enclosure section that is substantially opposite the second side of the first enclosure section.
Regarding Claim 7, Newman discloses each piercing element of the at least one piercing element being threaded (Fig. 16), wherein each piercing element of the at least one piercing element extends through a corresponding threaded bore (Fig. 16) disposed in the enclosure body.
Regarding Claim 8, Newman discloses a cable retention element (272), wherein the cable retention element is configured to extend a second side (Fig. 16) of the second enclosure section into the enclosure aperture, wherein the second side of the second enclosure section is substantially opposite the first side of the first enclosure section, and wherein the cable retention element has a substantially blunt contact end (272B).
Regarding Claim 9, Newman discloses the cable retention element being threaded and extends through a corresponding threaded retainer bore (Fig. 16) disposed in the enclosure body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses devices, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having enclosures with cable retention and piercing elements.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833